std,4.2 diesel GQ fuel consumption,bloody terrible !

Submitted: Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 12:01
ThreadID: 58132 Views:6450 Replies:22 FollowUps:28
Hi everyone,just returned home to Melb from a fantastic trip to Kakadu,wow, what a beautiful fasinating place to visit and explore. Now for the down side,everybody talks about diesels being prefferred to petrol vehicles,the GQ has just done a 8200km trip with an empty roof rack, average fuel consumption was 17.8 litres per 100kms. Average speed was 105:115kph,at 2600-2900rpm. I have to say that I"m bitterly dissapointed at that return. My last 4wd was a 4.5litre petrol cruiser,and a 7500km trip from Melb to birdsville across the Simpson to Alice springs,Uluru,Coober Peddy then home averaged 18llitres per 100kms. I would now prefer a petrol over diesel any day. Hence,there will be a GQ Patrol up for sale very soon....

Reply By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 12:12

Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 12:12
If you had reduced the speed down to around 90/95 you would have got a lot better , Amazes me that tourist on holidays are always in a hurry.
Diesel for me anytime.

AnswerID: 306471

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 22:27

Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 22:27
LoL!!

FollowupID: 572578

Reply By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 12:15

Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 12:15
After Thought

Why do you think all trucks are diesel,
1 better economy
2 more efficient
3 longer life

AnswerID: 306472

Follow Up By: Member - Mark - Exmouth WA - Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 12:29

Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 12:29
Well answered Doug, I have a 1994 GQ Diesel Ute and economy wise its great.

FollowupID: 572456

Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 20:17

Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 20:17
Gotta agree Doug!

In Feb- March did 10,400ks Cairns- Melb(via east coast) - Broken hill- The Towers and back dragging a campertrailer fulla stuff and the Toyo 1HZ ...........Cost fuel $2,300...

Not bad in my view considering the 2 of us were dragging our home all the way. Kept speed to about 90ks as per Steve from Top End Explorer Tours suggested.

Grrr!!!
FollowupID: 572537

Follow Up By: Top End Explorer Tours - Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 23:12

Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 23:12
Hey Doug and Crazy Dog.

I did 370 km at 100 kph and used 45.11 litres, with the TD 100 series.

Ya got ta love that hey.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 572590

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Friday, May 30, 2008 at 00:05

Friday, May 30, 2008 at 00:05
Southern Cross WA to Pt Augusta , 2000 klm towing a 22ft van and did not buy fuel between,
The old Troopy lugged along at a steady 85kph ....in 5th

FollowupID: 572597

Reply By: Time - Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 12:34

Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 12:34
Why carry an empty roofrack? Remove it and slow down, you will notice an immediate and substantial improvement!
AnswerID: 306480

Reply By: Member - Matt (Perth-WA) - Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 12:36

Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 12:36
Hmmm, that was a rather fact less rant!!

Go ahead trade it in, no skin off anyone else noses.

How about you provide a few more details and then your rant my provide a little more relevance.

mmm let me make some assumptions,
GQ 10-20 year old truck...
200 000 - 400 000km (based on a conservative 20k km/year)
pre turbo...
pushing 3T very hard at excessive speed
when were your injectors and pump last serviced
general service?
air cleaner
tyre size and pressures
why drag roofrack when empty (stupid)

everyone of these and about 100 more contribute to poor fuel economy and would be worse in a petrol vehicle.
get real mate!
AnswerID: 306481

Follow Up By: blue one - Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 13:03

Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 13:03
Mmnnn,
Sounds like your turn to rant Matt.
FollowupID: 572460

Follow Up By: GET ON ! - Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 16:24

Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 16:24
All valid points. I had the injecters serviced in january,air filter and general service 4 weeks before the trip,I left the roof rack on to load firewood on before I got to camp, I am currently running 31inch cooper stts. Look I respect your comments,and the contributing factors,like the roof rack etc,but I really thought the diesel would be able to sit on 105-110kph without to much fuss,and in a 130kph speed limit area I don't think that is ecessive.Yeah sure I'm having a good old fashioned whinge,and soon enough I'll be over it and sittin here reading someone elses good/bad fortunes....Love the feed back...Thanks to everyone!!!
FollowupID: 572479

Follow Up By: Member - Matt (Perth-WA) - Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 17:52

Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 17:52
Great contribution Blue One ....Tool
FollowupID: 572492

Follow Up By: blue one - Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 18:31

Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 18:31
Hey Matt,
Have a good look at yourself you angry little man. There is no need to jump down throat when they are expressing an opinion.

Grow up
FollowupID: 572498

Follow Up By: blue one - Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 18:33

Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 18:33
Hey Matt,
Have a good look at yourself you angry little man. There is no need to jump down everyone's throat when they are expressing an opinion.

