4WD Ute’s "lack real go-anywhere capability".... What tha???

Submitted: Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 12:07
ThreadID: 58972 Views:7508 Replies:8 FollowUps:16
G'day all,

For a while now I’ve been researching 4WD vehicles, mainly for bush-bashing but may do the odd long-haul trip here or there in the future..... Maybe.

After all said & done, I think my preference is for an '05 Hilux Auto Diesel ute, but got concerned about off-road ability after reading the following article in Overlander magazine, and later seeing a bit of ute-bashing on a couple of other threads.

The article is called: “Lock 'N Load: Rodeo V Navara V Bravo V Hilux”
Heading: “Mud and Dust”
Quote: “Don’t kid yourself into thinking that these Ute’s are super capable off-road vehicles, for none of them are. They may be very robust, and practical in the bush, but by the standards of modern 4WD wagons with traction control & smart 4WD systems, they lack real go-anywhere capability.

Link: http://www.overlander.com.au/vehicle_tests/index/3/260/Lock-N-Load:-Rodeo-V-Navara-V-Bravo-V-Hilux

I've got to assume Overlander makes this call based on "off-the-showroom-floor" vehicles. If I was to purchase a HiLux and give it a suspension upgrade; new tires ... and maybe a front of rear diff locker down the track, I would have thought I’d have a more than capable vehicle…. Or am I just kidding myself and wasting money???

Alternatively, should i be looking at a Prado wagon??

Cheers, Matto.

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 12:17

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 12:17
Recently I had a stock standard Navara Single Cab Ute in my convoy and we did around 400km cross country in a desert region (no tracks) and it went very well despite being overloaded with fuel, water and the rest. Only needed a couple of snatches over a dune or two but for the rest it went everywhere the big 4bies were going.

The newer 4x4 small utes have bodies which are lower to the ground. Some mods may be needed for hard 4x4-ing but all in all they are very capable off road vehicles

AnswerID: 310936

Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 13:07

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 13:07
Willem have to agree 110% with your comments.

We have a current model Hilux with a suspension lift and we don't have a problem getting into and out of places.

We followed a guy with a lot of off road experience in a new 100 series turbo diesel that had trouble getting out of a creek bed....took him 3 goes and we thought if he is having problems we will have bigger ones (after reading 4x4 mags canning utes).

We got through first go.

All 4x4 vehicles will have a weakness if you want to find it.

It's funny reading 4x4 mags, they will can a 4x4 in one issue and three months later they will tell you how good it is.

The big thing with a lot of the new 4x4 wagons is they have too many electronic driving adds allowing the average person to do things that they would not have the experience to do in a normal 4x4........then they come unstuck.

Regards Richard

FollowupID: 576928

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 13:09

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 13:09
I agree with Willem, despite bagging the Navara I found it to be a very capable 4wd and it did indeed go everywhere the rest went. There is no mods to the suspension and it had to travel a fair bit slower than its bigger brothers due to the ground clearence. I nick named it gillette as the bigger trucks knocked the tops of the sand hills and I would give them a closer shave. Majority of the more technical crossings I had to get out and pick a line whereas the others could just go straight through. At the start of the trip I had 320l (320kgs) Fuel, 120l (120kgs) water, recovery equipment, 2 big heavy duty steel boxes to store stuff (35kg ea), 3 extra tyres, 1 spare rim, 114 cans Beer (40kg), weber babyQ, kitchen stuff, food, swag, tools and spare parts and stuff.
The only problem I find with the truck is I have cracked 3 bull bars, there is a crack in the radiator support, have cracked the bracket for the rear distribution valve, 6 cracks in the chassis and the seat has sagged.
The Navara is only just 2 years old with 105000 kms on the clock. They are not designed for australian dirt road conditions such as corrogations. Otherwise it is very comfortable and the engine is great.
It is a very capable 4wd
FollowupID: 576930

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 13:13

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 13:13
I bet you would never though you would hear that from me eh Willem
FollowupID: 576933

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 13:35

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 13:35

That poor little ute fared very well out there in the Never Never.

