Cane Toads

Submitted: Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 20:04
ThreadID: 56602 Views:3029 Replies:20 FollowUps:17
We all know that us QUEENSLANDERS love our cane toads but what is the best way to kill the little suckers??

I use the freezer to snap freeze em then chuck em in the bin the morning the rubbish gets collected.
I am unable to use a four iron as I am unable to swing a golf club very well any more due to my back.

So what other ways is there to get rid of them as they are starting to fill up the freezer LOL

Reply By: Member - Littleborgy (SA) - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 20:09

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 20:09
At the risk of being shot down by the greenies, i reckon the best way to kill the bloody things is to get some fire clackers (oops, crackers), a bucket full of toads & have fun... Just remember to place the toads down, then get outta the way as bits fly everywhere!!!

Cheers, Brad
AnswerID: 298326

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 20:11

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 20:11
I am tempted to collect a few to take to Innamincka so we could hold cane toad races but I think we will have to settle on Yabbie races LOL

Although the use of a cane toad as a fire cracker holder has potential LOL

FollowupID: 564440

Follow Up By: Member - Littleborgy (SA) - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 20:23

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 20:23
Don't bring the bloody things into SA!!! you can have them all up there. lol

Unfortunately i won't be able to make it to this year's gathering, as i've just started a new job... Plus, i was hoping to have a new camper trailer by then, but looks like that's outta the question :-(

Cheers, Brad
FollowupID: 564443

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 20:57

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 20:57
Hey Brad

Remember 2003 at Roper Bar when we held the CANE TOAD CLASSIC....wasnt that a blast , cane toads getting belted all over the place , if it wasnt with golf clubs it was with a cricket bat, and if that got too boring the old crackers and sky rockets came out...hahaha...i reckon we got rid of at least a thousand of the bloody things that year.....
FollowupID: 564451

Follow Up By: Member - Littleborgy (SA) - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 21:04

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 21:04
Hey Dad,

LOL I remember that like it was yesterday... I thought of it as soon as i read Kev's post...

We'll have to work out how to get the footage on Youtube one day.

Cheers, Brad
FollowupID: 564454

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Apr 14, 2008 at 16:05

Monday, Apr 14, 2008 at 16:05
Kev...please dont transport the buggas around OZ...ist bad enough that the predictions is that they will make it down south ...lets make it as late as possible and not sooner
FollowupID: 564546

Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 20:11

Every back yard in Jabiru has a 7 iron.

Proven time and time again, but if you can't swing the iron, spray detol on them and there was a report in the N.T. News once that hemorrhoid cream rubbed on them works, My answer is Fooouuur.

Cheers Steve
AnswerID: 298330

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 21:23

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 21:23
By the way you should hear the big pop noise the big one's make when you hit them with a TD 100 series at 140.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 564463

Reply By: Members-Neil & Margie-Cairns - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 20:11

G'day Kev ,, there are many other good ways ,, but you are allready using the only legal way ,, many will give you the others , but don't alow your self to get caught by the animal activists !!

All the best ,, Neil ..

AnswerID: 298331

Follow Up By: Members-Neil & Margie-Cairns - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 21:08

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 21:08
And by the way ,,,,, i'm for the golf club !!

FollowupID: 564457

Reply By: Saharaman (aka Geepeem) - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 20:20

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 20:20
HI Kev,
If you can get a copy have a look at yeterdays Courier mail (pages 40 & 41). Story about a National Day Out.
In brief - CSIRO is trialing bohl iradovirus which will stop them able to produce eggs.
Pestat (Canberra Company ) is waiting on Federal approval for an anaesthetic aerosal spray for Toads.
Other current ways to kill are by refrigeration and then freezing, or rubbing them with haemorrhoid creem (presumably by a stick or something) which is an anaesthetic and puts them to sleep (for good).
Else the old golf clubs etc
based on this article it semms the old toads days are numbered somewhat - especially if the CSIRO project comes off
Glen

AnswerID: 298332

Reply By: porl - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 20:23

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 20:23
I have a star picket beside the hot water system.

