Cobb Cooker

Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 11:15
ThreadID: 58933 Views:5665 Replies:22 FollowUps:21

We are thinking about buying a Cobb Cooker. I was wondering if anyone can tell me if they have used these. And if so what they think of using a Cobb when out camping.

Thanks Anne

Reply By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 11:24

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 11:24
my experience is this - when they work they are really good when they dont work its a waste!!

Pros -
mmm....cannt think of any!

cons -
take up more room than the camp oven
cannt take the lid off to check how its cooking as the heat escapes
very fussy to get hte right amount of heat beads
cannt be used in fire ban
no good in the wind as the wind keeps it cold
the extra giddle plate costs $52......

I have had more failures than successes, mainly due to the whether going on around it - WIND is the main cause!! I have successfully cooked a roast in 50 degree heat and smoked fish and about 4 porcupine meatball stews that I ended up doing in the house - minus the heatbead lighting part!

would I spend the money on one - NOPE!! IMHO they are NOT worth the $200, or is it $300 ????

(we were given ours and have given it plenty of use with too many failures to care if it gets used again!)

Laura
AnswerID: 310732

Follow Up By: Member - George (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 12:04

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 12:04
Get a neoprene Cobb Bra, makes ALL the diference. We had the same problem that you described untill we bought the cobb bra. It is great now in all conditions
FollowupID: 576712

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 12:43

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 12:43
My camp oven is atleast 15yrs old and never let me down. Havent even heard of that one your talking about....is it the same sort of thing???
FollowupID: 576720

Follow Up By: Ircon - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 16:23

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 16:23
A solution I found to losing heat when you take the lid off (for Roasts) is to stick a BBQ thermometer through the hole in the lid and into the meat.

Even better now that I have a Weber BBQ wirless thermometer. Birthday present. cost about $59.00 I think.
Magic bit of kit!!!!

Rosscoe
FollowupID: 576753

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 11:30

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 11:30
Had one for 6 months (the deluxe stainless mesh model) - we like it lot - anything that compact that can do a roast leg plus vegies using 7-8 heatbeads is a winner IMV. The cleanup is easy enough.
We still use our Hillbilly campoven when we have a campfire (more room inside). For us, the Cobb shines when a campfire is out of order for whatever reason - no wood available, rain, too windy, too dangerous, banned etc.......can be used inside the tent, camper etc. if the weather is bad (with supervision)........and the lighters and beads are so easy to stow. Oh..... have to watch the size of the legs / joints etc too - make sure they will fit - and read the instruction book thoroughly.
AnswerID: 310734

Follow Up By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 11:36

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 11:36
Pity re Kiwi's experience above - in light of those comments, I realise I should have added that we only do roasts with it, but they have all been excellent to date - lamb, beef or pork, with any of onions, potatoes, carrots, parsnips, etc. - using water, herbs and wine in the moat (to maintain moisture in the process as per instruction) must be one key to the success we've had.
FollowupID: 576711

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 12:09

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 12:09
We use ours a lot, as stated we cook all the Roasts ect, allso Baked
Bread, and all sorts of Dampers, even Casseroles, I soak the Heat Beads in Metho to get it started, and 8 Heat Beads will last over
2 hours, we usually cook the Roast first and then a Pudding or a
Damper.
P S. Check the photo on my profile re: the Cobb Cooker.

Daza
FollowupID: 576715

Follow Up By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 09:20

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 09:20
Right thats it ! Ours is coming out tonight and we having a roast - 4 firelighters and 8 heatbeads - 3 hours - easy.
FollowupID: 576894

Reply By: RU99ED - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 11:58

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 11:58
G'day Anne,

Its all a matter of personal opinion, but at the end of the day I'm with Kiwi. They don't really impress me.

I used to work for a retailer that sold them, and I consider the product just a gimic. In 95% of cases (not a factual figure), the consumer uses it a few times and then endeds up in the back of the cupboard gathering dust and taking up space.

If you can be bothered taking the time to get the thing started it can potentially give you a nice flavour, but like Kiwi says - its a bit hit & miss, and like Darians experience they are really best left for roasting only. You wouldn't waste your time doing bangers & steak.

IMHO they're sort of like Webber bbq's at home... they can be usefull, but practically speaking a pain in the @ss to get it going, and in time the amount of use it gets is...once in a blue moon...maybe!!

If you do get one.... try Salmon braised in scotch wiskey and cooked/smoked with soaked Cedar-chips..... very nice.

