Innamincka again folks

Submitted: Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 19:43
ThreadID: 56203 Views:1838 Replies:5 FollowUps:17
Evening all,

I don't know if we are doing a slap-up dinner any night we are all gathered at Innamincka but we are: how about we do a Christmas in July theme. You know what I mean - bon bons, decorations, roast chicken, champers, stuffing and all the trimmings.

And to make it Christmas, can I suggest everyome brings a funny present or 2 along - absolute limit $10.00 (yes I know times are tough but $10.00 will not hurt anyone - it won't even fill the injector pump for goodness sake) and all pressies get put in a heap and every person gets 1. Lots of kids are involved so how about the parents bring little things for them too.

Something else to think and talk about.

And Kev, no bottles of rum for Kiwi.

And the horseshoes I've ordered have not yet turned up but have stirred the shop up and expect something long before July

John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions"

Reply By: Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 20:11

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 20:11
John,

The bottles of rum would be heading my way and not the other LOL
From what I hear Kiwi is planning a birthday bash on Thursday night for someone ;)

I am trying to get a few items donated for the raffle/charity auction while we are there for the RFDS, I have a few items but a few others from people attending would be good also.

98 days to go..................

AnswerID: 296201

Reply By: Dave B (NSW) - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 20:35

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 20:35
I reckon if anyone has room for a telescope, it should be fan bloody tastic out there at night.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 296216

Follow Up By: Nick R (VIC) - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 22:04

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 22:04
I reckon the city folk or anyone that lives near a gas field like we do will appreciate the proper dark. that said we will have a new moon at the time of the gathering. Stuffs the idea I had of doing some night photography of the stars
Nick
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 562307

Follow Up By: Dave B (NSW) - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 22:11

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 22:11
I didn't even think of checking the cycle of the moon Nick.
And your right, it will spoil it for stargazing.
We will still be ble to see some satellites though I am sure.
'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

FollowupID: 562309

Follow Up By: The Geriatric Gypsies - Thursday, Apr 03, 2008 at 11:08

Thursday, Apr 03, 2008 at 11:08
goodday guys
ive got the telescope as long as some one can put it together properly was a present but i have not figured it out
i will bring it along

FollowupID: 562381

Reply By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 22:58

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 22:58
These pressy games are soooo much fun....Im making it a Marsden tradition.....my side of the fam.....trying the barnes's out next time!!LOL!!

chrissy dinner sounds a treat!! and lets see...Kev owes me 8 rum cans...at 375ml each thats a total of 3lt so he might as well give me a bottle!!LOL!!! na its all good!

good idea John!
AnswerID: 296270

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Thursday, Apr 03, 2008 at 11:02

Thursday, Apr 03, 2008 at 11:02
The only bottle I'll give you would be an empty one ;)

FollowupID: 562380

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Thursday, Apr 03, 2008 at 11:09

Thursday, Apr 03, 2008 at 11:09
and it will only be empty cos you've poured all the drinks for me, as you are just soooo kind, and would want me to keep the empty bottle as memorabilia of that moment in time!!
FollowupID: 562383

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Apr 03, 2008 at 14:53

Thursday, Apr 03, 2008 at 14:53
There are some great ideas popping up re "The Gathering", but let's consider there will be somewhere in the order of 100 people or so.

I suspect this may be too many even for a big camp fire and picture a few smaller group gatherings may be in oder.
With this in mind, how about we plan a WAR against each other:-)

OK, just kidding, but there will still be many many people "on the Common" and very hard to accomodate everyone together in the one big group, let alone sitting down for meals together.

One possibility is a mass feeding at the pub. They do a great "Sunday roast" and have quite a big undercover area too.
(Or they did, last time I was there)

AnswerID: 296387

Follow Up By: Member - John T (NSW) - Thursday, Apr 03, 2008 at 15:10

Thursday, Apr 03, 2008 at 15:10
G'day sandman

Yes I agree that there will be a huge crowd of us in the common so no chance of all sitting down to dinner together but could the pub play host to all of us anyway - 46 vehicles (so far) + kids so over 100 of us. I was thinking more along the lines of smaller groups sitting down and doing a progressive dinner type of thing - nibbles and drink with 1 lot, on to the next for soup/entree and then to the next for mains, to the next for dessert then on again for coffee and after dinner port. Not sure how it would work but would give a chance for all to meet all if you know what I mean.

