VMS GPS Unit - Prado

Submitted: Friday, Jun 13, 2008 at 23:41
ThreadID: 58740 Views:12374 Replies:10 FollowUps:5
Hello

I am about to buy a new prado and was going to get the toyota navigation screen but have found and heard about the VMS GPS unit/screen.

http://www.vms4x4.com/

Can anyone give me some feedback on what this unit is like? and what would be better option to fit?

Also do the steering wheel controls (volume, skip, mode) still work when you replace it with the VMS unit

Brent

Reply By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Friday, Jun 13, 2008 at 23:50

Friday, Jun 13, 2008 at 23:50
VMS would be the way to go, you can load maps and it runs Ozi Explorer, City Navigator, Shonky maps and many more.

The Toyota one can not have extra maps loaded.

It's a bit like comparing a PDA or laptop with a TomTom.

The Toyota one is good around populated areas but no good out bush.

The Toyota one is more expensive then the VMS with less features.

Regards Richard
AnswerID: 309799

Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 08:17

Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 08:17
Found out it can not run City Navigator, or Shonky Maps.
FollowupID: 575782

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Jun 13, 2008 at 23:59

Friday, Jun 13, 2008 at 23:59
LCOOL has some discussions on the VMS.

I believe Pradopoint does as well.

Sorry for the lack of links. Google will find them.

AnswerID: 309800

Reply By: Member - BUCUS (WA) - Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 01:17

Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 01:17
Brent,

Been looking for something similar for a while now... what is the cost of the unit?
AnswerID: 309804

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 06:47

Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 06:47
Member Crazie reported on the one he has fitted a few weeks ago. A member Message to him may elicit some information. One of the benefits if you were a member. Perhaps look for the post and ask him in that.

I have the Toyota mapping system in my car with the Sensis mapping software and maps. I have version 12 currently and it is the devils job trying to find out if the latest version, 14, is any better. Vers 12 is not as good as products like Tom Tom. The country road I live on is out to blazes and some relatively main roads of the area just end! Some of them, the creek is on the opposite side of a relatively main road. Half the main roads in the area can't have you directed to them.

The VMS unit should be good, but it depends on the quality of the radio for me - AM especially. Will find out from Crazie soon!
AnswerID: 309816

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 06:52

Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 06:52
Ads' post on VMS
FollowupID: 575771

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 07:02

Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 07:02
Sounds teriffic at GPSOz and looks good too

A complete in car system providing:
Door to door voice navigation across the country

Off road 4WD mapping so that you know exactly where you are while exploring

Comprehensive media player, MP3, DVD, CD, ipod/MP3 input

Mobile phone system - provides a complete hands free system via your Bluetooth mobile phone

Reversing camera inputs - up to three cameras can be connected for complete peace of mind

Rear/remote DVD screen(s) may be added as an option

Factory integration kits available to make installation neat, easy and reliable.

1 year warranty if DIY installed or 2 year if professionally installed

General:
large 6.5" touch screen

remote control

easy to use

standard double DIN size - fits into most in dash spaces

push buttons on both sides of unit provide quick access to common functions

SIRF III 20 channel GPS - fast and accurate

Road Navigation:
Australia Wide coverage of all cities and towns

clear turn by turn voice guidance

automatic route calculation

2D or 3D map views

comprehensive trip planning including stopovers

over 50,000 POI's including Parks, Food Outlets and Petrol Stations

Speed and Red light camera warnings

School Zone alerts

Q4 2006 Navteq mapping provided on 1GB SD card

Navigation provide by Route 66

Off Road Mapping:
1:1M topographic maps covering all of Australia

accepts almost any raster map which can be created on your PC or purchased separately

automatically loads relevant map at your location

automatically loads "next" map

leaves "snail trail" (track log) as you drive along

On screen display of speed, elevation, position, and bearing

OziExplorer PC compatible - share your trip via PC and email

Optional maps from HEMA, AUSLIG, NATMAP, LPI, Rooftop and others.

Radio:
AM/FM radio

alphanumeric presets eg "2DAY FM" or "ABC News"

Media player:
45 watts per channel, 5 pre outs including sub woofer

CD/DVD/DVD-R/CD-R/CD-RW formats with MP3 or WMA format files

Audio input for MP3 player or ipod

SD card slot up to 16GB

USB connection for memory stick, max 16GB

Dual zone - Navigation up front, DVD in the rear

Bluetooth:
Connect up to 8 different phones

Accept and reject calls on screen

transfer phone book from phone to VMS system

automatically mutes all playing media (music, DVD etc) while making a phone call

voice is transmitted via cars stereo speakers

Bluetooth V2.1

Reversing Camera:
3 inputs
1 auto (displays when reverse gear is selected)

