Fishing around Kings Canyon & Alice??

Submitted: Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 16:06
ThreadID: 58563 Views:4259 Replies:8 FollowUps:7
Gday - we're doing a trip to Kings Canyon, Uluru and Alice Springs in 3 weeks time and i am wondering if its worth packing the rods.

Are there many likely places that are worth wetting a line in this region or shouldnt i bother.

If anyone has any ideas on spots or what tackle to take that'd be great.

Thanks.

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 17:24

Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 17:24
Na mate...no water around here??
Might be worth throwing in your snow skis though...

AnswerID: 308808

Follow Up By: blue one - Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 18:44

Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 18:44
Hairy,
After we Kings Canyon the plan is to camp at Boggy Creek. Would there be any dramas doing this in a standard GU Patrol?

Would appreciate the local knowledge as I will have SHMBO onboard

FollowupID: 574841

Follow Up By: blue one - Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 18:45

Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 18:45
Hairy,
After we have a look at Kings Canyon the plan is to camp at Boggy Creek. Would there be any dramas doing this in a standard GU Patrol?

Would appreciate the local knowledge as I will have SHMBO onboard

FollowupID: 574842

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 19:02

Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 19:02
Na mate, no problems at all.
The only time you will have trouble is if the Finke is actually flowing.
There is bugger all water in Boggy hole at the moment and it is getting pretty stagnant.
You would be better camping at Running waters.

Hairy
FollowupID: 574847

Follow Up By: blue one - Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 09:04

Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 09:04
Thanks for that.

FollowupID: 574975

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 09:37

Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 09:37
Blue One,
Have you seen these?
http://www.nt.gov.au/nreta/parks/find/pdf/finkegorge_4wd.pdf
FollowupID: 574984

Follow Up By: blue one - Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 06:44

Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 06:44
Legend.

Thats exactly what I was looking for.

Ta
FollowupID: 575182

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 17:55

Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 17:55
About 4 years back we noted that every waterway we encountered up there in the West Macs had fish in them - mostly little ones, but always there to some degree. Sooty grunters are very common and can be up to half a kg in large, permanent waterholes - have not tried for them but - don't know if they are worth catching - you'd need to check with someone up there re fishing regs, best baits etc.
AnswerID: 308823

Reply By: Mike - Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 19:41

Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 19:41
We were in the Alice about this time last year, went up and down the Todd River on a Camel dident see any fish!!!!
AnswerID: 308845

Reply By: Vivid Adventures - Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 19:49

Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 19:49
There are ducks in the Garden of Eden, so I'd guess there be fish.
AnswerID: 308849

Follow Up By: equinox - Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 20:05

Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 20:05
I've heard that the Rangers have a secret Marron pool somewhere nearby there too.

FollowupID: 574874

Reply By: Mobi Condo - Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 22:09

Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 22:09
Standard roof rack load is two yabby traps for yabbies and shrimp! Shrimp = GREAT bait!
1st duty after rig set up for camp is set the traps!
Then we have the rods and lures ready for Sooty & Spangled Grunters!
Have yet to miss out in the desert water holes.
Clues we look for are the Cormorants (hunt for smallish fish) and Darters (hunt for larger fish). If they are there then there are FISH there! Cheers - Mobi
AnswerID: 308914

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 22:56

Monday, Jun 09, 2008 at 22:56
plenty of fish but small natives and pretty sure protected
probabally not worth it and also i think fishing not allowed.
you could throw in a flick rod wont take up much space as well as a yabby net - neither go astry even if not used
AnswerID: 308927

Reply By: lockey lux - Thursday, Jun 12, 2008 at 17:43

Thursday, Jun 12, 2008 at 17:43
the only fish that you see up here in the Alice are of the green tinny varriety there are heaps of those every where, seen in many river beds and lots more as you get closer to town they are recognizable by there can shape and the green colour plus the letters VB on them
AnswerID: 309520

Reply By: lockey lux - Thursday, Jun 12, 2008 at 17:44

Thursday, Jun 12, 2008 at 17:44
the only fish that you see up here in the Alice are of the green tinny varriety there are heaps of those every where, seen in many river beds and lots more as you get closer to town they are recognizable by there can shape and the green colour plus the letters VB on them
AnswerID: 309521