More Lost tourists!

Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 27, 2008 at 16:06
ThreadID: 54981 Views:3380 Replies:7 FollowUps:17
Three tourists missing in outback
February 27, 2008 - 2:11PM

Two Japanese men and a French woman have gone missing in the outback of central Australia after setting off on two separate treks.

An air and ground search is now under way for the three tourists, police said.

Last night, the Japanese tourists failed to arrive from the Valley of the Winds walk at The Olgas.

The men had been dropped off at the start of the walk about 2pm (CST) yesterday by a bus that returned to collect them 3½ hours later.

But the men - who were due to fly out of Yulara this morning - failed to return from the trek, and park rangers mounted a ground search last night.

The search was suspended at nightfall, but it resumed at first light today with the help of a helicopter.

A helicopter is also being used in the search for a 22-year-old French woman who set out on a walk at Kings Canyon on Sunday.

She registered the planned walk with Parks and Wildlife rangers before setting out on the Giles Track from Kings Canyon about 11.30am (CST).

She was expected to complete the 22-kilometre walk about midday on Monday after camping overnight, police said.

She told a friend she would walk to Kathleen Springs and then try to hitch a ride to Kings Creek Station.

Rangers alerted police about 8.15pm (CST) last night after she failed to notify them of her arrival.

Searchers set off at first light today while a helicopter scanned the terrain.

The search team includes rangers, Northern Territory Emergency Services volunteers and police.

AAP

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy- Wednesday, Feb 27, 2008 at 16:56

Wednesday, Feb 27, 2008 at 16:56
On the plus side at least they know where to start looking this time
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 289657

Reply By: Footloose - Wednesday, Feb 27, 2008 at 17:36

Wednesday, Feb 27, 2008 at 17:36
The whales have got em !
AnswerID: 289671

Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Wednesday, Feb 27, 2008 at 17:51

Wednesday, Feb 27, 2008 at 17:51
Stop blubbering!
FollowupID: 554995

Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Feb 27, 2008 at 17:56

Wednesday, Feb 27, 2008 at 17:56
How can I when they're having a whale of a time ?
FollowupID: 554998

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 21:41

Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 21:41
They having a go at me or you Footy?... :-)

FollowupID: 555217

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 22:00

Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 22:00
Must be me Richard, but it's nothing I haven't seen before :))

I am usually the first to jump on and say why did it happen, how can we try and ensure that it doesn't happen again? In my mind it often revolves around communication, the lack of an epirb , sat phone or HFor just telling someone the route and possible eta. My views on these matters are well known.

I spent 20 years in the emergency services as a volunteer. We didn't always get them back alive. One sometimes developed a warped sense of humour to deal with some situations.

On this occasion I decided to try and inject a bit of humour into what appeared to be a bleak situation. I felt it was topical.

So for those dingbats who have had a go, *RASBERRY*
Much love
Footy
FollowupID: 555224

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Feb 27, 2008 at 20:54

Wednesday, Feb 27, 2008 at 20:54
"22-year-old French woman"

In my dreams... LOL

we need someone to look for her....

pick me pick me....
AnswerID: 289709

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Feb 27, 2008 at 20:57

Wednesday, Feb 27, 2008 at 20:57
"She was last seen wearing a black sleeveless shirt, beige shorts, grey socks and black runners and is 167 centimetres tall with long brown hair."

I'm not going to be able to sleep to nite..
AnswerID: 289711

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 21:14

Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 21:14
"But all things considered, she's in a pretty good condition."

get over it
FollowupID: 555210

Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Wednesday, Feb 27, 2008 at 21:09

Wednesday, Feb 27, 2008 at 21:09
They found the Japanese boys dehydrated this afternoon.

Cheers Steve.
AnswerID: 289714

Follow Up By: Stu050 - Wednesday, Feb 27, 2008 at 21:40

Wednesday, Feb 27, 2008 at 21:40
They are very lucky boys.....
FollowupID: 555048

Reply By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Feb 27, 2008 at 21:51

Wednesday, Feb 27, 2008 at 21:51
Bit of a laugh eh? People being lost in the bush....
AnswerID: 289730

Follow Up By: SoloGirl - Wednesday, Feb 27, 2008 at 22:29

Wednesday, Feb 27, 2008 at 22:29
Good on you Mike.
Here in Alice as an NTES volunteer I was on standby to look for one of them today. They guys are out at 5.30 tomorrow morning packing gear for an overnighter to relieve the cops who have been out there all day.
Sad that this became "funny".
FollowupID: 555066

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Feb 27, 2008 at 22:56

Wednesday, Feb 27, 2008 at 22:56
So ya still here Solo Girl?
I thought you were heading across the Tanami a while ago?

