Some Truckies are dangerous - or are they??

Submitted: Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 19:53
ThreadID: 59273 Views:4483 Replies:16 FollowUps:36
I have supported truckies for a long time and in general have a great respect and no real problems. However it is 2 or 3 years since I have traveled long distances and the trip we started earlier this week is a real eye opener as to how the trucking industry has changed - or should I say the attitude of the truckies themselves.

There seems to be more speeding and even if I am at the speed limit, most truckies seem to travel above the speed limit and when they catch up to you, then sit right on your rear bumper until they pass (not safe). It is not always easy to pull over to let them pass with no room to pull off on the Bruce Highway north of Brisbane.

Yesterday was the big one.

I was traveling on the Bruce Highway north of Rocky when I was slowed by a slow van. A Double B caught up shortly after and immediately blasted his horn and abused me on the CB for not overtaking the van. The road was clear but had double lines ie no overtaking. I am in aTroopy that would take more than the clear road ahead to overtake safely (which is why there were double white lines). I ignored the truckie, turned the CB off and my turnoff was only 1km down the road so why risk overtaking in an un-safe no overtaking area when I am turning off anyway to keep an idiot truckie happy. (There was no room to pull over either.)

An incident a couple of months ago was also scary when on the Bruce Motorway close to Brisbane, a double B changed lanes - only problem, I was in the lane right next to him when he changed lanes. No indication and he would have wiped me out if I had not changed lanes (lucky it was clear).

My opinion now of truckies have had a complete reversal due to the idiotic driving I am seeing every day now by truckies. It seems that around Brissy, there is a truck rolled over on a motorway nearly every day now. I have also talked to a truckie that delivered by boat from Sydney to Brissy who had been driving solid for 5 days with 8 hours sleep in that time and he admitted his log book was all lies.

Has anyone else seen a change in truckies behavior over the last couple of years or have they always been bad. What can be done about these rogue un-safe truckies

Reply By: happytravelers - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 20:45

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 20:45
I agree with you Steve, I know they are under pressure with deadlines to keep, but that is no excuse for risking the lives of other road users. Many times like you I've been doing the speed limit or just over, only to have one of these idiots a few feet off my back bumper. I hold a truck license and have driven trucks on and off over the past 30 years and have been well aware of my weight and stopping ability. Some of these blokes that drive them now days seem to think they're in a sports car. I know there are a lot of very good drivers out there, but there are also more and more cowboys getting behind the wheel, and the Bruce highway due to its single lane sections is particularly bad for tailgating.
Jon
AnswerID: 312634

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 11:43

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 11:43
I agree Steve, I have also driven trucks. I have read below and a lot stick up for the truckie as I do for all the hardwoking reasonable drivers. Its the oddball that is the problem and if you meet one of those it is no joke! I was on cruise control down the coast on the Bruce highway behind a truck doing 105-108k in the 100 zone. A truck came from behind and sat on our bumper, I could not overtake the truck in frount as IT WAS TOO DANGEROUS, the broken lines were to short for the next corner. That idiot behind overtook and remained on the wrong side of the road for two blind corners and double white lines. They are the people that we are talking about. The only reason there was no death is that at that time no car came from the other direction. Regards Tony
FollowupID: 578662

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 21:20

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 21:20
Yep I found that its the bad ones that make it tough on the roads, I have taken rego no's before and reported them to the Police with the mobile phone, hands free of course. Same deal, all over the rear bumper of the car and wouldnt back off. And not only me, once he monstered past me he did the same to the car in the lane beside me.

FollowupID: 578783

Reply By: Best Off Road - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 21:00

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 21:00
I've never had any trouble with them. Always found them far better than your average once a year traveller.

What I have noticed recently is people travelling slower (maybe driven by fuel prices) that may slow the pro drivers down.

I've never driven a truck but can understand that maybe they get frustrated by someone dawdling along at 90 in a car when they are trying to make a living.

Just looking at it from their perspective.

AnswerID: 312640

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 21:11

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 21:11
I am with you Jim, and then last night a guy travelled at 80kph on the single lane Prince's Highway near Allansford then as soon as he got to the dual lane took off to 100 making it difficult for the truck to overtake or go anywhere. Frustrating for five drivers following the idiot in the car.

