I've broken the back of the Chevnissan.!!!!!!!!!!!!
Submitted: Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 18:35
Member - Roachie (SA)
Sad but true.......I've just driven the Patrol off the back of a float. I rode back with the truck driver who had gone to
Birdsville to collect 2 broken 4bys (a 4.2TD Landcruiser and a GQ Ute...petrol).
The Cruiser was wearing a EO spare wheel cover and the plate was a Victorian rego with a male's christian name of 4 letters followed by the numerals "88". (I won't say what the name was inc ase I embarrass the owner or cause some other drama).
The chassis of my Patrol cracked and was deemed "a problem" around Arrabury Station on the trip from
Innamincka to
Birdsville a few days ago.
We limped into
Birdsville, being careful of every bump, but decided not to risk a trip down the
Birdsville Track to get home (let alone the planned Simpson crossing).
Anyway, I'll be busy trying to sort this mess out now with my insurer.....
Damn!!!!!!!
Cheers to all
PS: Hey Ruth, thanks for keeping "mum" about my problems.... good to see you at
Birdsville and sorry you couldn't make it to 'mincka......
Reply By: Member - Madfisher - Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 18:47
Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 18:47
Sorry to hear that Roachie, bit of a buggar, hope it all works out.
Reply By: Member - Axle - Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 19:05
Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 19:05
Hi Roachie, Not a nice thing to happen !!, Didn't have an extra half ton on by any chance?..:))). Hope all works out.
Where did it crack?.
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 10:15
Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 10:15
Axle,
All the damage is around the area of the spring towers, but they themselves have not cracked (as is usually the case with Patrols).
There is only one visible crack, but the sides of the chassis have distorted and the back of the tray is about 70mm lower than the front.
Reply By: Shaker - Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 19:09
Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 19:09
Bad luck, sorry to hear that it ruined your trip.
I would be surprised if your insurer is very interested though.
Reply By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 19:18
Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 19:18
G'day Roachie
Sorry to hear your trip has been ruined mate.....If no go with your insurer , let us know , will get Littleborgy to have a look if you like , he is a tradesman in that field ...
Cheers.....Borgy
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 10:18
Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 10:18
Thanks Dave.
I've been told there is a chassis specialist in South Road, not far from All-trac, but I can't find it on the net or white pages. However, I did find a chassis place not far from there in Brompton (Chassistech).
I plan to take a drive to
Adelaide this coming week and see what they reckon.
Reply By: Member - Footloose - Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 19:30
Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 19:30
What a bummer for you, sorry to hear that. Hope it all ends
well.
Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 20:18
Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 20:18
Hi Roachie.
Bad luck mate, the Insurance People should cover that sort of damage, the Engineering Certificate for your modifications will be on
file ect, they will probably cover your repairs, but not your recovery
costs. lets hope thing work out all right.
Daza
Reply By: GREENDOG ! - Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 21:24
Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 21:24
Sorry to hear about the Patrol Roachie,hope all go's
well with the insurance dude.cheer's GREENDOG
Reply By: GREENDOG ! - Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 21:28
Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 21:28
I forgot any pic's
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 10:26
Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 10:26
This is the only visible crack.
This is Pud and Barb's Chev 6.5 bogged at Coongie Lakes. He had recently serviced his AVM manual locking hubs and had too much grease in there. So, when he locked the hubs (or thought he had), the mechanism didn't actually engage and he was really still in 2wd......
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 17:35
Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 17:35
Hi Roachie where is that crack located on the chassis rail??
Does the box on the back extend past the end of the chassis itself??
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 17:59
Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 17:59
G'day John,
The crack is just forward of the axle. You can see the end of the body in the upper section of the photo.
The box/tray is 1200 long and does extend past the end of the chassis by about 200mm (about the same level as where the rear step on a standard Patrol would be)....so overall length is about the same....BUT... then I have 2 x 315's on the back of the box.
I'm sure it'll be okay once I get the chassis straightened AND strengthened.
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 18:24
Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 18:24
The extra weight carried so far back has not helped.
