cooper tyres

Submitted: Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 14:26
ThreadID: 55897 Views:7148 Replies:23 FollowUps:34
old uncle ron moon and his ads finally convinced me to get a set of cooper ats, done 25ooo, used to have 5 now i have one . rest have died a horrible death, tread lifting, sidewalls shredding. overrated, overpriced american crap. what will i do with the one i have left? i know.... bend over ron and brace yourself.

Reply By: Member - Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 14:30

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 14:30
Hiab,

You could hang it in a tree for a swing - bit risky I know - someone may end up with a steel belt splinter in their butt....

Tim
AnswerID: 294599

Reply By: Member -Signman - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 14:34

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 14:34
You mean you were conned by the words of Moon..
He would have to be one of the greatest b/s wankers in the 4WD scene..
Believe it- there's suckers out there who actually take his opinion as fact..
And if he did bend over- the remaining tyre would probably fit/ coz most of his 'crap' comes out of that end !!
AnswerID: 294600

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 18:42

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 18:42
I think you should retract what you have posted

You ignorance comes to the fore Signman!

Have you met Ron Moon? I doubt it.
FollowupID: 560555

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 19:12

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 19:12
Willem
Your assumptions again mis-guided...
Yes- I have spent (wasted) a number of occasions with Mr Moon- including one forgetable ' expedition'. His respect of the environment & other people is not what I would consider the ethos of 4WDing. And get a few beers on board- and it becomes worse.
The last occassion (hopefully the last) was Hobart 2006.
Should I retract a statement that I consider a true statement from my experience- I think not.

FollowupID: 560565

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 19:26

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 19:26
Well then, explain yourself.

Its no good making statements that do not match up to any fact.

Lets hear the whole saga from the Horses Mouth, so to speak.

FollowupID: 560572

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 19:38

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 19:38
Nahh..not worth wasting the electrons...
Just to say that my opinion has been expressed by many others..

FollowupID: 560577

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 19:50

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 19:50
Yerrr just what I thought.....

Yer all wind.... Signman
FollowupID: 560585

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 21:34

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 21:34
/ whatever !!
FollowupID: 560626

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 01:56

Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 01:56
Hmm Willem your experienes with Coopers would tend to suggest Signman no talk with forked tongue
FollowupID: 560862

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 05:22

Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 05:22
Go back to sleep Davoe!
FollowupID: 560865

Reply By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 14:34

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 14:34
TYPICAL

AnswerID: 294601

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 14:56

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 14:56
If someone paid me to say that Cooper tyres were great, i would take their money...and they would probably would give you as many tyres as you could use, even if they were crap.!!!ADVERTISING!!!!

AnswerID: 294605

Reply By: Member - Andrew D (VIC) - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 15:27

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 15:27
You are now a member of the once bitten twice shy club regarding crap cooper tyres.

They have to spend heaps on advertising coz there ain't no word of mouth recommendations
Your lack of planning does not constitute my emergency.

AnswerID: 294610

Reply By: bms - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 15:33

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 15:33
Mate you must be using the wrong style of tyre (tread pattern and construction) for the conditions with the wrong pressures (remember to air down on gravel a bit more for mud a bit more for sand etc ) on the wrong rims on the wrong vehicle .
I wouldn't recommend using the last one as a swing as you could be sued when it delaminates at full swing.

I can hear all the reasons from coopers now
AnswerID: 294612

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew D (VIC) - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 15:34

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 15:34
They were probably rotated in the wrong order!!

FollowupID: 560503

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 15:41

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 15:41
Probably had the 'raised white lettering' facing out !!!!

FollowupID: 560505

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 18:16

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 18:16
You probably didnt change the air at the correct intervals!!

