Skytrek Feedback
Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 22:53
Jezzainthehilux
gday,im taking the family along the sky trek and am wondering if the property owners allow dogs on their land. cheers jezz
Reply By: Member - Brad S (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 23:51
Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 23:51
A bunch of us went up to Willow Springs a few weeks ago.
Thoroughly rained out so we couldn't do the
SkyTrek. Planning another try in a few weeks. One couple had a
well behaved pair of pooches with them. I believe they did the courteous thing and phoned for permission first. Be mindful that the only
places you can probably have dogs with you is on private property. The National Parks are no go zones.
Also be aware there are baiting programs running through the Flinders at lot of the time.
Follow Up By: Crackles - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 19:47
Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 19:47
"The National Parks are no go zones." Looking on my map it appears one has no choice but to drive through a National
Park to get to Willow Springs from any direction making it hard to get there with a dog & not break the law. Dogs unfortunately also cut out trips to Wilpena, Bunyeroo, Aroona,
Arkaroola & the
Gammon Ranges.
Follow Up By: Member - Brad S (SA) - Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 00:49
Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 00:49
I stand to be corrected on this but...
No, you can't take pets et al into National Parks but transporting them on gazetted roads which pass through National Parks might not be an issue...just keep 'em inside the vehicle and not in the
park. You could do worse than to ask.
Brad
Reply By: Nuccaleena Cottage and Moolooloo Shearers Quarters - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 14:48
Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 14:48
Hey Jezz,
I have to completely agree with Brads comment. As a Station owner in the Flinders I would reccommend that any time you have questions regarding Private Property access/restrictions please phone first.
Sky Trek is a fantastic track. We did it last
Easter. Hope you enjoy the trip. Don't forget to pack your camera, scenery is fantastic!
Lisa
http://nuccaleenacottage.com.au/blog/
Reply By: RobAck - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 18:18
Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 18:18
Jezz the advice is sound. Ring first and gain approval prior to arriving on their doorstep with the pets. Remember Willow Springs is a working property and so has its own dogs who may not take kindly to intruders. As
well Operation Bounce Back owns part of the property. They rehabilitate land and encourage the return of the rare and beautiful yellow foot rock wallaby.
So it is both a working property and a sensitive environment.
So please respect the opportunity and ask before heading up there
Apart from that enjoy the trip there is plenty to see and do up there. Drop your tyre pressures to around 26 psi for the climb up to Mt Caernarvon to avoid wheel spin and eroding the track
RobA
Reply By: Chaz - Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 13:14
Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 13:14
Skytrek is run and owned by the Reynolds family of Willow Springs, but a large portion of the track ( over the Bunkers and Loves
Mine Range ) goes through the Bunkers Conservation Reserve and definitely no dogs are allowed to be within its confines. As mentioned before, even if the private property owners allow dogs on their property, the Conservation Reserve Managers won’t and there’s no way to get there, but to travel through a National
Park.
Best to leave the dogs at home.
Reply By: Jezzainthehilux - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 08:55
Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 08:55
Gday all,
thanks very much for the replies and sorry i havnt responded sooner.
We opted to leave our four legged friend at home as we didnt want to be at all limited on this short trip.
We actually didnt make it up as far as the skytrek because we only had four days and there was so much to see and do before we got there!
The tracks we did were the Bartagunyah track (just south of
Melrose) the Yapoona springs track (between
Wilmington and
Quorn)and the Bunbinyunna track on the
Merna Mora station.
The
Merna Mora track was the highlight, recent rain had greened things up and the scenery was truly awesome.
All three tracks we did were easy with Bunbinyunna being the most challenging but no worries with an 05 turbo diesel hilux.
We also called into the
Argadells station on the way home and will definetly explore their property on our next trip.
We had a great time and cant wait to get back to the Flinders.
Can anybody suggest any tracks that might be a bit more challenging?the
Bendleby,s maybe?
cheers Jezz and family.
Follow Up By: Patrolman Pat - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 20:14
Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 20:14
For a more challenging track try billy Goat ridge at
bendleby or Mt Arden at
Argadells. both are excellent tracks that will test you out and give great
views.
Reply By: Jezzainthehilux - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 07:04
Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 07:04
thanks mate will jeep those in mind.
Follow Up By: Jezzainthehilux - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 07:07
Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 07:07
oops,how do i edit my posts! keep those in mind,no pun intended!