What is good about membership?

Submitted: Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 13:07
ThreadID: 56923 Views:3457 Replies:28 FollowUps:24
What is good about membership?

Anyone can convince me to become a member of Exploreoz (or otherwise)? So far I have experienced only one disadvantage not being – inability to post pics.

Serg

Reply By: Member - Matt (Perth-WA) - Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 13:13

Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 13:13
I just believe my $30 a yeah assists in keeping this website ongoing.

Its like going to a pub with mates....yes you could probably drink for free all night but would you?...wouldnt you like to get a round of drinks rather than welch on you mates?
AnswerID: 300063

Follow Up By: Member - Matt (Perth-WA) - Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 13:14

Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 13:14
oops year
FollowupID: 566212

Follow Up By: Member - SNAKE (RAOUL) QLD - Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 22:27

Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 22:27
Great reply Matt.Cheers Snake and Josie
FollowupID: 566340

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 13:18

Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 13:18
KSV
It is with the help of members, that helps keep the best Australian Web site going. Where else can you go and get as much help and information about all events from around the BEST COUNTRY in the World.

Long Live ExploreOz and their great team

AnswerID: 300065

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 13:30

Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 13:30
Yep, their are do-ers and watchers, MEMBERS ARE DO-ERS

Daza
FollowupID: 566218

Follow Up By: Member - John D (VIC) - Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 16:27

Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 16:27
Stephen, I agrre wholeheartedly with your sentiments, so come on KSV...... join the family!
FollowupID: 566244

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 08:44

Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 08:44
Daza, you are right. DOERS against SAYERS. Sayers just say they are going to do. Never actually DO
FollowupID: 566370

Reply By: The Landy - Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 13:46

Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 13:46
Well….just looking at your post number 56882 (If you reckon it is good news). Here is your chance to support a ‘local’ service information provider for a very inexpensive price.

Just jabbing….join up mate, this has to be one of the greatest travel resource sites around.

AnswerID: 300070

Reply By: Member - Peter H (WA) - Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 14:09

Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 14:09
Whilst I dont make full use of what Explore oz has to offer, I became a member purely because of the quality of information that is available here.
Yes I could have sat back and gained the same benifits that I do now. BUT....I feel I belong to a large family here. Never have I been ridiculed for some of the stupid questions I have asked.
I just feel its the best $ you can spend.

AnswerID: 300074

Reply By: Member - colin M (NSW) - Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 14:10

Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 14:10
Suppose you could get it for free by just looking but dont forget special deals to members if you want to sell something. Being a member I think $30 is cheap fro the great advice you get on almost any topic and being able to post pics give you some bragging rights.
AnswerID: 300075

Reply By: Member - Mal and Di (SA) - Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 14:16

Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 14:16
The sticker don't forget the sticker!!!
AnswerID: 300076

Reply By: Member - Peter H (WA) - Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 14:25

Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 14:25
Oh yeah the sticker looks mighty pruuuuty and adds value to the vehicle. : )
AnswerID: 300080

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 14:43

Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 14:43
Serg,

your posts are good value. Informative, witty and intelligent.

I always thought you were a member already and I felt like you were part of the family.

Now I feel like you are on the outside looking in.

Pay up mate. Come inside.

AnswerID: 300083

Reply By: Member - Lewis K (QLD) - Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 15:24

Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 15:24
No members no website. Now website no information. You get what you pay for in this world and yes, you could sit on the outside and look in but if we all did that then you would have nothing.

Get on board and support the best site in Aus
AnswerID: 300089

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 15:41

Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 15:41
Howdy there KSV, I "sat on the fence" for about two months or so before joining about 12 months ago.
My time on the fence revealed a site that not only offered good advise but it quickly became apparent that friendships were formed as well. So I reckon it's money well spent ( & its not much money) and if it helps keep this great site going then its money well spent.
So joinn up & get your free sticker so as someone can spot it!!
AnswerID: 300090

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 15:44

Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 15:44
Serg,

Footloose is now a member, that should be enough of a reason to join.

AnswerID: 300093

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 22:29

Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 22:29
hmmmm didnt footie say that he didnt want to be part of something that would accept him as a member?

FollowupID: 566493

Reply By: Dasher Des - Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 16:33

Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 16:33
In another Guise, I am a member and for $30 membership renewal each year, I recon it's worth it for the entertainment value alone.
AnswerID: 300097

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 20:35

Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 20:35
Dis-Guise eh? Des Guise?
FollowupID: 566476

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 22:30

Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 22:30
who are these guise?

