Place your hard luck story here :)

Submitted: Thursday, Mar 13, 2008 at 23:05
ThreadID: 55524 Views:4155 Replies:17 FollowUps:64
In this day and age, where have all the hard luck stories gone?
Surely not everyone has a fantastic trip with no breakdowns, no waiting for bits at some God Forsaken hole?

Or perhaps you did have a fantastic trip but left the camera at home? Or the tent...or the stove? Or the kids ?

A guy I knew took 300 pix on film as he travelled the CSR and Kidson. When he got home he put the pix into the photo place...they were all ruined!

Ever had to wait for the fuel bowser because there was no electricity in town?

Ever found that your one and only credit card wouldn't work, thousands of km from a bank? (now that's nasteee)

Ever turned back because you suddenly realized that you weren't as prepared as what you thought you were?

Ever done two tyres in but only carried one spare and no tyre gear?

Ever really hung out for a beer, only to find the remote pub closed early?

Come on people, we can all learn by your mistakes :)

Whatever happened to the guy on here who got chased by the police for forgetting to pay for brekky?

Reply By: Member - Pixie - Thursday, Mar 13, 2008 at 23:22

Thursday, Mar 13, 2008 at 23:22
Drove a VL commodore into 1770 once. Turned engine off while i booked into a camp spot. Came back to car and couldn't start it. RACQ said repairer had to come from some town miles away and was going to cost me a fortune so I said "hold off on that and i will ring back"

Tried for ages and ages - just wouldn't fire over when i turned the key. Was so frustrated that one time i slammed my fist into the (non-airbag) steering wheel while i was trying to start the car and lo-and-behold it started!!

turned it off again (duh!) to make sure it was going to start again. But of course it wouldn't. Again, in frustration and a long time trying again, I hit the wheel and it started. Repeat and found the only way I could start the car was by turning the key and thumping the top of the steering wheel at the same time. That's how I got to Cairns over the next five days of travel - I was reluctant to have the car pulled apart in a smaller town.

Had a very sore hand by the time I got to the auto electrician to look at it. Turned out to be a cracked solder joint in the ignition lock. Cost $10 and 5 minutes for the sparky to fix!!
AnswerID: 292586

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Mar 13, 2008 at 23:27

Thursday, Mar 13, 2008 at 23:27
I've never tried thumping the steering wheel LOL
FollowupID: 558056

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 01:51

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 01:51
I have one of those Brother whizzbang scanner printer thingos at the office and every morning the error light comes on to state that the Print Head is cold and needs warming up. I have found that a hard smack on the side ot the errant machine gets it working again and it will function all day without a problem....until I switch it on again tomorrow morning...lol
FollowupID: 558070

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 08:13

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 08:13
"turned it off again (duh!) to make sure it was going to start again."

ha ha that's almost Python material!
FollowupID: 558083

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 09:20

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 09:20
I didn't realize that there were so many "thumpers" out there.

In the electronics industry we used to call it the "technical adjustment". LOL
FollowupID: 558111

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 11:48

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 11:48
That "thump" is known in our office as "percussive maintenance". Amazing how office machines seem to respond!
FollowupID: 558152

Follow Up By: Russell [SA] - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 19:44

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 19:44
What, you never heard of Percussive maintenance?

Russell
FollowupID: 558225

Reply By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Thursday, Mar 13, 2008 at 23:36

Thursday, Mar 13, 2008 at 23:36
Gidday Footy

Had a missus once. Took all precautions but she got lost.

Kim
AnswerID: 292588

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Mar 13, 2008 at 23:43

Thursday, Mar 13, 2008 at 23:43
Gidday Kim, was that a hard luck story, or a good luck story ? :)
FollowupID: 558060

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 00:12

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 00:12
Comeon Footy!!!

