Submitted: Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 20:03
Geoff1967
Its amazing how just one or 2 bad groups in a whole
camp area can ruin it for everyone else.
Last night I stayed in
the Pines camp in the Watagans North of
Sydney. It's a very pleasat location and the
camp is right next to a running stream. There's tables, fireplaces and you
camp amongst the tall trees.
Its a pity a few feral campers have to have the loud music going until 2.00am. Their alcohol-fuelled shouting of obscenties throughout the night was disgusting. At one stage some loud bomb went off (sounded like a gas cylinder) followed by an uproar of laughter. As I drove past their site in the morning, sure enough there was the obligatory cartons of empty stubbies piled up next to an over flowing bin.
All of this happened within meters of families with
young kids.
Admittedly I had heard the Watagans had "gone feral" before going there, but I was truly suprised at how brazen these ferals were. I should add it was only 2 or 3 groups ruining it for everyone else.
What can be done about these people? They seem to be all over the place these days.
Reply By: Hairs (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 20:19
Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 20:19
Hi Geoff,
Sorry to hear of your unpleasant time.
Unfortunately mate they seem to be a growing bread of animal.
I really don't know what the answer is. You can't approach them cause God only knows what might happen. At the very lest they'll tell you to @#$% off, could be far worse.
The thing that gets under my skin is they carry on in front of kids and women with out a care in the world. If you did say something, I could image the barrage of insults and language that would come your way.
You said it was 2 or 3 groups, it only takes 1 idiot to spoil things and that it one idiot too many.
Hope you next trip is more enjoyable.
Reply By: Geoff1967 - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 20:25
Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 20:25
Hi Hairs, I have to say it was only at night-time the "ferals came out". During the day I had a great time and I noticed lots of people enjoying themselves.
There was literally hundreds of people in the Watagans this weekend. The very first site before
the Pines (forgot its name) was chokcers with people. Not suprising really considering its school holidays.
There's 2-3 campsites all within a few kilometers of each other and its amazing what you could hear in the distance from each one. It was like each site had its own feral group in it lol.
Follow Up By: Hairs (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 20:43
Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 20:43
I think Geoff it's becoming more prevalent,
We go to Evans Head each
Easter and have a wonderful time.
Unfortunately each time some clown decides they want to be the center of attention. On a whole it is the best thing for the kids and I know we can't shelter them from everything, but I hate it when you get the swearing and foul mouth behavior that goes with it at 2-4 o'clock in the morning. And that's when the sound travels most.
One year we had a drunk yelling as he walked through the
park telling everybody us campers we're all??? You could image the questions I got from the kids in the morning
Reply By: Ozboc - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 20:54
Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 20:54
i went there a few weeks back for my first weekend stay -- one quick trip around
the pines campsite showed me the same thing you seen - so i just went for a further drive of about 20 min to "The Basin"
had the
campsite to ourselves -- had all the ferrels come past in the morning on there unregistered bikes - but the evenigs were quiet -- BUT this is winter time - i dont think i will even bother in summer
The basin is a very nice spot with an amazing
water hole with waterfalls - but its just a shame it has such easy access - if it was 4x4 access only then a lot of the ferrel problems would dissapear
Boc
Follow Up By: Geoff1967 - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 20:58
Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 20:58
hi ozboc, I was considering pushing on to The Basin but got to the Watagans later than I expected. Its another 21kms past
the pines so I decided not to go. It was amazing how jam packed
the Pines was it looked like a summer caravan
park.
whats the drive like from
the Pines to the Basin? I only have a little Mitsubishi Colt. Does The Basin have many facilities?
Follow Up By: Ozboc - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 07:10
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 07:10
Gday Geoff - the drive isnt that bad - considering that i have a jayco with me - i was able to travel at an average of 50 KMh on the roads - just have to watch out for all the wallabys on the road after dusk -- seen some standard cars over there also like Vl commodore and so
forth -
if you have a GPS i will get you a waypoint list showing the way - just let me know if you want it
As far as Facilities - Just a long drop
toilet near the picnic section- about 100 meters from the
camping area
Boc
Follow Up By: sfletch - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 09:41
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 09:41
The Basin is a good spot to
camp but, in a Colt if it rains you might have trouble getting out, can be a slippery exit, around
the pines area could be better for a 2WD .
Reply By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 21:04
Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 21:04
Parents and society as a whole don't pull these people up as kids.
I once had a 5yo bashing the side of my car with a rock. I asked the child to stop doing it. Mum came out and gave me a right royal mouthful of diatribe. I asked her name. Why she asked? So that I can recover any cost of damage that your child does to my vehicle i replied. She dragged the kid off, letting me know just what she thought of me.
