Packing wine glasses
Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 10:24
Bunny
Can't seem to see much in archives about this - was wondering how everyone packs their glassware (would like to take glass rather than plastic) I am thinking of packing each glass in a stubby cooler, although I suspect putting on and taking off could result in breakages. Any other good ideas would be welcome.
Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 10:47
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 10:47
That’s very flash :) I guess you could use bubble wrap but what’s wrong with a good plastic set of wine glasses?
I bubble wrap my fluro bulb and put it back in it's original box and have not had any dramas and they break very easy those lights
Follow Up By: Bunny - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 16:10
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 16:10
Can always rely of getting expert tips from fellow "forumites". Thanks to you all so much for your tips
Reply By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 10:47
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 10:47
I tried taking wine glasses for a few years but finally admitted defeat and switched to good quality polycarbonate "glasses" which are about 80% as good as the real thing.
I shall watch this thread with interest :)
Reply By: Member - Motley - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 10:52
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 10:52
We use the wine glasses that you see in wineries - they are a tasting glass, tulip shape.
You have to fill them up more often but a small price to pay for a glass that fits neatly in a stubby holder. Haven't lost one yet!
You can usually buy them in a box of 6 at wineries for a reasonable price.
Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 11:04
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 11:04
My
Cook bought those Mariner Wine Glasses, you can purchase them
from Boat
Chandler outlets, they are unbreakable, dont scratch ect,
any way the Wine doesn't stay in the Glass very long, nothing like a
good drop of Red lol.
Daza
Reply By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 11:12
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 11:12
stubbie holder top and bottom, no worries.
Follow Up By: Geoff M (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 14:14
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 14:14
Gotta confer with bushfix here .... about 5 years now and not one breakage. (touch wood)
Follow Up By: Bunny - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 16:34
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 16:34
Sounds like my idea of stubby coolers isn't such a bad one after all....might go with that first time and see how it goes.
Reply By: Nickywoop - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 11:12
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 11:12
Bunny,
You only need a glass if you drink out of a cask, then a vegemite glass holds enough and is cheap to replace if you smash it.
If it's bottled wine, just do what we do, drink it out of the bottle, saves breakages, saves washing up and tastes just as good, and still works.
Regards Nick
Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 11:17
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 11:17
How many gulps to a bottle do you reckon?
Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 11:30
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 11:30
Yeah you have to Sip wine, not Gulp or Guzzle, crikey mate, drinking
out of the Bottle, next you will be telling us you eat the Prawn Shells
also lol.
Daza
Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 14:09
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 14:09
too right Daza
i just put the whole prawn in, tail first. it's all good and you get a tickle as the feelers go in last he he...
Follow Up By: G.T. - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 15:27
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 15:27
Keep the bottle in the brown paper bag that the bottle
shop supplied.
Sit on a
park bench and pass it around. Regards G.T.
Follow Up By: Bunny - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 16:35
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 16:35
Think I'll pass on these suggestions......but have to commend you for your creativity!!!
Reply By: austastar - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 11:43
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 11:43
Short lengths of plastic plumbing??
Reply By: cackles - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 11:55
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 11:55
Our crowd can't be trusted with anything less than stainless steel wine glasses, have the nice weighty feel of glass too.
Plastic ones become a problem when the base falls off, you end up drinking more as you can't put the glass down until it's empty.
cackles
Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 12:25
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 12:25
I dont use wine glasses but.....what about in stubby holders inside a PVC tube with end caps..or a post pack?
Follow Up By: Bunny - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 16:36
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 16:36
A post pak tube might be just the thing I'm looking for.....sounds great. I'll check them out at AP
Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 07:29
Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 07:29
Cackles,
Had the same problem with the base falling off.
Solution - sand/loam just push the glass into the ground, harder ground use a peg to make a hole.
Reply By: Mark B - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 13:17
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 13:17
Hi Bunny,
Like Motley, we use the tasting glasses (often used in wineries) - also use them at home ! However, we always take 2 with us, stored in a foam block. This is a rectangular shaped block of (fairly) high density foam - dimensions, longer than the length of 2 glasses, and about 4 to 5 inches square (if you can visualise that).
Then my wife slowly cut out an indentation in the shape of each glass (2 recesses - one for each glass), so that it is the shape of the glass and the glass sits below the top edge when in the foam.
Then place anywhere convenient. Good to drink from, and no problems transporting.
Good luck with whatever you end up doing.
Cheers, Mark.
Reply By: TerraFirma - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 13:39
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 13:39
We have hangers and also put stubby holders around the glasses as they hand down.
Reply By: Happy Camper Trailers - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 14:44
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 14:44
We use metal wine goblets and metal mugs for beer - no breakage and keeps beer nice and cold
Reply By: Member - Drew T (Melbourne) - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 15:39
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 15:39
We tried many types of glasses over the years as we always preferred to use normal wine glasses. We have now settled on some simple low-wide glasses (tumblers?) which we use for any cold drink .. white wine, red wine, spirits etc. We still prefer glass over plastic. Tumblers are more rugged than wine glasses (with their stems), don't tip over easily, & take up considerably less storage space. We pack them inside each other with a bit of cardboard separating them, wrap the lot in a small piece of bubble wrap, & secure the lot with a rubber band
Reply By: HappyCamper - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 16:29
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 16:29
G'day Bunny
I use winery type glasses that I buy at the local Op
Shop for 50 cents each and put these into a neoprene stubby (bottle) holder. Been using the same glasses for quite a few years with no breakages. Funny part is the stubby holder is more expensive than the wine glass!! LOL
;-))
Follow Up By: Bunny - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 16:38
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 16:38
Excuse my ignorance.....neoprene - similar to polystyrene?
