Pajero Sway Bar Disconnect

Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 25, 2003 at 09:27
ThreadID: 5643 Views:6233 Replies:4 FollowUps:5
I came across this device some 8 to 10 months ago I just found the link for it again and thought it may be of interest? I have no financial or personal interest in this company other than I may purchase one for my NM if they make one. http://www.peppernet.org/articulator/index.html Keep It On The Rough Stuff

Matt (W.A.)

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2003 at 10:08

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2003 at 10:08
If its anythin like normal Swaybar disconnects, they disconnect Pi$$ easy!!!!! Its gettin em back together thats the problem. One bloke has a $150pr set of them, just a pin you have to put back in, it took him 45 minutes to do one day.. needless to say he threw the disconnects, and the swaybars!

The actual idea behind them is good.
AnswerID: 23451

Follow Up By: Member - Rohan K - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2003 at 12:00

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2003 at 12:00
That's why they're called "quick disconnects", not "quick reconnects". It only takes the slightest uneven ground to make the locating holes a b!tch to line up.Talk is cheap ...
Rohan (Sydney)
FollowupID: 15649

Follow Up By: Member - Rohan K - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2003 at 12:00

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2003 at 12:00
That's why they're called "quick disconnects", not "quick reconnects". It only takes the slightest uneven ground to make the locating holes a b!tch to line up.Talk is cheap ...
Rohan (Sydney)
FollowupID: 15650

Reply By: IAMGQ - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2003 at 10:22

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2003 at 10:22
I am running a GQ diesel LWB and my mate running a NA pajero. Both of our car has disconnected the sway bar(both front and rear) and never put them back on again
Why ?
Because we found its suspension is not as stiff as before (more comfortable ride) without obvious body rolling even making a 180 turn in round about. If you drive it treat it like 4wd, drive it sensibly then you will find the bar is not needed at all.

You can try to drive and feel what it like without the bar on. Then decide whether you want to put them back. If you do need them back on, then try to get a quick disconnect.

Hope this help
AnswerID: 23453

Follow Up By: diamond (bendigo) - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2003 at 13:49

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2003 at 13:49
gday iamgq.
i have did the opposite to you
when i bought our gq i couldnt quite work out why it didnt seem to drive like other gq untill i looked under a gq i was working on the hoist and then clicked to me i didnt have a front sway bar.
not standard on rb30 gq.
fitted pedders sway bar a little thicker than original and drives heaps better.
have sold a few more to customers and all say they notice a difference. looking foward to september(landcruiser park/fraser island)
FollowupID: 15667

Reply By: flappan - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2003 at 13:45

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2003 at 13:45
I also just ditched the front sway bar on my Pajero.

Didn't make a big diff to the handling, but made a HUGE diff to the articulation.

Wasn't game to disconnect the rear one yet.
AnswerID: 23470

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2003 at 18:30

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2003 at 18:30
The back one is the one to get rid of! You will be amazed.

I run no rear no front, and Rancho 9x.. have them on 1 and its like driving a sports car (yes that hard), have them on 9, and its like driving a marshmallow..

Wish Koni made adjustable from incab shocks too :(
FollowupID: 15699

Follow Up By: flappan - Thursday, Jun 26, 2003 at 10:50

Thursday, Jun 26, 2003 at 10:50
When the missus isn't driving it soo much, I might give that a crack Truckster.
FollowupID: 15739

Reply By: Matt (W.A.) - Wednesday, Jun 25, 2003 at 19:53

Wednesday, Jun 25, 2003 at 19:53
Thanks for all the comments, sounds to good to be true! What are the down sides to Disconnection? Other than excessive wear on the CV Joints. Would you be able to put some sort of limiting strap on so they don’t totally bottom out? And would the wear only happen when your Offroading?Keep It On The Rough Stuff

Matt (W.A.)
AnswerID: 23509