Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 08:52
Top End Explorer Tours
I was driving the OKA into
Jim Jim falls on Sunday, when I caught up with a Nissan, I was following for about a 2 klms when we came across a small 4wd ute with L plates on doing 15 kph on the extremely corrugated road, the Nissan went to over take on a straight stretch or road and I decided to follow as it was safe to do so,
well so I thought, the next thing you know the L plater decided that the corrugations were not as bad as the ones on the right side of the road so he swerved across to the wrong side and nearly took out the Nissan, who in turn swerved back and had no chiose but to over take on the wrong side to avoid an accident, this in turn left me no where to go, but devine intervention must have helped as the L plater swerved back to the right side and I must have missed him by MM.
After I was past I stopped and approached the car still doing 15 kph and all over the road, I was shaking, I asked what the F@@K they were doing, and the L platers mother said what do you mean, I explained what nearly happened and she said he has it under control and that she was watching him and all was good, I said you can't be serious, I explained that there were a lot more cars coming in and that there were a lot of cars coming out and driving from side to side will create an accident, she told me to mind my own business and to F@@k off, as I walked off I yelled at least put your lights on.
When I got to the
camp ground at the end of the road Lyndsay and Anja turned up and told me they nearly collected a car as it was stopped in the middle of the road as they were changing drivers.
And we all wonder why there are so many kids killed in car accidents.
It scared the bleep out of me.
Cheers Steve.
Reply By: Gronk - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 10:01
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 10:01
Because you have a licence, you are allowed to teach someone else to drive.....and because you have a licence you think you know how to drive !!
And you wonder why so many kids get killed ??
I wonder how many parents would pass if they sat for their driving test at the same time as their kids ????
Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 12:24
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 12:24
Barry Sheene once said, that parents hand down bad driving habits, like a family heirloom.
Reply By: Scubaroo - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 10:18
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 10:18
Same thing happened to me recently on the road from Windjana to
Tunnel Creek - stuck behind a 2WD Ford Territory doing about 20-30kmh for about 10km - I flashed my lights after a while because they were so slow hoping that they'd see me and let me pass - lo and behold they pulled over so I indicated and started passing - at which point they too pulled to the right hand side of the road in front of me and I almost collected them. Turned out that they were driving around a washout, and hadn't seen me at all.
Guess the lesson is don't expect people to see you through the dust!
Reply By: DIO - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 10:38
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 10:38
..and so many people wonder why there are such major issues with NT drivers.
Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 10:48
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 10:48
You really are a tosser!
Follow Up By: Top End Explorer Tours - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 11:03
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 11:03
Hey Dick head this L plater had NSW plates on his car.
Steve.
Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 11:41
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 11:41
It is about time to mount a campaign to get this goose banned.
Willem described him as a Guerilla. The type who runs in, fires a shot and then runs and hides.
90% of his responses are this sort of sarcastic, smartarsed bullchit. He is beginning to wear a bit thin.
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 12:25
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 12:25
The more you react to him the more he will post.
Feed the monkey and he keeps coming back.
Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 12:43
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 12:43
If you shoot the Monkey it won't be able to pinch your peanuts.
Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 13:21
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 13:21
MONKEY...you give it more credit than I do.....
What ia a DIO anyway???? Male or Female, old or
young, the only thing I know for sure is, its a brain dead latte sipping fag, that believes there is no room for common sense and everything should be made idiot proof! Oh... and its a holier than thou know it all!!!!
Hahahaha
Follow Up By: G.T. - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 15:18
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 15:18
Child!
Follow Up By: Member - Nev (TAS) - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 19:54
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 19:54
I.....DIO.....T
Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 20:39
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 20:39
Priceless Nev, RATFLMGO
Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 14:19
Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 14:19
"its a brain dead latte sipping fag, that believes there is no room for common sense and everything should be made idiot proof! Oh... and its a holier than thou know it all!!!!"
GOLD!!! Love your work mate.
Reply By: Best Off Road - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 10:43
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 10:43
That Steve, is a prime example of why Govt should legislate
driver training programmes be conducted by trained and qualified individuals.
The absolute minimum should be a one day session teaching proper vehicle control before they are let loose on the roads with (often incompetent) parents as teachers.
Follow Up By: Gronk - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 12:59
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 12:59
And the unfortunate thing with the present instructors is they mainly teach the kids how to pass the test.....not how to be better drivers ....which by I mean how to control their cars in an (almost) out of control situation....
How many kids understand oversteer and understeer and the basic idea of how to correct it ?? And at the same time not expecting them to be as good as a racing driver, but having at least some skills that may save their life one day !!
Follow Up By: feral - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 14:03
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 14:03
Gronk,
You are so correct but there lies the problem.
No politician will EVER put their hand up and make it harder for anyone to get their license because all they want to do is get re-elected. Politicians couldn't give a stuff about the road toll. All they want is the revenue raised and the impression that they are actually doing something.
If any politician was really serious about reducing the road toll there would be different license categories based on competence levels and the base level would be much higher than it currently is.
Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 20:41
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 20:41
Most kids in NSW get failed the first time.
Pete
Reply By: Philip A - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 10:43
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 10:43
When I was 17 , I was driven off a
bridge by a truck I was passing.
Unbeknown to me he had slowed down because a mini had come out of a petrol station, and without looking behind or beside had started to overtake while I was overtaking him.
The police did not have any sympathy for me when they interviewed me at the hospital, because it was my responsibilty to advise the person being overtaken by sounding my horn.
You do not mention horns at any stage, but it is the overtaker's responsibilty to let the person being overtaken know they are there. It is extremely unlikely that anyone would move right with the knowledge that someone was there, so I suggest he simply did not know.
