Sent a request to Exploroz for some Stickers, Got out a Cold Beer
and checked the Forum, crikey, its Quieter than the Coolangatta
Cemetery at Midnight, whats going on?
Us poor buggers who didn't go to the gathering, better make the
most of the Forum, while we can.

Now if any body wants to know any thing about 4x4s or Tents or
Caravans ect just feel free to ask me, I will blow some hot air into
these subjects, with out makeing my self look to clever or to dumb.

Now Grab a Few Drinks and lets have our own Gathering, with out
having to drive Corrugatted Roads sucking in Dust and listening to
are we there yet.

Daza

Reply By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 17:40

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 17:40
sounds bloody good to me daza!!!!
AnswerID: 314694

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 17:47

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 17:47
Yeah Mark

I am on my Second Coldie, just getting the Taste.
FollowupID: 580722

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 17:49

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 17:49
back now, with cold 1,mmmm thats betta
FollowupID: 580723

Reply By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 17:49

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 17:49
Yeah, let's stoke up the campfire, grab a coldie, and get some stuff happening here...going by res-q-guys post just a while ago a few others like Footy and Bushfix are on for a yarn..LOL

Fred.
AnswerID: 314695

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 17:54

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 17:54
Why, I once knew a bloke who'se voice was so loud that it travelled around Australia and came back and hit him on the head. It fair knocked him out, it did LOL
FollowupID: 580728

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 17:59

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 17:59
Hey Footie

Hows it going mate, did you sort that Sim card out?
FollowupID: 580732

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 18:03

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 18:03
Did you grab one for me mate?

well i woke up this morning

and it felt so good out, I left it out all day.

heading bush tomorrow just for an overnighter swagging it in the Yengo somewhere.
AnswerID: 314696

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 18:06

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 18:06
Hi Bush Fix

Excuse my ignorance, wheres Yengo mate?
FollowupID: 580734

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 19:52

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 19:52
big Nat Park a few hrs north of Sydney, nice bush.

reckon it'll be a three dog night though.

FollowupID: 580757

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 20:17

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 20:17
Bushfix, my offer for Camp Coona in the Pilliga still stands...only about - 4 there at night at the moment. Should be going up there in a couple of weeks myself.

Fred.
FollowupID: 580772

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 20:26

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 20:26
very kind of you again Fred. I will send you an MM.

kind regards,

Jeremy.
FollowupID: 580775

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 18:04

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 18:04
I 'll go along with that Daza. I have been sitting near the beer frig & heater ( its bloody cold hear in Newcastle) for the past half our ( two stubbies actually) & having a bo peep on the Forum now & then to see what's new, and yep, you are right, it's a bit quiet.

So do you mind if I ask you a Question or two ?? I'm a "newbie" & want to buy a vehicle to tow my Van. What would you suggest I tow it with, O wise one? A Commodore or a Camry ? & should the tow vehicle be powered by petrol or diesel. OR a combination of both of these fuels.
Now the van's loaded weight is just under three tonne. Do you think I should have some brakes fitted? Also should I get some Weight Distribution equipment. ( A mate of mine said there was no need for this expensive equipment as all he does is leave the jockey wheel on & wound down pretty tight to relieve the weight a bit on the tow bar. Seems logical to me, but what would you advise.
Also, my wife does not like getting her feet wet from damp grass when we stop overnight at roadside camps, so I want to take a lawn mower. What do you reckon, 2 stroke or 4 stroke? My mate said a 2 stoke was cheaper to run because it only had to do half the number of strokes compared to a four stroke. Sounds logical, but your advise would be good to have for reassurance purposes.
If you could get back to me pretty quick it would be good, as we intend to set off with our new rig to cross the Simpson week after next. It will be our first experience towing a van & we are looking forward to it immensely. It will also be good to share our adventures with you if we get back home safe & sound. Cheers & thanks.
AnswerID: 314697

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 18:11

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 18:11
Hi Barry

I would say yes to all those questions, as long as the Cook agrees
to mow the grass, cause you are on holidays.

Next Question.
FollowupID: 580735

Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 18:18

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 18:18
Thanks for confirming what I thought. As you have gathered, my wife & I have spent a lot of time planning, preparing, reading the archives Etc. to make sure we do things right & safely, But it's always comforting to have the support of an experienced person such as yourself. Many thanks. I will now have a beer for you in appreciation.
FollowupID: 580736

Follow Up By: GREENDOG ! - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 18:21

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 18:21
Talking Beers,what does one Drink
FollowupID: 580738

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 18:46

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 18:46
VB or XXXX
FollowupID: 580744

Follow Up By: Louie the fly - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 18:46

I like the sound of a diesel/petrol dual fuel setup. Has anyone done this. I bet its great for cold starts in the Vic High Country. Reminds me of a funny story.
FollowupID: 580745

