Looking Forward to Innamincka

Submitted: Sunday, Jun 08, 2008 at 11:41
ThreadID: 58507 Views:2174 Replies:5 FollowUps:10
Ive been a member of ExplorOz for almost 2 years now and get a lot of pleasure out of the different characters contributing to the Forum.

When I saw the Gathering listed, and having read stories from previous Gatherings, I thought I might try to get there. When I told my wife that we are going to Innamincka there were some raised eyebrows.

It's a long way from Perth. So I thought we could tie in a trip to Melbourne and get a couple of little things done to the Trakmaster at the factory.

When we picked up our van 12 months ago I mentioned that we were going over and I met Pesty in Clare, Ruth and Willem in Birdsville (I'll bring you a pressie, Ruth. I don't want that branding iron on my butt) and almost met some more members on the Nullarbor if we weren't in such an un-necessary hurry. It was very nice.

We will be going from Melbourne up thru Broken Hill to Innamincka. I have an EO window sticker on the back of the van and on the vehicle windscreen. Sing out on CH40 if you see us.

I know we will like everyone there and I'm looking forward to making new friends in other states for future trips.

We are off on Sunday 15th. Nullarbor, Eyre Peninsula, Wakerie, SW Victoria, Melbourne, Mildura, Broken Hill, Innamincka.

See you there.

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Jun 08, 2008 at 12:07

Sunday, Jun 08, 2008 at 12:07
Sadly I can't get away but all of the EO people that I've met seem very nice ...but there again I haven't met very many LOL

Have a couple for me...you'll both have a great time I'm certain.
AnswerID: 308500

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Sunday, Jun 08, 2008 at 12:23

Sunday, Jun 08, 2008 at 12:23
You havent met me Footy.....!
FollowupID: 574460

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Jun 08, 2008 at 12:49

Sunday, Jun 08, 2008 at 12:49
True. Errr...mmm...is that a good or a bad thing ? LOL
FollowupID: 574474

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Jun 08, 2008 at 12:52

Sunday, Jun 08, 2008 at 12:52
It would probably be a bad thing Footy ;)
She would corrupt you hehehe

FollowupID: 574475

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Jun 08, 2008 at 12:58

Sunday, Jun 08, 2008 at 12:58
Kev, many have tried and failed.
I am still as quiet and innocent as the driven SLUSH. :)))))))
FollowupID: 574479

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Sunday, Jun 08, 2008 at 15:13

Sunday, Jun 08, 2008 at 15:13
Temp-tress eh Kev? :-)) Nice lady actually.
FollowupID: 574520

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Sunday, Jun 08, 2008 at 16:51

Sunday, Jun 08, 2008 at 16:51
I wouldnt corrupt you Footy....! I dont do that!!

Kev was the one who corrupted me...or did I corrupt him???? :))

Maybe one day hey Footy!

And John, wheres the photo at ? ? ? Thanks for your vote of confidence too!!LOL!!
FollowupID: 574530

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Sunday, Jun 08, 2008 at 17:42

Sunday, Jun 08, 2008 at 17:42
Laura, the rig pic is at the Five Mile, on the Murray, just West of Moama in The State of Repair. We camped just near there. Lovely spot to bush camp.
FollowupID: 574548

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Sunday, Jun 08, 2008 at 12:20

Sunday, Jun 08, 2008 at 12:20
Onya Bushy.

Good to see there are two or three groups from WA.

I know we will all be "Easteners" to you guys, but you will be "Westeners" like us South Aussies, to the rest of them.
Then again maybe not.
We will ALL be Mexicans to the Queenslanders:-))

Should be a good gathering.

Bill.

AnswerID: 308501

Reply By: Member - Bob & Lorraine S (NSW - Sunday, Jun 08, 2008 at 13:10

Sunday, Jun 08, 2008 at 13:10
G'day Gone Bush
We are heading that way via Menindee,White Cliffs and Tibooburra to Cameron Corner. Probably in Tibooburra around 28 June. Towing Supreme Territory. First time in this area. EO wheels covers on back of van-can't miss them!
See you somewhere
Bob & Lorraine
UHF18
Romeo2954
AnswerID: 308515

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Jun 08, 2008 at 18:35

Sunday, Jun 08, 2008 at 18:35
To both GB and Bob & Lorraine,

MY wife and family will be coming out to the corner then up the Bore track to Innaminka around the start of July (maybe 4th, 5th or 6th???) towing a Supreme getaway 16ft spare tyre on a hilux bullbar mounted to the back of the van. If you happen to come across us, I will more than likely be on UHF 40 also (channel 10 is also another favourite channel when I hit the dirt) and would love to say g'day.

Cheers Trevor, Judy and kids by two.
FollowupID: 574563

Reply By: Member - vivien C (VIC) - Sunday, Jun 08, 2008 at 13:13

Sunday, Jun 08, 2008 at 13:13
Hello Gone Bush,

We live near Beulah, which is on the Henty Highway and if you're heading from Melbourne to Mildura you might be travelling through. If so just call in to town and I'll be at the Chemist shop in the main street (only very small town you won't miss it). Also if you need somewhere to camp for the night you would be very welcome.

Give me a message on here if you like.

Have a great time in Innamincka if we don't catch up. Wish we could go but we're heading away for six weeks at the start of August and can't manage two trips.

Viv
AnswerID: 308516

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Jun 08, 2008 at 14:39

Sunday, Jun 08, 2008 at 14:39
Thanks Viv,

We haven't finalised our route out of Melbourne yet, so you never know. We may take up your kind offer.

FollowupID: 574514

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Sunday, Jun 08, 2008 at 15:12

Sunday, Jun 08, 2008 at 15:12
GB, you say SW Victoria. That definition is pretty wide. I have meetings late the week before - well Thursday and Friday, but let us know movements closer to the time mate. That self injurious Bonz doesn't live far away either so we can all meet up possibly.

More specifically near Port Campbell is nice to live as it really is at the centre of the universe. Great Ocean Road at the doorstep, well nearly. Hope to see Viv on our way North too :-D
AnswerID: 308529

Follow Up By: Dave B (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 08, 2008 at 19:15

Sunday, Jun 08, 2008 at 19:15
The big bang was at the centre of the universe wasn't it John?

Was that another one of Bonz's tricks?

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

FollowupID: 574582