FollowupID: 560540

Follow Up By: Member - David P (VIC) - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 19:58

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 19:58
Is this another example of crap U.S. tyres, Bridgestone saved Firestone. Who is going to save Coopers when the penny finally drops?.. Consider this Germany exports more than the ENTIRE U..S.A.!!! A nation built on consumption is also built on sand....We are living thru the end of their era.....silverback
FollowupID: 560590

Reply By: redfive - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 15:58

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 15:58
Gentleman

i know 2 people that had them one did a central australia trip (100 series towing a camper trailer )which i was on and his back tyres fell to bits after 9000kms he got 2 new tyres when he got back and
the other guy did a trip the WA (100 series towing a van )and his didnt make it home changed tyres in Perth both guys know how to drive and had the right pressures so there must be something to this
old uncle ron wouldnt pay for his coopers so why would he care what happens to them just like mr newman in his ad bleep if i was getting free rubber and most likley payed to tell you all how good they are i would sell you retreaded slippers to put on your 4wd

Glenn
AnswerID: 294617

Reply By: Ted (Cairns) - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 16:01

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 16:01
A shame you don't have two or more left, that way you could have gotten the mob from Australian 4WD Monthly to bend over as well... They think you won't even reach the next Woolies with any other tyres on... Anyone here knows how/if people managed to drive around before Coopers were imported?
AnswerID: 294618

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 02:01

Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 02:01
get with the program boy!
Mickey Thompson are the new kid in town throwing advertising cash round like confetti in the 4WDM office
FollowupID: 560863

Reply By: Mark Taylor - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 16:07

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 16:07
I don't have any loyalty to any tyre manufacturer.. but my coopers ran around 60K without any problems. I don't have them on my current vehicle, but I would have them again.

The tryes I used to destroy easily were Alliance, (back in the 70s) made in Israel.

I don't thnk Cooper are better or worse than most new tyres these days in my own experience.

Mark T
AnswerID: 294620

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy Springsure- Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 16:18

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 16:18
I stopped listening to his biased (read payed) opinions years ago and haven't touched a 4x4 Australia in about 15 years.
That's why the 4wd monthly took off so quickly I suspect..although I feel that the mag and dvd's aren't as good since Glenn came to the helm.
My 2 cents
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 294623

Follow Up By: Ted (Cairns) - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 17:13

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 17:13
I think you call the contents of mags and DVD's "infomercials"
FollowupID: 560525

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 18:32

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 18:32
Many years ago i couldn't wait for the next mag to hit the newsagents. I stopped buying them a few years ago because of the lack of content and tests that never gave firm results. I guess ambiguous tests because of current advertisers and potential advertising dollars from the oposition companies in the future.. The same old hasbeens, flogging the same old stuff.. If i won a free years subscription to either mag, i still dont think i would read it.. Michael.

FollowupID: 560550

Reply By: Member - Lee B (VIC) - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 16:27

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 16:27
Let's hear it for the BFG's

Lee
AnswerID: 294625

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew D (VIC) - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 16:40

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 16:40
Hear Hear

FollowupID: 560519

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 18:19

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 18:19
I second that!!!

FollowupID: 560541

Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy Springsure- Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 18:55

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 18:55
Ditto. If I ever got less than 100,000km out of my BFG muddies then I would be horrified and I treat them like crap.

Had a set of Coopers once........once

2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

FollowupID: 560558

Follow Up By: Member - Ian H (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 21:48

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 21:48
Yep, me too. One set of Coopers and never again. Left sydney with 5 and returned 2 months later with 2. Have used BFG ATs ever since and have not had one puncture and only one sidewall staking which was repairable. Coopers......never again!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 560632

Reply By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 18:13

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 18:13
Makes me think. Why are all you fellas having problems with Coopers, when I don't?

The car runs ATs around the city and STs in the bush. I've lost two of the latter through stakes in burnt out country over the last couple of years, but in that case, it wouldn't matter what radials you were running.

If tyres are shredding, sounds to me that people are running pressures far too high for the conditions.

Kim
AnswerID: 294654

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 18:23

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 18:23
I'm with you Kim,

Had a set of Cooper AT's on the Prado from new and had no problems at all in 40,000km. Handled a trip through Innamincka and SW QLD Gibbers no problem.

Replaced them at 1/2 wear stage to use as trailer tyres and put Cooper ATR's on (newer AT pattern in 10 ply LT spec). Again another 40,000km with no issues and they have done stony tracks and some rock work. Minor chipping but nothing unexpected. No punctures. Great tyres on sand.

I use the ATR's for moderate off-road and highway work (the advertised intended use) and have a second set of Goodyear MTR's for tougher trips.