Grow up
FollowupID: 572500

Follow Up By: Member - Matt (Perth-WA) - Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 18:38

Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 18:38
Im sorry did you conribute an opinion or just a snide deragotory remark. Take a look at yourself.

I provided Get On with quite a few possabilites to the excessive fuel consumption and the RANT response was to the way he presented the topic. Not that you were interested in that...
I was quite reasonable and backed up by the other responses Get On recieved.
You on the other hand conributed....sqat. Just a stupid thoughtless, deconstructive remark???

Im not angy in the least, quite the opposite, I just refuse to waste my time on tools.

All the best!

FollowupID: 572501

Follow Up By: blue one - Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 18:49

Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 18:49
No little man you were rude and it was un-necessary
FollowupID: 572504

Follow Up By: Member - Matt (Perth-WA) - Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 18:54

Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 18:54
Hahaha thank you my lord I have erred and will be forever thankful of your perfection and patience in righting my wrongs.

Oh thats right you were a tool and now you are trying to justify your pointless stupid remark....poor you!

Keep going, this is fun you just keep digging deeper! Silly sausage!!
FollowupID: 572506

Follow Up By: blue one - Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 19:09

Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 19:09
No Matt you are just a rude little man
FollowupID: 572513

Follow Up By: blue one - Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 19:10

Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 19:10
Correction

boy
FollowupID: 572514

Follow Up By: Member - Matt (Perth-WA) - Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 19:19

Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 19:19
"Holy Hypocrite Batman!! I see a pot calling a kettle black and now it is using simple, childish little insults to promote itself to a higher level of intellect." :P
FollowupID: 572518

Follow Up By: Member - Matt (Perth-WA) - Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 19:24

Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 19:24
Oh and sorry Go On for all the emails you will be receiving.... this has got a little off your initial topic! Well at least entertaining for you I hope!

See there is a positive for recieving 11 follow-ups in the mail haha!
FollowupID: 572520

Follow Up By: blue one - Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 19:25

Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 19:25
Matt,
If you read your response to this issue and others in the past there is a distinct thread of angry rude remarks which are uncalled for.

Calling "Get on" stupid for an example.

There is no need.

Get some professional help.
FollowupID: 572522

Follow Up By: Member - Matt (Perth-WA) - Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 19:34

Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 19:34
Ahh glad to see YOU have calmed down blue hypocrite, you might have fallen off that pedastal you are perched upon.
You have been nothing but rude, deragatory, insulting and incorrect in EVERY reply you have made here, yet you still feel you are justified in lecturing me on something you have NOTHING to do with. What a poor little misguided moral crusader you are!!

Get On again I am sorry for all the replies, alas I have tired of the poor little hypocrite (blue one) and must retire.
All the best with your GQ problems!

FollowupID: 572526

Follow Up By: blue one - Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 19:52

Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 19:52
Well it's good to see you got his id correct finally. Now just go and have a look at your last 20 posts and take them to someone who can help you with your problem.
FollowupID: 572528

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 22:13

Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 22:13
someone needs a hug!
FollowupID: 572574

Reply By: Kumunara (NT) - Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 13:00

Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 13:00
Get On

I would have the vehicle services by a good diesel mechanic.

They are the worst figures I have ever heard for a 4.2

Towing my camper trailer with a full load sitting on 100 km/h I average 15 litres per 100 kilometres.

Not towing and sitting on 110 to 115 km/h I use an average of 12.5 litres per 100 kilometres.

That is in a GU and GQ owners with a 4.2 have claimed they get better mileage than that.

Tjilpi
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

AnswerID: 306486

Reply By: Mainey (wa) - Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 13:30

Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 13:30
We know one thing "get on" enjoyed his fantastic trip to Kakadu....
I believe every one who goes there does !!!

If he wants to drive in a manner that WASTES his own money, that is also HIS choice, as stupid as it really is !!

What I (like other posters) don't understand is, why would he then complain about something he had COMPLETE control over as most posters have also said.

Just does not make any sense at all to me either !!

(may just be a bad day an he's looking for some 'fuzzy' feeling)

Mainey . . .
AnswerID: 306495

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 13:45

Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 13:45
Why would he travel at 100 - 115km/h. Because he had to get from Melboourne to Kakadu and back. There is a lot of miles in what I call the transport stage of the trip and like GET ON ! I do these miles pretty close to the speed limit, which for most of that trip would be 110km/h.

Why would he carry an empty roof rack? Don't know, I hate roof racks for a lot of reasons, fuel consumption is one of them. I accept that on occasions they are a useful tool but why you would carry one for 8200km with nothing on it is beyond me.

As others have suggested a good fuel system service could go a long way to correcting the problem.