Looks like you have made peacewith it...:-)
FollowupID: 576939

Follow Up By: On Patrol - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 20:32

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 20:32
What's that Pete, NO bourbon! @#$%^&, You have changed mate.
Colin
FollowupID: 577025

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 21:03

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 21:03
LOL, how funny, am drinking a bourbon right now, the trip was the week the government slapped the lolly water tax on bourbon and the prices hadn't settled.Simply could not justify paying $80 for 24 when I could pay $44 for 30 VB's...... Trust me I was missing them. The price has settled down now so I am happy again and the fridge is full again. Having said that I do enjoy beer too
FollowupID: 577041

Reply By: Ken - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 12:47

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 12:47
Matto, I think this is a bit more of the glossy magazine rubbish. The Lux is a very capable vehicle, particularly if your do the suggested mods. It seems that unless a 4WD has all the toys people think anything less is not capable. Not capable perhaps in the hands of those who want to sit back and have all the gear do the work and for them not to have any real driving skills.
There is no doubt all the diff locks and traction control greatly enhance the vehicle ability in most cases however don't forget that for many years leaf sprung, open diff vehicles did all of the tracks, many of which were in worse condition than today. Old codgers like me remember 4 cyl Landies with the turning circle of the Queen Mary, no power steering or power brakes getting into Wonnongatta when it was a fair dinkum challenge.
Ken
AnswerID: 310944

Reply By: V8Diesel - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 12:50

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 12:50
I think they are referring to low ground clearance, poor approach and departure angles, stupid positioning of key mechanicals usch as low mount intercoolers and air intakes etc and also the dreaded IFS. Thye are much more car like than the older more 'agricultural' designs. But as a consequence they are so much more civilised too.

They are fairly capable, but not a patch on the older Hilux for durability as an example.

Ever seen the Top Gear 'Hilux' special? Try doing that in a 2.5 Navara and see how long it lasts.

In all honesty, the ONLY vehicle I would willingly stake my life on for it's durability and depndability is a HZJ75 Landcruiser. Just my 2c worth anyway.

Bottom line......what are you really going to do with it? It's horses for courses (as always).
AnswerID: 310945

Follow Up By: equinox - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 13:02

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 13:02
"the ONLY vehicle I would willingly stake my life on for it's durability and depndability is a HZJ75 Landcruiser"

hey don't forget the HDJ79R lol

FollowupID: 576927

Follow Up By: RU99ED - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 18:19

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 18:19
Yeah, gotta admit the clearance & App/Dep angles aren't the greatest as standard, but hoping a bit of a lift with suspension upgrade will fix that. The poor positioning of key mechanicals i wasn't aware of though.

IFS yeah.... if you want a dual cab ute with front riggid axle, then your pretty limited for choice.... what can you do..... at least the Hilux moved away from torsion bar suspension and went back to coil over again..... i'm hoping that improves articulation a bit.... a bit??

MATE.... i love top gear, and that was a HELL of a segment on the old Lux.... Did you see the segment where they took a big shiny Red HiLux (modified to buggery) to the North pole.... first vehicle there Ever.... thats immpressive!!!

Cheers, Matto

FollowupID: 576988

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 20:50

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 20:50
Yeah the North Pole was a good show alright. I was very impressed with how cool under genuine pressure old 'Captain Slow' was. Some nail biting stuff.

Re: mechanicals. Navara has poor underbody protection, Bravo / Ranger's drown easily and from memory I think their intercooler is easily damaged too. I've had a fairly bad run from Rodeo's at work to date but to be honest I think my next rig will be a 3.0l TD auto Holden Colorado crew cab all the same. I like simplicity, but I think these small dual cabs are the way to go these days especially with ever increasing fuel prices.

I love my Cruiser but you have to move with the times I guess.
FollowupID: 577037

Reply By: John R (SA) - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 13:12

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 13:12
Don't worry about the article. I'd take anything written on those mags with a hefty pinch of salt.

I have the vehicle you're talking about, and have covered a few km (just short of 130 000 km), mostly off road.

The ability of the hilux to handle off road situations, even in standard configuration, is limited more by the pilot than anything else (my opinion of course!).

Although it's not as 'tough' as the old ones, I know which vehicle I'd rather cover the k's in.
AnswerID: 310951

Reply By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 13:39

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 13:39
Hi Matto

Yes there certainly limited , primarily by wheel articulation , but many tracks are easier than they used to be , and these utes will go to the majority of places most wish to go to.