I know that not all can afford a second set (or have a place to store them) so anything people buy has to be a compromise between blacktop safety and off-road toughness and performance.

Maybe it is driving speed and style, maybe it is pressures, maybe it is just bad luck.

My Coopers are doing just fine. The Goodyear MTRs are also pretty awesome.

Muddy
FollowupID: 560545

Follow Up By: Topcat (WA) - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 19:16

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 19:16
I may as well get on the wagon too. I'm running Cooper ATRs on the Troopy & have done over 40k on them without any problems & that is 40% off-road which includes some very rocky tracks up in the Pilbara. I reckon I'll get another 40k at of them at the current wear rate & my troopy is heavy. Cheers.
FollowupID: 560567

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 19:50

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 19:50
You must be mad as cut cats.

Andrew who thinks a tyres a tire but has been Cooper shod for a few hundred k's now.
FollowupID: 560586

Follow Up By: Member - Robert G (WA) - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2008 at 19:16

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2008 at 19:16
I don't have an alliance with any tyres and have just put some Mickey Thompsons on my car to test as I had worn my set of Cooper ST's out. They were a good tyre and lasted nearly 70k with no punctures. I did tear some lugs off at low pressure on rocks but this seemed to have no significant difference on handling as far as I could tell and I kept using them. My one and only gripe is that they were a bit noisy, but then they have a pretty aggressive tread pattern. Whatever the case may be, I would recomend Coopers if asked as I had a good run out of em and thats waht counts to me.
FollowupID: 560765

Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 18:28

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 18:28
Can't agree with you on the Coopers as I've had a really good run out of them. I will try something else when the time comes (and not BFG's) but have to agree on the Moon infomercial mag.... 4X4 "What'll they give me for nothing" Australia! It's turned into a load of paid for rubbish where the right amount of $ will buy you the editorial or review you want. What ever happened to impartial review. Pity Choice don't do a 4x4 mag. Take a look at Dean Mellor (the editors) "impartial" editorial from Dec 07 for example. How many times can you mention Cooper tyres, Toyota and the three tyre outlets that gave them something for nothing in less than 600 words? Never enough obviously. There travel editorials are simply Ron Moon selling up his unbelievably fantastic next Legendary Outback Expedition (LOE).

OK I'm over it now. Thanks for listening. Cheers. Mick.

AnswerID: 294661

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 02:08

Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 02:08
Yup The last mag showed them bogged in seaweed at Israilite during te LOE.
Hell a quick searh on this site will reveal GPS coordinates where to get off the telegraph track onto the beach
Why the hell would you pay to go with somne who hasnt been there beforeand hasnt even done his research
Anyone can do that for free
FollowupID: 560864

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 09:53

Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 09:53
Have you been there Davoe?

I am sure the next time I go there I will have trouble finding the track again and the seaweed at times is difficult. I didn't get bogged but there were a few hairy moments.
FollowupID: 560901

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 12:07

Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 12:07
Yes a couple of times and avoided that area because the problems there are well known and info how to avoid it easily obtainable
Hers some trip notes including coordinates for one of the entry/exits to the beach fom the telegraph track
Pt culver to Israilite and west
FollowupID: 560923

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 12:40

Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 12:40
um, well how do you know he hasn't been there before or that he did no homework? And how could he anticipate exactly what the seaweed would be like?
I think you're being pretty tough on him - after all, none of his convoy ended up getting washed out to the Southern Ocean.
FollowupID: 560932

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 13:30

Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 13:30
Like I said if he did his homework he would have avoided the area. The weed there is well known and well documented.
And if he had been there before he would have avioded it.
Othrs ive talked to that have been there have all said the same thing.
Ill be avding that bloody area next time
Bottom line is its well known, and easily avoidable I would expect more from a tourguide than to get me bogged there. I can find dumn spots to get bogged at myself.
Unavoidable or unforseen circumstances are another thng entierly
FollowupID: 560944

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 13:53

Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 13:53
I've taken a group along that section of beach myself and don't think you're being fair.

Situation goes like this... people get sick of riding up and down in L2 or L3 over the high weed, and decide that lower down looks better than where I'm taking them - despite my warnings...

