Nissan or toyota - which one?

Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 24, 2003 at 19:50
ThreadID: 5633 Views:2514 Replies:11 FollowUps:23
Well the 4Runner is back from the panel beaters and the 70 series will be back on the road this weekend after having got the head machined. Big decision now is whether to keep both or sell them and buy a mid 90's swb 4.2 td GQ. The 4 Runner is my family truck and the 70 series is used off road only, so having two trucks can be a pain. The idea with the GQ is that i can use it for both and still be able to tow a caravan for holidays. By the way......... why is it that insurance companies only fix the dented bit. After putting the 4 runner on its side, having it fixed and getting it back, the fixed side is like a new car while the rest is still the same lightly scratched finish. Even the bumper has two different colours from where they only repainted the dented bit. The repairers say they only get paid to fix the dented bits and no more. They wanted $800 to do the rest of the truck to get it all looking the same. I cant fault them as i know that this is correct from another mate in the business. Over here the Insurance companies are now starting to get tough on off road excursions. $2000 excess if you damage the truck off the legal road. At least we still get cover.

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2003 at 20:41

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2003 at 20:41
call insurance company and tell them things like your bumper is 2 different colors, and your not accepting it.

Take it back to the panel beater, and tell him if thats the best he can do, you will gladly spread the word.

on the car, get a GQ and never look back.
AnswerID: 23397

Reply By: Martyn (WA) - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2003 at 20:41

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2003 at 20:41
Jaycee,
Nissan, Nissan, Nissan, not being biased or anything, no doubt this will start another Tojo V Nissan discussion, I did the same thing I used to have a FJ 45 and an alternate brand I don't want to mention, sold both bought the GQ treated it with kid gloves, cringed at every screeeeeching noise as the branches chewed their way into the paintwork, spent lets say a few dolleros fixing the paint and installing the odd accessory, then I branched out and bought an old Rangie for a bargain price, I've done the suspension put some tyres on and fitted a locker and that's it, great fun, and I still have the GQ for the family events, touring etc. If you think you are going to buy a half decent GQ and then not do the rough stuuf as much as you used to I think you are kidding yourself, once it's in the blood it's there, you never go back. Good luck with the purchase which ever way you go. Keep the shiny side up
AnswerID: 23398

Reply By: Member - Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2003 at 21:36

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2003 at 21:36
Well I have a GU 3.0 and yes it gets scratched, but $80 at the local polisher fixes that and he says, at least you take it offroad, and if you're careful you don't do that much damage and at leat you're ou there having fun

literally lateralSo many places to go!
So much work to do :0(
AnswerID: 23404

Reply By: tristjo - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2003 at 21:44

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2003 at 21:44
Jaycee,

Nissan all the way!!!! In my mind, no one had built such a capeable offroader out of the box, than when Nissan started building the mighty GQ, especially the diesels.
Since then, I still beleive that Nissan has been the only choice, and, now that Toyota has gone independent with the 'Cruiser, Nissan will forever remain the only sensible choice when purchasing a new fourby!!!

I live Nissan, and breathe Nissan, and will NEVER go back to anything else. I love the bloody things!!!! My daily driver is an old 83 model Bluebird wagon, which I bought for $150. I have had it for 2 years, and have thrashed the living daylights out of it, but have NEVER succeeded to EVER brake it, in any shape or form. I love it!!! And as for my expeirience with other Nissans, including the Patrol, the same statement goes. They are just SO TUFF!!!!

Nissan's are my passion, in all shapes and forms, and all I want to do is spred the word!!! Buy a Nissan, mate, and you will NEVER regret it!!!!

I look foward to what the "other" guy's say!!

Tristjo.