FollowupID: 566494

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 23:11

Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 23:11
his AKA alias I reckon
FollowupID: 566505

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 23:13

Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 23:13
Dasher Des is Aker? ahh I see the Dasher link, Jason Akermanis is an EO member....amazing

FollowupID: 566506

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 23:26

Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 23:26
Luv yur lojic. LOL
FollowupID: 566511

Follow Up By: Dasher Des - Monday, Apr 28, 2008 at 09:28

Monday, Apr 28, 2008 at 09:28
John, you might luv his lojic but it still dont help prevent the axidents
FollowupID: 566988

Reply By: Dave B (NSW) - Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 18:28

Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 18:28
I endorse all the other posts Serg, and I got a real surprise today when I renewed my membership.
I had been thinking of getting an Elflare for safety reasons when I am out bush, and thought that I would order one and a couple of other things while I was renewing my membership.
Well, Michael said that seeing that I bought the Elflare, my renewal was included for free.
Now that is just unreal. Try and get $30 discount on an $80 item anywhere else!!!
How about that for value?
But above all, I have had a great time when I have met up with the other members.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 300119

Reply By: Member - Derek L (QLD) - Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 18:40

Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 18:40
For the little amount it costs per year to be a member it keeps the web site up and running so we all can benefit from it. I think no non members should have access to any of it.

So there.
AnswerID: 300122

Reply By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 18:55

Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 18:55
Serg,

I'll join the crowd that says sign up mate but my guess is that non-members play a very important role financially as well. Don't forget that (in addition to member's fees) advertisers also contribute financially. For a site like this to be attractive to potential advertisers exposure is key and they would not care too much whether someone being exposed to their product is a member or not, its just about numbers. Besides, some of my favourite contributors are non-members.

Still think you should join up though.

AnswerID: 300127

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 18:56

Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 18:56
If you need to be convinced of a reason then give it a miss.

If you enjoy what the site offers and feel you get a benefit then your question is already answered.

Why not let the site itself answer your question, have a look here

AnswerID: 300128

Reply By: Member Boroma 604 - Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 19:38

Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 19:38
Gooday,
Well you know by being a "MEMBER" you are contributing to Small Business which is the engine room of our economy, with the BIG CORPORATES trying to tear it all apart, they will become an endangered species You know you are directly helping at least a couple of Families at Explor Oz + indirectly probably many more, then as others have said the value of the information and lots of other benefits that you may choose.
I joined about 3-4 years ago for the above reasons,during this time I sold a $50,000 + Caravan from the Trader site, and that is an additional reason to support these good folk & hopefully contribute something that may help somebody else.

Boroma 604
AnswerID: 300140

Follow Up By: Member - David P (VIC) - Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 20:54

Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 20:54
Boroma, your not a closet Peugeot owner are you?....silverback
FollowupID: 566311

Reply By: Doggy Tease - Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 20:13

Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 20:13
Gday Serg,,,looks like you have a fair few reasons already listed here and they all are good. Soooo, i will add this titbit for ya.
Look at the advertisers area,,,see how many there are,,,,members quite often get a discount when the good ole ExplorOz card is flashed mate. I save 5 times the membership cost every year, just by using one of these advertisers to do the servicing on our Patrol.
Add the family atmosphere and its definately a win-win situation.

meow.

rick.
AnswerID: 300146

Reply By: Crackles - Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 20:24

Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 20:24
KSV simply look at the benefits of being a member & join if they suit your needs. Don't feel obliged to join as really this is a commercial site where you are bombarded with adds. If you are feeling guilty for using this great site there are of course other ways to contribute like assisting with advice on forum questions, sending in Treks, photo's, plots, buying something from the shop or by supporting the advertisers.
If the inability to post photo's is your only disadvantage then set up a free Photobucket account, post the photo's there then as a visitor you can still use the "insert image" link.
Cheers Craig............
AnswerID: 300157

Follow Up By: Patrolman Pat - Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 21:24

Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 21:24
A fair point abpout the ads, ther are far more on this site than any other I visit, wether 4wding or other interests, although this one does offer so much info that I am happy to remain a member.
FollowupID: 566481

Follow Up By: Crackles - Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 22:08

Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 22:08
I'd certainly sign up today if all the adds were turned off for members. It doesn't matter where one goes on this site there will be a link to a sponsor, a banner add or something to buy targeted at the topic you are looking at. Very clever marketing & most wouldn't even realize it's going on :-)
FollowupID: 566491

Reply By: Louie the fly - Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 20:35

Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 20:35
The free beer makes one good reason to join, though I'm still waiting for mine to arrive???

I joined about 6 months ago after coming back from a trip to Fraser Island. Been a lurker for over a year before that. It's a far better read than those c-rap 4x4 magazines and you get a good laugh. Though you can do that for free, it supports the site (main reason really).

