29mpg in a dinosaur

Submitted: Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 16:57
ThreadID: 59298 Views:3129 Replies:5 FollowUps:14
Went up to Warraweena in the Flinders last week to mind the place while Stony visited the Big Smoke for this and that.

Had a tail-wind all the way there and sat on 90kmh and achieved 10.3/100 or 29.29mpg in the old currency which is quite amzing for the old diesel.

Just goes to show..................

On the way back today I sat on around 85kmh (its not all that boring if you crank the music up) and have achieved a similar result(still have to refuel)

Diesel i still $1.86 here in the Borough but $199.9999 at Beltana Roadhouse near Leigh Creek.

The fuel tanker(trailer) going to take around $450 to fill next week for the Innamincka trip. That's a fortnights pension...bugga!

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 17:05

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 17:05
Fuel prices will go even higher when they start mining those Diamonds in your back yard as well LOL

I have started packing already. Fridge is in, a 60L Engel does fit through the back doors of the cruiser LOL

See ya there.

ps I have 12 raffle books and enough name badges for everyone

AnswerID: 312729

Follow Up By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 17:12

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 17:12
Hi Willem and Kev,
Not tyring to hijack a thread but is there any way I could get some tickets in those raffles you lot are running?
Long shot, I know but worth a try.
Middle of Summer here, 8 degrees and raining!
Dennis
FollowupID: 578720

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 17:20

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 17:20
Yerr................ diamonds....hmmmmmm

I have the DVD Burke and Wills movie circa 1987 kindly lent to me by Dave Phoenix of the Burke and Wills Historical Society starring Jack Thompson

BTW what happened to 'Kiwi and the Mahindra' or did I miss something? Now its Kiwi and the Grenade!!! Not a 3litre!!! Oh dear......................

FollowupID: 578722

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 17:44

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 17:44
Willem,

Yes she traded the Navara for a Grenade :( extra seats required ;)

Dennis,

I already have had donations sent to me from Barry F (for the shaving Steve's beard).
Send me an MM if you wish to organise something.

FollowupID: 578730

Follow Up By: Numpty S - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 18:14

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 18:14
Not trying to be smart, but....that works out to 27mpg the way I work it out.

100 divided by 10.3 = 9.7kpl Once you convert that to miles (divide by 8 then multiply by 5) = 6.06 and then multiply that by 4.5 ( No of litres in gallon) then that equals 27.3.

Not bad for a dinosaur anyway.
FollowupID: 578735

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 19:46

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 19:46
Hmmm ........now whrere did I go wrong?

Yerr........... I took the 10.3 as the benchmark and I should have taken the 9.7. You are right me lad...works out at 27.58mpg and I used the electronic plastic box to do that....lol

FollowupID: 578753

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 20:19

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 20:19
Strewth, and here's me thinking the 14.61 l/100klm I'me getting outa the Chev was pretty good (better than the 4.2TD I used to own anyway).

Good onya Willie, maybe I need to stick a lump of 2 x 2 under the loud pedal.....!!!!!! hahahaha

FollowupID: 578757

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 20:26

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 20:26
G'day Bill

What've you been up to lately?

Coming to 'Mincka?...I'm still saving the for the fuel ....lol

FollowupID: 578760

Follow Up By: Numpty S - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 20:29

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 20:29
Lad eh LOL. First time I've been called a lad in over 50 years. But then, there are a lot of old blokes on here.
FollowupID: 578761

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 20:39

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 20:39
Anybody younger than me must be a lad...even Roachie....LOL
FollowupID: 578767

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 10:36

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 10:36
Willie, all 3 of my tanks (256 diesel and 70 LPG) are full at the moment....should get me to Birdsville without needing to fill-up at Innaminka. We should be in Innaminka about Monday week, but will only be staying for one (maybe 2) night/s as the Simpson is beckoning and we only have 2 weeks to do the whole trip.

Hope to catch up with you and few of the other EO blokes/shielas.....

FollowupID: 578838

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 11:27

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 11:27
Roachie,

Does your calculations include the fines from Mr Plod?? hehehe

Hope to see you in Innamincka on Tuesday week.

FollowupID: 578849

Reply By: Member - William B (The Shire) - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 17:23

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 17:23
Hi Willem,
Your right about the speed having an effect on fuel consumption.
We all know thats the case but it was really brought home to me when my youngest son was on his learners permit.
We visiting a favourite Uncle and Aunty at Dunedoo in NSW and he drove to get some kilometers up for his licence.
Maximum speed of 80 kph and the difference in fuel used was amazing.
Usually when I drive we fill up at home in Engadine, top up at Lithgow when we have morning tea, travell to Dunedoo and back to Lithgow where I put in a "splash" to be sure.
With Liam driving it was there and back easy on one tank.
On our upcoming trip across the Simpson with the roof rack loaded and the price of fuel I will be retraining my right foot.
William
Always planning the next trip. VKS-737 mobile 1619

AnswerID: 312730

Reply By: Rock Ape - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 19:01

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 19:01
Well Willem haven't times changed.
A well known truck driver used to tell me the number of bottles of rum he drank between Cairns to Weipa.

10.3l/h is excellent fuel consumption for your dinosaur, and at the slower speed you relax and see more

Have a good one
AnswerID: 312754

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 19:50

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 19:50
It used to be 10 cans of VB between Darwin and Jabiru in the days afore RBT and that at 140kmh in the Fairlane....LOL

FollowupID: 578755

Reply By: Member - Axle - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 20:26

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 20:26
Hi Willem, Thought ya got it all wrong for a minute, and mean't 29mph out of the dinosaur!!...hahahahaha.

Good result mate!, all jokes aside, the motor must be still very good to achieve that fuel consumpstion.

AnswerID: 312771

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 20:43

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 20:43
Yeah mate, my G60 could only achieve that down a mineshaft!!!!!...LOL

Motor is still very responsive at 363,000km and not using too much oil!!!

FollowupID: 578769

Reply By: Member - Luke (SA) - Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 21:23

Saturday, Jun 28, 2008 at 21:23
Warraweena to look after the place???
Since when do you need an excuse to go up there?

Good to see the old Nissan is still returning good results

Have a safe trip up to Innaminka

Cheers Luke
AnswerID: 312795

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 10:22

Sunday, Jun 29, 2008 at 10:22
G'day Luke

Hows married life treating you???????

Why aren't you coming to Innamincka?

FollowupID: 578836