Seems to happen a lot lately that peopele will travel below the speed limit until the overtaking lane, especially on hills.
FollowupID: 578598

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 23:05

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 23:05
Yeah Im with you Jim.
There are always idiots, but I find the majority sensible, polite and safe.

FollowupID: 578618

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 08:54

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 08:54
Yes I agree that most are good on the road, but must admit there have been a few in recent times that have surprised me, and dont like being told either. What a great invention are UHF'S.
I have driven trucks on and off for over 30 years and respect there job, but the few cowboys are spoiling it for all.

Cheers Pesty
FollowupID: 578645

Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 22:02

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 22:02
Not wanting to be totally obtuse here but isn't it called a speed LIMIT, and isn't it a PUBLIC road that we are talking about here.

If someone is doing less than the posted speed limit there could be valid reasons for it.

A person might be having mechanical troubles and is in limp home mode on a hwy where there is nowhere to pull over. What's he to do? Drop off a cliff to keep a truckie happy?

I used to be an impatient driver once, then i bought a non-turbo diesel. That soon cured me. Probably saved my life too.

I know that the hwys are a truckies office but its your job choice and its inherent frustrations are not our concern, live with it. we all have difficulties associated with our jobs. Imagine if an IT Help Desk Person took the attitude of that truckie when dealing with users, there'd be dead users all around the place.
AnswerID: 312652

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 23:11

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 23:11
If your limping along with mechanical troubles.....wouldnt you move over and let others past?
And yes, it is a speed LIMIT....but there also used to be something called common sense too?????
I wouldnt call holding up the traffic exactly sensible....would you?

FollowupID: 578621

Follow Up By: plusteck - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 23:50

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 23:50
Strange yes it is a speed limit, but here in Perth if you do 10km under the speed limit whilist doing your driving test, you will fail. Im aware of that because my daughter failed her test twice. the only reason on the sheet, doing under 10k in a 60 zone. The reason behind it, "holding up traffic".
After saying that, IVe had a few incidents with truckies on the open roads, tail gated/abused because im doing a 110 in a 110 zone and not going faster/been cut off because the truck passed me in a dangerous situation and had to get back into the lane whether I was there or not. But I must admit I found the truckies on the nullabor very pleasant, very curtious on the road and even had a yarn with me when I back off and told them to boot it and get around me, as well as them giving me the all clear to pass as well.

FollowupID: 578626

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 23:21

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 23:21
Gday stevesub,
No I havent seen a real change in truck drivers, but I probably dont drive were you do.
As for the idiot blasting his horn and abuseing you on the radio......
Ask him to pullover and discuss the problem or let him past and follow him to the next stop. You would be suprised how small some of them are when they climb down from therir trucks.
A lot of drivers are trying to make unrealistic schedules because of financial pressures which is no excuse for being cowboys, but I dont think you can put the majority of them in that one basket.

Hairy
AnswerID: 312662

Reply By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 23:36

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 23:36
gday guys,i see its bash a truckie time again!Stevesub, you ask what can be done about rogue unsafe truckies?,what about rogue unsafe car drivers?more of them then truckies! did you stop and think you might have been in his blind spot?(changing lanes).the driver you were supposedly talked to about him driving for 5 days,you cant get away with it due to the 4 trip cameras between syd & bris.the RTA would have grounded him b4 that. Waynepd, dont tell me you have never rang a help desk and didnt get some sort of attitude,come on? Hairy's correct,if you have troubles on the road wouldn't you at least put your hazard lights on to warn other drivers? there is the idiot's in every occupation but you dont hear about them on shows like a current affair and the like,wonder why?
AnswerID: 312666

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 11:50

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 11:50
Mark for sure it applies to all drivers, its just the truck is so much larger/Heavier & harder to stop so much more dangerous when tailgaiting or if you hit coming in the other direction.
FollowupID: 578664

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 16:34

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 16:34
I'll give a truckie a go whenever I feel it is safe to do so. I'll even wave them through a roundabout if they are moving to save them changing down or stopping, but I will not exceed the speed limit to appease them. I need my licence too.
The majority i have met on the road are good fellas.