Suspension mods often make the problem worst as most end up with harder springs which by defintion make the real problem worst but offer mostly clearance and load carrying.

While some softer leaves are available the IFS is almost impossible to improve and about all you can really do is only buy vehicles to which you can fit lockers.

AnswerID: 310955

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 01:07

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 01:07
That's opening sentence is overstating things a bit Robin.

There are very few places most people want to go that you'll get a ute of the last few years or so stuck.

You go on to say the same thing.

You'll get a standard Courier/Triton/Navara pretty much anywhere a standard 100 series or Patrol will go, and technique is worth more than modification in many scenarios.

FollowupID: 577358

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Monday, Jun 23, 2008 at 08:12

Monday, Jun 23, 2008 at 08:12
Most Utes RTI is down around 300-400 Dave , Not the 600 or so of Patrols , One part of a track at my place is 25 degree uphill with a shallow ridge running thru in at 45 degrees.

Exactly sort of thing that twists the axles.

Not hard at all really and standard Patrols drive thru almost without knowing its there, but every single Troopy gets stuck
and about 1/2 the utes do as well , simply because the wheels don't all touch the ground.

Quite instructive really - but it shows the drivers just how much these cars can benefit from lockers etc.

FollowupID: 577695

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Monday, Jun 23, 2008 at 18:25

Monday, Jun 23, 2008 at 18:25
Hi Robin,

I'm not disagreeing with the benefits of lockers, but they aren't the be all and end all.

The LSD in the back of mine works well and I've only ever needed the winch for a lack of forward progression a few times and in nearly all of those the lockers would have made very little or no difference with the problem being primarily clearance.

Clearance in these utes is more of an issue than articulation in my experience. And there is only so much you can do with the IFS to get more air under the front of them, and running bigger wheels starts other problems.

The question was initially regarding a choice between a dual cab & a Prado in which case it's a moot point as both are in the same boat on all of these issues.

Neither will ever be a Patrol but that said, articulation is rarely what gets the average 4wd tourer stuck. It's more a problem for the "look there's an ugly track lets see if we can get up it" brigade. And at the times when I've been out cavorting with those sort of 4wd trips the Courier has progressed further than a few in modified non-IFS hiluxes.

FollowupID: 577814

Reply By: Member - Robin M (VIC) - Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 22:53

Thursday, Jun 19, 2008 at 22:53
Hello Matto,
I own a late model Hilux with a suspension upgrade. It's been through the rivers of Cape York and across The Simpson. It's survived some very corrrrrugated roads whilst fully laden, and it's kept up with accompanying Landcruisers and Patrols. I've even used it to snatch a LC out of a sand drift ! However, had I wanted a bush basher, I would have purchased a Landcruiser or Patrol as I have much more faith in their heavier construction.

I agree, the modern 4X4 utes are very capable and with modifications to their suspension, A/T or M/T tyres and a snorkel they will easily handle moderately difficult terrain.

I have a Hilux because I do not intend to tackle very difficult terrain or tow a ginormous'' caravan - It tows a heavy duty offroad camper trailer with ease. I also wanted a vehicle with good fuel consumption, lots of comfort and better-than-average resale value.

I have seen a lot of late model 4X4 utes used by pig shooters and other young bucks who prefer to get their vehicles dirty of a weekend. They are driving them into extraordinary places!

As for the magazine reviews, I suggest you disregard them and talk to a few ute owners. I did and then I decided to buy the Hilux.

Netnut

AnswerID: 311088

Reply By: OzTroopy - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 11:14

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 11:14
Quote: “Don’t kid yourself into thinking that these Ute’s are super capable off-road vehicles, for none of them are. They may be very robust, and practical in the bush, but by the standards of modern 4WD wagons with traction control & smart 4WD systems, they lack real go-anywhere capability.

BwaaaHaaaHaaa..........Ive got electronic traction control and a smart 4wd system....I can go aaaannnyyywwhhere.... BwaaaHaaaHaaa

The IFS suspension is going to leave wheels out of contact with the ground all over the place and needs the fancy gear to maintain momentum in an off road situation.

How typical...design vehicles to be less than capable - fill em up full of electronics to compensate slightly - then buy the journos enough meals and drinkies that they believe the manufacturers fairy stories.