It would take a bit of organising but have done similar in the past with slightly smaller crowds (50 or so) and it's fun

John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions"

FollowupID: 562428

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Apr 03, 2008 at 16:08

Thursday, Apr 03, 2008 at 16:08
No problem there John,

I'll have the Hillbilly oven and the Cobb cooker to play with.

Now who is going to take the Expresso machine?

FollowupID: 562438

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Apr 03, 2008 at 17:06

Thursday, Apr 03, 2008 at 17:06
Bill,
Lucky (Lucy) is tha man to see re expresso,cuppachino etc!!

Love the idea of the christmas theme. I could make a couple of Christmas puds

Nette
FollowupID: 562446

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Thursday, Apr 03, 2008 at 17:09

Thursday, Apr 03, 2008 at 17:09
Annette,

I was going to say that Kim wasn't attending as yet, but if Lucky's shoe fits than who better than him to provide us all with a hot expresso before 7am every morning. (he has to pay for waking everyone up at the Pyrenees gathering LOL)

FollowupID: 562447

Reply By: Mark & Jo, S/side, Bris - Thursday, Apr 03, 2008 at 16:37

Thursday, Apr 03, 2008 at 16:37
Orrrrrrrrrrr instead of grabbing all the pressies for each other we could maybe donate them all to some charity that does bush relief stuff, specifically for families over christmas??? Or the local publican who knows everyone and could distribute as they see the need at christmas, and just write whether it is a boy or girl present.
Just a thought...
AnswerID: 296405

Follow Up By: Member - John T (NSW) - Thursday, Apr 03, 2008 at 16:58

Thursday, Apr 03, 2008 at 16:58
Love that idea Jo. I'm sure Willem or someone wiser than I will know (or be able to find out for us) what organisations could use the pressies for more needy folk.

What say Willem??

John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619

FollowupID: 562442

Follow Up By: Mark & Jo, S/side, Bris - Thursday, Apr 03, 2008 at 17:05

Thursday, Apr 03, 2008 at 17:05
As for all the EO kids, I'm sure they will all be happy with plenty of area to run around after scoffing lollies and red cordial!
FollowupID: 562445

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Thursday, Apr 03, 2008 at 17:13

Thursday, Apr 03, 2008 at 17:13
Maybe contact the RFDS and see if they would take the presents to deliver to stations. I am sure the families out there are feeling it hard at the moment and don't have suplus cash to give the kids a birthday present let alone a christmas present.

Keep the idaea comming.

FollowupID: 562448

Follow Up By: Mark & Jo, S/side, Bris - Thursday, Apr 03, 2008 at 17:14

Thursday, Apr 03, 2008 at 17:14
http://www.aussiehelpers.org.au/

These guys do a great job, and maybe those that cannot attend, whom are regulars on here, If put into a kitty say $20.00 per family imagine how much that would quickly add up to? Only need 5 families to make $100 bucks.
FollowupID: 562449

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Thursday, Apr 03, 2008 at 17:55

Thursday, Apr 03, 2008 at 17:55
I reckon the charity thing is a brilliant idea.

and the roving dinner!! brilliant!! Im soo gonna be there!!

Bring it on!!

Laura
FollowupID: 562460

Follow Up By: Member - John T (NSW) - Thursday, Apr 03, 2008 at 18:51

Thursday, Apr 03, 2008 at 18:51
Glad you like the dinner idea - I have just finished dinner here - sweet and sour chicken and some noodles yummm - thinking if there's 100 or so show up - 5 lots of tables and 20 - 25 per group. reckon we can do it that way??? 5 courses so should be easy and NO KIWI - you are not doing the pre or after dinner drinks thing LOL

John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619

FollowupID: 562476

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Thursday, Apr 03, 2008 at 20:27

Thursday, Apr 03, 2008 at 20:27
What about the locals organise a meal for all for Sat night and the proceeds go to either local charities or RFDS
At say $30 a head they could raise a fair bit of money.
Just an idea

FollowupID: 562516

Follow Up By: Member - John T (NSW) - Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 07:14

Friday, Apr 04, 2008 at 07:14
Des,

Sounds like yet another idea to do something worthwhile for others in need (and it might paint a better picture of 4x4 owners - though I spose that out there "we" are not alien species anyway). I don't know any of the "locals" so would have to rely on someone with that knowledge to do some organising. Can you help in that regard mate?

John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619

FollowupID: 562614