Bridgestone 694s (LT265/75/16)

Submitted: Sunday, Jun 08, 2008 at 18:59
ThreadID: 58527 Views:5012 Replies:9 FollowUps:11
Gday All,

Just had my first bad run on these tyres. After running around the Pilbara the past few years on 693s I three weeks ago bought new 694s. First gravel run today and a sidewall blowout - Im not very happy to say the least as I am a carefull gravel driver and Id rate the conidtions today as good - very good surface. No load in the car just me and the wife / two dogs and sleeping bags. I am running at 35psi on the gravel.

I know its sometimes luck of the draw and I probably just hit the wrong thing on the road. My question however is anyonw know the warranty status for these tyres? I think I know the answer but thought Id ask.

Brad

Reply By: Top End Explorer Tours - Sunday, Jun 08, 2008 at 19:15

Sunday, Jun 08, 2008 at 19:15
Yeah the 694s are Jap made and crap, where as the 693s are OZ made and at 42 psi you can't wreck them.

My experience is 750000 km 15 set 2 blow outs one driver error one on the black stuff after the Strzelecki track at 55000, 3 tread punctures.

Cheers Steve.
AnswerID: 308591

Follow Up By: BradW - Sunday, Jun 08, 2008 at 19:24

Sunday, Jun 08, 2008 at 19:24
Yeah Im starting to think that as the 693s ran so well. Never lost one until they were pretty much shot and they did some pretty heavy going on large rocky surfaces and the 694s die on gravel.

Todays driving last thing I expected was a flat judging the surface. I'll hit uo B'stone and see what they say.

FollowupID: 574585

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 08:51

Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 08:51
Steve,

Your comments are not exactly correct mate.

It may depend on the size of the tyre, but in the 245/70/16 size that I use, the current 694's are manufactured in Australia for Australian use.
The 693's I currently have on the Jack are imported and have "made in Thailand" stamped on them. These were extremely hard to source and I doubt I will be able to get any more in the future.

IMO, the 693's had a better thread pattern and that is why I wanted them.

Brad,

Your unfortunate problem had nothing to do with the type of Bridgestone tyres you had and can only be put down to misfortune from a sharp rock or something.

Regardless of whether the tyres are 693 or 694 patterns, the actual tyre carcass is identical in both cases, according to Mr. Bridgestone when I last talked to him.

Bill.

FollowupID: 574716

Follow Up By: BradW - Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 10:24

Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 10:24
Gday Bill,

The 694s I am now running are Japanese made as stamped on the tyre. As I understand it the 694s I just purchased are a new realease with a stronger construction than the older 694 which as you say was the same as 693.

The bit which sold me was the supposed stronger sidewall which with the rock driving I do I thought could only be a good thing if better than my old trye.

You are probably correct in the misfortune bit and that comes with the territory of off roading however after what I put my old 693s through with only one tread puncture I had good confidence in the 694 and only to lose one on a very easy going road.

FollowupID: 574738

Reply By: gmac - Sunday, Jun 08, 2008 at 19:29

Sunday, Jun 08, 2008 at 19:29
Great, I just put aset of 694 ,s on my Cruiser.Was advised that they were Brigestones be all to end all.I thought they had just come out.Of the vehicle the side walls seemed fairly thick and they are 10 ply although I know that doesnt apply to the walls.Oh well well wait and see.

AnswerID: 308599

Follow Up By: Top End Explorer Tours - Sunday, Jun 08, 2008 at 19:31

Sunday, Jun 08, 2008 at 19:31
Some 694s are OZ made but not the 265/75/16s

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 574591

Follow Up By: BradW - Sunday, Jun 08, 2008 at 19:40

Sunday, Jun 08, 2008 at 19:40
Yep def Jap made these ones.
FollowupID: 574596

Reply By: T-Ribby - Sunday, Jun 08, 2008 at 21:14

Sunday, Jun 08, 2008 at 21:14
Luck of the draw methinks. I have been using 694's for over 2 years now and no damage, no punctures, over some very ordinary outback roads - gravel, dirt, broken rock, shingle, gibbers, at 26psi. Would I buy Bridgestone AT's again on their performance sofar? yessir, although I do have a set of Simex Scorpions AT's (now Sime Alpina's) to wear out first and I do have respect for those tyres also.
T.R.
AnswerID: 308633

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Jun 08, 2008 at 23:40

Sunday, Jun 08, 2008 at 23:40
Are these the new LT Bridgestones with the new tread pattern that look like this?:
AnswerID: 308678

Follow Up By: BradW - Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 00:08

Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 00:08
Looking at the pic Im pretty sure thats the one. I think they have only been available for a month or so now.
FollowupID: 574675

Follow Up By: Top End Explorer Tours - Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 00:12

Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 00:12
That is the Jap made 694 tread pattern, There the ones I wouldn't put on a billy cart, they have been around for 5 years or so, that I know of.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 574677

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 08:12

Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 08:12
Steve,
Bridgestone released a new tyre a few months back and called it the "D694LT". It has a different "stronger" construction than the old D694.

