Reply By: Member No 1- Tuesday, May 20, 2008 at 12:34

Tuesday, May 20, 2008 at 12:34
bugga...he's told the WHOLE world what were enjoying
AnswerID: 304845

Reply By: Member - Tessa (NSW) - Tuesday, May 20, 2008 at 12:35

Tuesday, May 20, 2008 at 12:35
Landy
Now I know why we've got so many universities. To give geniuses like that a chance to strut their stuff. I wonder how much that survey cost the taxpayer???

tessa
AnswerID: 304846

Reply By: Member -Signman - Tuesday, May 20, 2008 at 13:10

Tuesday, May 20, 2008 at 13:10
With some of the people on this Forum- I'd believe it !!
AnswerID: 304849

Reply By: brushmarx - Tuesday, May 20, 2008 at 13:10

Tuesday, May 20, 2008 at 13:10
Wow, what a report,

C oncise
R elevant
A rticulate
P ractical

Probably received a taxpayer funded multi million dollar grant to carry out such an in depth survey.
I'll get there someday, or die wanting to.

AnswerID: 304850

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, May 20, 2008 at 13:29

Tuesday, May 20, 2008 at 13:29
Pointless surveys are not just the domain of accademics! I had a client once who arranged a consumer survey for toilet paper (kid you not) and found that consumers wanted soft and strong - what a no brainer!

AnswerID: 304851

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Tuesday, May 20, 2008 at 15:23

Tuesday, May 20, 2008 at 15:23
"considerable potential for better services and for developing the full potential of 4WD tourism."

Not with the current fuel prices !!
AnswerID: 304869

Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Tuesday, May 20, 2008 at 16:44

Tuesday, May 20, 2008 at 16:44
Howdy there Sir Footy, just had a look at your rig picture! When did you upgrade, looks like it could accommodate quite a few. LOL & cheers
FollowupID: 570913

Reply By: Mobi Condo - Tuesday, May 20, 2008 at 18:54

Tuesday, May 20, 2008 at 18:54
Oh! Right! It took a survey to come to those conclusions did it.

Hm! We are not of the usual run of the mill 4x4'ers - yes we do not "drink", we are NOT affluent, we are not in the high pay category.

We just LOVE the land and exploring it and do it in comfort with a really good rig to boot, but we are still paying for the privilege and have to save like mad in order to get out!

I wonder where they go to get their poll results - must be the other side where the other half live!

Oh! Those lottery winners must be where they get their results!
:-)
Cheers - Mobi
AnswerID: 304914

Reply By: blue one - Tuesday, May 20, 2008 at 19:47

Tuesday, May 20, 2008 at 19:47
Decafe soy latte please
AnswerID: 304927

Reply By: Member - Sweeney (WA) - Tuesday, May 20, 2008 at 20:22

Tuesday, May 20, 2008 at 20:22
What is a macchiato???
AnswerID: 304942

Reply By: equinox - Tuesday, May 20, 2008 at 20:23

Tuesday, May 20, 2008 at 20:23
Interesting.

The full media release is available HERE

The Desert Knowledge Cooperative Research Centre did this report with a core partner, Charles Darwin Uni but there are other core partners:

Central Land Council
Commonwealth Government (OIPC)
CSIRO
Curtin University of Technology
Desert Peoples Centre
Northern Territory Government
Western Australian Government.

A couple of interesting extracts:

“Desert travel is generally seen as a ‘once in a lifetime’ experience, centred around the famous tracks – the Gunbarrel, the Oodnadatta Track, the Tanami Track,” he says." (Dr. Carson)

Once for some but not me, or most others on this site I would think.

Also (quoting report):
Dr Carson says that research has shown that there are four main types of 4WD desert travellers, with the largest group being the ‘explorer’ market, whose main focus is to travel a particular track, or get to sites that they think are seldom visited by other people. Their activities are driving, sightseeing, relaxing at the end of the day with a bottle – usually red, says Dr Carson – and a set of photographs.

The second biggest market are those who are using the 4WD vehicle to get to places where they can pursue particular activities such as fossicking, bird-watching, fishing, caving or bushwalking.

The third market is those who want to test their vehicle and their driving skills. Their key activity is driving.

Fourthly, there is the market of 4WD drivers who may be in the desert for other reasons, but take the opportunity to do short trips where they use the 4WD capacity of their vehicles.

I'm definetley in number 1 and 2 and maybe a little bit of 3, don't know about the red wine though.

AnswerID: 304944

Follow Up By: Lyds - Tuesday, May 20, 2008 at 22:26

Tuesday, May 20, 2008 at 22:26
it all sounds like a "number 2" to me :-)
FollowupID: 570990

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Tuesday, May 20, 2008 at 22:55

Tuesday, May 20, 2008 at 22:55
Hmmm. Nescafe, International Roast. Nah. Bugger that. I hate instant coffee. Cannot stand the stuff. Don't mind billy tea though.

Give me one of these for my Birthday later this week please....

Presso Coffee Machine - no power required.

Mate of mine already has one. Uses it at home and when camped.

Wonder if Roachie's got one?

AnswerID: 304982

Follow Up By: Member - Benno - Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 16:48

Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 16:48
Great idea....but at $219?!
That said, I've spent more than that for a night on the Pirate juice and only gotten the hangover to prove for it.
You'd hope you got some life out of it but the glass(?) water reservoir might be a bit of a liability on the road.
If it isn't, then maybe this fella could be a good investment (or pressie as was suggested!).
Although a teabag of bushells will more than likely be in my next cuppa, any feedback on this(or cheaper versions) might be interesting.
FollowupID: 571104

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 20:37

Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 20:37
Hi Benno.

My mate who bought one is a chef. He reckons he can get a better espresso out of it than some of the very expensive commercial machines. ie. Several thousand dollar cafe machines.

I've had a few from it and it does a better job than my home machine, that's for sure - at half the price.

Mark uses his at home when he's not camping so it's a multipurpose investment.

The reservoir at the top is plastic not glass so I can't see any reason why it won't go the distance.

The frother works exceptionally well too, so the girls cappucinos are no probem.

If you shop around online you can get them at fairly good prices.

FollowupID: 571156

Follow Up By: Member - Benno - Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 23:26

Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 23:26
Thanks Dave,
If it is that good then it probably will be a good investment.
I'll have a squiz on ebay and the like and see what I come up with.
Will post my results when I get them.
FollowupID: 571202