Fuel + Tanami track

Submitted: Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 17:43
ThreadID: 57957 Views:2806 Replies:7 FollowUps:7
Just for those interested , Rabbitt Flat , Diesel is $2.51 per lt ,, just got into HallsCreek , track/ road is very bad in parts , like a freeway in others ,,counted 46 wrecks along the way ,, and a whole lot of tyres ,,,,,,,2 and 1/2 days made for an interesting trip ,,,,,

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 18:21

Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 18:21
You happen to notice what ULP was? Know that in the Kimberley diesal is cheeper than ULP. Not going up there myself but just curious that's all.

AnswerID: 305640

Reply By: Member - Lance S (VIC) - Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 19:49

Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 19:49
Thanks mate, will going up there July next year and will have to start putting the pennies away, by then it will $4 a litre. Hope those 6 winning numbers on a saturday night come thru and make the trip that little bit more comfortable.

You can only dream!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

cheers,

Lance
Home Away from Home

AnswerID: 305651

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 07:38

Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 07:38
Will go you 1/2's in the winnings,,,hehehehe

By the time we get there who knows what price it will be !

But then again who cares, still got 8 years to pay for it b4 we retire, and by then we hopefully become the "grey nomads".....

Ah ! to dream

Cheers Mate

FollowupID: 571750

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 07:39

Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 07:39
Lance

Don't be greedy !

Will go you 1/2's in the winnings,,,hehehehe

By the time we get there who knows what price it will be !

But then again who cares, still got 8 years to pay for it b4 we retire, and by then we hopefully become the "grey nomads".....

Ah ! to dream

Cheers Mate

FollowupID: 571751

Reply By: Member - Uncle (NSW) - Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 21:59

Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 21:59
Struth!! Thats getting nasty. Drove thru Mt Magnet today, it was $1.95 there, but only a $1.88 at Sandstone. I cant work that one out either, thought that Mt Magnet being on the main hwy, would be a bit cheaper?
AnswerID: 305677

Reply By: Top End Explorer Tours - Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 22:07

Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 22:07
Hey Axel

$2.51 isn't to bad considering that in 1991 it was $1.50 so a $1 Jump in 17 years isn't to bad.

I used to work at the Tanami gold mine in 1991, 40 odd km up the road from Rabbit Flat.

We won't tell Jim that you can't get Gas out there will we.

How far away are you from Kakadu, as I will organize the didj for the young fella.

Cheers Steve.
AnswerID: 305680

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 23:27

Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 23:27
Gday Steve,
I worked there in about 1995.
The flat was go fun hey???
FollowupID: 571738

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Monday, May 26, 2008 at 18:39

Monday, May 26, 2008 at 18:39
Steve , just got into Broome today [Mon 26] ,, spending a week or so ,then off to Cape Leveque for 8/10 days followed by "detour" of a 1000 or so klm 1 way to Karratha to have a cup of tea with an old friend who has just moved there from Brisbane ,, we are on day 3 of week 7 of our 26 week trip ,so wont be up your way for another 5/6 weeks or so .... looking forward to it ,,,,
FollowupID: 572021

Reply By: Member -Signman - Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 15:46

Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 15:46
Well 33 CSR...$3.00/litre

AnswerID: 305750

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 20:39

Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 20:39
Not too bad, considering that 2 years ago it was $2.80 a litre. And by then I needed a lotta litres LOL
FollowupID: 571902

Reply By: Member - Mary W NW VIC - Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 17:21

Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 17:21
Hi Axel,
heading that way in july.How much of the track is really bad and where abouts?Any camping spot suggestions?
Mary
"Some people walk in the rain,others just get wet."

AnswerID: 305773

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 17:50

Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 17:50
We may head out the Tanami too after we have done our lap around the Kimberley.

FollowupID: 573009

Reply By: Motherhen - Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 17:51

Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 17:51
Hi Axel, what are the trading days/times at Rabbit Flat now? Where did you fuel up prior to that, and what price?

AnswerID: 307167

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 19:37

Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 19:37
Open 7 days pw until Oct ,,had refueled at TilmouthWell previous to RabbitFlat ,,, Tilmouth was $2.15 ,, only took on 60 lt at RabbitFlat to give the place some patronage ,lol.
FollowupID: 573047