It still happens regularly...I thought it was all part of the fun!
AnswerID: 292592

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 01:13

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 01:13
Hairy, fun for some.
But on occasion........not so fun :)
FollowupID: 558069

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 03:24

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 03:24
Hard luck story??? Hmmmm!!!! how about the stock market has $hit its pants at the moment, thats doing it pretty hard in my book :-)

AnswerID: 292595

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 09:08

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 09:08
You just had to bring it up, didn't you. OUCH !
Not wrong, too many of us can relate to that.
FollowupID: 558099

Reply By: madcow - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 08:03

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 08:03
Realised we had no food but a full esky on top of MT Terrible on a 4x4 club trip. Did not realise we had some good cooks in our club :). 8 years ago and I still get ribbed about it.
AnswerID: 292616

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 09:10

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 09:10
No food but a full esky would have meant getting sozzled somewhat quickly ?
FollowupID: 558100

Follow Up By: madcow - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 09:44

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 09:44
Yes it was a funny trip especially when we discovered it after paying out a mate after his second flat tyre.
FollowupID: 558117

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 08:14

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 08:14
Broke a windscreen just south of Swansea early one morning on a trip up to Qld. Had to wait around till a repair place opened and had it replaced. Would'nt have been much longer than an hour later and that windscreen was broken just out of Bulahdelah. Great start to a holiday hahahahahaha

AnswerID: 292618

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 09:12

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 09:12
All my broken screens were north of Bulahdelah, but I can relate :(((
FollowupID: 558101

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 08:17

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 08:17
"Ever really hung out for a beer, only to find the remote pub closed early?"

yes. I don't want to talk about it.
AnswerID: 292620

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 09:13

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 09:13
Oh go on...do tell :))
FollowupID: 558102

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 09:31

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 09:31
no, my feet will start hurting again. :(

^%*^%*(#@^#_%#@#!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 558115

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 10:01

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 10:01
What do you mean the only pub?
There is always another one just down the road a bit!
All depends how keen you are.....

FollowupID: 558124

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 10:07

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 10:07
yeah mate, we were keen, got the goods in the end after a lot of pain, and that buzz lasted longer than 4 seconds I can tell you.
FollowupID: 558125

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 10:58

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 10:58
It used to be nothing to drive a couple of hundred km's for a beer.
If they were shut when you got there, getting them to open up was half the fun.
One time we called in at Glen Helen on the way home from a job, Im sure they saw us coming and shut up quick, but it didnt stop us.
We could here someone in the office through the window so I drove the truck around the back so they thought we had gone,
After about 10 minutes I snuck up to the door and my mate up to the office window, In his best bul$hit German accent started mumbling something to them no one could understand.....
eventualy they got the $hits and unlocked the front door to see what these dumb tourists were on about.
I jambed my foot in that door that fast they didnt know what happened.....
Then we just convinced them it would be a lot easier to let us have a couple of beers and give us a dozen takeaways than trying to get us out...

It worked

FollowupID: 558142

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 14:07

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 14:07
that's a good story. working together as a team for the desired end result.
FollowupID: 558169

Reply By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 08:41

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 08:41
I bought 200,000 View Resources about a month ago . The very next day they called in the receivers . Hard luck .
Willie .
AnswerID: 292627

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 09:14

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 09:14
Now that IS hard luck...
FollowupID: 558104

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 10:31

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 10:31
Not sure if that is better or worse than ABC slaughter. Guess it is worse for you anyway mate. Just an overgeared CEO @ ABC :(((

I won't go through our portfolio here.
FollowupID: 558133

Follow Up By: Saharaman (aka Geepeem) - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 10:39

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 10:39
same story with MFS, ABS and others as well, so you are not alone Willie. But out of the gloom there will be opportunities to buy more blue chip stock at 30 to 40% less than end odf last year.
Looks like 5100 won't be breached (2 attempts) - is it too early to say we're at the bottom? CUL might be worth monitoring as a specky.
Cheers, Glen
FollowupID: 558134

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 10:39

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 10:39
You know John it seems to me that every time there's a serious problem with the market, it's almost always the result of greed in the top end of town. They tell us it can't happen again, better regulation etc and then someone rewrites the financial thieves handbook.
FollowupID: 558135

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 10:50

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 10:50
Glen, 5100 ? That's pathetic ! Whatever happened to 6000 and above?
FollowupID: 558137

Follow Up By: Saharaman (aka Geepeem) - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 11:05

