Narromine Caravan Park

Submitted: Friday, Jun 20, 2003 at 10:35
ThreadID: 5555 Views:2423 Replies:5 FollowUps:5
Hi Group,
I am planning on doing the Darling River Run during the school hols in July.
On the way, from Sydney, we will do the Dubbo Zoo. With the bad publicity about Dubbo lately, the handbrake is a little nervous about staying there, so I have picked Narromine as a likely alternative. It is not too far to backtrack to the Zoo and people i have spoken to say its a nice town.
We are dragging a campertrailer along.

My 2 Questions are:
There are 2 listed Caravan Parks in Narromine, The Aerodrome and the Rose Garden. Has anyone stayed in either of these parks?
What did you think of them?

Cheers and thanks
waynepdCheers
waynepd
%
%:-)
%

Reply By: duncs - Friday, Jun 20, 2003 at 10:53

Friday, Jun 20, 2003 at 10:53
Hey Waynepd

Have stayed in Dubbo many times and never had a problem. There is a Big4 park which is big on security if the barake is worried. Turn right at the roundabout just after you cross the river. I don't know about the CVparks in Narromine but where ever you stay I suggest you book.

The River run is great I'm sure you will have a very enjoyable time. Just one little hint. Don't worry about seeing all of it Take your time and enjoy teh slow pace. Have a good look around Louth and plan on being there for sunset. Ask at Shindy's Inn about the reflected light off the grave stone of one of the early settlers. It is truly amazing and well worth hanging around for.

Did the trip a couple of years ago and wish I could go again.
Have fun
AnswerID: 23052

Follow Up By: Waynepd - Saturday, Jun 21, 2003 at 10:02

Saturday, Jun 21, 2003 at 10:02
Thanks Duncs,
After the stay in Dubbo/Narromine and having a look at Fred Hollow's grave in Bourke, i was planning to do the run as far as wilcannia (not stopping there either). Stopping at Trilby Station near Louth the night before, then going to White Cliffs for a couple of nights and then Broken Hill.
If there is time I was going to come back via Menindee. I have about 13 Days to do the lot. However if I find something that i want to stay around for I can adjust or skip sections and save them for another trip.

thanks again
waynepdCheers
waynepd
%
%
FollowupID: 15335

Follow Up By: duncs - Saturday, Jun 21, 2003 at 16:17

Saturday, Jun 21, 2003 at 16:17
Waynepd,
If you come to the Hill call in at the Fire Station in Blende St abnd say Gday.

There is a nice run back to Sydney from Menindee which is at least as quick as the Highway and a lot more fun. I can give details if you call in.

Duncs.
FollowupID: 15340

Follow Up By: Waynepd - Saturday, Jun 21, 2003 at 23:22

Saturday, Jun 21, 2003 at 23:22
Might just do that Duncs thanks.

waynepd
%
%
FollowupID: 15371

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Friday, Jun 20, 2003 at 18:47

Friday, Jun 20, 2003 at 18:47
Best thing to do is stay at the Zoo which is out of town anyway. Book in for the twilight feeding rounds and see all the animals up close well worth it and the Zoo is a different place than during the day when we choose to turn up-all the animals are keeping out of the sun
Andrew wheredayathinkwer mike?
AnswerID: 23084

Follow Up By: Waynepd - Saturday, Jun 21, 2003 at 10:05

Saturday, Jun 21, 2003 at 10:05
Hi DOZER,
do they have camping at the Zoo?
I plan on doing either the breakfast or twilight tours. I have friends who reccomend them too.

waynepd
%
%
FollowupID: 15336

Reply By: Member - Roger - Saturday, Jun 21, 2003 at 22:41

Saturday, Jun 21, 2003 at 22:41
Gday Mate,
I live in Dubbo so E mail me your phone no and we will converse.
rlowry@hwy.com.au
Will be out of town until 27 June.
RegardsDodg
AnswerID: 23175

Reply By: brooksy - Sunday, Jun 22, 2003 at 23:11

Sunday, Jun 22, 2003 at 23:11
Hi Wayne,
I also live in Dubbo and when this publicity broke I was concerned that it would have the very affect on tourism that you are indicating. Let me assure you that the problems in Dubbo are no worse than any other city or town of a similar size. Its just that a particular media person is trying to gain some political mileage out of this issue.
There are two fantastic parks in Dubbo, Dubbo City Caravan Park (Big 4) and Dubbo Cabin and Caravan Parklands (www.dubboparkland.com.au) which is about 1 km from the zoo.
Camping is not available at the zoo. They do have a Zoofari Lodge which consists of tents on concrete slabs and are quite comfortable. They are a bit expensive (about $300 per night) but the price does include zoo entry, an early morning zoo walk and breakfast (and maybe dinner).
I have done the Darling River Run a number of times and can thoroughly recommend the trip.

Brooksy
AnswerID: 23250

Reply By: Waynepd - Monday, Jun 23, 2003 at 09:23

Monday, Jun 23, 2003 at 09:23
Thanks to all that replied..
Exploroz Forum members have come up with the goods again.

I have emailed a booking into the BIG 4 CP at Dubbo.
I suspected that the "problems" were a media beatup but when you have your kids with you, you have to be extra sure.

Seems funny for a Sydneysider to be worried about going into a high crime area :)

One other related question. Are the twilight or brekky tours only available to those wealthy enough to stay at the zoo, or can you book into them yourself?

Duncs, if I get to BH do i ask for duncs. waynepd@yahoo.com.au

waynepd
%
%
AnswerID: 23263

Follow Up By: brooksy - Monday, Jun 23, 2003 at 22:46

Monday, Jun 23, 2003 at 22:46
Wayne,
The zoo tours are early morning tours (start about 6.30 I think) and are open to any visitor. Craig and Lisa Johnson at the CP will be able to give you all the details.

Have a good trip
Brooksy
FollowupID: 15508