WORST BITUMEN ROADS IN AUSTRALIA

Submitted: Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 18:52
ThreadID: 59067 Views:3864 Replies:20 FollowUps:10
We have just driven down what I consider to be the WORST BITUMEN ROADS IN AUSTRALIA !!!

From Renmark to Mildura on the Sturt Highway and then out of Mildura south on the Calder Highway.

How can VicRoads call these highways?

Corrugated bitumen. Repairs laid down in strips so the vehicle bump tracks all over the place.

Bucking, bouncing, lurching.

There were skid marks all over the place leading off the road into the bush where people chose suicide instead of more torture.

What is it with the Vic Govt? Don’t they care about the country roads?

Time to open the SHAME FILE on poor country roads.

Reply By: ZukscooterX90 - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 19:11

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 19:11
Bushy,wait till you you get to some of the lesser hwy's of Qld.
Hope those skids were not in your rear end under dacks.:):):)
AnswerID: 311496

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 21:08

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 21:08
There all BS you Bushy about the roads in Queensland, hang on sorry is that why most of use drive 4BYs here hahahahah, see ya in Innamincka.

Cheers Bruce
FollowupID: 577492

Reply By: Cruiserman1961 (QLD) - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 19:11

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 19:11
Geez mate, been to Queensland yet? You'll need 4WD low range on sections of the Bruce Highway.........
Cheers, Udo
AnswerID: 311497

Follow Up By: Angler - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 22:19

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 22:19
When passing Nambour select 4WD
FollowupID: 577503

Reply By: Patrolman Pat - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 19:16

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 19:16
You can normally tell when you leave SA and head into Vic, the roads improve.
that's why there are so many warnings in Vic to pull over and have a powernap, the roads are so smooth compared to those in SA that you tend to get drowsy. the bumpy roads on our side of the border keep you wide awake.
AnswerID: 311498

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 11:28

Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 11:28
Yeah Power naps are a greaty idea.... Mate of mine stopped ( off the road) near Orbost for a quicky (nap) and was taken to hospital in Bairnsdale when some cretin ran into the back of him at about 80kmh....
FollowupID: 577562

Reply By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 19:17

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 19:17
Just Don't cross the Murray and come down the NSW side if you're going to Melb. Go via the Calder Highway, unless you really want to see a crook highway. Just kep in mind, you are getting close to NSW and we have the worst roads in OZ.
Hope the rest of your trip has been good. Stay safe.
Fred.
AnswerID: 311499

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 19:17

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 19:17
You still have to head north to Innamincka yet LOL

AnswerID: 311500

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 19:28

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 19:28
I reckon that's the bit they are really looking forward to Kev :-)

FollowupID: 577475

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 19:37

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 19:37
15 days and I'm outer here Fred.................... I just hope the new drivers seat I have on order arrives in time :)

FollowupID: 577479

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 20:59

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 20:59
Beat you bro 6 and we are in Mitchell hahahahah, hmm probably laying back now after finishing off a bottle of red and a roast of rib fillet, oh yeh and our you know that bread!!!!!!!

Cheers Bruce
FollowupID: 577490

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 19:24

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 19:24
Gone Bush

All the money's are being poured into Melbourne's freeways.

Somehow, I think that the decision makers, have missed the mark..
Now we have 2 multi-billion dollar freeways, that put you into the same dung-heap, but at different ends, and wait for it, " yet another peak hour carpark" ..
The full "Ring Road" completed...that will be at least another 5 years off.. Now that could be a good thing, not having to go thru Melb to go up the Hume.... 50 years too late...
Then the government will have another excuse not to fix up country roads..

Try driving on any road in Gippsland. They are crap, and somewhat dangerous. But we are too few, sorry not enuf votes to care about.. sorry I forgot to mention the freeway extension to Phillip Island, but then again there is multi-million business there too, tourism..

It's all a " crock "

AnswerID: 311501

Reply By: The Geriatric Gypsies - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 19:32

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 19:32
mate i thought you were near warnabool on the road to the dairy farm lololololol
AnswerID: 311503

Reply By: autosparky - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 19:39

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 19:39
i thought in87 when the excise on fuel was delivered the earned results were going to be spent on roads or was that more labour spin?
AnswerID: 311504

Reply By: Member - Kevin J (QLD) - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 19:55

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 19:55
Some of our Developmental Roads in outback Queensland have had very little maintenence since Joe Bjelke Petersen had them built yonks ago and the Bruce Highway - God forgive me for misusing the term - has to be driven to be believed. Our wonderful Govt even admits that they do not have enough money for maintenence. Only just enough to build the new tunnels in Brisbane and the eight lanes to the Gold Coast.

The original excise was one penny per gallon with all proceeds to be spent on the major roads linking the capitals. Now equal to $1.75 per gallon. We here in Queensland thought all the money was being spent south of Brisbane across to Perth but now we find it's not. So where's it going? Surely the pollies salaries can't be that big!

Feeling cynical.

