Seam Sealer Info Please?
Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 09:32
Geoff1967
My new tent recommends I seal the seams.
A few quick questions:
How much is it and where do I get it?
How often do you have to use seam sealer? Is it essential or only 'recommended'?
Any tips/tricks to doing it? How long after sealing the seams are they waterproofed?
Thanks for any advice.
Reply By: kiwicol - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 09:50
Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 09:50
I use a candle and rub it down the seam with tent dismantled, has worked for many years. Col
Reply By: Notso - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 10:03
Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 10:03
Any good
camping store will sell seam sealer.
Even if the seams are taped it is still a good idea to seal them.
The sealer bottle should tell you how often to do it, or speak to the dealer.
Reply By: EscapeArtists - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 12:17
Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 12:17
Gday there Geoff1967,
Good question, a little more info on the tent would be handy.
ie; canvas?/nylon etc. no worries :)
Follow Up By: EscapeArtists - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 12:38
Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 12:38
This link maybe helpful, have used it before for all sorts of nods and sods including nappy rash. Coughs, Colds, Sore Holes! and Pimples on ya Doodle! .. works great as a Canvas
water repellent as
well :)
check it out
http://tinyurl.com/27qqwz
Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 17:39
Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 17:39
Hey Escape Artist, must be bloody good stuff!! The mind boggles!! LOL
Follow Up By: EscapeArtists - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 17:53
Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 17:53
Gday barry F,
just do a google search on "wool fat" its been around for donkeys years and is still one of the best
water repellants going .. however it has changed its name somewhat over the years.
Used in alot of things from soap to ..yep, waterproofing products..
i think my seniors here on ExplorOz would have definately heard of it :)
Follow Up By: madcow - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 12:47
Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 12:47
Joseph Liddys?
Reply By: Geoff1967 - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 12:47
Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 12:47
Its nylon.
Follow Up By: EscapeArtists - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 12:55
Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 12:55
then i would be going with Notso's advice thus far mate :)
Reply By: Louie the fly - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 17:28
Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 17:28
We keep alittle in a spray bottle. If there's a leak you can wait till it drys then spray it before you forget. And keep a piece of white chalk with it - for marking the leak when you see it.
Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 17:53
Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 17:53
Check out this thread .....57057 it may help
Reply By: Geoff1967 - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 21:23
Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 21:23
Just a bit more on this. Ive now had the tent set up for 24 hours and we've had a few hours of fairly constant rain here in
Sydney. Not a single drop has come through the seams.
Is it possible I don't need to do this?
Follow Up By: kiwicol - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 22:29
Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 22:29
extactly why i found candle wax to be the best and cheapest. Col