Just had a mate call in who was comming for tea....
Had to do a take away for him as he just knocked off and has 5 Hrs of work to do before getting on that plane.

I tried to tell him to relax and have a beer..they are only bloody tourist but he is too conciences and went back to work!

Doesnt sound too good!

FollowupID: 555071

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Feb 27, 2008 at 23:01

Wednesday, Feb 27, 2008 at 23:01
Woops, Didnt read the original too well,
I think you will find they are only looking for the one at the Canyon now.
Others are alright.
Dont quote me on that...I was more interested on getting him to have a beer.
FollowupID: 555072

Follow Up By: Member - Dennis P (Int) - Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 05:26

Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 05:26
Geez,
Got to agree with you Mike and Sologirl, very disappointed/disgusted with some of the stupid, thoughtless comments on here.
May those that think they are so hilarious never find themselves in need of assistance.
Poor taste guys.
FollowupID: 555098

Follow Up By: SoloGirl - Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 08:28

Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 08:28
Hiya Hairy,
Long since back from Tanami - I drive a Mazda You know! :)
FollowupID: 555106

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 22:55

Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 22:55
Na ...Do I?
FollowupID: 555240

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 23:20

Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 23:20
Gday Dennis P,
I understand your concern with the blazei attitude ( Blazei hey , now there's a word I cant even spell.... Spellcheck couldnt even get it!!!!)
I'm not sure what comments you were talking about , but I asked my 12 yr old what she would do in those circumstances and you know what! She would have been picked up that night!
I know one individual involved in this search and there is always two sides to the story.

I've got to the point where I think if you couldn't be bothered to be prepared, why should others dedicate there lives and put their own relationships on the line to look after you.

People grow up in different situations and learn to cope with different issues, but when I took my daughter to Sydney, the first thing we did was made a meeting place in case shiit happened and then I tied her to my arm so It didn't.

Its about time people were accountable for their own actions and stopped blaming others.

By the way this doesn't mean I wouldn't stop and help anyone, go out and tow them in or even offer to help with the repairs but simply have had enough of people thinking if they get in trouble someone will come and get them..

That's probably enough hey.....
nothing personal Mate.. just sitting up waiting for a mate to come home from that damn successful search.

Hairy
FollowupID: 555251

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 10:43

Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 10:43
The French woman may have arrived but not signed out and went on her way, it does happen. Difficult to trace probably if she was travelling alone.. I hope this is the case.. Michael

AnswerID: 289782

Follow Up By: equinox - Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 13:08

Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 13:08
From ABC news:

Northern Territory police have found the word "lost" written in the sand in an area where a French tourist is missing in Central Australia.

The 22-year-old woman was walking near Kings Canyon but failed to return on Monday.

Police have found a set of footprints about four kilometres north east of Kathleen springs.

They've also found a jacket they believe belongs to the woman.

Senior Sergeant Michael Potts says they've just located the word "lost" written in an area west of Kathleen Springs

"We believe she's probably got herself a little bit confused and now heading in the opposite direction."

She'll be alright - the blackfellas from Lilli will find her later today - you watch.

FollowupID: 555140

Follow Up By: equinox - Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 16:38

Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 16:38
She's OK!!

From ABC News:

A 22-year-old French woman who went missing near Kings Canyon in central Australia has been found safe and well.

An air and ground search began when the woman failed to report in to rangers after starting a 22-kilometre bush walk on Sunday.

Superintendent Kym Davies says the woman has been flown to the Kings Canyon Medical Clinic for treatment.

"She was located about 4.5 kilometres north-east of Kathleen Springs and it appears she's wandered off the track and gone the wrong way once she's reached Kathleen Springs," she said.

"She's obviously a bit dehydrated and a little frantic of course - [you would be] if you've been missing for a couple of days.

"But all things considered, she's in a pretty good condition."

FollowupID: 555154

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 18:25

Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 18:25
Thanks for the update Equinox,
I was just heading across the road to break into the Snr. Sargs. house to feed his pets.
Sounds like he will get home tonight! Good news for all concerned.
FollowupID: 555175

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 23:25

Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 23:25
The Bush Tele

good on you Michael, Alan and Hairy.
FollowupID: 555252