There is always an element of coyboyism in all walks of life be it Truckin' or IT'n but an IT help Desk person can't kill you with the tools of his trade can he. There should be a yearly psychological test applied to all people with that sort of power at their disposal.

Pilots, Bus Drivers, Train Drivers, Chemical Plant Operators are but a few that come to mind. People that work shift and have hazardous jobs. Add Medical staff, Police and Ambos
FollowupID: 578715

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 00:00

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 00:00
his notion that truckies speed probabally comes from most speedos reaing at least 5k under I would hazard a guess that truckies possibly exceed the 100k limmit by a few ks (less than 5) meaning that for many travelling at an indicated 100-105 will result in a truckie up ya bum doesnt mean they are speeding though
AnswerID: 312670

Reply By: Dave B (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 03:35

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 03:35
The speedo on my 60 is 7 k's slow at 100KPH.
I became aware of that when I connected up a GPS and it was showing a different speed to the speedo.

Up until that time, I was driving along at supposedly 100 KPH, and in fact only doing 93KPH.
It probably caused a bit of aggro, to which I was totally unaware.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 312674

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 08:59

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 08:59
Ahh Dave you truckies are all the same, whing whing whing !!! Hahahahaha
Hows it going mate, cool in the Hill this morning?

Cheers Pesty
FollowupID: 578647

Follow Up By: Dave B (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 12:23

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 12:23
Yeah Pesty, a bit cool, and he's me wanting to go out camping in a tent!!!

Night shift this week, so not much traffic, so only roos and wandering sheep to worry about.
Some of the roos want to go underneath and take out my airlines!!

Day shift there is more traffic with the holidays though.
Would you believe some of these camper/ caravan mob haven't even got mirrors out far enough to see my bullbar :>).

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

FollowupID: 578668

Reply By: PajeroTD - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 06:37

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 06:37
Around 75% of truck/car accidents are caused by the car driver.
AnswerID: 312677

Reply By: Gazal Champion - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 08:22

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 08:22
Hi Stevesub,

I think they should immediately halve the horse power in all of these big trucks because hardly a one of them obey the spped limits. In my experience they usually travelling about 10 to 15 k above the posted limit, certainly around the Kempsey area NSW where I live. Those trucks that are supposedly speed limited also travel in excess of 100k/hr, its got me beat.

I think they should police these laws and don’t fine the drivers but instead fine the companies they are working for or contracting to. You would immediately see a reduction in speeding trucks and perhaps a better psychology in the drivers.

I went from Kempsey to Brisbane about three years ago with a trucky neighbour.
He nearly ran the trailer over a small Ford Laser that he was not happy about in front of him. Now this poor bloke in the Laser could not see the road in front because he had the lights from the truck boring straight in his back window and no matter what he did he could not see.

I would psychologically test every one of them and I recon more than half would not pass. I listen to them all the time on UHF. More than a few have a contempt for most everybody else on the road, sometimes even other truck drivers.

Having said that I empathise with those doing the right thing and are held up by inconsiderate / ignorant drivers who are either in a dream or couldn’t give a damm whether or not they are holding anybody up.

My rule of thum is If there are anymore than three vehicles behind you and they have been there for more than 3 minutes, get off the road and let them pass as soon as possible.

Bruce.
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

AnswerID: 312681

Follow Up By: Gazal Champion - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 08:40

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 08:40
I should have added that on my last holiday I made full use of the UHF to contact every trucky I saw in my rear vision mirror and suggested they give me a call when they were about to overtake and I would slow down and pull left for them and all but one, a lady trucky, begrudginly replied. The lady on the other hand thanked me and bid me a good day and safe travels as she passed. I thanked her and wished her likewise.

To the offending blokes out there I say, as several truckies have advised them, Chill Out!.
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

FollowupID: 578643

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 08:59

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 08:59
Horse power has nothing to do with speed,If you cut the horse power then you would be winging about trucks holding you up on every hill. I live near Kempsey and don't find a problem with trucks only car inconsiderate drivers.
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 578646

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 10:21

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 10:21
ROFLMAO!!!!!!!!!!!!

