Some 4wd drovers!!, deserve criticism on no uncertain terms!!.

Submitted: Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 22:36
ThreadID: 55061 Views:2296 Replies:3 FollowUps:6
Took Symbo out for a run to Kanangra Walls near Oberon NSW,

Nice run for a day from the central coast, and was really enjoying things until the trip back when on a bend we were faced with four idiots tail gateing each other in 4wds ,way over the centre of road and at a speed that was bloody ridiculous for the road conditions, after been showered with rocks and gravel and trying to get out of the way of these pricks , it was a bit of a eye opener to what some Hoons in 4wds get up to.

Not so happy Axle.

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Saturday, Mar 01, 2008 at 10:48

Saturday, Mar 01, 2008 at 10:48
Probably boy racers with toy ricers for weekday day cars in Sydney's south west. Let's hope they are able to grow out of this stage before they or someone they hit get hurt.

Many go through this stage and sadly it is up to us to understand this happens and will continue to happen so we need to drive defensively to be in a position to avoid the potential accident. I know this is not how it should be, but it is what it is and I would rather talk about it on here than you folk read about my demise in the local rag.

Talking more like an ol fart every day, acting like it even more so LOL!!
Trevor.
AnswerID: 290212

Follow Up By: DIO - Saturday, Mar 01, 2008 at 10:52

Saturday, Mar 01, 2008 at 10:52
...'talking more like an ol fart every day..' At least you have survived long enough to be able to consider yourself 'an old fart'. Must have done something right in your youth or just plain lucky. Lots aren't. Cheers.
FollowupID: 555533

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Saturday, Mar 01, 2008 at 11:01

Saturday, Mar 01, 2008 at 11:01
hahahhaha.. problem is, I am only 37 and years from being an ol' fart (at least I should be years away). But as you suggest, this attitude has kept me alive doing more than my share of driving with clowns for a living for 12 or so years.

Cheers, Trevor.
FollowupID: 555536

Follow Up By: Member - greg S (QLD) - Saturday, Mar 01, 2008 at 11:18

Saturday, Mar 01, 2008 at 11:18
G'day Trev,

I reckon it must be the Patrol factor. Don't know whether it is the higher fuel consumption of the patrol (compared to our old Terracan)
and the associated costs of this, or something else, as I have started to slow down a bit as well.
I did a bit of a test last time I went to Monto. I went up going faster than I should of, and came back home only doing around 90-95, and sometimes hit the 100kph, but I only saved around 30mins and chewed through a lot more diesel.
I found it isn't worth the extra fuel costs or the unexpected expense of a speeding fine or the chance of coming home in a timber box.

Maybe this ol' fart status is starting early for our generation. LOL

FollowupID: 555538

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Saturday, Mar 01, 2008 at 11:27

Saturday, Mar 01, 2008 at 11:27
Hi Greg,

Good to hear from you again. Where the hell is my copy of the video of you doing that mud patch at Monto and where the hell is the pic of it in your rig page???? Cmon show us your youthful side hhehehehe.

Regards, trevor.
FollowupID: 555539

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Saturday, Mar 01, 2008 at 13:10

Saturday, Mar 01, 2008 at 13:10
HI Trevor, Did some crazy things in my younger days , but can't remember going around corners bloody near on the wrong side of the road like these blokes did, scary stuff when your on the receiving end.

FollowupID: 555554

Reply By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Saturday, Mar 01, 2008 at 14:34

Saturday, Mar 01, 2008 at 14:34
Had something similar happen a while back, but it was a couple of blokes on trail bikes racing....How they missed my Bull bar I don't know But glad they did as I really didn't wanna pick the bodies out!

Cheers Stefan
AnswerID: 290237

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Saturday, Mar 01, 2008 at 14:59

Saturday, Mar 01, 2008 at 14:59
Up in the watagans is a nightmare with bike riders at times, Have seen a lot of close shaves up there.

FollowupID: 555559

Reply By: Shaker - Saturday, Mar 01, 2008 at 18:48

Saturday, Mar 01, 2008 at 18:48
One of the problems is how we teach new drivers, bad habits are passed on like family heirlooms.

I was following a learner driver this afternoon, they stopped to change drivers ....... inside double white lines!
AnswerID: 290274