No doubt a good tradie will certainly be able to straighten and strengthen the rails to be better than before.
Just a real $hit when these issues occur and spoil the holidays not to mention the costs and hassles getting it sorted.
Hope it all works out OK for you.
Reply By: Member - Luke (SA) - Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 21:34
Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 21:34
G,day Roachie,
Was only thinking this afternoon how your trip was going.
Not what you would call a good holiday, I bet everything was going great until you noticed that!
How bad is it, and where is it. Got any pics??
The Simpson Xing will have to wait another year hey
Good to hear you and the family got home safely.
Cheers Luke
Reply By: Member - Paul Mac (VIC) - Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 22:36
Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 22:36
G'day Roachie,
Bad luck mate !
Now get back to work and get that damn share price back up. I need to unload some soon......LOL
Reply By: Muddies Doe(Trippn) - Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 23:31
Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 23:31
Hi Roachie
Oh, what a feeling.........time for a Toyota!!!
We have initiated the local Toyota dealer to drop by a few brochures for you to peruse, now you have some spare time.
Sorry to hear that you, Annette and the boys have missed out on what would've been a great trip. I'm sure the red stuff will be there when you next travel up that way.
Cya
Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 05:47
Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 05:47
Sorry to hear about your woes Roachie
Hope you got a plan "B"
Hope alll the family is fine
Cheers Mate
Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 07:35
Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 07:35
Roachie,
Bugger.
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 08:27
Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 08:27
Thanks to you all for your best wishes and concern etc.
I'll be investigating the possibility of getting the chassis straightened and plated.
The drama occurred when I hit a large patch of bulldust which was bottomless. One of the pitfalls of being the trip leader I guess.....I was able to alert the other 4 vehicles and they went around it.
The others are still doing the Simpson crossing and I'm hoping they have a good trip with minimal dramas.
Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 09:24
Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 09:24
Gee's Roachie, that must have been some pot hole!. But look on the
bright side, it will come out better and stronger (and heavier!) than before - all ready for more punishment :)
Reply By: Rock Ape - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 17:06
Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 17:06
You might have to get a chevota to fix the problem Roachie
Hope all turns out
well
Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 22:43
Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 22:43
Thats no good mate, I thought that thing was indestructable, but to brighten your day........ Remember the old fart Lucky 's "dropped into a hole at Poolamacca" damage? He's done it again at Cliffhanger, almost the same damage, he's in the
Hill getting repairs, really the sooner he gets his eyes repaired the better.
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 10:12
Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 10:12
Oh my goodness gracious me!!!!!! hahahaha........
What a bugga!!!! ;-(
At least he's got previous experience and has a list of all the tow-truck operators in every town in Australia just to expedite his fix-up.
For me this was a first-time experience of having to be trucked
home......mind you, the Patrol is still quite driveable and for all I know it may have been able to do the trip back from
Birdsville under it's own steam without further damage; but I wasn't game to risk it and the associated recovery cost if I was wrong.
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 19:04
Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 19:04
Gday Roachie,
Sad news :-(
You were wise to truck it back. If you were to keep driving it like that, you damage the diff and transfer case because the bend causes the rear prop shaft to push against the diff.
Will be worth redistributing the weight in the future - maybe roofrack over the cab rather than canopy? Not sure what you can do about 100kgs of tyres on the back.
Hope it all comes back stronger than before.
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 19:19
Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 19:19
Thanks Phil.....she'll be right in the long run......
Reply By: Member - Mudduck (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 19:54
Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 19:54
Sorry to hear about your dramas Roachie, read about it on the ulty
forum. Hope you get it sorted soon.
Cheers Steve.
P.S. still waiting for pix lol
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 21:03
Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 21:03
Thanks Steve,,,,, pics are already posted...see above on one of the responses......
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 12:44
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 12:44
Sorry to read of your misfortune Bill.
We "missed you by that much" at
Innamincka having arrived late the night before you left for
Birdsville.
Found out about 10 o'clock Tuesday you left at nine that morning.