Join up or be considered a leper for the rest of your days! I thought you were one already (a member, not a leper),
AnswerID: 300162

Reply By: Member - Roger B (VIC) - Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 21:19

Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 21:19
Or you can spend your life like the bird on the biscuit tin. 'On the outside, looking in!'
AnswerID: 300182

Reply By: Paul McDougall - Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 21:50

Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 21:50
After reading all these responses about how great this site really is I have taken the plunge and become a member tonight. I have been a reader of this website for about 18 months but have only recently taken delivery of our Pioneer 'Onyx' off road camper and subsequently become a traveller. I haven't done any extended trips yet but I am looking forward to meeting a few members on the road when I do take off.

I regularly read the forum and can't speak highly enough of all those who regularly contribute to the site. I have learnt so much over the past 18 months on various topics and also got some fantastic help when it came time to order our camper from people who have had practical experience (which is the best assistance you can get).

I've also had many a night chuckling over various forum replies which make it worthwhile coming in here in the first place.
I hope I can return the favour to other members and visitors in the future.

Thanks again and I truly hope this site maintains its integrity well into the future.

Um, now that I'm a member does that mean I get a beer whenever I run into another member along the road somewheres.....lol

AnswerID: 300186

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 22:26

Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 22:26
Hi Paul
Welcome as a member to the best travel and 4X4 site here in Australia.

FollowupID: 566339

Follow Up By: Member - Poppy (QLD) - Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 21:36

Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 21:36
Welcome Macca, and if your ever up Townsville way I'll shout you a beer
Cheers Ray
FollowupID: 566483

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 22:33

Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 22:33
Yep Paul what these two said, welcome to the site mate as a member, we welcome non-members too b ut they dont get to see the secret handshake.

FollowupID: 566495

Reply By: dedabato (SA) - Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 22:13

Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 22:13
First of all....Welcome to Paul McDougall to the family of EO.
Secondly, I have become a member only a month ago but being a free loader before only for two months. So Serg, bite the bullet (you know you wanted but just like to hear us begging) join up mate and keep enjoying this fantastic site...Here,Hire.......

"Once I told my mother-in-law that my house is her house so she said -Get the hell of my property"
AnswerID: 300189

Reply By: Member Boroma 604 - Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 08:16

Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 08:16
Gooday,
A good decision Paul, a wise investment, wish you much happy travelling & camping.

No David P, not a closet Peugeot owner, just an Old Bloke who drives a Jeep Commander CRD, and gets on the road with our Caravan as often as possible, which is not often enough.
Boroma604.
AnswerID: 300212

Follow Up By: Member - Roscoe ET (QLD) - Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 18:08

Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 18:08
He's OK David he drives a Jeep:)

Boroma, What's your fuel consumption pulling that 21' van?
FollowupID: 566448

Reply By: KSV. - Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 11:06

Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 11:06
Enough - I am convinced. You going to see new member soon.

Serg
AnswerID: 300237

Follow Up By: Paul McDougall - Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 11:48

Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 11:48
I knew it ! He was leading us all on......LOL

Hope you will enjoy it as much as I'm sure I will mate.

FollowupID: 566393

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 22:36

Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 22:36
hahaha serg youre a classic and EO stuff for sure

FollowupID: 566497

Reply By: Member - Paul Mac (VIC) - Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 14:16

Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 14:16
It's now official.....I'm in !

I'll be looking forward to seeing some more trips organised in Victoria where I can attend and get to know some more people.

Happy camping.
AnswerID: 300259

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 14:17

Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 14:17
Welcome Paul,

There is one organised this weekend at the Pyrenees.

FollowupID: 566403

Follow Up By: Member - Paul Mac (VIC) - Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 16:00

Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 16:00
Thanks Kev,

Yeah I saw that one but unfortunately have other commitments this long weekend and heading to the caravan and camping show Monday.

Just came back from up that way a few weeks ago.

Oh, and its forecast to rain down here in Mexico for the next 4 days :-(

I'll keep an eye out for other trips though. I hate drinking Chivas on my own....LOL

FollowupID: 566421

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 22:35

Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 22:35
Yer there is Paul and if you want to come along mate and watch the rain from the comfort of a tarp heheheh

FollowupID: 566496

Reply By: mfewster - Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 16:05

Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 16:05
You got me. Having received advice, argued and contributed to this forum for some time, this thread made me think and I decided I should join.
AnswerID: 300270

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Friday, Apr 25, 2008 at 09:22

Friday, Apr 25, 2008 at 09:22
You have all convinced me to join too, then I remembered I already have. Isnt senility just wonderful ?. :)))...oldbaz.
AnswerID: 300389