wich way to go

Submitted: Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 12:56
ThreadID: 59255 Views:2753 Replies:6 FollowUps:3
hi everyone,
we are heading off on our trip to cairns next week! and was wondering which way i should go? i want to stay inland as i will be coming home along the coast. so i was thinking start vic head up to dubbo then to emrald then to charters towers then across i have allowed 8 to 10 days to do this i have kids do you think this is a good way to go and is it achiveable in that time?

and also what are we likely to pay for gas and petrol?
many thanks
archar

Reply By: traveller2 - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 13:29

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 13:29
Keep west, Cairns is actually west of Bourke, also flatter and less traffic, minimal amount of towns to slow you down.
AnswerID: 312528

Follow Up By: Member - Poppy (QLD) - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 21:26

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 21:26
"Cairns is actually west of Bourke"
Last time I looked, Cairns was in Far North Qld and Bourke was in NSW
Cheers Ray ( Townsville) and we aren't west of anywhere
FollowupID: 578604

Reply By: ChrisVal7 - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 13:45

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 13:45
Just a small thought...40 kms to the north of Charters Towers is a free camp on a river, called Fletcher River (I THINK that's its name). It is in CAW so you can look it up. There is limited mobile phone reception, if you have an external aerial on the van.

The camp is truly delightful, although it can get pretty busy at this tme of the year.

AnswerID: 312529

Reply By: Member - Scott D (NSW) - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 14:33

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 14:33
Check out this websit - Caravaning and Camp Assoc. and look at the The Outback Discovery Trail - Sydney to Cairns safari - this one takes about a month, but it has fantastic information, places to stay, see and things to do.

http://www.tournsw.com.au/safari.php

Alison
AnswerID: 312534

Reply By: Gazal Champion - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 14:35

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 14:35
Hi Archar,
Can't help with fuel costs but you can check online and find the location of all the garages that sell LPG along your planned route.

You may already know this - if so please disregard. I find it very helpful when planning a trip.

Note that occasionally it is not dead accurate.
I found that it was wrong in one instance over a 6000k trip.

Bruce.
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

AnswerID: 312535

Follow Up By: archar - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 07:03

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 07:03
hi
thanks!
does anyone know website to find petrol stations?
FollowupID: 579007

Reply By: Horacehighroller - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 20:08

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 20:08
Gday Archar,

We did Melb to Cairns some years ago.

We went via Hillston, Cobar, Bourke, Charlieville, Longreach(Stockman's Hall of Fame, etc) then detoured to Winton to see dinosaur footprints at Lark Quarry.

From there it was relatively direct to Cairns via Hughenden ("Muttaburrasaurus" dinosaur), and then "Lava Tubes" west of the Atherton tablelands(can't remember the name of the place - someone else????).

Our 8 year old loved it.

AnswerID: 312628

Reply By: Steve - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 20:22

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 20:22
archar,

we're off up there next week.

Roma, Charters Towers. The only way to go mate. We've got kids with us and they're good travellers. It's pretty good these days cos they play with their little gadgets and generally keep themselves occupied. Problem is when you keep stuffing their faces wth drink and they're peeing every 5 minutes. Give em brekky, morno and lunch. If you train them to want to stop every hour, they will. We're setting off from the Sydney area and will take 3 days for the trip. You've probably got an extra day's travel - if it was me, I'd do two days straight, a day off, and another two days travel. Done.
AnswerID: 312632

Follow Up By: archar - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 07:05

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 07:05
g'day
i have allowed 8 days but will see how the kids go they have never done such a large trip before!
FollowupID: 579008