Matto

AnswerID: 310737

Follow Up By: CJ - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 16:48

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 16:48
Hi Matto,

I respect that we all have our, some better and some worse, but I think it is unfair to call the cobb a 'gimmick' It works 100% for it's intended purpose.

don't get me wrong, I prefer the camp oven for most cooking, and the cobb isn't quite hot enough to do a bbq, but as an oven for roasts, bread, etc. it is very good, very economical on the heat beads, and not a gimmick

Anne, my reply to your original question posted separately

Cheers CJ
FollowupID: 576763

Reply By: Member - Barry H (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 13:28

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 13:28
Anne,

I must be doing something wrong, I have had a Cobb cooker for about a year and find it fantastic, we have cooked just about anything and everything on it, and it works just great. We had done roasts, bread, cakes, soups, stews etc and from memory only had a few failures mainly when we first bought it.

One trick is to buy the best quality firelighters and heat beads you can, no Black and Gold rubbish, then I would agree with others it can be hard and fickle to light.

Agree about the Cobb bra to help combat the wind, but it works a treat, we also have a Dreampot and the combination of the two means we can cut down on the pots and pans we need to carry and the amount of gas we use and the number of gas cyclynders we carry, and yes I also have a camp oven which gets plenty of use on the Cobb as well.

Why a Dreampot and a Cobb, in total fire ban season a Cobb is classed as an open fire, and therefore banned in WA on those days, so we just swith to the Dreampot, which uses no ongoing fuel source.

Happy cooking.

Barry H

AnswerID: 310750

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 18:44

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 18:44
The quick way to light the beads is to stick them in the fire basket on your gas oven or camp fire. They are good to go in about 5 to 10 minutes, then transfer the basket to the Cobb with a pair of pliers and away you go.

No mucking about with fire lighters.

Pete
FollowupID: 576993

Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 13:34

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 13:34
Hi Anne,

They can be a pain, as in more 'stuff' to carry, need to clean etc..however use them for a decent roast and I reckon they are
worth the money..but to each his own.

Check out the sig picture below.

Michael
AnswerID: 310751

Reply By: Member - Anne A (QLD) - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 13:41

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 13:41
Thanks for all your opinions. We are going camping for 4 weeks and while hubby would be happy with a barbie every night I would like to have the chance to cook different meals now and then. I think I might wait till I can get to BCF and have a look at what's available.

Anne
AnswerID: 310752

Follow Up By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 15:19

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 15:19
Anne, we use our cobb both at home and away, the wind had me tricked for a while until I put it in round collaspable weed basket and gave "lighting" part a bit longer....luv it....the smell of roasting meat drives you mad....mmmmmmmmmmmm : )

But it's light and easy to use...for a bloke I need that and I don't mind cleaning it, that's makes SWMBO very happy.
FollowupID: 576745

Follow Up By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 15:22

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 15:22
ps.....have a small camp oven as well for those other times.
FollowupID: 576746

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 19:16

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 19:16
>while hubby would be happy with a barbie every night I would like
>to have the chance to cook different meals now and then.

You don't need a Cobb to do that.

My cooking equipment consists of one deep, large frying pan and two saucepans. Sometimes I take a Bedourie camp oven but that is usually used for bread, occasionally 8 hour stews. I eat, pretty much, the same when bush as I do at home, Asian, pasta based meals, chowders and the occasional meat and veg - very rare I have a fry-up or barbie. I cook on a two burner Coleman gas stove.

Some friends have a Cobb and seem to like it - but they're a bit odd anyway :)

FollowupID: 577001

Reply By: beelzebug - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 13:59

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 13:59
Yep we're doing something wrong too!
Can't fault the Cobb.

The best tip we got was to use only good quality brand charcoal like"Heat bead" brand.
The other BIG tip is to get one of those Heat Bead brand chimneys. Available at Franklins and some camping outlets for under $20. You put head beads on the grate and fire lighters underneath the grate.
All the heat beads burn within 10 minutes. then you just pour them wherever needed. Works for camp ovens as well as for Weber style BBQ's.
AnswerID: 310757

Reply By: jammin - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 14:27

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 14:27
Another benefit of a Cobb is you can put it anywhere while cooking so if raining you could place under awning of tent etc. You can pick up and move by the base without gloves. We try to use ours at home often so we can make and learn from mistakes there and get it right when camping
Just my thoughts
AnswerID: 310761

Reply By: Andrew (Bris) - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 14:59

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 14:59
Had one for four years.

The first thing to get packed when we go away.

Highly recommended.