Follow Up By: T-Ribby - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 18:24
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 18:24
neoprene is the stuff they use to make wetsuits and stubby holders, polystyrene is that nuisance lightweight packing around new TV's etc.
T.R.
Follow Up By: HappyCamper - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 11:01
Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 11:01
Thanks T-Ribby!!
Bunny, the stubby holders I use are the zippered ones as they are taller than the 'can' holders, think they are $2.50 each at GoLo and other el cheapos, but more expensive at touristy
places.
Much nicer drinking out of glass and not as messy as straight from the cask!! LOL
Hope this helps?
HC;-))
Reply By: Member - michael P (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 17:02
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 17:02
We have two systems we have found successful. In the trailer, and stored in a drawer, we use the protectors that come on bottles of alcohol purchased duty free at the airport. There's never any problem asking for extras as they do have a tendency to wear out with the constant use we give them!! We also keep our china tea mugs this way. Wine and tea just aint the same out of plastic!!
In the back of the car for 4x4 day trips we keep another 4 wine glasses in a small plastic tool box which we have lined with pieces of foam glued together to keep them separated and secure.
We're still using the same wine glasses after 8 years and some heavy duty driving.
Reply By: Bill n Di - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 18:21
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 18:21
We put those little Not Hot covers (like wetsuit material) on and just put them in the cupboard - then they'll already to use when we get there as well!
Reply By: Member - Bob S (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 19:53
Tuesday, Jul 08, 2008 at 19:53
We have used stubby holders without any problems but with larger wine glasses we have wrapped them in the anti-slip matting you can buy at $2 shops, Spotlight,etc. Never had a breakage. When you are in the Desert the red does taste better in glass.
Reply By: Mike - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 09:50
Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 09:50
Quite a few years ago, I made a small box with some ply wood. I cut some foam to fit inside and sculpted the foam out, with a
stanley knife, to make recesses to take 4 tasting glasses. I have since redesigned the inside to take a couple of small champaign flutes. So we travel with 2 wine glasses and 2 flutes, no point roughing it toooooo much eh? Wine definitely tastes better in good glasses. The box makes the glasses bullet proof. (almost)
Happy trails, Mike.
Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 12:25
Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 12:25
I am pleased to see quite a few punters on the
forum insisting on decent glasses. You can ruin good wine by drinking it out of the wrong vessel. I've found the neoprene stubby holders with zipper sides the best way to store the standard tasting glass.
Reply By: pprass - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 14:23
Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 14:23
One of our pleasures when we go camping is to have a good wine with very good wine glasses. As mentioned before - it tastes different from vegimite jars or plastic. So we carry 2 Riedel type Bordeaux glasses - those big bowled ones with a long stem that can hold nearly a bottle of wine in each. (not that we do that!!)
The way we carry them is to wrap them in bubble wrap and then insert them into an insulated double wine bottle carry bag. The carry bag has stiff sides and that is placed in a neat little compartment at the back of the drawer syatem.
We have been all over the place with these glasses -
Simpson Desert, Fraser Isl,
Flinders Ranges, Victorian High Country, very rough tracks across Bunyip State Park (just last weekend) and have not had one break in 8 years while in the back of the wagon.
Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 17:57
Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 17:57
For our glassware we have foam rubber or plastic about 75mm thick and cut out a hole the size of each type of glass with a craft knife. Creates a nice tight fit and by leaving a gap between each one they dont bang together
Works for wine bottles as well.
Put nonslip mats underneath and never broken one yet.
Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 17:59
Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 17:59
Didnt explain that too well we use a sheet the size of the shelf in the cupboard and cut the holes to fit so you can get about say 9 holes depending on the cupboard size.
Reply By: Member - Woodsy - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 07:55
Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 07:55
Hi Bunny
I have for years used the same cardboard container and never broken a glass.
Take one appropriate sized, good quality, good wall thickness, cardboard box, say 25mm taller than your tallest glass.
Make dividers from thick cardboard and fold a flap at the end of the divider at 90°. Dividers to finish 5mm from the top of the box. Glue in place with liquid nails.
Put a 15 - 20mm thick piece of foam or styrene in the bottom of each compartment.
Make a heavy cardboard lid that will drop into the 5mm recess at the top
Voila!! A simple receptacle that will pack easily and protect your glasses. I am using the same boxes I made about 15 years ago, but a bit tatty by now.
If you are really anal, like me, you can make the compartments to suit individual glasses. My boxes each hold 2 x glass mugs or ceramic mugs with handles, 2 x drinking glasses and 2 x wine glasses. Everyone knows where the glasses are and where they go after washing up.
If there are more than two people to cater for the take a second box that now lets you cater for four people. etc etc