Frozen fingers

Submitted: Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 21:13
ThreadID: 59237 Views:2834 Replies:11 FollowUps:13
Evening all,

I have been riding bikes on and off for about 12 years now, and never found a real solution to the 'frozen fingers'.

Have had small success with different types of gloves ect, was just wondering what some of you other bikers out there might be doing to keep ya digits warm?

YES I could drive the Patrol to work but at $1.88 p/lt, I'd rather take the bike.

Cheers Stefan

Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra - - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 21:54

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 21:54
Gday Stefan

From memory when living on nsw south coast, left hand on the engine block while excellatating, right hand on the engine while going down hill with clutch in. not fun but saved the frostbite on a trip to Canberra in the rain! (saw H&C in about their next to last gig - well worth the trip!)

Cheers Andrew
AnswerID: 312438

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra - - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 21:55

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 21:55
excellerating - some good spelling there! - a lot on my mind, will post it soon...
FollowupID: 578421

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 22:17

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 22:17
I liked " excellatating " LOL

FollowupID: 578429

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 22:29

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 22:29
where on the south cost did you live Andrew????
FollowupID: 578613

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra - - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 22:48

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 22:48
Gday Kiwi.Merimbula for about 10 years

Cheers Andrew
FollowupID: 578616

Reply By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 23:36

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 23:36
heated hand grips......works for Dad on all his bikes....and super dooper gloves with all sorts of fancy lining......
AnswerID: 312462

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 23:38

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 23:38
shoulda added this is for motorbike......but why not set a pushy (if thats what ya got) up with some little 12v batt......hehehehe!!! could also give it a little motor and hey presto....no pedaling....!!LOL!!! All a little fun!!
FollowupID: 578448

Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 16:31

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 16:31
its for a motor bike......have been reserching heated hand grips
FollowupID: 578524

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 07:22

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 07:22
Stefan,

I was going to suggest a good looking female pillion passenger but then realised that the Pee Wee 50 that you have wouldn't fit the 2 of you on it and 30 - Nil doesn't get the chicks LOL

Cheers Sir Kev

AnswerID: 312471

Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 16:33

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 16:33
are you suggesting my wife is not good looking?????

You are a dead set QLD bogan Kev!!! LOL
FollowupID: 578526

Reply By: Member - Glenn G (QLD) - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 07:52

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 07:52
You could move to Queensland ,as its not cold up here ! LOL

Cheers Giffo
AnswerID: 312480

Follow Up By: guzzi - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 09:16

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 09:16
That would be true if you only live on the coast.
Move inland 40 or more KM and then discover "cold", mainly in the mornings, the days are great.

To answer the original query from the post starter, after 30 of motorcycle touring the only effective way I've found of keeping the fingers warm has been electric heated hand grips and decent cold weather gloves , jacket and pants. Ive ridden all year round in Adelaide, Melbourne, CANBERRA, Sydney, WAGGA WAGGA and Brisbane. The bigger the letters the colder it was.
A decent fairing also helps as does keeping the body core warm, the warmer your body core is allows more blood flow to the extremities ie feet and fingers.
I never found a fix for ice on both sides of the visor or frozen snot in the moustache, and no at the time a car wasn't an option.
FollowupID: 578473

Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 16:34

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 16:34
G'day guzzi, never had a problem with the body got good quality gear (dririder)......just the poor old hands :)
FollowupID: 578527

Reply By: madcow - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 08:22

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 08:22
Not sure what type of bike you ride, But I have barkbusters on the XR and they certainly divert the wind away. And I ride every day rain,frost and sunshine. A friend runs a trailbike tour company and swears by heated grips on his CRF450X. Most of his tours run in the winter and in snow occasionally.
AnswerID: 312486

Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 16:36

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 16:36
looking like some bark busters and heated grips me thinks and of course good gloves which I belive I have......at least the price of them suggests they are!!! :)
FollowupID: 578529

Reply By: Mikee5 (Logan QLD) - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 08:30

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 08:30
Hi Stefan,

I used to ride trail bikes in SA in winter and it got fairly cold there too. I had big mittens made of canvas which laced over the handle bars so that alll the controls were inside. Then I wore normal MX leather gloves. You could get your hands in and out of the mittens no problems. Back then you could buy these mittens at motor bike shops. I guess bark busters would do a similar job but not as warm.
Mike.
AnswerID: 312488

Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 16:38

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 16:38
yeah a guy at work has something similar on his bike he reckons they are great, just look a little unsafe to me, like how quick can you get your hands out?
FollowupID: 578530

Reply By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 10:08

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 10:08
Hiya Stephan

Heres a solution

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XTQQhEtXe5w]Solution[/url]

Cheers Mate
AnswerID: 312503

Follow Up By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 10:09

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 10:09
Whats going on man lol

Solution
FollowupID: 578479

Reply By: troopyman - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 12:05

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 12:05
sealskinz
AnswerID: 312514

Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 16:39

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 16:39
Have you used them before?
FollowupID: 578532

Reply By: Mikee5 (Logan QLD) - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 17:56

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 17:56
Hi Stefan,
The mitts were fairly big with wide openings and the canvas was stiffish to prevent it collapsing so getting hands in and out was as quick as you could move... I rode enduros using them with no problems, even crashing...LOL.

Mike.
AnswerID: 312587

Reply By: Tasrat - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 16:42

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 16:42
A bit like you I have a patrol and a bike. The bmw 1200gs with heated grips is hard to beat,warm as toast and even dries out wet gloves.
AnswerID: 313091

Reply By: Grizzle - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 13:49

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 13:49
Surgical gloves under your normal gloves. You get a thin layer of sweat build up and this insulates your hands. works real well.

AnswerID: 313438