As Dave said...Horsepower has nothing to do with it. Drop the horsepower and you will certainly see some accidents or near misses then!
And
Just because every truck on the road doest want to talk to Bruce doesnt mean they are rsoles or rude.

FollowupID: 578655

Reply By: Gronk - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 09:31

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 09:31
As a general rule I find most truckies are good and most car drivers are bad ( I said as a GENERAL rule )

Truckies speeding ? yes most do, and yes, most have their computers altered to do it..but speeding in itself isn't a problem.....it's where they speed and how they go about it....... there are the right and wrong places to speed.........

Can understand their frustration in coming up on a car doing 85 in a 100 zone....on a flat stretch of road.....when all they want to do is get to Brisbane in 4hrs...to get another load...and get back in time for tea....and try and make a buck !!!!

But they get it all the time, so some need to control their anger a bit and learn how to chill out while driving..

And some car drivers need to learn that those little things hanging off the side of their doors are mirrors.......and learn how to use them !!!
AnswerID: 312688

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 09:35

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 09:35
well said GRONK.
FollowupID: 578652

Reply By: DIO - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 09:35

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 09:35
I totally agree with you, there have always been some total idiots driving heavy vehicles. Seems something to do with their lack of manhood and trying to make up for it with the BIG truck. I will however concede that there are a few very professional, courteous, considerate, safe drivers out there although their numbers are in the monority. Best way to deal with the idiots is take fown their rego number, note the location and time, try to remember as much details as possible and report them at the first Police Station you come across. If someone in your vehicle can obtain a photgraph of the truck all the better. It's time that not only the authorities got off their backsides and did something to rid our roads of these low-lifes but also every motorist on the road also has a duty to report them when they are observed offending. Perhaps the increased price in fuel might eventually have something positive about it - get rid of many of the heavy transports driven by 'the brain dead' off our roads - and onto rail.
AnswerID: 312689

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 10:43

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 10:43
"Best way to deal with the idiots is......... "Dob on them? What can I say...Nice one DIO.....

Why not try a different aproach??
The best way to get respect is to show respect.

Why is it that some people have all the trouble in the world with truck drivers and some have next to none?
Remember the old saying " it takes two to tango"?
Just maybe, its not all THEIR fault ,but the peanut who has no idea about common curtousy on a road and how to react around other vehicles.
Not all drivers what to talk to some dottering old fart who thinks hes the "Bandit" Maybe they are having a really $hiit day and just want to do their job.
Just because you might be on holidays doesnt mean they are?

If people were more consious about what was going on around them, most of this agro wouldnt occur.
If you see a truck catching you in your rear veiw mirror, it means he is travelling faster than you , he might have a valid reason for his speeding as you do holding up the traffic.

Instead of wineing about what they are doing wrong, have a think and make sure your not doing anything to make it worse.

If hes a complete cowboy have it out with him! but dont put them all in one basket!
When ever we hear 4wd bashing every one gets up in arms!
FollowupID: 578656

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 11:21

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 11:21
if i took a photo every time a car did something stupid in front of me i would need a sh#t load of memory cards.how would DIO feel if someone came into his work place and harrassed him taking photos and dobbing on him to his boss,hmmm? just a thought.
FollowupID: 578659

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 11:57

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 11:57
"how would DIO feel if someone came into his work place and harrassed him taking photos and dobbing on him to his boss,hmmm?"

Hahahahahahahha!!!!!!!!!!!!
I reckon he'd love the attention....probably remind him of the good old days when he was hall monitor at school or later in life when we progressed the parking inspector!

FollowupID: 578665

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 13:50

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 13:50
sounds like it!!!
FollowupID: 578677

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 21:29

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 21:29
Hairy, I reckon DIO has a point, and I am not talking about dobbing everyone that tips your scales but some are plain dangerous and there is no excuse for some things such as tailgating at 100kmh.

I have used the mobile to do exactly as DIO suggests and got a good response from the constabulary.