Just half an hour ago I noticed one heading towards my duck's foot plate. I just spear them.

I live in Brisbane, have killed must be thousands. I used to use an air rifle, even a BB gun - one shot straight through the soft bit almost between their eyes. Once I went down at night to the creek near my parent's house at Samford, i took my .177 and a box of 200 pellets. One shot one toad. I used the entire box that night, and a few batteries for the torch. Then the whole gun ownership thing go expensive and messy so when the air rifles died I haven't replaced them.

Now it's the star picket, I'm quite good, usually only need one stab. Then I just chuck it down the back of the yard and let the ants do their thing.

Wish I still had an air rifle though, then I'd regularly go back to that creek.

AnswerID: 298333

Reply By: TD100 - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 20:28

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 20:28
Kev,

i remember about 20 years ago we went to bundaberg to see family friends that had moved up there to run a business,after tea the 2 kids (about 4 & 7 odd year olds)came out of their rooms carrying a baseball and cricket bat asking mum to go outside and play.all we could hear was screaming,squealing and lots of laughter,i asked what they were up to only to be told toad whacking ha ha ha ha.they absolutely loved it.so i guess my answer is brush up on your cricket or baseball skills!cheers Paul
AnswerID: 298334

Reply By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 20:40

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 20:40
Garden sprayer with Dettol in it, a little jet of that on the neck and they soon die.

Trouble is with 2 little Pups here they have been collecting the deaduns, with a hiding for doing so

Littleborgy

Stuff the greenies , libertarians , health and Safety
I can and will live my life without bloody advocates .

AnswerID: 298338

Follow Up By: On Patrol (East Coast) - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 21:17

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 21:17
Kev & Doug
When in Toad country I keep a spray bottle of Dettol mixed with washing up liquid in the car.

The washing up liquid helps the Dettol stick to the slippery little suckers and guarantees a result, I got loads of them in Cairns last year and as far as I can tell it must be quick as most of them died in the same location I sprayed them.
Colin.
FollowupID: 564461

Follow Up By: Jim from Best Off Road - Monday, Apr 14, 2008 at 13:44

Monday, Apr 14, 2008 at 13:44
Yep, that's the way, makes the Dettol become "Cane Toad Napalm". Put it a water pistol, get a torch at night and go play Rambo.

FollowupID: 564528

Reply By: Nick R (VIC) - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 21:05

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 21:05
you could freeze them with a fire extinguisher, carbon dioxide type, and put them straight in the neighbour's bin, or keep em for Kiwi when next she visits.
The former might not be good for neighbourhood relations, you might find the latter more fun, just in there with the bundy cans, new queensland frog coolers...
Carpe Cerevisi

AnswerID: 298347

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Monday, Apr 14, 2008 at 06:16

Monday, Apr 14, 2008 at 06:16
I like that idea of giving them to Kiwi LOL, I'll have to make a collection of dead ones to stash in Mahindra if they make it to Innamincka

FollowupID: 564493

Reply By: Member - Glenn G (QLD) - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 21:20

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 21:20
Ride on mower is a good option ! but a while ago I tried to run one over and it survived ? So I reversed over it, and to my surprise it lived ! so I got down and had a look, a the bugger was jumping the blades ! True !

Giffo
AnswerID: 298355

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 21:39

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 21:39
If I run over anything on the sit on it's liable to be a snake. So I'm kinda reluctant to get off until I've seen exactly what it is. Fella down here jumped off and got bitten. I think the snake died.
FollowupID: 564465

Follow Up By: KSV. - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 21:59

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 21:59
Glenn - yours the best! If you manage to collect couple of hundred of the in small area and then ride your mover it would be even more fun! ROTLMAO!

