Best way from Adelaide - Cape York?

Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 04, 2008 at 21:29
ThreadID: 58389 Views:8387 Replies:4 FollowUps:12
Hi everyone,

The old man & me are trying to work out the quickest way from Adelaide - Cape York for our upcoming trip next year...

As i will only have 4 weeks to do it in, we have come up with the following route:

Adelaide - Burra - Terowie - Peterborough - Orroroo - Marree via Hawker - Birdsville - Betoota - Windorah - Longreach - Hughenden via Muttaburra - The Lynd Junction - Ravenshoe - Pt. Douglas, then via The Bloomfield Track to Cooktown, then to the tip via the OTL.

Does this sound ok? Obviously we would need to take in to consideration the road conditions, etc.

Any advice/suggestions will be appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Cheers, Brad

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 04, 2008 at 21:42

Wednesday, Jun 04, 2008 at 21:42
G'day Brad,
When we went up again, back in 2004, we went up through Melrose etc, to Leigh Creek, up the Strez to Innaminka, past Haddon's Corner and into Qld, to Windorah, to Longreach, tom Muttaburra, to Hughenden, the Lynd Junction, to Ravenshoe, Atherton, Cairns, Port Douglas, Cooktown, Lakefield NP and then it's pretty staright forward.

Have a great trip,

AnswerID: 307799

Follow Up By: Member - Littleborgy (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 04, 2008 at 22:02

Wednesday, Jun 04, 2008 at 22:02
Thanks Roachie, we'll have a look at that option, too... At the moment we're just throwing things in the air & seeing how they come down...

How long did you have when u done the trip?

Cheers, Brad
FollowupID: 573637

Reply By: Steve - Wednesday, Jun 04, 2008 at 21:49

Wednesday, Jun 04, 2008 at 21:49
Sounds great ..but hope you aren't expecting to see anything ..or get much sleep..I reckon you it can be done ...as they say...easily...but bleep what for ...you are off on one big haul ...with little time to enjoy anything but an odd break here or there ...( as in re-fueling stops) ..and dont worry ..road conditions will be the least of your worries !!!

Maybe tell us why you think this is possible ?..
AnswerID: 307800

Follow Up By: Member - Littleborgy (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 04, 2008 at 21:58

Wednesday, Jun 04, 2008 at 21:58
Steve,

"what for "

Because we've never been to the Cape & would like to do it while we still can (fuel prices, etc.)

"Maybe tell us why you think this is possible ?.."

I think it's possible because i believe if you put your mind to something, it can be done... Maybe tell us why u think it's not possible??

Cheers, Brad
FollowupID: 573635

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 04, 2008 at 22:04

Wednesday, Jun 04, 2008 at 22:04
Both times we've been there, we did it in 4 weeks and that was with 3 kids in tow each time. In 2002 (1st trip) the youngest was only 20 months. In 2004 he was almost 4.

I worked on the basis of 1 week from home to Cairns (2 nights in Cairns), the a week or so to the top, 3 nights there, back down via Porporaaw, Kowanyama, Normanton, Lawn Hill (2 nights), Mt Isa, Birdsville (2 nights) and back home....

Long days in the saddle, but worth it when you have limited time (like annual leave of no more than 4 weeks).
FollowupID: 573638

Follow Up By: Member - AJB (VIC) - Wednesday, Jun 04, 2008 at 22:06

Wednesday, Jun 04, 2008 at 22:06
Different strokes. Some like to meander along stopping every hour looking at trees and smelling the roses, some like to do a big day and stop for a few days crashed out on the ground, some like to get there and do nothing except read a book and some just like the travelling. What he is preposing could be done easily if he enjoys travelling and gets into the 'zone'. Perhaps he will just enjoy the big haul and you are correct with road conditions being the least of his worries. The varying road conditions is part of the adventure. That is one of the reasons we drive when it is probably cheaper to fly
FollowupID: 573639

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Jun 04, 2008 at 22:10

Wednesday, Jun 04, 2008 at 22:10
Luke

Thats a pretty bleak look on life "Because we've never been to the Cape & would like to do it while we still can (fuel prices, etc.)"

I would say you are a lot younger than most of us and we lived through the 60's 70's 80's 90's and the 00's the would does not come to and end... smile... ":-)
FollowupID: 573640

Follow Up By: Member - Littleborgy (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 04, 2008 at 22:13

Wednesday, Jun 04, 2008 at 22:13
Now why didn't i put it like that? LOL, Thanks AJB...

Wrong brother... My name's Brad :-)

Cheers, Brad
FollowupID: 573642

Follow Up By: Member - Littleborgy (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 04, 2008 at 22:19

Wednesday, Jun 04, 2008 at 22:19
Richard,

Another answer to the "what for" question is because we want to do it the hard way before the roads get "upgraded" to bitumen... If we leave it too long, it'll be pointless going up there for a 4WD trip/challenge...

Cheers, Brad
FollowupID: 573644

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 04, 2008 at 22:29

Wednesday, Jun 04, 2008 at 22:29

Quick question mate....have you ever been up the cape?? If so , how long did you have??

Cheers.......Borgy
FollowupID: 573647

Follow Up By: Member - AJB (VIC) - Wednesday, Jun 04, 2008 at 23:02

Wednesday, Jun 04, 2008 at 23:02
Brad
I wouldn't worry about the roads being bitumised! In 1989 I was having a beer at the Bamaga Canteen and a local said to me "In about two years there will be a bitumen road from here all the way to Cairns". Jesus 1989 that was 19 years ago and they may have added a minor amount but there wasn't much more in 95 when I went through. Hey I MM'd ya too.
FollowupID: 573654

Follow Up By: Member - Luke (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 04, 2008 at 23:45

Wednesday, Jun 04, 2008 at 23:45
Dad I doubt Steve will not answer you. In a couple of posts I have seen of his he has been rude in his reply.

I just hope I have the right Steve

As Brad has said....... wrong brother.

Cheers Luke
FollowupID: 573660

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Jun 04, 2008 at 23:48

Wednesday, Jun 04, 2008 at 23:48
Sorry Brad.. tea was on the table..

I lived in Carins in 83 and they where talking about grading the road to but in the OTC Telecom track, and stuff up the whole thing...LOL

On the fuel thing just ask your employer of more wage's to cover it,, tell him you drive a 4WD...
FollowupID: 573661

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Jun 04, 2008 at 23:55

Wednesday, Jun 04, 2008 at 23:55
For
FollowupID: 573664

Reply By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Wednesday, Jun 04, 2008 at 22:59

Wednesday, Jun 04, 2008 at 22:59
Brad
The shortest route is via Broken Hill, Wilcannia. Bourke, Cunnamulla, Barcaldine,Hughenden. and on up to the top,
3707Klm, Non stop driving will be 49 hours.and thats not going to Port Douglas and Daintree.

AnswerID: 307813

Reply By: DIO - Wednesday, Jun 04, 2008 at 23:01

Wednesday, Jun 04, 2008 at 23:01
Your thread heading is 'Best from Adelaide - Cape York?'

In your opening remarks you ask for 'the quickest way from Adelaide'

Me thinks perhaps you should be try flying, it would be a perfect solution to your queries. Good luck with whatever you decide.
AnswerID: 307815