Innamincka Update

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 19:09
ThreadID: 59440 Views:3462 Replies:6 FollowUps:11
Have just come off the phone to John Osborne, President of the Progress Association at Innamincka.

Old Strzelecki Track still has water over it in places and best to avoid

All other roads in are in good condition.

There is water over the causeway to Coongie/Cordillo but it is passable

Town Common Campsite is on good order with plenty of space
Please pay your dues at the Honesty Box on your way in. Camping is $5 per vehicle per night.

Fuel is $2.18 per litre at the Innamincka Store

Thats all.

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 19:22

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 19:22
I don't think there will be much space when we all arrive LOL

Not long now..................

AnswerID: 313485

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 20:17

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 20:17

I hope I am not hijacking Willems thread, but I would like to wish all
those going to the Gathering at Innamincka, a Safe and Joyfull trip,
my Cook and I have been reading your various threads with great
interest, our Business commitments wont allow us to go this time,
but I guarantee we will attend the next one,I reckon we would
gain a hell of a lot of experience and knowledge, I would love to
meet some of the NO make that ALL of the Hard Cases lol I have been communicating with on this Forum.

Good Luck

Daza
FollowupID: 579544

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 20:30

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 20:30
P S. When I say Hard Cases I am not being offensive, it means
Fair Dinkum People.
FollowupID: 579549

Reply By: Dave B (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 19:24

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 19:24
Thanks for the update Willem, I am going to find out tonight what the road is like from Camerons Corner.

I was advised today by a local trucking company that it was best to go via Camerons corner rather than Nappa Merrie.

I will update the latest info about the road later tonight I hope.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 313486

Follow Up By: Dave B (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 19:42

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 19:42
The latest info that I can get is that across the sandhills, the road is perfect at the moment.

Watch the creek crossings out of Tibooburra, some are a bit rough at the bottom.

FollowupID: 579530

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 19:51

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 19:51
I am intending on comming in via Nappa Merrie so I will have to check before I leave as I may have to change plans LOL

Another 5 days of fine weather should dry it out a bit though (I hope)

FollowupID: 579535

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 20:50

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 20:50
Kev, you better look at my post on the weather front
FollowupID: 579554

Follow Up By: Dave B (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 21:01

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 21:01
Kev, Not sure why it was recommended to go via Camerons Corner.
I assume that the road is a bit cut up out there somewhere between Tib and Innaminka, but not too sure where.

Have you thought of coming via Three Ways ?????

I was going to tell Laura something, but can't remember what it was now.

FollowupID: 579557

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 21:06

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 21:06
You had to tell her to pack the spare motor as well as the Trivia questions LOL

From what I have found the track is open with extreme caution as it is very cut up, so nothing different to what I have been driving the Falcon work ute over then ;)

FollowupID: 579559

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 19:32

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 19:32
Bugger there goes my travel plans ..... Old stez is out.

Ho Hum looks like the bore track.

AnswerID: 313488

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 19:49

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 19:49
Hi Willem,

Does that mean the Bore Track is open?
This is my first preference on the way up. (from Cameron Corner)

Old Strzelecki was my second reference on the way up, or preferred route on the way back, but we always have to work in with Mother Nature hey.

Bill.

AnswerID: 313493

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 20:12

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 20:12

Don't know about the Bore Track. Best to ring the Innamincka Trading Post 08 86759900 or Bollards Lagoon Station.

FollowupID: 579542

Follow Up By: Dave B (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 22:50

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 22:50
SandMan, I also asked about the Bore Track tonight, but was told that the best information about that would be from Bill at Cameron Cornerwhen we get there.
We will be there Monday.

FollowupID: 579585

Reply By: Member - Bob & Lorraine S (NSW - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 19:55

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 19:55
Thanks for the update Willem. Leaving Tibooburra Thurs for Olive Downs and Fort Grey. Cameron Corner on Saturday. There's a few long trucks with pipes coming through Tibooburra heading north. Will check best roads when we get to CC. Scrubcat just called and he is in White Cliffs and should be CC by Saturday also. We have some wood and a bag of goodies for trivia etc..
Bob & Lorraine
UHF18 Clipper811
VKS737-Romeo2954/Selcal2954
M 0438543662
AnswerID: 313496

Reply By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 07:30

Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 07:30
Thanks Willem.....so when you say "Fuel" are you talking diesel or ulp????
AnswerID: 313567

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 07:59

Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 07:59
Diesel, Firewood and food at a guess LOL

FollowupID: 579623

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 08:05

Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 08:05
Laura

In small outback places Diesel and ULP are normally the same price and I assume that is what John Osborn meant.

FollowupID: 579626