Electrical wiring???

Submitted: Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 16:37
ThreadID: 57954 Views:3157 Replies:7 FollowUps:15
I am about to wire a socket into the cabin of Darkie for the Engel to run off. There is an existing after market power supply run through a 20amp breaker that was retained but not used when the chop was done. I am going to use this as the power supply.

The question is that the battery end of the power cable is connected to the isolated side of the Redarc isolator. Should this connection be removed and it connected directly to the isolated batteries Positive terminal??

The voltage over the aux battery terminals is 12.82v and on the end of the supply cable and it earthed through the chassis it is 12.81v.

Do I earth the socket to the body/chassis or run another cable back to the battery??

The auxiliary battery is not earthed to the body or chassis just connected to the neg terminal of the main cranking battery to complete the circuit. Should the aux battery be earthed to the body and chassis as well??

I also have Lightforce 240s on the bull bar, am I able to wire in an additional 2 x 50 watt lights using the same wiring as the Lightforce??

I hope that all makes sense LOL

Reply By: On Patrol (East Coast) - Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 16:48

Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 16:48
Kev Maaaaaate
I know nothing of your electrical problems, I hope someone can help you there, BUT your tag is the biggest laugh I've had for years, keep up the good work so we all can have some fun.
Your sarcastic friend, Colin.
AnswerID: 305618

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 16:49

Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 16:49
It is no laughing matter just you wait and see ;))

FollowupID: 571668

Follow Up By: On Patrol (East Coast) - Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 16:52

Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 16:52
Kev, you sound just like Jo whatshisname, your wife doesn't bake pumpkin scones does she?????? ;-)
FollowupID: 571671

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 16:55

Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 16:55
I wish she would ha ha ha

Maybe I could get Kiwi to cook some for the cooking comp in Innamincka to teach Sam how to do it. I am sure Kiwi cooks them for Nathan all the time ;)

FollowupID: 571673

Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 17:16

Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 17:16
he just wants the fridge going, so when he arrives back in NSW he will have some cold ones ready for a celebration drink with us.
3 Nil..... 3 Nil....... HAHAHA
FollowupID: 571678

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 17:20

Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 17:20
Stefan.

Bitch...................

FollowupID: 571680

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 18:47

Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 18:47
found it Kev!

Ill cook ya some but it'll cost ya....and if you want me to teach Sam...well...that might cost a few more!!!!!

God love ya!! LOL !!
FollowupID: 571693

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 19:08

Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 19:08
Well get to work then, you have 44 days to get them just right. I am sure everyone attending will want to try them as well so you had better stock up with ingredients..........................That's if your sorry ass makes it to Innamincka ha ha

FollowupID: 571695

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 19:18

Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 19:18
I make then...whether YOU like them is another thing!! I like them...Nath likes them...the kids like them....they are SYMPLE....hint on where to get the instructions so you can do it your self....
remember you owe me....Ill just add that to the account for you shall I??!!!
FollowupID: 571697

Reply By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 16:56

Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 16:56
Kev.
My rear fridge wiring is via an andersen plug to the 2nd battery.
No problems.
Vince.
PS Kip(the wonder dog said to say hello LOL).
AnswerID: 305620

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 16:58

Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 16:58
I hope Kip bites as many Cockroaches as possible ha ha ha

I want to use the wiring that is already in place, I just may need to add an extra wire for the the earth.

FollowupID: 571674

Reply By: The Geriatric Gypsies - Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 17:34

Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 17:34
goodday kev
pity it couldnt wait till after the gathering will mm with my set up trying to explain

ps on my 2nd bourbon thats why the mm
AnswerID: 305633

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 17:39

Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 17:39
I will be testing a few new toys at Innamincka all going well.

A facial hair waxer is one of them hopefully you will be the test subject LOL

FollowupID: 571684

Reply By: Isuzumu - Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 19:21

Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 19:21
Has anyone answered your question yet Kev? hahhahah ok I am a bit half hearted but some one has to have a go.
If the wiring is all ready there for the earth leave as is, cause the main battery is earthed to the body/chassis. I have mine earthed through a tie down bolt (battery in box in the back of rig) and to be only loosing 1/100 of a volt means its getting a great charge.
Now I would not use the same wiring for the lights, unless the cable is 1/2 inch thick.
44 days hey, 34 days before we leave hahhahaha

Cheers Bruce
AnswerID: 305645

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 19:26

Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 19:26
MMMMMMMMMMMM maybe I could leave a bit earlier ha ha

I may have to run another lot of wiring for the additional lights then :(

FollowupID: 571698

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 19:38

Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 19:38
No worries mate, yep we are leaving home on the 27 th and having a relaxed trip out as we have to be home on the12th July.

Cheers Bruce

Will put up our itinerary in a couple of weeks when I finalise it
FollowupID: 571702

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 19:47

Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 19:47
I don't intend to be home before the evening of the 15th the Outlaw leaves on the 16th ;) so we have to be home to get the kids back

FollowupID: 571708

Reply By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 20:04

Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 20:04
on phone to Nath now.....

as for the switch....better earth at battery...an use existing eartht thats already there.....more probs if earthed at chassis...

dont worry about earth the aux batt...its fine....
and no for the lights...have to check amps...over heat and melt....
AnswerID: 305655

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 20:32

Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 20:32
Kev,

For the best and most trouble free operation, the auxiliary battery should have a separate heavy duty earth to the engine block, or chassis.

The cable from the rear socket should terminate at the positive terminal of the auxiliary battery with a separate 10 amp in-line fuse to protect the circuit.
Ideally, the negative wire is best terminated at the auxiliary battery's negative terminal, but without rewiring it, connecting the negative terminal of the socket to the body is OK, providing you have a sound earth connection between the battery, engine block and body.

If you have a pair of Lightforce 240's why do you need extra lights?

2 x 50 watt lights aren't going to do much more than add a bit of "bling bling" factor. If you really needed them, they can be wired into the main light circuit.

Bill.

AnswerID: 305661

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 08:49

Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 08:49
Bill,

The extra lights are to throw a bit more light to the road verges as the Lightforce are great for up the road. I am doing a fair bit of night driving now so the more sections of the road ahead I can see the better I feel.

FollowupID: 571772

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 22:32

Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 22:32
No worries mate.

I'm a little surprised though. With the spotties on, I would have thought the 50 watt lights would be "washed out" by the much higher powered lights.

I find a combination flood (passengers side) and a spot (drivers side) give good overall coverage to both the left road verge and straight down the middle of the road/track.

Bill.

FollowupID: 571935

Reply By: autosparky - Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 23:33

Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 23:33
earth the socket to a common earth to both batteries for your fidge ,
your 50w lights (sounds like fog lights )as descibed on this forum not so long ago as (wanker lights ) need to go through another relay for safety
AnswerID: 305691