Kevin J
AnswerID: 311506

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 15:34

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2008 at 15:34
Hi Kevin J, yeah i agree, i have spent half my life in QLD and the other half in NSW, to be honestly truthful roads in all of australia suck. The infrastructure (main roads and secondary) really suck, you want a bad road go from nambour to gympie and come back via kenilworth landsborough way!!! roads between newcastle and brisbane suck aswell!!!!

we won't talk about melbourne, being there forgot the post card!!!deliberately.

with my current job ii have travelled 2/3 of australia and by trains, planes and automobiles, or should i say bashmobiles, and the roads suck nearly everywhere!!!
FollowupID: 577969

Reply By: Member - Kim and Doug (QLD) - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 20:01

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 20:01
Not even close to the worst road

Bruce Hwy between Gympie and Maryborough is the worst poorly repaired road on the planet.
The fools that patch it dont even roll the potholes after filling them so the next truck that goes over it rips the bitumen out again.
Keeps them in work well done Main Roads Qld
AnswerID: 311508

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 21:15

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 21:15
ya gotta mention the most dangerous stretch of tar in the country,the pathetic (pacific) highway.
FollowupID: 577493

Reply By: sedg - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 21:15

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 21:15
Gone Bush you are just spoilt and being originally from WA myself in my travels over the years, WA has the best maintained sealed roads on the country, we also tend to fix sections of the entire road rather than fill potholes on top of potholes.
AnswerID: 311527

Reply By: mick - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 21:29

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 21:29
Hey Gone Bush,

Sorry mate, but have you driven the Barkley Highway on the Queensland side. N.T. is fine, as soon as you hit the Queensland border its crap!!!!!!!!!!

Mick
AnswerID: 311528

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 21:40

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 21:40
Youve just been spolt by WA roads.
Coming from SA i was amazed how damn good the roads were in WA - all roads dirt and bitumen.
and heck we dont even have to pay to drive on them
AnswerID: 311531

Follow Up By: Member - AJB (VIC) - Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 19:28

Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 19:28
Very true. All other states roadmakers should learn how to do it WA style. Completed on time, on budget and with little disruption to the road users.
FollowupID: 577631

Reply By: garbage - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 22:30

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 22:30
Parramatta Road, Auburn deserves an honourable mention!
AnswerID: 311538

Follow Up By: Brian - Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 04:19

Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 04:19
I grew up walking along Parramatta Rd to Auburn Nth Public School in the 60's, driving down it on a recent visit to Sydney made me wonder if ANY maintenance had been done in between?????
FollowupID: 577527

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 23:01

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 23:01
Gee mate, those are good up there. I ride a bike along our road and get off if there is a car coming as there isn't room for me too. I agree with Bucky above. You can't get the government MPs this way as they know it is dangerous.

The State city based MPs would rather have us killed than fix the roads. Western Victoria lost two people in three accisdents in two weeks on railway crossings and they talk ripple strips to remind us there is a crossing. Don't mind the visibility or flashing lights as warnings.
AnswerID: 311541

Reply By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 07:17

Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 07:17
Having read all the above and spent most of my working life working on roads it all boils down to where you live I suppose! Having worked years in remote communities in Far North Queensland, all those roads you mention as bad, I used to look forward to driving on. I have driven up and down the Bruce Highway at the posted speed limits (and occasionally a bit more) and except for a couple of small sections found it to be fine. The problem is more the inexperienced speesters (more each day) and tired truck and car drivers. You see some crazy antics on these highways as you all know.

If you drive city roads all the time then yes they will be bad in comparrison. The cost to repair roads is substantial and with the price of fuel as it is the ability to streach the allocated funds on repairs lessens each day. I have a million Dollar yearly budget just on just a few roads on the Atherton Tablelands and that is just to maintain it. If you want better roads all over the country, What I can see is that you are also asking for more taxes to allocate more money!

Have you ever tried to fix potholes on a busy highway? No fun I can tell you and there is many factors why this patch will not hold up long term other than the one that was stated above. Unless a road is in good nick a pothole patch is only a temporary solution until the road is repaired fully.

Drive to the conditions and all is fine, unless you are one of those unlucky/unfortunate drivers with no fault of you own who meet one of those crazy drivers! Regards To all Tony.

AnswerID: 311559

Reply By: Patrol22 - Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 07:54

Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 07:54
Done the trip from Canberra to Cape York 3 times in the past 6 years taking a different route each time. While the highways aren't autobahns they are nonetheless comfortable and safe if driven at or below the posted speed limits. I think for a country so large and with a population so small (taxpayers) our roads system is not too bad. Keep in mind folk the average cost per km of a two lane highway is around $1.5M. I know everyone thinks there's bucket loads of tax dollars but relative to the size of the road network this income is a pittance.
AnswerID: 311561

Reply By: DIO - Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 09:57

Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 09:57
Welcome to 'the rest' of Australia.

Hey what's this business Renmark to Mildura? Don't you really mean 2km east of Yamba to Midura?

If you want to experience poor road surface try the Mallee Highway. Murraylands to Ouyen. Just make sure you avoid the pot-holes.

Price we pay for continual pounding by heavy transports on poorly designed/engineered and inadequately built roads. With the increased price of fuel it might not be too long before we start to see a reduction in heavy transports and a resurgence of rail transport. We can only hope. Bring it on.
AnswerID: 311577

Reply By: bruce - Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 10:49

Sunday, Jun 22, 2008 at 10:49
Judging by the replies you have received , you really did not have much to complain about...we have travelled those same roads a few times and compared with others that we have been on in different parts of Australia they are reasonably good.......try Qld , NSW for starters ...or havent you been there yet...surprise , surprise....
AnswerID: 311588

Reply By: Member - Mary W NW VIC - Monday, Jun 23, 2008 at 19:12

Monday, Jun 23, 2008 at 19:12
I live in the Mildura area-Didn't think our roads were that bad.!
"Some people walk in the rain,others just get wet."

AnswerID: 311851