Oh
well, catch you up sometime mate.
PS
That's and interesting photo of Pud and Barbs "bath" at
Coongie Lakes.
Looks like it was on the 4wd track around the edge of the lakes where the track intersects with a smaller
lake.
Bev walked the puddle but after reaching above her knees, I chickened out and went back to the main track. I didn't have a
snorkel or the makings of a blind with me and we were unacompanied by another vehicle. Good side track though.
Bill.
Follow Up By: Krakka - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 10:03
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 10:03
Almost looks like that area in the day visitor park where the
information bay was. Not 100% sure though.
Krakka
Reply By: Redback - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 14:48
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 14:48
Hey Bill, that's a bugger mate, hope you get it sorted soon!!
Reply By: MartyB - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 17:51
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 17:51
Roachie,
Have a talk to Nissan. Telstra nissans have cracked so many chassis that Nissan has a part number for the plates to weld over the cracks.
Marty.
Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 21:07
Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 21:07
Crikey!!!!!!
Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 23:08
Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 23:08
Sorry to hear about the woes mate. Checked through the names at Poeppels in the visitors book and couldn't find you there which surprised us - Navigator 1 - Rob and Charlie, Heather and myself.
I think I left a message on your phone last night... Cheers mate
Reply By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen - Melb) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 21:16
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 21:16
Crikey Roachie
Now I reckon we saw you on the 7th and you left
Innamincka on the 8th - what bad luck.
We had a great time out in the Simpson. Just go
home tonight. Hard to believe that we were hot in the water at Dalhousie on Friday morning and now I am
home and have to front up to work in about ten hours.
Reply By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 23:30
Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 23:30
Well Roachie, it's been said again and again, bugger. I'm sorry for your misfortune.
We just got back from our red centre trip and saw the most amazing bulldust stretches (with hidden surprises) I've seen so I can appreciate your words about being trip leader. And, both our Patrol and the ulti got a little injured (minor).
I wondered if you had seen the article in a recent vks mag about a Patrol with a pod having a similar problem. Probably not illuminating but anyway you're not alone.
Good luck with it.
Cheers JD
Reply By: Blaze - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 10:03
Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 10:03
Dam Mate,
That sorta tops most of your little mess ups for quite awhile I believe.
I can sympathies with you and know how you felt 200k's into our trip across the Anne Beadell, lent on the draw bar and seen the towbar flex. Thought it was just loose bolts but no the bar was cracked in 3
places, so out with the batteries and welding rods and a quick fix was done but the sinking feeling when it was first noticed isnt a good feeling...
Hope your insurer gets it sorted for you, if not just a suggestion, I hear ANZ have a good insurance plan....LOL
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 18:42
Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 18:42
Thanks mate,
Luckily for me the YP 4WD Club's monthly muck-up award doesn't work on a points system.
So, I can have the occasional MASSIVE muck-up (I seem to have one EVERY year at least) and the club members only get one good laugh from it..... next month somebody could get the award just for suffering a flat tyre.....
If it were points based, I'd be in trouble. My efforts would mean that I'd earn enough points in just one debacle, to ensure that I'd keep getting the award month after month for 2 or 3 years at a time.....hahahaha
Reply By: Mainey (wa) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 18:28
Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 18:28
You post -> "Anyway, I'll be busy trying to sort this mess out now with my insurer"
Will the insurance company cover the chassis damage (repair costs) or just the costs of trip home on the back of the truck??
Mainey . . .
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 18:39
Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 18:39
Mainey,
I had to do a cash deal with the truck owner to save myself $300- (ie: $1200 cash or $1500- if it was made "official"). Given that I didn't know whether my insurance would cover the transport costs, I opted for the "$300- in the hand is better than an invoice in the bush" approach....hahaha
I'm hoping the insurer will agree with me that I "collided" with a hidden obstacle (to wit; one deep, hidden bulldust hole) and that it was therefore a legitimate claim for damage occasioned
on the road in the normal course of travel.