Serg
FollowupID: 564467

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Apr 14, 2008 at 16:02

Monday, Apr 14, 2008 at 16:02
hahahah crap...hahaha...jumping the blades...hahahaha
FollowupID: 564543

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Apr 14, 2008 at 16:06

Monday, Apr 14, 2008 at 16:06
do they make for a good substitute fertiliser?
FollowupID: 564548

Follow Up By: KSV. - Tuesday, Apr 15, 2008 at 08:25

Tuesday, Apr 15, 2008 at 08:25
Valid point indeed. If carp is good what is wrong with cane toads?

Serg
FollowupID: 564718

Reply By: MartyB - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 21:48

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 21:48
Dig a hole & bury a bucket. Mount a light above the bucket. The light attracts insects, insects attract toads & they fall in the bucket for easy disposal. If you put some dettol in the bucket (to keep the germs down of course) this will unfortunately kill the toads.
from Marty.
AnswerID: 298363

Reply By: Member - eerfree(QLD) - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 22:07

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 22:07
If you use Dettol do not spray them when they are on the lawn, the Dettol will also kill the lawn!!

AnswerID: 298366

Reply By: Kev. (Cairns) - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 22:31

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 22:31
Put them in the freezer.........as if !

AnswerID: 298371

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Monday, Apr 14, 2008 at 01:36

Monday, Apr 14, 2008 at 01:36
when staying at flora river i got up to see a blackened petrified toad> i thought WTF??
until i remebered after many beers the night before an incident involving a can of RP7 a cig lighter and a toad
AnswerID: 298384

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Monday, Apr 14, 2008 at 07:11

Monday, Apr 14, 2008 at 07:11
Ho Hum, just another reason for staying south of the border! LOL
AnswerID: 298394

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Monday, Apr 14, 2008 at 07:49

Monday, Apr 14, 2008 at 07:49
I'll post pack a few to ya then

FollowupID: 564497

Reply By: Member - len W SWANSEA (NSW) - Monday, Apr 14, 2008 at 07:15

Monday, Apr 14, 2008 at 07:15
spray detol on then that works
AnswerID: 298395

Reply By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Monday, Apr 14, 2008 at 07:50

Monday, Apr 14, 2008 at 07:50
Saw a show on the weekend (ABC I think) some CSIRO boffins have come up with an aerosol spray that first aneathsatises (?? puts it to sleep;-)) the toad and then over about three minutes or so kills it. NIce clean easy humane way to keep all the tree huggers happy.

Won't be on the market for about 12 months or so..
AnswerID: 298400

Follow Up By: On Patrol (East Coast) - Monday, Apr 14, 2008 at 16:42

Monday, Apr 14, 2008 at 16:42
Down side ??????
Spray costs $100 per can possibly ????
Who knows but if its not cheap no one will use it, exept the folk in Govt dept's that get us to buy it for them. LOL
FollowupID: 564561

Reply By: Member - beachbum - Monday, Apr 14, 2008 at 13:32

Monday, Apr 14, 2008 at 13:32
Kev, give a spray with Dettol from a spray bottle. Quicker than freezing.
AnswerID: 298437

Reply By: sparkyray - Monday, Apr 14, 2008 at 15:33

Monday, Apr 14, 2008 at 15:33
A lot of interesting ideas. I like the hole in ground idea. A better and considerably cheaper option to dettol is cloudy amonia in a spray bottle / water pistol. This is only 2 bucks odd a bottle and the grass loves it. Works the same as dettol.
AnswerID: 298442

Reply By: Mark & Jo, S/side, Bris - Monday, Apr 14, 2008 at 17:07

Monday, Apr 14, 2008 at 17:07
Kev I believe there are a few user names we could discuss amongst ourselves that would love to receive a wrapped up gift in the post!

Jo
AnswerID: 298458

Reply By: Bros 1 - Tuesday, Apr 15, 2008 at 13:26

Tuesday, Apr 15, 2008 at 13:26
Kev,
Dettol is the go.
Now how about a sure fire remedy for the imported Geckoes that are invading the place.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 298666