AnswerID: 306499

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 14:52

Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 14:52
Might be time to dwell awhile in the 'room of mirrors' - your speeds might be the biggest crime (if economy was what you were expecting) - get back to around the lower 90's, along with the other obvious factors (tyre pressures, load reduction, drag etc.) and you could have saved lots of $.
AnswerID: 306513

Reply By: brushmarx - Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 15:23

Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 15:23
A few people are querying GET ON's mental stability for reasons including "why have an empty roof rack on" and "what do you expect when you do those speeds".
I don't feel that these derogatory comments are fair, especially when he's already boldly notified everyone of his mental abilities (or lack thereof) by returning to Melbourne.
I'll get there someday, or die wanting to.

AnswerID: 306519

Reply By: Flash - Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 15:31

Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 15:31
Either something is wrong with your GQ (likely) or your figures, or both. For a start you need to slow down a little... and why leave your roof rack on. Even an empty rack will cost a lot of fuel.

I get around 10 litres/100klms and 14/100 towing a caravan from mine.
I do however, drive at more sensible speeds, like 95-100 and 80-85 towing a van. Even slowing a few kays will save a lot of fuel.
AnswerID: 306522

Reply By: Top End Explorer Tours - Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 15:34

Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 15:34
I took all the roof racks of my cars and it saves me up to $25 per car per day over 230 km.

If you had popped in for a beer when you were here I could have told you that.

Cheers Steve.
AnswerID: 306524

Follow Up By: Col_and_Jan - Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 20:09

Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 20:09
Steve,
I have the 3 x sports bars on top of my cruiser (not the square tradesman type bars) . I don't bother to take them off as I seem to use them fairly often - too many trips to Bunnings!
Do you think these would make a big impact on fuel usage?
Col
FollowupID: 572531

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 15:38

Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 15:38
Just sold my GQ. TD42 1989. 12/100 at 110 all day every day. Maybe your post should be about what could be wrong with it. How many k's has it done? How long since injectors been done? Has the pump been checked?? etc etc etc
AnswerID: 306525

Follow Up By: Krakka - Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 20:27

Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 20:27
Howdy Brew, We are eagerly awaiting the Petrol V LPG, economy and power update. LOL
Cheers Krakka
FollowupID: 572540

Reply By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 16:00

Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 16:00
G'day Get On

"Hence,there will be a GQ Patrol up for sale very soon...."

I'll give ya $500.00 for the fuel guzzlin piece of $hite...Hahaha

Cheers.....Borgy
AnswerID: 306531

Reply By: Dunedigger - Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 16:04

Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 16:04
I think you are driving a 'sick puppy' I got better consumption towing a 3 horse float. Check Injector's and timing and finally the pump .If it starts OK then the rest of the engine may in good nick.

The fuel tank is not leaking by any chance ?

Long way to drive just to see Kakdo Kakdon't yet drive slowly to get there. Makes 6 month trip round Aus look cheap while seeing the rest of Aus

Dunedigger
AnswerID: 306532

Reply By: Mick15 - Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 16:10

Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 16:10
i have a 93 model td42 and get around 11 litres/100 on a long trip and driving to work and back (70k round trip) the worst i can get is about 14-15/100 and thats a cold start every 35ks and driving hard, moreso than what you were...
AnswerID: 306533

Follow Up By: GET ON ! - Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 16:37

Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 16:37
Hi Mick 15. Driving to work and back I use 14litres per 100kms,as I said earlier the injecters and pump were serviced recently,it has done 400,000kms,there simply must be a problem with the tuning/timing of the engine,every day before starting off I checked under the bonnet and under the car for any wet spots. Everything was fine.
FollowupID: 572482

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 16:15

Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 16:15
Yep there is something terribly wrong with the vehicle.
Could be.......
1. Age
2. Driver Behavior
3. Roof Rack
4. Injectors
5. Tyres and pressure
6. Speed

I tow a 16ft pop top caravan weight at 1800kg Plus truck has roof rack loaded, the whole lot coming in at 5.2Tonne and the vehicle returns 18ltr 100k @ 95kph. The vehicle is a TD with the Motson upgrade done 150k ago.
So something is amiss.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 306536

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 18:37

Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 18:37
One thing no-ones mentioned so I'll raise it.

How accurate is your speedo? Have you checked it against a gps?

It's likely that you were actually travelling at between 110-122kmh.

Do you use cruise control?

The highway up the guts of this country is a funny thing. At times what looks flat or even slightly down hill looking toward the horizon is actually gradually climbing if you look at the altitude on a GPS. Consequently you sink the foot a little or the cruise does to maintain speed.

The other thing is that as the temp raises through the day you often get a headwind one way or the other depending on the weather pattern. So your 110-122kmh becomes what ever the groundspeed is plus the headwind.

A 10kmh head wind and you are trying to maintain an effective 120-132kmh. Obviously with higher wind strengths it's worse.

Sitting in the truck you don't even realise the wind's blowing until you stop for a leak and then suddenly it hits you.