Things go okay for 1 km or so, and they get more adventurous... they are far enough behind for me not to be able to tell... and then they hit an area of deep weed under the sand... guess what... you can hear their cry for help on the UHF... so you have to turn around on the beach yourself which is a problem in itself...

After a couple of days things get better (read people learn to do what they are told)... but don't blame the guide.

There's a hell of a lot of serious beach driving to be done there ;-)
FollowupID: 560949

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 18:59

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 18:59
Whereas I swapped my Cooper STT's for a slab of VB I do think that some of you, in replying to this thread, are just plain stupid.

Who the hell would believe in any advertising. Its commercialisation of a product. Its the way to sell things to those who are unaware of what goes on in life. Repetitive mention of a certain product sticks in the brain and induces one....maybe subliminally....to go and buy that product.

I bought my Coopers before Ron Moon lent his name to the ads.
Unfortunately my Coopers did not survive a hard trek into the Never Never and I changed my brand. Undoubtedly, if you drove along the sealed surfaces and good gravel roads you might get good value out of Coopers and that is what the advertisements are all about. If you abuse the tyres(tires...lol), they will fail, and it does'nt not really matter what the brand name is.

Don't blame a personality, who has lent their name to advertise a product(for a fee) as the fall guy(coll.), for the failure of a product.

AnswerID: 294671

Reply By: curious - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 19:37

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 19:37
I've had a good run from my Cooper STs. They were on the Prado when I bought it and have now done 80,000 kms. I do a reasonable amount of off-road, chipped a bit in the gibber country around Innamincka but not too badly. I adjust the pressures according to what I'm driving on and I'm probably not hard on tyres. Just slow down and drive according to the conditions. Wouldn't mind trying BGFs but can't complain about the Coopers I have now.

AnswerID: 294686

Reply By: On Patrol (East Coast) - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 20:05

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 20:05
I have no loyalty to any brand of tyre, fridge or vehicle.

I do like my Coopers that have taken me to Cape York, Vic High country, Strezleki desert +++++++ without incident or problem @ 60000km.

All of this in my 3 ltr Nissan that has been good to me for near on 180000km, complete with a 4year old Waeco fridge supplying my cold beer at the end of the day in temps that would fry an egg.

And despite what the "EXPERTS" say I have had no problems with any of them because they all get normal maintainance.

We all know what an "EXPERT" is, "Ex = a has been" and "Spurt = a drip under pressure"

Be your own man and don't be taken in by ads.
Colin.
AnswerID: 294698

Reply By: Member - Derek L (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 20:15

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 20:15
Well i don't know Ron Moon personally or ever had anything to do with him. I can not read his articles in 4x4 mag or even look at any of the ads he is in to promote someones product he just looks so grumpy and it is only human nature to avoid grumpy looking poeple. So I do feel sorry for the companies that are using him to promote their products as I didn't look at them as his grumpy look s***ts me. But I have purchased 1 product that he promotes and I only bought it because the salemans at my local 4wd store really give me good reliable information. So go away Mr Moon and don't come back until you find a smile or learn how to smile from Viv.

Sorry back the Cooper stories, I am using ST's at the moment from the advice of a few mates. I have used BFG AT's which I feel that are slightly better tyre but alot of insurance companies don't cover 100 series with 17" wheels running BFG AT's as they don't have the load rating and the coopers do so that the only reason why I went with them.

DerekL

AnswerID: 294705

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 20:17

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 20:17
If you have tread lifting and/or sidewalls shredding, why have you not gone back to the dealer and fixed the issue rather than come on here and whinge about a bloke who is not here to defend his decision to support a product?

Talk to the dealer about this, and fix the problem....this posting is nothing but trolling for negative responses!

I agree with Willem and On Patrol's statements.

AnswerID: 294706

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 20:20

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 20:20
The guys who lend their names to the Cooper advertising need to make a living like anyone else...............

The problem with the Cooper advertising is the HYPE. People get disappointed because they have been promised too much from Cooper Tyres.

From what I see, they are still a popular tyre in the eastern states who like to climb mountains, but out in the desert, their thinner than average sidewalls are a real issue.
Why have they got thin sidewalls???? It dissipates the heat - and heat is what wears out tyres. Can't get high mileage with a thick walled tyre.

