Triton GLXR vs Navara ST-R

Submitted: Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 09:48
ThreadID: 57443 Views:6562 Replies:11 FollowUps:9
Having a debate this morning at an ungodly hour with a friend who has the new triton GXLR or what ever it is....and I tried telling him that his triton is not built for work, just a show pony but my car was the opposite......

He has an 07 triton and we have the 06 (dec) st-r.........

so which would be the better work horse cos I gotta have ammo tonight!
I dont care which one comes off better in this debate....just need something!!!!

cheers!

Laura.....

Reply By: Kev & Darkie - Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 10:21

Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 10:21
Your one is only any good cause you have an ex Triton Accessory in it ;)

LMAO

AnswerID: 303014

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 10:49

Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 10:49
thanks for that kev...get back to workin that email!!!
FollowupID: 569164

Reply By: Top End Explorer Tours - Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 11:02

Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 11:02
I wouldn't use the word Triton, Navara, or Hilux for that matter and the word workhorse in the same sentence.

They are RVs, If you want a workhorse, get a Patrol or a Cruiser.

Just my opinion.

Cheers Steve.
AnswerID: 303017

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 11:09

Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 11:09
Laura,

Both those vehicles are show ponies.

Talk about a V8 turbo diesel ute and you have a work horse.

AnswerID: 303019

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 11:51

Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 11:51
Real workhorses have traybacks!

AnswerID: 303025

Reply By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 12:00

Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 12:00
Yeap workhorse....uncomfortable, noisey, harsh ride, steers terribly, no mod cons....yeap workhorse.
AnswerID: 303030

Reply By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 12:22

Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 12:22
come on guys....which one out of the 2 would say is a work horse more than the other and why!

I know they are "show ponies" compared to the real deal......

just humour me and answer the question...which of the 2!!!!!!!!
AnswerID: 303034

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 16:29

Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 16:29
Hi Kiwi & Mahindra.

You guys have the same Navara as ours, its not a Work Horse its
a THOROUGHBRED, it tows our 2200kg-plus caravan very easy,
the towing weights on the Tritan have just recently caught up to the
Navara in the last couple of years.
PS check my Members Gallery.

Daza
FollowupID: 569221

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 20:34

Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 20:34
that they are daza!
FollowupID: 569269

Reply By: Dirty Smitty - Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 12:29

Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 12:29
Dont listen to them Laura,
it is obvious that these fools have never worked on a worksite, as they are oblivious to the words: value for money. Hell give me a multipurpose 4 cylinder ute/tray back, whatever, that can safely carry a 1 ton payload and drag a 3 ton trailer around. Over a cumbersome V8 oversized fuel guzzling 2 car park taking lump of iron any day.

Dirty.
AnswerID: 303036

Reply By: Notso - Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 12:37

Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 12:37
Being somewhat biased I'd recommend the Triton over the Navarra.

More grunt, good payload weight, slightly smaller ute back than the Navarra though.

I understand you can get a tray back for them now but not too sure.

AnswerID: 303037

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 16:43

Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 16:43
Being Biased dosent help pull heavy loads.Image Could Not Be Found
FollowupID: 569223

Follow Up By: Notso - Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 17:52

Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 17:52
AH, I dunno, it seems to handle my 18.6 dual axle OK. Now I didn't want to become parochial about this but dare I say it outperforms the navarra by a good margin towing the van. And without it.

Mate has the Navarra D40 and a similar van and he has trouble keeping up, blew his clutch as well.

Glad I bought the triton I am!

FollowupID: 569237

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 20:30

Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 20:30
Its always a mate blah blah blah, never any first hand experience.
everybody to there own taste, in the long run they all get you there
no mater what make it is. as long as you get home again.

Daza
FollowupID: 569267

Follow Up By: Notso - Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 22:07

Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 22:07
Yep, that's the truth. but I was driving behind him when the clutch went?

I'd give you his name and address but he may object. Had it fixed at Warialda.

FollowupID: 569287

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 19:22

Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 19:22
Laura,

Jees, it would appear you can't get a straight answer.

Well, I reckon your '06 is much more attractive than him. er his.

I'm not aware of the suspension differences or the different payload carrying capacity between the two, but the current model triton is just plain UGLY.

Bill.

AnswerID: 303090

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 20:36

Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 20:36
not as attractive as him but more attractive than his!!LOL!!

they are ugly things from the looks i reckon!
FollowupID: 569270

Reply By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 19:35

Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 19:35
You might want to have a look at this complaints site.

http://www.motorsm.com/complaints/000.asp?catid=802

Navara had 3 full pages, 78 complaints.
Triton had just 2 complaints.
Hilux had 1 full page, 26 complaints.

Not bad when you consider:-
Navara 3042 sold vehicles in 07-08.
Triton 1221 sold vehicles in 07-08.
Hilux 3141 sold vehicles in 07-08.

Or does it mean Navara owners winge more!

Regards Richard

AnswerID: 303091

Follow Up By: Notso - Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 19:58

Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 19:58
That's nice to hear. I thought I was the only bloke who loves the triton??

FollowupID: 569258

Reply By: Crackles - Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 21:57

Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 21:57
Our company has just done the comparisons of the main 4 utes & have ordered 40 Tritons & 6 Fords. The Tritons without doubt are far superior when towing & better again than the Hilux. Excellent features for the price, good intermediate 4 wheel drive ability & if the handful of previous models we've had are anything to go by should be reliable. The auto Navara I drove had a problem hunting up & down a gear around 60kph. Pain in the butt for town driving otherwise not much between them.
PS: They got the Fords as the extra cabs have the rear opening suicide doors for better access as well as heavier rear springs.
Cheers Craig.....
AnswerID: 303342