For details, here's a link to their brochure.

They also have a neat video that features a lot of footage from one of my favourite places - Bendleby Ranges. Mind you, I often take beginners out there on the tracks he rates a 10!
Bridgestone video link.

And Brad, take it back to Bridgestone and try for a replacement. They have a good past record for sticking by their product, and given the hype around the sidewall strength of this tyre, I think you'll have a good argument.

FollowupID: 574706

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 09:10

Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 09:10
Also Brad,
Did they have a load index of 112, or were they the new 10ply ones with load index of 123??
FollowupID: 574722

Follow Up By: BradW - Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 10:17

Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 10:17
Phil,

These are the new 10 ply tyres and yes with load rating 123.
FollowupID: 574732

Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 07:05

Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 07:05
Brad,

I posted a while back on a set I had. Put them on the TD100 when I bought it as I couldn't get BFG A/T's. I'll never use them again after 4 puntures, rock through sidewall, split sidewall and only 30,000K's. rotate tyres and set pressures to conditions.
Spoke to Bridgestone about the poor performance and they had the split sidewall inspected but it was knocked back and they really didn't seem interested.
Now on the 2nd set of muds after 75,000K. Much happier.
AnswerID: 308700

Reply By: Holden4th - Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 09:22

Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 09:22
I've got 694s on and will use them again. In over 30,000 kms of outback travel I've only ever had one puncture and that was my poor judgement. Heading into Birdsville via Cordillo I came to a section of hwy that was being graded and yes, I should have slowed down to 80 kph but the road was so good I didn't. Grading creates all sorts of sharp rocky bits to stick in your tread and the moment the left rear tyre hit the bitumen 4 kms from Birdsville I heard it go. I managed to get to the Shell servo before it was too bad and 30 minutes later I had it repaired.

Now that the LTs are out I'll be getting a set. I'd always wanted a set of 604s which are also LTs but they don't come in a size for the Paj. Those 604s are some of the best tyres I've seen and people I know who have them swear by them. Now it seems that Bridgy have come to the party.
AnswerID: 308721

Reply By: Member - Paul Mac (VIC) - Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 20:36

Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 20:36
G'day Brad,

I've had Bridgestone D694 A/T 265/70/16's fitted to my car about 3 months ago and I'm fairly sure the guy stated that the white lettering ones are imported and the ordinary black lettering ones are made in Oz.

Haven't done a heap of off road travel with them yet but they seem OK to date.

AnswerID: 308877

Follow Up By: BradW - Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 22:14

Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 22:14
When I bought these new ones which as I understand have been on market only about 1 month or so they didnt come without white lettering. I wanted no lettering but the dealer told me they were not available in the LT694.

It all depends on the size and I think the older range is Oz made but my new ones with white lettering are Jap made.

I'll take that up with Bridgestone as to whether they are available without white lettering also.

FYI I spoke with Bridgy today and they will look at it however more or less have told me I dont have an argument. Will post outcome once they see the tyre.
FollowupID: 574934

Reply By: Member - Hagar (SA) - Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 20:40

Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 20:40
Well, had Japanese made D694 265/75/16 on first a GU3 and then transferred them to our present LC 100TD, just replaced them with Ozzi made D694 in same size after 100008km, that is right 100008km without any incident. In fact 2 of the old ones have been retained as spares or will go on the camper. Thus far very happy with my choice, Ozzi made means one of my "friends" have a job, rather than one of my OS friends. The poor things have done plenty of work on South Oz roads, in WA and NSW been brilliant and if the new ones perform just as well = cheap as!!!!!!
AnswerID: 309093

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Thursday, Jun 12, 2008 at 12:28

Thursday, Jun 12, 2008 at 12:28
The best bit about this thread is that for a change it's not someone bashing Coopers....

:o)

(Happy Cooper S/T owner)
AnswerID: 309470