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 11:05
Footloose, it is pathetic for anyone who entered the market at 6000 or later. But the reality is the market was way overheated. On my analysis 5100 is on the long term trend line of XAO (trend is your friend!).
To me its significant that on two attempts (january 22 and just a few days ago) 5100 support was not broken. While I think there will be some extreme volatility in the market I do not think we are in a bear market - just a correction back to the long term trend line which had to happen at some point. When the dust settles (and who knows when that will be) there will be some good opportunities to buy more blue chip stock. But if 5100 is breached convincingly we are probably looking at 4530 as the next major support level? Interesting times ahead no doubt.
Glen
FollowupID: 558145

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 11:12

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 11:12
Glen, I sdidn't enter at over 6000, but it was nice to see things going up for a while. I guess we all knew a correction was on the cards. With the sub prime mess not peaking until next year(and then two years after that again) I suspect we're all in for an "interesting" ride.
Just save a spot on that window ledge, will ya ?:))))))))
FollowupID: 558146

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 11:14

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 11:14
'it's almost always the result of greed in the top end of town"

Was once told its always a good policy to sell out whenever a Labour Government comes to town as trouble always follows :-)
(Bet that upsets Richard K)

With the ability of hindsight a small part of me nows thinks those were poetic words.

As you say Glen, Interesting times ahead.

FollowupID: 558147

Follow Up By: Saharaman (aka Geepeem) - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 11:28

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 11:28
Footloose, Will the ledge be big enough for us all?????
I think I read somewhere that the second traunche of the sub prime capital falls due for refinancing in the US in April sometime. So some Financial companies could take another big hit next month. You are right - interesting times lay ahead. A critical factor is whether US economy actually falls into recession. I think its too early to tell yet - but the next 2 to 3 months should clarify that direction.
Glen
FollowupID: 558150

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 11:38

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 11:38
John (Vic), no, surely not, not the consumer confidence either. I thought it would take a bit longer.

The sub-prime fallout is US lack of regulation, but we have that potential here too. Anyone bought a house in the last three years?

The super fund is ready to accumulate again. When though? I did hear one 'forecaster' talking of a potential 4000 index. That being the case, there may be some more downside before we buy.
FollowupID: 558151

Follow Up By: Saharaman (aka Geepeem) - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 12:10

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 12:10
John (Vic)
Its possible but I'm placing a lot of faith in trend analysis. 5100 is on long term trend - if it falls convincingly below 5100 than its broken historic trend and that to me is unlikely (unless Australia goes into a significant recession itself). As I stated above 5100 has been tested twice this year and held despite extreme negativity in market. This give me confidence 5100 will hold. When to buy ? - that will vary depending on sector. I use technical analysis (rather than fundamentals - although these are in the back of your mind). For example my analysis suggests BLD wil be a buy very soon using bollinger bands and MACD crossovers.
The mining sector has not been hit as bad as others and provided US does not go into recession there will be good opportunities there as well in the immediate future.
Glen
FollowupID: 558153

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 12:53

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 12:53
Glenn, i guess I am expecting more bad news out of the US which is out of character to my usualy optimistic stance. There is a bit of time before we get news of Australia being in recession, let anone tracking the significance.

I don't use any software tracking as it appears you do, indeed no trading much at all. Wish I had advice I know one shareholder had on ABS, although our percenatge isn't significant overall.

The super fund began with $32k back in '93 and has a good history so far. (Exhibiting glee here! :-))) Move mine to pension mode next week or three for workplace. Best to spin off a daughter-fund by the end of the year for other beneficial members.
FollowupID: 558160

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 13:06

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 13:06
Can't quite translate the Latin at the end, John. Something to do with bad luck just keeps coming ? :)))))))
FollowupID: 558162

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 16:41

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 16:41
My man who is some what of an expert,suggests the recession will
commence after the Chinese Olympic Games. our big export market
will come to a sudden stop, not a slow down a melt down.

Daza
FollowupID: 558190

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 19:17

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 19:17
F'loosie, you will be sorry you asked. "In the old days, children like you would be left to perish on wind swept crags" I don't think it applies to you mate. LOL

Nick R has a Latin quote asking if it was a scroll in the toga or are you just pleased to se him!!! best you don't ask him. LOL

Daza, I think there are more developments going on in China at the moment, than just the games and indeed most of the Olympic facilities are already finished. Perhaps that is the reason for the US slowdown, rather than mis-management and a lame duck in Washington.
FollowupID: 558220

Follow Up By: Richard W (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 15, 2008 at 06:01

Saturday, Mar 15, 2008 at 06:01
I shifted a substantial amount of funds from an online bank account into my managed super fund in Decemeber. :(
FollowupID: 558316

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Saturday, Mar 15, 2008 at 10:03

Saturday, Mar 15, 2008 at 10:03
Richard, you say substantial, I found it better to manage my own and the level I started is the leve I mentioned above. Need to recognise inflation now of course. Your managed fund may have kept a portion as cash, but it will be averaged with all the other.