2 manually selected, suitable for rear of caravan or camper trailer

Various cameras available as options, click here for details

PAL or NTSC input

RCA connections

Options:
Hema 4WD Map pack on DVD $149 - see here

Larger SD cards, up to 16GB from $39 - see here

iPod Audio Cable $14

OziExplorer PC package $130 - see here

Remote/rear DVD screens - pricing varies contact us for details

Rear cameras - pricing varies, click here for details

Factory Integration kits :
Includes wiring harness and if needed fascia plates and aerial adapter
Toyota Landcruiser 70, 80,100, 200 series, Prado and Hilux 2005+, RAV4

Nissan Patrol GQ, Patrol GU, Pathfinder R51 (Series 1 and 2), Navara D22, D40, Xtrail 07+

Other models comin
FollowupID: 575772

Reply By: Member - WORM (VIC) - Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 08:32

Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 08:32
Hi Brent I fitted a VMS unit to my 100 series about 12 months ago. The unit is fantastic, the city mapping navigation is Route 66 and map update CDs are available at aound $149.00. I recently updated the software version with files emailed to me from VMS customer support and had no problems. Ozi Explorer works fine. When I was looking for a good unit anything similar to the VMS was aound double the price. I have attached a photo of how it looks in my 100 series after I installed myself which was also pretty easy to do.... The main menu in my picture has since changed once i ran the new software update...

Cheers WormImage Could Not Be Found
AnswerID: 309826

Reply By: Member - Don M (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 08:35

Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 08:35
I spent a year researching...., (while I was in UK) and bought the VMS at the Sydney Camping & Caravan Show to put in my LC200, which I pick up on Monday. Based on my research there isn't anything at this point that incorporates all the features that the VMS does. In particular the off road mapping being built in.
A mate bought his VMS at the same time and he put it in his LC100. He is rapt...on his way to the Cape so will be interested to hear how it goes up there.
AnswerID: 309827

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 08:55

Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 08:55
Looks good Everything is listed except the price??????
AnswerID: 309833

Follow Up By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 10:00

Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 10:00
Price

Oh it was in JohnR ad thread !
FollowupID: 575798

Reply By: Member - Rodney B- Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 09:57

Saturday, Jun 14, 2008 at 09:57
$2599 RRP according to their advert

Looks excellent I think I might invest for my 80 series
AnswerID: 309851

Reply By: John S (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 11:35

Sunday, Jun 15, 2008 at 11:35
Brent,

There is another option, be it atleast a $1K more - Infill G4 car computer.

Based on the same concept as the VMS system, yet it runs WinXP and is not locked down, so you can use different media stations (ie Centrefuse, RoadRunner) other than the factory one and you can run different GPS software other than Route66 or OziExplorer CE. Plus you can hook up a NextG card and have onboard internet, hook up a forward facing camera to record your adventures onto the internal 40Gb (minimum) hard disk.

There are many options for it and I believe there is a third party kit for interfacing into your existing steering wheel controls.

This is the closed system I have found to having a laptop in the vehicle. I am hoping to have one before our July holiday trip.
AnswerID: 310070

Follow Up By: Peter McG (Member, Melbourne) - Monday, Jun 16, 2008 at 11:59

Monday, Jun 16, 2008 at 11:59
And for under $250 you can get a unit in 4.3" or 7" off ebay that has the same functions. I have a 4.3" GPS/bluetooth/reversing camera that runs iGO and Oziexplorer. Take a look at whats on offer on ebay.

VKS Mobile 1906

FollowupID: 576322

Reply By: MADOG - Tuesday, Jun 17, 2008 at 20:18

Tuesday, Jun 17, 2008 at 20:18
G'day,

I installed the current VMS unit in a 200 series about 4 weeks ago. It uses an imbedded version of OziExplorer - nil moving parts and as a result will survive corragations much better than any windows based PC. After using OziExplorer for nearly 6 years all through the outback, Anne Beadel, CSR, Trans Continental Rail Track (before it was officially closed) etc etc and destroyed one laptop - this gizmo is a great step forward. Features are similiar to OziCE which is limited compared to the PC version however I am learning to adapt. A great benefit is nil wires (I mean NIL) and nothing to tangle with should air bags deploy in an accident.

I am using a 16GB SD card running around 4GB of MP3 music and the rest in Ozi map files.

Bluetooth phone interface works well, Route 66 navigator does it for me, AM/FM radio is good, MP# music is brilliant, plays a DVD, can link kids monitors in back, will accept up to 3 reverse cameras and there is more coming - apparently engine diagnostics are on the horizon - who knows what else?

Roger

Roger (MADOG) Morgan
National OziExplorer E-Trek Librarian
Go to: http://www.tlcv.org.au/eTreks.htm
Toyota LandCruiser Club - Member #757
AnswerID: 310607