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 20:01

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 20:01
Hey Louie

Is that the sound Toyotas make on a Cold Morning? lol
FollowupID: 580763

Follow Up By: Louie the fly - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 20:24

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 20:24
Hey settle down Daza. Nah, we had this old Fiat 50HP tractor at work years ago, 6cyl diesel. Sometimes on a cold morning it was hard to start so we would spray a bit of aerostart down the intake tube. One time we had no aerostart so one of the guys asked me what we could do. I said "get a rag, soak it in petrol & hold it over the intake", meaning don't take the filter housing off, just hold the rag over the opening.Well he took the filter housing off, held the rag over the intake tube and got another guy to crank it. It started but sucked the rag into the intake. I heard it from the workshop, ran up there and the thing was billowing out white smoke. It sounded like a top fuel dragster going full tilt. And when we pulled the cutout it kept running. Only able to stop it by holding a piece of cardboard over the intake pipe. Funny as. It didn't do any noticeable damage, and compressions were all as per previous 500 hour service, but it did seem to start a bit easier after that.
FollowupID: 580773

Reply By: GREENDOG ! - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 18:14

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 18:14
Jeez geat minds think alike,just got home had a shower now it's time for a cold beer and check out the forum,glad i'm not alone.cheer's GREENDOG
AnswerID: 314698

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 18:19

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 18:19
Hi GREENDOG

The second one tastes better than the first, just washes the pallet
ready for the next.
FollowupID: 580737

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 18:28

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 18:28
hey GREENDOG , wots the go with your mate on thread no. 59619?
FollowupID: 580741

Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 18:34

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 18:34
I just had a look at that thread, missed it back in July. Nasty hey.
There are times when He/She makes some intelligent & helpful comments, but reading that makes you wonder what motivates the person. Cheers.
FollowupID: 580742

Follow Up By: GREENDOG ! - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 18:49

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 18:49
NO Mate of mine, we don't need that kind of crap on here, just a loser in my book
FollowupID: 580746

Reply By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 18:43

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 18:43
I'm quite enjoying the fact that there are far fewer posts about:

which sports team is better than which other sports team
who is about to pack their vehicle to go somewhere
the personal chatter between people who should either marry or desist
the amusing anecdotes which only about 3 people understand
the (seemingly) eternal “Follow-ups” in hijacked threads
the whole “fun banter” thing when it clogs the forum
the list goes on…

Such is “The Internet” :)

AnswerID: 314704

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 18:46

Hear hear!
FollowupID: 580743

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 19:44

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 19:44
Yeah good onya Mike and shaker , have a bleep in whinge , after all theres no one here to listen to ya anyway..... bleep in sooks if ya cant handle all the banter and fun on the forum alls i can say and bother to say to you pair of jerks ....is bleep OFF
FollowupID: 580753

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 19:52

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 19:52
>after all theres no one here to listen to ya anyway.....

Fair point; I'd say you qualify as no one.

FollowupID: 580758

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 19:54

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 19:54
Hey Borgy

Just keep Cool mate, ignore it, dont ignite it, and it will go away,
some people, just can't blend in and be sociable,around our camp fire tonight.
FollowupID: 580760

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 19:58

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 19:58
just makes me wonder if this tosser and that DIO tosser are one and the same???....Definitley tarred with the same brush....WANKERS!!
FollowupID: 580762

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 20:04

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 20:04
someone chuck some more wood on the fire,its getting cold in here, conversation wise that is.
FollowupID: 580764

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 20:12

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 20:12
Borgy... my boy... I just did a search on your name on this forum - 363 hits! most of them seeming to contribute to the garbage I was referring to - I'm not surprised you're annoyed by my post.

Good.

Now Grow Up and improve your posts.

FollowupID: 580768

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 20:14

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 20:14
And what a good fire it is...whose shout is it?,...and Borgy, well said mate....cheers.

Fred.
FollowupID: 580770

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 20:24

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 20:24
MIKE H; whenever you get on this forum you seem to upset the apple cart and have a go at any one who wants to have something legible to say.

come on, try to be at least civilised and join in and contribute something useful.
FollowupID: 580774

Follow Up By: Louie the fly - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 20:26

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 20:26
grinning like a Cheshire cat and thinking WTF?
FollowupID: 580776

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 20:33

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 20:33
LOUIE ; that'd be the stuff your drinkin makin ya grin eh??
FollowupID: 580779

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 21:03

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 21:03
>come on, try to be at least civilised and join in and contribute
>something useful.

Oh... I think I've done that once or twice Mark G.

Rather more, I think, than the people I am referring to... you included....

This is, essentially, a forum about the Australian bush not a forum for individuals to postulate themselves.

FollowupID: 580789

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 21:21

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 21:21
"Borgy... my boy... I just did a search on your name on this forum - 363 hits! most of them seeming to contribute to the garbage I was referring to"

For one Harding ...I aint your boy!! ...Luckily for you!!