Managing a SMSF allowed me to select a once in a lifetime opportunity, well, it was the only entity that had cash or capability to raise it. I guess I was arm twisted into it as the 'opportunity' needed the cash.
FollowupID: 558336

Follow Up By: Saharaman (aka Geepeem) - Saturday, Mar 15, 2008 at 12:27

Saturday, Mar 15, 2008 at 12:27
Richard,
I agree with JohnR a SMSF may be the best way to go - better and direct control over your assets and heaps more flexibility.
Glen
FollowupID: 558358

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Saturday, Mar 15, 2008 at 12:49

Saturday, Mar 15, 2008 at 12:49
The best two financial decisions I have made were - one , to go into my own business and two , to start my own SMSF .

All my share trading is done in the SMSF - no CGT .

The benefits of super are so good now , I cannot believe the Labor Party will not change it all again and make it less attractive .

Willie .
FollowupID: 558360

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Saturday, Mar 15, 2008 at 14:30

Saturday, Mar 15, 2008 at 14:30
Richard and Willie, I am such a disagreeable, nearly old, grump I am unused to so many people agreeing with me. You better stop it or else friend F'loosie may think we have taken over his post and turn around his post on hard luck stories.

P'raps we should start an O/T Stocks, Shares SMSF post. Certainly a SMSF one for those who want to get the govenance right. Having worked at the Board end of a company for 20 years helps all of that, and partnerships for nearly 38 (sharp intake of breath). On that front I reckon it's a new learning experience you should begin young.

New Labor (new leadership, working families) Much wrath if they were to I reckon Willie......
FollowupID: 558377

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Mar 15, 2008 at 14:37

Saturday, Mar 15, 2008 at 14:37
John, as Joh might have said, "don't you worry about that".
I have always thought that threads are owned by those who contribute...and this one is a beauty.
I might be too old to become a Bill Gates, but I'm still young enough to learn :))
FollowupID: 558380

Follow Up By: Saharaman (aka Geepeem) - Saturday, Mar 15, 2008 at 15:57

Saturday, Mar 15, 2008 at 15:57
I would support a thread on stocks, smsf etc for members interested to share their experiences etc. I think its quite relevant - its the stocks that provide the income to pay for 4x4 etc. Even if its once a week would be good. There are probably quite a number of members who dabble in shares but may not have picked up the discussion in this thread as that was not the primary purpose of this thread.
Glen
FollowupID: 558398

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Saturday, Mar 15, 2008 at 17:19

Saturday, Mar 15, 2008 at 17:19
Well there is at least to others with SMSFs who are keen share traders on this site , so maybe you will have to make a post and lure them in.

Be prepared to ignore the half wits screaming it's a 4wd site , not a share site . Some people have fishing as a hobby , and nobody complains about a fishing post . Share trading is my hobby , so I think I should be afforded equal rights .

I don't think Footie will get upset about this minor deviation from his personal calamity post . A man can only take a certain amount of bad luck stories before he cracks up . We have saved him from this fate .

Cheers ,

Willie
FollowupID: 558412

Follow Up By: Richard W (NSW) - Sunday, Mar 16, 2008 at 05:47

Sunday, Mar 16, 2008 at 05:47
Thanks guys.
I did look at an SMSF a fair while ago but it seemed most of the benefits had been wittled away although that now may have changed and I'm not one who enjoys playing the market.
FollowupID: 558504

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 08:52

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 08:52
Living In Sydney and not having any one that can fix a HF radio.

I know Sydney is not the outback but there must be someone who can check out a auto tune aerial and work out why it is not tuning.