I'm happy for people to bring Cooper tyres on my trips - we usually get plenty of plug practice, but they are a good bitumen tyre.
AnswerID: 294709

Follow Up By: Crackles - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 20:52

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 20:52
In my eyes the guys who lend their names to Cooper may have a credibility issue. It would be interesting to really know if they have the same punctures & premature wear seen by many & still stand behind the product simply to make a living.
Cheers Craig.........
FollowupID: 560616

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 21:04

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 21:04
Yep, Its sad to see some good people lose credibility because they promote a product that fails to live up to the Hype.
FollowupID: 560621

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 21:25

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 21:25
These guys make a living getting about... perhaps some more than others (ie some are black top tourers), but if Coopers were half as bad as the general picture one might make out from this thread, these guys - not just Coopers - would be out of business.

My business runs on Coopers rubber - I have neither the time nor inclination to be constantly repairing or replacing them even if they were (and they aren't) free. Where I go it can be damned expensive and time-consuming to replace tyres or even make repairs.

Consequently your mileage may vary - you might not drive how I do.

Andrew who prefers to make bush photographs than bush tyre-repairs.
FollowupID: 560623

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 22:44

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 22:44
Sure, coopers aren't as bad as we make them out. There's a bit of anger out there, because they may not deliver what is promised.

Most people I know who run tours for a living, know where to put their wheels, how fast to travel and what pressures to run, so are less likely than the average punter to get punctures.
FollowupID: 560653

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 20:59

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 20:59
You remember those ads a few years ago for Industry Super Funds?

They had the former head of the Reserve Bank, Bernie Fraser, fronting them.

I suppose if your Industry Super Fund is suffering during the current recession you would blame Bernie?

Bit pathetic, playing the man and not the ball.

AnswerID: 294726

Reply By: Member -Steve.NT - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2008 at 19:39

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2008 at 19:39
ROTFLMAO!!!!!!!

I have said it on more than one occasion 693 Bridgstones run them at 42 psi and sit back and enjoy the ride.

Cheers Steve.
AnswerID: 294868

Reply By: jeepthing - Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 09:26

Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 09:26
I tried Coopers twice but never again. The first set I had one started to part the tread after about 3,000k Coopers replaced it while I was travelling and sent it to Derby for me no charge..put new one on would have been no more the 100k on the Gibb River and a puncture. After that had no more issues so when I replaced my vehicle thought I'd give them another go as they do have good grip and handle well; would have done no more than 600k on gravel tyre destoyed by a sharp rock couldn't be repaired. Tyres were badly chipped from the gravel. When I got back home spoke with Coopers who advised my pressures were perfect for where I had been travelling but they didn't warrant against punctures. But I gave them a serve and reminded them that their advertsing hype focused on how puncture resistant they were. Best offer a replacement at half price.
Coopers are the most complained about tyre on the market. When I was in Newman last year getting a replacement for the one that couldn't be repaired the owner took me out back and showed me the pile of destroyed Coopers he had. He told me that Coopers do not like the iron country of WA and neither do they like heat. The mining companies in the Pilbara use nothing but Bridgestone crank them up to max cold psi and have very few problems.
The local Tyrepower owner where I live has more comebacks with Coopers than any other tyre in fact he does not promote their tyres anymore and only sells them if someone comes in and specifically wants them.
No more Coopers for me!!!
AnswerID: 294964

Follow Up By: hiab - Saturday, Mar 29, 2008 at 23:37

Saturday, Mar 29, 2008 at 23:37
i thought ron was ok years ago before the ad men came along, used to scoff at gps and nav. aids, real 4wds he said, now if the car doesnt have a drink holder every 300 mil, apparently now none of us can get out of the driveway without navigation aids and rear cameras and things that tell you how much air pressure is in the tryes, i know im living in the past but, i prefer working with a map and compass and a bit of plain old common sense.
FollowupID: 561533

Reply By: hiab - Saturday, Mar 29, 2008 at 23:41

Saturday, Mar 29, 2008 at 23:41
plus old mate roothy is going down the same path, still money talks. and for gods sake get a new car.
AnswerID: 295509