Cop this good people ...Harding , amongst other things is now also a speed reader....363 posts and according to him most of them seem to contribute to the garbage he was refering to....pretty good i think , to be able to read 363 posts in such a short period of time....
FollowupID: 580791

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 21:30

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 21:30
Borgy, I did the same excercise as you and came to the same conclusion...this bloke's got six...he can't be that silly pulling one????? ROTFLMAO...what an ego!!!!!
Anyway, Borgy, it's your shout.

Cheers mate.
FollowupID: 580793

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 21:39

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 21:39
theres no reasoning with you, is there mike?
if you dont like the way things are done around here..........LEAVE!!!!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 580795

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 22:49

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 22:49
Try reading this ....... ThreadID: 59305

BTW .. the Campfire is at Overlander.
FollowupID: 580811

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 23:01

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 23:01
Quick someone....give Mike a medal....
You want one as well Shaker???

Or perhaps you'd both prefer a cuddle??
FollowupID: 580815

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 23:09

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 23:09
Judging by the quality of the posts tonight, it must be a full moon.
FollowupID: 580819

Follow Up By: Louie the fly - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 23:29

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 23:29
Mike, did you pay Shaker guy to post??? lol

STMTO
FollowupID: 580821

Follow Up By: Louie the fly - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 23:36

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 23:36
Louie the fly posted:
Mike, did you pay Shaker guy to post??? lol

STMTO

was meant to read

Mike, did you pay that Shaker guy to post that thread reference??? lol

SLMTO

What a total that was cokup hey.... Feel like a mega DH. Wheres my rock again?
FollowupID: 580822

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 00:34

Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 00:34
Come on Mike, it's a member's thing, join in may or Nov this year or last and you became an owner of the site.

didn't they tell you?

anyway I'm looking forward of hearing HEEP'S of crap about some stupid FLAG for the next six months.. LOL NOT

It's a new breed

FollowupID: 580828

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 01:06

Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 01:06
Good evening Richard , how the heck are you tonight???
FollowupID: 580831

Reply By: Member - Kenneth Trevor B (QLD - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 18:55

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 18:55
have your beer i just pulled out the port bottle
AnswerID: 314705

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 19:44

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 19:44
There was a time when I used to drink Port with a Beer Chaser,
now that I have got older & wiser I just stick to Beer or Wine.
FollowupID: 580754

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 19:58

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 19:58
there are some bargains around for 6 or 7 dollars. Usually pace the beers and nip the port before turning in if there is no single malt prepared.
FollowupID: 580761

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 20:11

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 20:11
I am quite partial to a drop of Moon Shine Madness with my Coffee
when we go to the Stanthorpe Wineries I buy a few bottles.
FollowupID: 580767

Reply By: SPRINT-GTO - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 19:23

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 19:23
Forget the port I prefer TOKAY--much better than port, but a little dearer.
AnswerID: 314710

Reply By: Member - Madfisher - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 20:19

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 20:19
I must have b.o. the moment I join up everyone pisxes off .Personally I miss the banter even if I am not into football.
Put another log on
AnswerID: 314713

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 20:35

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 20:35
Pete. I can see you're gonna blend in just fine. Don't worry mate, the mob that have bleep off for a few days will be back soon enough, and then get ready for some banter.

Fred.
FollowupID: 580780

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 20:38

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 20:38
yeah wondered what that was, wooo!

what sort of banter? protestant or catholic?

who pinched my uggies?
FollowupID: 580781

Reply By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 20:25

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 20:25
Cripes I need to go for a pee already. Put another log on the fire while I'm gone fellars.... LOL

The camp fire down here in Latte town is suffering a -3C wind chill factor and blowing like a bilious Camel.

Feel sorry for any poor buggar working on a crew up in the High Country at the moment.

Kim
AnswerID: 314715

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 20:39

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 20:39
too right, got to be cold enough to freeze the nuts off a brass monkey.
FollowupID: 580782

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 20:39

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 20:39
Ahh chit, we woke Kim...sorry mate. Pull up a stump. For once we get a chance to send you some of the weather we had the last couple of days.

Fred.
FollowupID: 580783

Follow Up By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 20:53

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 20:53
Gidday Fred

How's the bush block going?

Kim
FollowupID: 580785

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 21:03

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 21:03
Yeah, good Kim. We are in the process of some more improvements, such as a deck between the 2 vans. Much regrowth after the Xmas 06 fires, and very cold at the moment, but we have the luxury of unlimited firewood supply for our campfire. Welcome to visit mate. It's just 20 K's out of Coonabarabran.

Fred.
FollowupID: 580790

Follow Up By: Stu & "Bob" - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 22:56

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 22:56
Come up here Kim, Still sparking up the A/c of an evening.

FollowupID: 580813