A great feeling sitting under a tarp in the rain with a roast sizzling away in the Cobb, when all around you fires (and camp ovens) are getting washed out.
AnswerID: 310766

Follow Up By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 15:23

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 15:23
I agree......
FollowupID: 576747

Reply By: Isuzumu - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 15:23

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 15:23
My Deluxe S/S is for sale
AnswerID: 310767

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 16:35

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 16:35
The best thing we ever did with ours was to sell it.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 310776

Reply By: Ozboc - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 16:38

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 16:38
I have had one now for 6 months -- first impressions/ use was not that good -

BUT now --- WOW - after you learn the little tricks , the thing is Fantastic - I have a camp oven and would choose the cobb any day over it --

we usually do a leg of lamb or chunk of meat of some description - and have not had a failure yet .. Infact i had some friends come away camping with me last weekend - and gave them a sample of the meat i cooked - they loved it -- and made them stop raving about there marinated steaks ..... :)

I used about 9 heat beads -1/2 fill the moat with water - add some oragano or Mixed herbs - and a bit of Steak spice or pepered seasoning -- then throw a heap of potatoes , sweet potatoes and pumpkin in the moat ( Individually wrapped in foil) they go in about 30 min before i put the meat on

Meat goes up top - the trick is to turn is over every 20 min or so or you will end up with burnt bottom on the meat. make sure the plate the meat sits on is nicely oiled up

just keep checking and turning -- and you should have a great dinner ...... there are some other options of cooker that are much cheaper - but my one has paid for itself in the dinners it has made whilst away

Boc
AnswerID: 310777

Follow Up By: RosscoH - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 20:08

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 20:08
We put a trivet on top of the plate and the roast in an oven bag, no need to turn it and you get all the juice to make gravy with, YUMMY. Also do a very nice meat loaf in a foil tray. Would not touch a camp oven after having the Cobb.
FollowupID: 576811

Reply By: CJ - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 17:04

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 17:04
Anne,

We prefer camp oven cooking, and when we go to places that we know have lots of firewood we do not take the cobb

But if it is or has been raining, or if we go to locations where firewood is iffy or with a total fire ban, we do not go without the cobb. It is not too good for bbq, but as an oven it is great. It makes better bread than any camp oven, as the temperature is consistant and even.

When we set up camp in the afternoon, we put the roast in and forget about it until it is time to eat. Hint - we use a thermometer, takes all the guesswork out

Having said all this, I can understand that some do not like the cobb and prefer camp ovens and bbq over the fire, it is a personal choice, but you can't have a camp oven when the wood is wet or when there is a fire ban.

AnswerID: 310786

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 17:04

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 17:04
Have'nt had any problems with ours. I think the trick is to get the right heat beads and to make sure they're all grey before starting the roast. That generally means 4 firestarters and leave for around 30 - 40 mins.

Use 8 or 9 beads for a 2kg roast and cook for 90mins per kilo as per the instructions. I only turn the roast once and have'nt burnt any yet (lamb, beef , pork).

Use beer or water in the moat with garlic ( yum yum ), mustard or herbs.

AnswerID: 310787

Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 17:06

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 17:06
I have 2
Takes a little time to learn how to use it right but once you do you can cook a roast leg o' lamb with veggies and herbs/wine in the moat, sensational.

The other thing not mentioned yet i think is with the now stronger mesh base you can use your camp oven on the heat beads basket too. Mine slides in nicely into the base and sits on the basket.

So if the weather turns nasty you can bring it in under cover.
The thing can even double as a heater under the awning, if you are careful not to kick it over and there are no toddlers around.

The minimal fuel usage and ability to handle it while it is cooking are bonuses but the meals are great and that makes it a worthwhile thing for me.
AnswerID: 310788

Reply By: Paul Grabonski. Vic - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 17:37

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 17:37
slow expensive over priced pain in the butt.
head beads are a painful expensive way to cook
cobb and stuff associated with it takes is an unpacking and packing episode.
useless on one day or overnight stops
best thing we did with the Cobb was sell it.

bought a spun steel Bedouri with gas or fire and find it great.
can use the Bedouri anywhere anytime including the caravan stove when raining.
AnswerID: 310797

Reply By: Ozymacca - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 18:07

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 18:07
Hi Anne

I was always told the proof is in the pudding, you can click on the link below to view what I have cooked in the cobb.

Macca's Cobb cooking

Cheers from

Macca
AnswerID: 310801

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 18:20

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 18:20
Gee, it appears there may be some impatient "cooks" here.

Anne, the Cobb Cooker is one of my favourite pieces of camping apparatus. I also have a Hillbilly Camp Oven but for roasts, stews, etc., I generally use the Cobb when there is just the two of us.

I don't think you would be disappointed.

As for using "expensive" Heatbeads©, what could be cheaper than a mear 7 or so at a time. That's all the Cobb needs.

The last time I cheacked, You can still buy the Cobb Mark II which has a black plastic bowl. The "Premium" Cobb has a stainless steel mesh bowl and some people had initial experiences with wind affecting the temperature and thus the cooking time.
"Bras" are now available to overcome this and Klaus from In Front Camping has a great Cobb Bra which can be used externally or internally.