AnswerID: 292629

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 09:26

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 09:26
G'day Wayne,

have you tried Phoenix HF Communications in Sylvania Heights?
FollowupID: 558112

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 09:26

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 09:26
Wayne, Barrett or Codan ? I can give you a few leads if you like, but good techs are becoming almost as scarce as plumbers. And they don't even earn the same money!
FollowupID: 558113

Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 09:37

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 09:37
bushfix,
No I have not but I will.

Thank you.

Footloose,

Codan 8528 with a 9350 auto tune aerial.
The aerial does not want to tune.
The is no movement in the aerial when trying to auto tune.

FollowupID: 558116

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 09:49

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 09:49
Wayne, if you don't get anywhere with Phoenix, give Wayne a ring on 0298295626. Tell him Jim sent you:)
FollowupID: 558120

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 09:52

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 09:52
9350's are usually bullet proof. I'd be checking the leads (especially the control lead) first.
FollowupID: 558122

Follow Up By: Member - sdr00y (Beecroft) - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 17:41

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 17:41
Try Calling Karera Communications

* Hornsby 3 Leonard St 2077
* (02) 9477 5999

* Tuggerah Unit 2/ 49 Gavenlock Rd 2259
* (02) 4355 1599

FollowupID: 558201

Reply By: da76 - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 09:03

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 09:03
How about spending two months and thousands of dollars rigging up a 2002 Nissan Patrol for a three year trip around Oz and it being stolen THE DAY BEFORE a shake out trip to Fraser Island WITH ALL our equipment onboard (Boat on top as well)! Total losses $15,000-$20,000. Insurance covered vehicle but waiting (with baited breath) for Holt Marines insurance to cover all our upgrades and gear. To add to the bad luck story, we were just about to move our Daughter into her new share house and her clothes etc was also in the 4X4 : (...next!

Photo of rig before mods
AnswerID: 292631

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 09:18

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 09:18
Mate, that's cruel ! How upsetting all around. I hope they get the B's who took it ...but little chance of that I guess.
Insurance companies? I do hope it's not another hard luck story there!!
FollowupID: 558107

Reply By: Member - Hayjude (NSW) - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 10:33

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 10:33
On our way to Innaminka about five years ago, Day 1 - pulled up at Milparinka, busted springs on the trailer. Drove to Tibooburra got springs fixed, camped at Milparinka. Took off next morning and 15 kms out of Tibooburra springs on Toyota busted. Limped into Tibooburra,got fixed, took esky out to shout Sandy (mechanic) a beer, took off for Cameron's Corner and heard someone on the radio asking if anyone has lost an esky. Didn't worry and had a laugh as thought we had put eski back. Caught up with people at Cameron's Corner where we camped for the second night and got our esky back. 6 days at Innaminka and the couple we were travelling with fought constantly and made for a very uncomfortable week. Last day it blew like a b**tard and dust. On way home about 30 kms out of Tibooburra hit a big hole and yes you guessed it, busted springs on the trailer again. Limped into Tibooburra and Sandy once again got us out of trouble. Stayed at Tibooburra that night and had a few drinks with Sandy at the pub, got back to camp and other couple were having a huge barney. Next morning get up and both car batteries were flat. Once again radioed Sandy and he came and started cars and we were on our way. 20kms out of Broken Hill springs on trailer busted again. Fixed as best we could and limped home. Didn't learn our lesson as we went on a houseboat for a week with the same couple and it was a holiday from hell. Needless to say we don't have anything more to do with them. Sadly Sandy passed away a couple of years ago. RIP Sandy.
Alcohol may be man's worst enemy but the bible says love your enemy

AnswerID: 292645

Reply By: Robin Miller - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 11:25

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 11:25
Got my brand new 4800 Patrol - one of the first in the country
and headed out up Melbourne's black spur to show it off at
club meeting and right at the top of the spur the timing gear
came off, the timing chain jammed and the 6 pistons and 24 valves had a fight and destroyed the engine.

About an hour later the flat bed truck arrived and collected
my car.

The driver said that Nissan warranty is the bottom
of the barrel in roadside care and unfortunately
your 85km out of town , if you had of been only 80km
we would have looked after you and the family too, bye bye!

The really bad (or is it good) part of this story that this is the
only recorded case of such a failure in this car.