Regards Philip A
Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 10:54
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 10:54
Gday Steve,
You certainly get them..hey?
Had some idiot doing about 70km on the south Stuart Highway the other day on my way to work, After they were overtaken buy about 5 cars, a truck and three buses they decided to speed up.....right as the bus I was on were along side!
Brainless twats! (you dont know if DIO is up this was do you?)
Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 11:50
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 11:50
Whats that old saying, about being 5 minutes late than Dead on time.
I reckon South East Queensland has cornered the market with the
Maniac Drivers, I reckon the Lady drivers are as bad as the Men,
they have that mentality that they must pass every bloke in sight,
you see these old rust buckets getting around, doing stupid speeds
and you wonder, when was the last time, they had them checked
for mechanical defects ect, thats my little whinge for the day.
Daza
Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 12:33
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 12:33
Not everyone is on holidays....some people need to get to work on time. Besides the issuse was the peanut speeding up while he was being overtaken not his original speed?
He/ She also could have moved over and let the line of traffic building up behind pass as most of the time there was a wide bitumised strip on his left.
Follow Up By: Corio - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 13:09
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 13:09
I spent 3 years in the territory and found the drivers to be the best I have experienced particularily on the open road.At that time it was an open speed limit.Cant say the same for our WA drivers especially on the freeways.
Follow Up By: Stu & "Bob" - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 20:33
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 20:33
Daza,
My extensive research indicates that if you have a HF antenna on the bullbar, and an old felt hat on your head, in a dusty 4WD, you will have no problems with the drivers of SEQ.
Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 20:47
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 20:47
Know how you feel Hairy, we have a speed limited Rosa, Had this twit doing 70 in a 90 zone, got to the overtaking lane pulled out to pass him, get three quarters past him when the idiot speeds up(I am now doing 100 trying to clear him) and passes me on the left. And you can guess what he done when it went back to single lane.
Follow Up By: Supercalafreakinawesome - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 23:34
Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 23:34
Hairy,
DIO often chimes in with quotes of legislation from various states etc so... DIO may stand for District Intelligence Officer which is a title given to a usually desk bound cop who does the crime stats and trends for each police district. I may be wrong but the comments seem to come at a time when such a person would be at work seated in front of a work computer. As said previously by another
forum member DIO seems to use guerilla tactics. I did a search and I can't seem to find one post where DIO has started a thread, just comented on everyone else's thread.
Reply By: Member - Footloose - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 15:42
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 15:42
I can sympathsize. Last time I came out of Jim Jim I was passed in a creekbed by a Fritz in a Britz doing a zillion
miles an hour. I had to stop and tell him to put the hubs in at the next one. Grrr....
Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 15:43
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 15:43
sympathsize=typo not a new made up word :))
Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 20:04
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 20:04
bugger the typo, I had enough trouble with the second sentence, Jim.
sorry, could not let that one through to the keeper.
Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 21:09
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 21:09
If punctuation and correct grammar were pre requisites for a post, it would be a lean
forum. :))
Besides, I was just happy to be able to post again, after a computer "event" that wiped out my member number and password cookies.
Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 22:03
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 22:03
no, punctuation and grammar had nothing to do with it, i was just being naughty.
Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 22:08
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 22:08
Bushfix !! Go stand in the corner and repeat, "Only Footy is a naughty boy!"
Took me a while but .....LOL
Reply By: Member - Porl - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 13:30
Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 13:30
On the news now, bus crash in
Kakadu, maybe they were out practising again ...
Follow Up By: Top End Explorer Tours - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 13:40
Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 13:40
This was a guided backpacker tour group, apparently they rolled a troopy.
I have spoken to Parks and it is a single vehicle accident.
1 dead and 2 spinal injuries as far as I know.
Cheers Steve.
Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 18:23
Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 18:23
Its a relief to see your Co was not involved Steve. Have a good day mate.
Reply By: OzTroopy - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 14:21
Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 14:21
T.E.E.T.......Scary stuff....made even worse by the quality of instruction the kid was getting. Ended up sideways in a table drain on a run to the cape one year. Bunch of feral treehuggers, complete with tibetan tea cozies on their heads, had pulled up in their vw beetle in the middle of the road, after a corner, so they could have a toilet break and swap drivers.
Hairy ( NT )....I dont think its a monkey either - obviously something futher down the foodchain like a federal govt employed OH & S / Workers Comp brainwashed office staffer.
Best Off Road....It is highly unlikely that the govt wiil bring about EFFECTIVE driver education. A driver who has been taught - or learnt - vehicle handling at..different speeds / in wet and dry conditions / on bitumen or gravel roads / cornering or in a straight line and carrying different loads would understand the need to " drive according to the conditions ".
Can you imagine the revenue loss if everyone UNDERSTOOD the need to drive according to the conditions.
Gronk.....You hit the nail on the head. They are taught to pass the test - not how to drive. I doubt any of them these days would understand how the vehicles nose dips and it leans to one side when braking in a corner. Its much more important that they know how many inches to be parked from the gutter or a thousand confusing speed regulations.
Phillip A......Understand how you feel. I ran a bloke off the road once when he tried to pass me - while I dodging a semi entering an intersection. Legally, because I was on the incorrect side of the road at the time - I was at fault. The fact that the bloke who went off the road stated that he thought the truck would get us both as it stopped, blocking half the road - was irrelevant. The semi ???..took off leaving 6" deep holes in the dirt from wheel spin. Driver never even got out of cab. The bars#*+ knew what the real cause of the accident was.
Madfisher.......Happens in every state these days ....its a nice way to double application income. Once - you got failed because of unsatisfactory driving ability.