Oh, and by the way, did i mention that Nissans are bloddy good trucks???
AnswerID: 23406

Follow Up By: bruce.h (WA) - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2003 at 22:37

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2003 at 22:37
Tristjo
so what your saying is that you like your nissans is that right?
FollowupID: 15583

Follow Up By: tristjo - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2003 at 22:42

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2003 at 22:42
Bruce, my man, that'd be it!!
I am trying to source a Nissan bed spread. Anyone now where I can get one?? LOL!!
FollowupID: 15587

Follow Up By: Member - Peter (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2003 at 09:25

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2003 at 09:25
tristjo a nissan bed spread is just a a heavy sheet you lay under the car for a day or two and let the oil leaks form a pattern LOL

I LOVE MY 4 RUNNER keep yours, not to heavy on the sand, not to wide on the track let the big boys bust of the branches for you ) good on fuel easy to park , looks good ,built to last, no oil leaks ,how many times do you see on this forum questions regarding nissan problems hahahahaBorn to drive a 4x4 , not a keyboard
Peter York 4x4
FollowupID: 15619

Follow Up By: Member - Peter (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2003 at 09:25

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2003 at 09:25
tristjo a nissan bed spread is just a a heavy sheet you lay under the car for a day or two and let the oil leaks form a pattern LOL

I LOVE MY 4 RUNNER keep yours, not to heavy on the sand, not to wide on the track let the big boys bust of the branches for you ) good on fuel easy to park , looks good ,built to last, no oil leaks ,how many times do you see on this forum questions regarding nissan problems hahahahaBorn to drive a 4x4 , not a keyboard
Peter York 4x4
FollowupID: 15620

Reply By: diamond (bendigo) - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2003 at 22:34

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2003 at 22:34
you wont beat the gq .
i did have more to say but the post above me says it all.
once you but the nissan youll never look back.looking foward to september(landcruiser park/fraser island)
AnswerID: 23412

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2003 at 22:36

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2003 at 22:36
just dont get a 3.0 GU....

Know of half a dozen that have holed pistons lately... if no warranty, its over $15k repair...
AnswerID: 23414

Follow Up By: bruce.h (WA) - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2003 at 22:42

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2003 at 22:42
truckster tell me more how many kms on the clock ,what caused them to go bye bye ect
ps btw looking into buying one or 100 serousdependant on what stacks up best at the right price
FollowupID: 15586

Follow Up By: tristjo - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2003 at 22:52

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2003 at 22:52
Correct me if I am wrong, Truckster, but the problems were restricted to a small number of series 1's, weren't they??

Bruce, I guess you are comparing the diesels?? If so, there is a 13k price difference between the 4.2 Cruiser and 4.2 Patrol, and a 20k difference between the Cruiser and the 3ltr Patrol.

The Patrol is tougher, and has a rigid front end, ie better offroad, and easier to modify suspension for touring. It also has a rear mounted spare wheel, which in my mind is a huge advantage. A great truck right out of the box.

In all honesty, the Cruiser rides better, but i reckon thats all it has over the Patrol. The Cruiser ain't as tough as it used to be.

That 13k would buy you a HEAP of offroad goodies, or a camper trailer or maybe a boat, if fishing is more your style.

And the 20k?? Well, you could tick all three of the above options!! That puts it in perspective for me.

Tristjo.
FollowupID: 15589

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2003 at 23:12

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2003 at 23:12
I read on a forum somewhere today that a NEW 3.0 with 30,000klms on it died.. so it isnt just the early ones.

Some are getting around 75,000klms and dropping. Rolys did it on Anzac day, 1 day of warranty left!!!! got a new Long Motor from nissan under warranty, but since then 3 more have gone. And Rolys wasnt the first either!!!!!

Personally, I wouldnt go near a 3.0. but horses for courses.

From Patrol list today.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Just picked mine up today, new engine and hydraulic tensioner, only
16 days since blown up and includes three weekends and a public
holiday, pretty good I reckon.

Full points to dealer, never any grizzles just discussed symptoms
and engine was ordered, dont think old one was even opened up.
Service guy said he had more than a few in the shed down the back
stuffed.

His info was the main problem was a piston material which cracks,
only on early models.

3.0tdi on sale today have 25 internal changes since first ones were
released here, so the dealer is told.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Then this.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
In shopping for a new Nissan, I recently spoke to a number of dealers
right around the country. Some say they have never heard of 3 litre
failures, most said they have had one or two and one diffed from teh
rest said its not uncommon.

One dealer told me similar story to yours but differed on the cause
and the internal changes. One would think that all the dealers would
be saying the same thing when its being said about the same time.

One even told me he has a car with just 30,000 that just went.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
FollowupID: 15592

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2003 at 23:15

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2003 at 23:15
bruce,

You will get better price on a GU easily. Thats why there are so many 3.0 GU's out there. Price.

But get a 4.2, for $5000 more, you will have more chance of getting 500,000 problem free klms.