AnswerID: 292654

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 21:43

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 21:43
I got a brand new Datsun 720 4WD in the 80's picked it up at Seymour and on the way back to Broadford called of at the Tallarook Ranges for a bit of a test drive, all going good till I started off down a track and it started to get pretty step, so I chicken out.

Went to stop brake foot on clutch, bang foot hits the floor, stalled engine, hand brake, rock as a chock, and get out to have a look.

a pissant little stick had got up and knocked the rod out of the slave cylinder on the clutch, piston had moved out , no fluid.....

I,m 21-22 yoa sit back have a think. select low R, turn key, starts back back to main road, the drive the 20 k's back home,

I new that learning to drive not using the clutch would come in handy one day.. LOL

FollowupID: 558264

Reply By: EaglePatrol - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 14:00

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 14:00
Rigged up a 20L plastic jerry (In back of my old Pajero) for drinking water, with a garden host connected through the tap to dispense and fill with.
I forgot to loosen the cap when filling at Pilbara roadhouse. With jerry in situ i got the wife to check the level as it filled. The water level got to 90% when she said it's just not filling anymore. That was the second before the entire jerry exploded splashing 20L of water over her and the interior of the car.
Me, being the gent that I am, was more concerned about the HF radio bolted to the floor than her. Needless to say the next few kms went by in slience.
AnswerID: 292664

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 16:49

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 16:49

A few years ago, we went to Fraser Island, plan was to stay their for
ten days, arrived at the camp site, set up the tents ect, sat down
to have a cold drink, and one of the kids broke an arm.

Daza.
AnswerID: 292684

Reply By: landed eagle - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 19:07

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 19:07
I once owned a Mitsubishi Magna.................say no more!
AnswerID: 292706

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 21:13

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 21:13
spent 36 hrs on the north side of the Daintree River Crossing becaues some dill drove up onto the ramps of the fairy ... 1984

AnswerID: 292729

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 21:19

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 21:19
Which one of the young ladies wanted to get eaten by a croc ?
FollowupID: 558253

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 21:29

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 21:29
Don't worry there where plenty of crocs we shone light on them there eyes where around 12" apart you do the maths. next morning there where tracks around where we camped, (me being fearless I slept in the back of the ute..:-)
FollowupID: 558257

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 21:35

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 21:35
I can quite believe it...but the hareem ? Must have been in your hippy youth, eh ?
FollowupID: 558261

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 21:45

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 21:45
Sorry Footy I don't understand "hareem" I used to live in Cairns and din't mined a smoke..
FollowupID: 558265

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 21:52

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 21:52
Neither did a few females by the looks.
FollowupID: 558269

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 21:59

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 21:59
I can't see any Females only handsome young men.. ;-)
FollowupID: 558273

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 22:03

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 22:03
Strange, I see a walking pot plant surrounded by a bevvy of beauties.....my eyes must be really crook LOL
FollowupID: 558275

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 22:19

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 22:19
Image Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be Found
FollowupID: 558278

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 22:22

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 22:22
Hey, that's clever, turning young women into young blokes LOL
Must be time to clean the glasses :)))
FollowupID: 558279

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Mar 15, 2008 at 01:58

Saturday, Mar 15, 2008 at 01:58
that had only around 2500 km on the clock.

drive got to spend the night in a motal...
FollowupID: 558315

Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 15, 2008 at 06:05

Saturday, Mar 15, 2008 at 06:05
Did a front diff 3 weeks ago. Broke a CV, brakeline and the radiator last weekend. I think I'll stick to outback touring.
AnswerID: 292775

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 15, 2008 at 06:21

Saturday, Mar 15, 2008 at 06:21
Those shopping centre carparks are murder LOL

FollowupID: 558317

Follow Up By: Richard W (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 15, 2008 at 07:12

Saturday, Mar 15, 2008 at 07:12
Sure are.
The shopping trolley and the Rangie were both recovered from the Stockton Bowl last weekend. :)
FollowupID: 558319

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Mar 15, 2008 at 11:56

Saturday, Mar 15, 2008 at 11:56
ummm...which one's the Rangie ? LOL
FollowupID: 558352

Follow Up By: Richard W (NSW) - Sunday, Mar 16, 2008 at 06:09

Sunday, Mar 16, 2008 at 06:09
Footloose,

The one with the low profile tyres. ;)
FollowupID: 558505