FollowupID: 578789

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 21:44

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 21:44
Bonz; check out the links on Shane D'S post, how many times would he have been on the phone?
FollowupID: 578796

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 22:14

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 22:14
Good point Mark, what great videos Shane!

FollowupID: 578801

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 10:46

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 10:46
Gday Bonz, I dont doubt there are cowbooys out there at all( who probably should be reported).
I also think that a lot of the agro and stupidity is a result of frustration.

FollowupID: 578840

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 12:34

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 12:34
Yep spot on Hairy, I am amazed the agro is contained as well as it it sometimes

FollowupID: 578856

Reply By: Member Boroma 604 - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 09:44

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 09:44
Gooday,
There is definitely a change, the trucking industry like all others is suffering from the use by date with a lot of people and those who have been the backbone of the industry behind the big wheels having now retired.
Therefore there are a lot of the new breed younger generation filling the seats and they think they are driving a sports car and that might has right.
I have driven trucks for a living too, in a past life and still hold my HC licence, now tow a Caravan but give them all the respect they deserve as they are trying to earn a living, however there sure are some of the less respectful younger people now in trucks as well as cars.
Boroma 604.
AnswerID: 312691

Reply By: GREENDOG ! - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 14:05

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 14:05
As a truck driver{10ton single axle} from Adelaide i run to Mildura at least twice a week straight up straight back when i say that i'm in Mildura for only 40 mins,now i can not say enough about the driver's of B-doubles that i talk to only one word Professonial. Every one on here talks about speed now the B-doubles sit on 108-112 within the tolerence allowed and yes they do sit right up my butt that close that i can all most see the pipples on there face am i bothered by it NO i just drive as if he was'nt even there and thats what you all should do instead off getting on here WHINGING and MOANING about a truckie sitting on your tail so what, he the driver knows what he's doing or about to do to over take you,and yes i do agree there's rogue driver's out there again just let them do there thing,just another thing if ever you are again in a situation were you have a driver a sitting on your tail just relax stop looking in the mirror as you all do and start to panic and gettin nerves thinking oh what should i do just bloody drive if you ca'nt drive with them well ask your self how gooda driver am i ,there's more to drivin then just sittin behind the wheel .cheer's GREENDOG
AnswerID: 312703

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 14:21

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 14:21
Boy I hope you are never on the road around me, its ok to break the law with you and be a total nutter " NO i just drive as if he was'nt even there " - "just bloody drive if you ca'nt drive with them well ask your self how gooda driver am i" So you are saying lets go tailgaiting, if not lets speed up and put him in the dust??? Given the chance I will let people pass that are going faster. But its a bit much to expect me to pull over when there is no opportunity, especially when we are already cruising slightly over the limit?? Greendog you sound like an aggressive driver. Regards Tony.
FollowupID: 578680

Follow Up By: GREENDOG ! - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 14:51

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 14:51
Tell me who's asking you to pull over dude? And in the tailgating well if a driver does that before they over take you it's less time they spend over taking you.And just for the record no i am not an aggressive driver just know how to drive. cheer's GREENDOG
FollowupID: 578683

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 15:30

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 15:30
Greendog. "Tell me who's asking you to pull over dude?" The a hole who will not get off my butt for one!!! "just know how to drive". Most people do, but you have a bit to learn as we all do. Your method of driving is what we are worried about. Safest way to overtake is sit back a bit and wait for an opportunity. Tailgaiting is illegal for any reason. Regards Tony.
FollowupID: 578685

Reply By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 16:16

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 16:16
There are yahoo's and idiots everywhere, It's pointless for me to defend the actions of some one else simply because I'm from the same profession, so I'm not gunna.
I will however leave 2 links, footage taken by me.
Each clip is what I saw on that particular day, and pretty much see everyday.
None of it is really offensive (too me), but others may become "affected" by continuous and repetitive. . . . .sublime slaps in the face

Cars behaving badly

More cars behaving badly
Some bad language may be heard from UHF in back ground as well as me, so, sensitive ears best not listen.
Shane
AnswerID: 312718

Follow Up By: GREENDOG ! - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 16:47

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 16:47
Same crap different day
FollowupID: 578717

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 16:59

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 16:59
SHANE; very well done, now hopefully these blokes that knock us truck drivers will see from our point of veiw.what was on your videos is exactly what we put up with every single day,and thats just in bris,try that in syd pulling 2 trailers. try to stay safe out there mate!
FollowupID: 578718

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 22:15

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 22:15
Shane I tips me lid to you mate, you only correctly identified ONE driver in a blue car, all others were left un-categorised.