FollowupID: 15593

Follow Up By: Member -BJ (Sydney) - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2003 at 13:42

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2003 at 13:42
I love my 3.0 ltr Patrol 52,000 only prob air flow meter. check out what ones that broke have done (such as Roly's in trader section as it's for sale) then say they are no good.Regards Bob
27th June Gulf trip
FollowupID: 15666

Follow Up By: bruce.h (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2003 at 15:03

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2003 at 15:03
Gday guys
definatly a desiel (didnt know they made them in any other way lol)
as to toyota /nissan have had both landcruiser hilux & patrol imho nissan are better machanicly but toyota build better stronger bodies
Truckster i agree nissan presents as better value than a toyota becauce you are not paying extra $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ just for a toyota badge,but if the motors on the nissan are failing then the value is just maybe a little false.
would love to get a 4.2 lt desiel but nissan did not bring the 4.2 desiel out in an auto at least thats what nissan are telling me,so its either a 3.0ltd or a 4.2 100 serious, so iguess its just gather the info & see what buys me toyota or nissan , will have to see what the tax man does to but got to get one soon having mega withdrawls
thanks for the info
FollowupID: 15673

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2003 at 18:39

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2003 at 18:39
Bruce.H

as stupid as it sounds, yes they dont have a TD42 in AUTO! Good way to force you to buy a 3.0 aint it...

What Im thinking of is a 4500 petrol (boy havent they dropped in value lately!), Sell the motor and just slot in a TD42 with a Supercharger or IC Turbo on it. that way I get my Auto, and my GU ST! Still cheaper than the cruiser.

PITA, but I aint gettin a 3.0 if it was the last Patrol on earth. And as for payin extra for a badge (Yota), the extra $$ would go to lockers, tires, and the conversion!

FollowupID: 15701

Follow Up By: sean - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2003 at 22:51

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2003 at 22:51
Lots of posts have appeared on 3 litre nissan failures but not so many first hand experiences. There is lots of 'hearsay'. Same with the fuel pump failures. The only ones I could follow up on (2) were caused by mods.

To this date I have not heard of a single 'confirmed' failure of any that was not a 2000 model.

Sean
FollowupID: 15714

Follow Up By: Suzuki Viagra - Thursday, Jun 26, 2003 at 00:22

Thursday, Jun 26, 2003 at 00:22
I have no comprehension how a 3 litre can possibly cost 15k......

Somone wiggles his bum to chew bubblegum or has the big "kick me" sign tattooed across his forehead.
FollowupID: 15722

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jun 26, 2003 at 00:42

Thursday, Jun 26, 2003 at 00:42
Sean....

AGain jump on the patrol list.
2 second search of archives gets me

http://autos.groups.yahoo.com/group/Patrol4WD/message/19300
Guys,
Ive been waiting for it and finally my 3.0tdi, seems to have done the same as other early models.
Thick smoke, clattering, stopped, lots of oil on ground and inside
bay.

117,000km, Built 8/2000??? std nearly everything, Auto with safety pack. Bought as demo in May 2001,Ext warranty (thank Keeerist) Phone call to dealer, pickup was arranged, he just listened to symptoms and predicted a new engine would be the cure. Including 2-3 weeks rest at dealership.

I hope its as simple as that.
:(

John Rourke
3.0tdi, 4.2tdi
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

and
http://autos.groups.yahoo.com/group/Patrol4WD/message/19397

Well i picked up my car on friday arvo, exactly 6 weeks to the hour that it
went knack knack...

New engine is much much quieter and seem to pull better than the old one. (engine failed at 79562kms)

Ran it about 300kms before getting to mitchells and engaging low low range for the slide down into camp.

took it easy over the weekend running it in using different revs etc etc no
load...

blasted it back to sydney last night, no problems yet and around 1400kms on the clock.

the new 2003 ECU did the same drop off power at 110kmh in the nsw plains, lift off throttle and re accelerate still fixes it...