Obviously these "new age" vehicle assessors would be astounded at where a vehicle with live axles instead of IFS and no electronic aids could go. And whats the go - Ive always bought 4bs because they were.....very robust, and practical in the bush...Has the reasons for owning one really changed that much...........

Bet they would think a stock standard '84 hilux was a specially built competition offroader if they saw one.

Matto - what sort of money do you want to spend and what sort of " bush bashing " do you want to do.

Also take note of many comments in this thread about competent offroading - things like driver ability, vehicle placement in the terrain etc. - its not all about how many 4wd buttons there are on the dash. Ive seen a lot of 4wd owners embarrassed in the bush by blokes in old holden utes with slippery diffs over the years.
AnswerID: 311171

Follow Up By: RU99ED - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 12:47

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 12:47
G'day Oztroopy,

What sort of money do i want to spend & what sort of bush-bashing.... is that a rhetorical question??

If not.... well that's hard to answer. I'm happy to spend what it takes to get something that’s going to last the years.... an investment, & my hobby, & my holiday escape.

At this stage looking at 2nd Hand '05 model Diesel Hilux; Then Bullbar (if not already on there); recovery gear; & 40L fridge; then Suspension lift (maybe Ironman medium or soft spring as I usually just do weekends or a week at the most, and don't carry HEAPS of gear); tires; snorkel & driving lights, and that about covers it.... In the future I’ll invest in a diff-locker as a final item. All of this will be quality gear without needing to be Top-of-the-range, and definitely not the cheapest as I believe you get what you pay for!!

So what ever that all ends up costing is what I’ll spend!!

Bush bashing is usually state forests out of Sydney.... West - Newnes & Sunny Corner; North - Wattigans & Chinchester; South - Yalwal and around Ulladulla.

I like a combination of fast trails or a slow climb up/down a hill. I like a bit of a challenging hill, but think if it's getting to the point you need a competitive rock climber then best go around the obstacle or back the way you came. .... I just love exploring bush!! Famous last words... oooh, I wonder where that goes??

Matto
FollowupID: 577173

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 00:58

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 00:58
Hi Matto.

That overlander article might make uncomfortable toilet paper but that's about all! Don't tell my Courier it's not capable - it might get a complex! It's been everywhere and back. I'm a bit disappointed to be selling it but plans for a much bigger boat necessitated an upgrade to tow it.

It's been a mountain goat in the hills all over the north east, has been great in the sand and I can't really think of anywhere but Toolangi that stopped it and no standard factory wagon would have gotten through that either - the problem was the depth of the wheel ruts left by some other 35" tyred v8 monster had chewed through the hole we were trying to get past. The winch got me through there and we kept going. No problem really.

Mine's only sitting about 40mm higher than stock as the torsion bar suspensions not really good for much more but that's been fine.

I wouldn't bother looking at Hiluxes. Overpriced for what you get - even secondhand. Save yourself a heap of dough and look at Courier/Bravo or Ranger/BT50 if you are looking for a newer one.

AnswerID: 311342

Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 22:45

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 22:45
But Dave we are only dumb plebes who have drive these vehicles for a number of years.......who would you believe the jurno's who spend a week in a vehicle or us owners....how could we be so wrong.

They are experts after all.

I'm disappointed in our Hilux...can't drive it through 12 foot deep water and it will not climb 3 story buildings.

Hey look at the bright side at least we can carry 1 ton in the back legally!

Perhaps if the did a test with a OKA and the current you bute 4x4 wagons the may say the same thing.

Regards Richard

FollowupID: 577510

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 00:42

Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 00:42
Quote: "I'm disappointed in our Hilux...can't drive it through 12 foot deep water and it will not climb 3 story buildings."

Clearly Richard if you are making such statements you haven't seen Top Gear's episode on the unbreakable hilux they drove around Bristol in the UK.

You can find it on Google Videos and I'm sure it's probably on YouTube. I'm on the work PC so the net nazi's (IT) won't let me find you a link that I can test but try a couple of the links you find here.

I guarantee you won't have laughed so hard for a while.

FollowupID: 577520

Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 11:25

Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 11:25
Our Hilux isn't that strong.
FollowupID: 577560