Life suddenly got a whole lot better

Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 03, 2008 at 19:00
ThreadID: 58343 Views:1838 Replies:3 FollowUps:10
Drove home on the Tugun bypass (behind Coolangatta Apt) tonight. It's great. Is the equivalent in terms of satisfaction of the M7 in Sydney. Then cross over into the mexican side and those NSW RTA dipsticks dish up the Sexton hill as world class traffic management.

Reply By: DIO - Tuesday, Jun 03, 2008 at 19:09

Tuesday, Jun 03, 2008 at 19:09
Good luck to you.
AnswerID: 307570

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Tuesday, Jun 03, 2008 at 20:49

Tuesday, Jun 03, 2008 at 20:49
Wife came home that way today, I have yet to drive it.
It only took 50 years ! 20 years ago it was "just about to go ahead" according to the then state govt.
AnswerID: 307588

Reply By: Steve - Tuesday, Jun 03, 2008 at 21:02

Tuesday, Jun 03, 2008 at 21:02
does this mean you can drive from S of the border thru to Brissie and beyond without that silly bit of congestion with trafic lights etc?

Motorway all the way?
AnswerID: 307598

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Tuesday, Jun 03, 2008 at 21:35

Tuesday, Jun 03, 2008 at 21:35
Well I wouldn't go THAT far LOL. There are lights, action, cameras on the NSW side. :))
FollowupID: 573449

Follow Up By: Steve - Tuesday, Jun 03, 2008 at 21:40

Tuesday, Jun 03, 2008 at 21:40
plenty of bloody cameras, that's for sure.....but, have they done away with that annoying stretch so that it's m/way all the way?
FollowupID: 573452

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Tuesday, Jun 03, 2008 at 21:44

Tuesday, Jun 03, 2008 at 21:44
It's all go between the Tweed bypass road and Brisbane. No more congestion along the Tugun straight.
FollowupID: 573455

Follow Up By: Steve - Tuesday, Jun 03, 2008 at 22:15

Tuesday, Jun 03, 2008 at 22:15
cheers Footy.

I might just come up and see you all more often now

You'll regret it

;)

FollowupID: 573465

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Wednesday, Jun 04, 2008 at 07:03

Wednesday, Jun 04, 2008 at 07:03

I reckon they have done a good job, the Tunnel under the Air Port
looks ok, just wondering when the GRAFFITI MORONS will get to
vandalise it.

Daza
FollowupID: 573494

Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Wednesday, Jun 04, 2008 at 07:53

Wednesday, Jun 04, 2008 at 07:53
You can now drive from the lights on top of the hill in NSW (Banora point?), right up to Gympie without going through another set of lights.
FollowupID: 573498

Follow Up By: Steve - Wednesday, Jun 04, 2008 at 08:58

Wednesday, Jun 04, 2008 at 08:58
must cut about 15 mins off the trip??
FollowupID: 573506

Follow Up By: rumpig - Wednesday, Jun 04, 2008 at 16:04

Wednesday, Jun 04, 2008 at 16:04
and if you turn right just before hitting Gympie it now means you southerners from just over the border can get all the way to fraser island without going through a single set of traffic lights.
FollowupID: 573550

Follow Up By: wigger - Wednesday, Jun 04, 2008 at 21:11

Wednesday, Jun 04, 2008 at 21:11
The obvious benefits of this bypass, environmental and safety wise make the RTA's persisting with a cut at Sexton hill rather than a tunnel seem even more moronic. Imagine the chaos there's going to be when they start ripping up the present road. CLOWNS
FollowupID: 573624

Follow Up By: Steve - Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 20:07

Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 20:07
State gov/RTA/transport/healthetc etc etc....NSW is foct. The economy is foct ... I wouldn't trust these halfwits to go out and buy a loaf of bread....but you can be sure their super and investments are ticking along nicely.
FollowupID: 573773