I had a look at the old engine and 1 had a crack accross the piston and a
broken hole (not melted), number 4 had 2 cracks in the piston and number 3 looked cracked too.

and Viagra $12500.. close enough to $15000...

http://autos.groups.yahoo.com/group/Patrol4WD/message/19402

nissan supplied a new long motor, ie block, cranks, pistons and the complete cylinder head. (and new ecu and loom) all my accessories were off the old engine. incl injectors turbo aintercooler, oil pump etc

the bill on the warrenty repair sheet that i signed was $12,500....
FollowupID: 15723

Reply By: chapo - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2003 at 06:35

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2003 at 06:35
Jaycee,
Just go through this forum and any other forum and count the number of entries re; problems with vehicles. Nissans figure more than two to one over Toyotas, and by the way you can still get a 100 series with live axles and free wheeling hubs.
AnswerID: 23431

Follow Up By: tristjo - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2003 at 15:05

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2003 at 15:05
Yeah, but only a DX diesel. Might suit me and you, but it doesn't siut everyone.

Had a look through the archives for Nissan verse Tojo problems. Yes, there are more Nissan problems, but there are usually about things like little noises (ie suspension creaks), noisy drivetrains (cause they are built like a truck), and dust sealing.

When I look into the tojo problems, thay tend to be much more serious. IE, drivetrain failures, motor problems, and even cracked chassis'.

Alot of my friends and family drive Toyota's, or at least used to, untill they got sick and tired of being let down by problem after problem. A large proportion of those who got jack of it, switched to Nissans, and have never looked back.

I, too, have never been disapointed with any of the Nissans I have owned, and will always stick to them.

Tristjo.
FollowupID: 15674

Reply By: jamcage - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2003 at 08:37

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2003 at 08:37
Jaycee,
From your post you are not looking to buy new but mid 1990's model. I have owned a 94 80 series and a GQ. Both were petrol with the GQ on dual fuel. I know that a lot of people are very passionate about there make of car, which is not restricted to Toyota and Nissan. From my experience with both cars is that the Toyotas are a bit light in the clutch department and the GQ's crack heads. When my GQ showed water in the oil I rang a few mechanics who all said straight away that the heads on the GQ's crack and this is not only on the petrol engines running on gas but also the diesel's.
The 80 series Toyota, in my opinion, is the better choice as it is more comfortable, more roomy and cheaper to run.
Good luck finding a vehicle that suits your needs
Jason
AnswerID: 23439

Reply By: Waynepd - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2003 at 09:20

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2003 at 09:20
Just have a look at an 80 series and a GQ or GU side by side.
Check the size of the diffs and axles. then decide which you would rather be in when on the rough stuff.
For me its Nissan all the way.
The 80's axles look like toothpicks in comparison,
ANd the diffs?....like comparing a cd to an lp record sizewise

Not that I'm an expert but I like the feeling of having a bit of beef on my running gear.
There were serious issues with the running gear on early 80's as well.

Some Nissans had a fifth gear problem but i believe that's been addressed.

My GU Patrol 4.2 Diesel has just clocked up 203,000k's since 1998 and hasn't missed a beat.
waynepd
%
%:-)
%
AnswerID: 23445

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2003 at 10:32

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2003 at 10:32
Heres another one on 3.0 GU's.

While I was looking for a new car I went to a few Nissan yard's looking for a 4.2ltr. Had one Sale's guy ask why I didn't want to go for a 3.0ltr. Told him about the stories I had heard from different people. His reply and I quote " At the rate these engine's are failing Nissan will find these Vehicle's harder to sell than a Leyland P76" but he wouldn't elaborate on how may he knew of. I think the guy was at Berwick Nissan but I had been to so many I'm probably wrong on that one. Make's you think about how bad they may be.

AnswerID: 23455

Follow Up By: tristjo - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2003 at 14:31

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2003 at 14:31
Truckster,

Before I started visiting this site, I had NEVER heard of any problems with the 3ltr Patrols, except for the throttle surge. To be honest, to date I have STILL NEVER heard of any problems with them, except from those you have mentioned on this site.

I have spoken to a lot of 3ltr owners who have NEVER had a problem with their vehicle, and I have never found an owner who hasn't been completely satisfied with their vehicle!!

My question for you is, how many, exactly, do you know have had an engine failure. As I have previously stated, I had never heard of it until I read some of your posts.

Mate, it just doesn't add up to me.

Tristjo.
FollowupID: 15669

Follow Up By: Member - Bill- Wednesday, Jun 25, 2003 at 14:58

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2003 at 14:58
trisjo,

For some reason some seem to have a personal crusades against the 3.0 and repeat other people's messages over and over. They even invent a new twists by saying things like a NEW (model) one had gone at 30,000. The original poster never said it was a new model, only that it had done 30K, but facts get in the way of a good story.