FollowupID: 578802

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 22:33

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 22:33
great vids Shane,
yep i understand what you say, its bad enough in a loaded fourby at times. i see it enough around sydney to share a headshake with the affected truckie.
but this is very different to the travel situation this thread started from which involves long distance truckies behaving badly. if they get held up for 10 or 15 minutes on a 2000k trip how much will that really affect them, if they kill someone then the freight will be even later won't it.
FollowupID: 578803

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 08:10

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 08:10
Yes that is what we are talking about. I think Shanes videos are great. It was suggested we all do this above in the thread. You might notice a lot are aginst that as well. To all the considerate truckies and considerate drivers. This thread is and never was againt you. If you are upset by it, have you somthing to hide? Keep safe and Drive safe Shane. Greendog you still seem a little agressive (MAINLY BECAUSE OF YOUR RESPONSES), but I will give you the benifit of Doubt LOL. Regards TONY
FollowupID: 578827

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 11:56

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 11:56
Or are they. Umm
The talk about a park up next month is not going to do anything with fuel prices but I recond it will get those ass holes out there that want to bash a truckie realise where their things come from. Sure milk comes from a cow. bread is made out of flour. Fuel comes from a petrol station (which I must add having one diesel pump apposed to 10 unleaded pumps and you still get that stupid city idiot that parks there to run in and buy their milk and bread. I have had enough of stupid stupid idiots puttiing the poor bastards down. That idiot that had the truckie blowing his horn for not overtaking. You must have done something before hand to enoy him. You know there is a name out the bush for bad caravaners. Rubber necks. Didnt our brother out there get up us for buying one. So before pen pushers out there use the media and email systems to pick on a truckie think about what you do to enoy other people like not using your indicator or pulling out infront of others then turning off and my big pet hate when the left lane is running out they put their foot down to beat you to the single lane. I now dont let them in. Grow up if you have an issue with something face it and move on. Gees
AnswerID: 312841

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 14:01

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 14:01
I can hear your spurs jingle jangle from here......
FollowupID: 578870

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 09:45

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 09:45
Waynepd, it was probably taken as a compliment LOL
FollowupID: 579028

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 18:14

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 18:14
Old Girl. No need to get the knickers in a knot. This was about the ocassional bad driver. They are in cars and trucks. Its just the truck seems to have more impact. If yo are not one of them then great, as we have said above its about the bad operators and I think personally it is on the rise with car drivers and truck drivers. Topic ended for me as it seems good truck drivers get upset when bad are mentioned. WHY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1 tONY
FollowupID: 579100

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 19:55

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 19:55
Hi Tony.

I must say that your responses in this thread have been very level-headed, realistic and unbiased and I totally agree with them (as I do with Waynepd). The replies further up regarding the potential for disaster due to a trucks size and weight as opposed to the damage a pen-pusher can do if they make an error of judgement or are having a bad day at work are spot on.

Less than a year ago I posted a similar thread (click here for the circus) and I made it clear that I wasn't bagging all truckies yet I still got responses like the one above by Old Girl that suggested that the incidents I described must have been my fault.

It seems that some truckies don't want to be generalised as bad due to a few cowboys but then do their own generalising at the other extreme by trying to say no truckies do wrong and any incident must be caused by other drivers. WTF?

FollowupID: 579124

Reply By: Debbie_115 - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 23:38

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 23:38
As with all truckies, 4wd's, caravanners, bikies, teenager's, race, etc. etc., there is the good and the bad, just a shame that the bad alway to taint the good!

Deb.
AnswerID: 313546