Driving in the cool of the evening when the air is dense & cold improves economy - if you have a good set of lights and don't hit the wild life. And you can often get local radio from home on the AM band at night if you want to listen to something familiar. (774 3LO coming over the Nullabor for example.)

Pete & I made up a lot of miles on our last trip travelling until midnight and rolling out the swag somewhere.

AnswerID: 306568

Follow Up By: Member - David P (VIC) - Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 18:56

Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 18:56
Ahhh, its good to hear from an intelligent VICTORIAN.....(that shud do the trick).....LOL
FollowupID: 572507

Reply By: westozal - Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 19:12

Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 19:12
Gidday,
I had a 1992 Mav man 4.2d used to get about 26mpg everywhere including 110kmph on hwy and about 20mpg towing a tdm poptop.
Tyre size made a difference in mine,loved 32's a/t's hated 33's m/t's, made a difference of about 100 kms per tank consumption wise.
Alan.
AnswerID: 306577

Reply By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 19:42

Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 19:42
bugger me GET ON;your patrol engine is 4.2 ltr,at that speed its any wonder it sux the juice.there is a reason heavy vehicle engines only sit on 1600 to 1700 rpm @ 100 klms/hr.maybe you should realise being such a big donk it needs the appropriate amount of fuel to run it.if you are going to travel long distants maybe you need to look into changing diff ratios.
AnswerID: 306582

Reply By: Member - Uncle (NSW) - Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 21:23

Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 21:23
Hi there Geton, we have been on the road now for just over 3 months, fulltime travelling. Pulling an 1100kg camper trailer and a Nissan patrol, slightly loaded with all the necessary items for 9 to 12 mths travelling. At our worst, over Mt Hotham, was 18L/100k, but currently on the flatter ground, we are averaging 16L/100. How recently had you checked your fuel filters and air filters too, maybe something to look at as well. We only sit on around 80 to 90 k's an hour, after all I'm hol's so who's rushing?? you;ll see more of Aus too that way I reckon. We have extractors and a bigger exhaust, but thats it. I noticed the Patrol a bit sluggish up hills the other day, but a quick replacement of the inline $6 filter I have set up before the fuel enters the main factory one, and alls good again. hope that helps a bit.
AnswerID: 306615

Follow Up By: Member - Uncle (NSW) - Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 21:24

Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 21:24
Forgot to add we also have a loaded roof basket and a surfboard ontop of that too!
FollowupID: 572558

Reply By: GET ON ! - Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 22:01

Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 22:01
Thanks mate. I'm going to talk to my mechanics in the morning. In spite of me going on a bit of a rant,I've recieved some very useful advice... Thats why I posted my rant err problem..
AnswerID: 306623

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 22:17

Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 22:17
entertainment factor - 110% , good stuff!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 572576

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 22:57

Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 22:57
Get On

The 4.2 diesel patrols are a great vehicle mate, im sure you will get it sorted......but if ya dont , my offer of $500.00 still stands....lol...

Cheers......Borgy
FollowupID: 572587

Reply By: V8Diesel - Friday, May 30, 2008 at 08:37

Friday, May 30, 2008 at 08:37
The diesel / petrol debates here on this forum border on fanatical. Such vehement self righteousness is usually reserved for religious zealots. Don't take it to heart.

I've always had diesels and for lots of applications they are the only way to go BUT........

I did a couple of substantial trips a while back side by side with comparitve petrol and diesel 4x4's (Landcruisers) and there was only a few km's per litre in it. After researching life of vehicle costs (aka the REAL cost), the petrol seemed to get the nod. It is a much nicer vehicle to drive around town too and anyone who raises the old torque argument simply hasn't driven one. My Cruiser will pull solidly from idle and is just fine in the tricky stuff. It also has an enviable reliability record. It is very nice to have plenty of get up and go when you need it too.

I was fortunate enough to own both a 6.5 Chev powered Cruiser and petrol 100 series at the same time. To be honest, there wasn't much the petrol couldn't do as well as the oiler and plenty of things it did way better. I don't think many here would dispute the low down grunt of the Chev either.

In regards to the speed factor, petrol's also use less fuel if drive slower too. I've found there's always an excuse why you can't compare apples with apples in this debate here. Drive the two at speed limit (which is not an unreasonable thing to do BTW) and make a real world comparison which is what you've done.

Every time you lay a spanner on a diesel it is huge dollars from my experience. You will always get the 'do up your injectors' ot 'rebuild your pump' but you have to realise that this lind of stuff costs a bundle.

Factor in the ever widening price gap between the two different types of fuel and there's probably not much in it.

It is always horse for courses. Do your sums, be honest with yourself about what you will use it for 90% of the time, make an informed decision and enjoy it.

AnswerID: 306695