For $9.00 they are a worthwhile accessory for the Cobb.

Bill.

AnswerID: 310803

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 22:02

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 22:02
Hi Bill,
I think the Plastic Base model is no more. At least that is what i remember reading on their site awhile back.

They have the Premier with the stainless mesh base and i have seen some coloured mesh base models too.
FollowupID: 576836

Follow Up By: Geoff M (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 11:02

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 11:02
The original (plastic base) model can still be purchased on Ebay from time to time for between $120-$140. There's a bloke who imports them from South Africa (made there also ... not in China).

If you get one of these, then there's no need for the "bra".

A GREAT piece of gear IMHO.

FollowupID: 576910

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 12:07

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 12:07
Hi Geoff,

Sorry I guess I should have said no longer available in Oz according to their site.
I had the plastic base originally but it broke within 2 weeks of purchase, which was 2 days on the road. Didn't like bouncing around on corrugations in my campertrailer, i was not the only one who had ths happen and it was the subject of an almost nasty set to with the Cobb distributor on this very forum.

Anyway that was sorted offline with the company man and i waited until the new mesh base came out before replacing it. Now it is indestructable, almost, and for $9 or so the CobBra is ample protection from heat loss.

If you are going camping in CP along sealed roads the plastic base is ideal but if you want to get off the tar and face some rough roads forget it because no matter how well you think you have stuff stowed, corrugations will bring it undone.

FollowupID: 576919

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 12:56

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 12:56
Wayne,

You could well be right mate.

Had ours for 2 years or so and like yours, the base broke.
I put our problem down to "impact" from the lid of the storage box on the camper, where it is stored, but it may have been from some other cause.
When I contacted a reseller in SA about 4 months ago, I could have bought another plastic base for around $50, but decided the same problem would occur again, so I bought the SS mesh base for about $80 and everything else fitted the new base OK.

I actually think the SS base is much more robust and I had no problem in buying a canvas Bra for it from Klaus.

Still a good bit of gear and I use it both away and at home.

Bill.

FollowupID: 576926

Follow Up By: Geoff M (QLD) - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 07:36

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 07:36
Hi Wayne & Bill,

I must be one of the lucky ones. Had ours for a little over 3 years now and nothing broken yet. (crossed fingers)

As ours is one of the ones made in South Africa, I wonder if the base is made differently, as in different material. Do you remember where the "made in" was on your original box?

This isn't a "mines better than yours" thing ..... just curious because ours has seen some pretty rough treatment as well as getting used at home at least every week or so.

FollowupID: 577109

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 08:17

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 08:17
Good pont Geoff
I think i have the original book that came with my plastic based one i will check it out and see.
FollowupID: 577120

Reply By: Holden4th - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 18:51

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 18:51
I prefer this. It does all that the Cobb can, doesn't take much extra space and is far more versatile.

AnswerID: 310814

Follow Up By: Member - Nev (TAS) - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 19:51

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 19:51
Hi there Holden4th,
What is it?
I am a Weber man through and through. At least one roast a fortnight. Does fish like nothing else I have used yet.

Rgds
FollowupID: 576804

Follow Up By: Holden4th - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 19:49

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 19:49
This is the Weber BabyQ 100 gas fired weber. Cooks nearly as good as a charcoal Weber but with instant start up. Took it around Tassie with me in 06/07 and got a roast lamb out of it on Xmas day. I was camped with my tourer tent. It will also barbecue (whichthe Cobb won't do. It sits on my balcony and does the majority of my cooking for me - a brilliant device. Just try and find as many dissatisfied WeberQ owners as Cobb owners.
FollowupID: 577008

Reply By: Member - AVA 191 (QLD) - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 20:58

Wednesday, Jun 18, 2008 at 20:58
Anne,
We use our Cobb out camping and concur with the useful tips above, to get the best out of it.
We also use the camp oven, or gas stove, or BBQ . These things are easily packed in our camper van.

It all depends on the weather, camp ground rules or what we feel like eating, as to which tool we use for cooking.

No regrets here. Each to his own as they say.......

AnswerID: 310851

Reply By: Shaker - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 19:01

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 19:01
Surely if they need a "Bra" as mentioned above, they should come with one, after all, they certainly aren't cheap!
AnswerID: 311008

Reply By: G.T. - Monday, Jun 23, 2008 at 16:05

Monday, Jun 23, 2008 at 16:05
Check out Cobb`s web site, they have their own fuel coming out in August -- called Cobble Stone. It`s a moulded briquette that fits into the bottom of the unit. Made from coconut shell.
Regards G.T.
AnswerID: 311785