Problems with early 3.0 GUII's are known, nissan implemented fixes icluding increase of oil capacity by over 40%.

Early Prado's had engine vibrations, early GenIII V8's have piston slap and 300kw ones can blow, que sera sera...Regds

FollowupID: 15672

Follow Up By: tristjo - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2003 at 15:17

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2003 at 15:17
Bill,

You have hit the nail on the head. I think it started with, say, for example, 3 problem vehicles. Then someone posted on a website "i've heard of three failures". Somone then reads this, and posts it on another forum and says also "i've heard of 3 failures". Then someone reads both websites and states on a forum that " i've heard of 6 failures". Then someone reads all of these posts and say's "oh, well, i've heard of 12 failures", when really it is still only the original 3 that have had problems.

That is why, I beleive, that the only place I have ever heard of these kind of failures has been on this website, because people post about three failures, and before long, according to them, half of the bloody things are suspect!! Crazy!!

About 75% of new Patrol sales are the 3ltr itd. If this info about mass failures was correct, you would have thousands of failures, and you would here about it EVERYWHERE, not just from Truckster!!!

Truckster, mate, i'm not having a go at ya, but please, in future, check your facts, cause 3ltr failures are RARE!!

Tristjo.
FollowupID: 15676

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2003 at 18:36

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2003 at 18:36
Tristjo.

Join the patrol list. You will have more chance of hearing of problems with a Patrol on a dedicated Patrol list, like you will hear more about 80's with problems on the 80scool lists....

There is one member getting a list together of dead 3.0's. There have been at least 3 in 3 months. And when someone buys Steves car, he *THINKS* it wont belong before its another one. Also Search for Europe where the problems first surfaced. One bloke on the list in Poland I think, he has had 2 go..

Oh and the air flow sensor, $1200 nice when its out of warranty.
FollowupID: 15700

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2003 at 18:42

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2003 at 18:42
Bill, if it was new or 10 yrs old, 30,000kms is pathetic from any motor isnt it? You would agree?

Also Tristjo, I only post facts gained from other lists.
What lists are you on that you dont hear of problems with 3.0's??
FollowupID: 15702

Follow Up By: Member - Bill- Thursday, Jun 26, 2003 at 09:03

Thursday, Jun 26, 2003 at 09:03
Truckster, I take your point.

Having looked at the Patrol list I still have not seen anything to indicate that these are isolated problems which affect early build 3.0Di GUII's. The fact they may be in Poland too is hardly surprising given the fact they probably come off the same production line.

I also notice that the vast majority who declare themselves owners are very happy with their 3.0Di's.

Looks too like Nissan have resonded pretty well to the issue with replacing motors and making a number of design changes.

I think the point is we should get it in perspective, early models have always have a history of teething problems. Even my Grandfather used to say to always buy the second of a series. The GU in general has undergone a number of running changes, dust sealing for instance, based on customer feedback, pretty normal.

Apparently early tojo turbo deisels used to run main bearnings around 80K, fixed in a later model.
Regds

FollowupID: 15734

Follow Up By: Member - Bill- Thursday, Jun 26, 2003 at 09:26

Thursday, Jun 26, 2003 at 09:26
Oh, Truckster, you missed this one from the Patrol list:

"HI There
I have a 3Lt TD its now done 110,000kms i have had no
problems as yet i am very happy with it and would bye
another .i tow a big boat with no problems i do alot
of hard off road work lost count of the numbers of
rivers i have crossed i think its the best patrol i
have had."Regds

FollowupID: 15735

Reply By: Member - Errol (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2003 at 19:09

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2003 at 19:09
Hears my three cents worth . im on my third Nissan , never rearly had any probs with any off them , and i go bush when ever i can . I love my GU 4.2 TD,ST XCAB and dont think ill be changing again . Ill fit a a new donk before i do , go NISSANS.Why go overseas when you can ExplorOz
ERROL
AnswerID: 23506

Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2003 at 22:02

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2003 at 22:02
Xtra cab......hmmmm wouldn't the cab chas be spot on if Nissan sold it as an extra cab........
FollowupID: 15707