Kids learn quickly that they can do what they want. Go into any
shop or place they hang out and it's F this and F that. In the loudest voices and in any company. Even the police have to wear it.
Gee thanks your Honours. Thanks to all the do gooders out there. Your pigeons are coming home to roost.
Sadly, we all have to bear the costs.
The good news is that it's only the usual suspects that cause any problems. 99% of kids are too busy or involved with good things to generate headlines.
Sadly the other 1% seem to have grown into a protected species.
Reply By: Gronk - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 22:17
Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 22:17
The trouble with the Watagans is its close proximity to
Sydney....so every man and his dog ( and ferals ) come up for a visit..
When I go up there to
camp I go to a secret spot thats only accessable by 4x4, so all the ferals don't bother me..
Follow Up By: Redback - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 14:29
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 14:29
Hey you shoosh!!
Reply By: AdlelaideGeorge - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 08:08
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 08:08
My wife and I had a similar experience in a Nat
Park near
Adelaide a few years ago - that experience remains the main reason we rarely
camp near others - always hidden in a
bush camp wherever/whenever possible.
The Police are the people to contact - the Rangers are rarely (if ever) available after mormal office hours so you should call the Police-use the mobile-that's what they are for. Their jursidiction is not limited - they must come to assist if the behaviour is (as the facts suggest) liable to result in a breach of the peace.
Don't put up with it - a $300 fine (or thereabouts) and an end to their 'fun' is the only thing these morons understand.
(Hopefully) Happy days
George
Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 09:00
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 09:00
Good point George, although you have to consider that if the ferals have any suspicions of who 'dobbed them in' you might wake in the morning to find your tyres slashed etc. This is the problem, they have no respect and are liable to do anything. Maybe a couple of big blokes would intimidate them, but a short bloke like me with wife and
young kids doesn't want to put themselves in a confrontational situation.
Reply By: sfletch - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 09:53
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 09:53
A bit of a sidetrack to this post,i have been going to Ourimbah
State Forest a bit lately, [no
camping] closer and easier to access than the Watagans and cannot believe the amount of rubbish that is being dumped there, no one seems to have any respect for our State Forests, ferals - rubbjsh dumpers, that is why
places get locked and
no access allowed.
As for the Ferals at the Watagans it is a shame cause it is such a nice place to
camp.
Reply By: Ken S - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 10:41
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 10:41
I was camped at Dunn's Swamp when a big group of
young ones arrived , about 50 people in a assortment of vehicles , a lot of utes and a lot of P Plates . They weren't there to
camp but party . A night of drinking and swearing . About 10pm I asked them if they would show a bit of decency for the people camped around them and turn down the music and tone down the language . The music went up louder and the language was as colourful as ever .
If you don't like it F off was their reply . I went back to our
camp but every word they said could be heard and one loud mouth was drumming up support for some one to come over and fight me . About 2am a group of ten
young blokes and one girl started across to our
camp to " bash me " , others in their party could be heard telling them to come back and leave us alone . As I was camped with four
young kids who were wide awake and terrified listening to every word these hoons were saying , I decided that if things were going to happen then it should be away from the kids , so arming myself with a paddle I met this group halfway and I had murder in my eyes as I had had a gut full of the crap that had been going on all night . After a tense stand off they decided to go back to their fire and leave us alone . Then they decided to head back to town so after a display of wheel spinning and do nuts a large convoy of drunk drivers headed up the dirt road back towards town . One vehicle didn't make the first corner and slammed head on into a tree . Didnt kill them selves . Turns out they were local kids from
Kandos Rylstone and
Mudgee .
In a subsequent trip a small group were causing trouble one night and a baby started crying and one hero yelled out to shut the baby up or they would kill it . These hero's were detained by campers until the police and NPW's arrived next morning and after eye witnesss accounts of what had been happening around $3000 worth of fines were dished out to these
young blokes !
Dunns Swamp is a great place and the
Ranger Chris is a great bloke and does his best to deal with these problems . Campers should contact Police and NPW's if you encounter these types .
Was easy when CDMA network was going but now we got Next G its a different story !
Reply By: Geoff1967 - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 11:35
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 11:35
I'm starting to wonder if the best cure for this feral problem is an alchol ban in any public
camping areas.
Some here will say "why should the 99% of decent people be restricted because of a few idiots?". I guess the answer is it only takes 1% of campers to ruin the fun for the 99%. Besides, do we really need to have alcohol when
camping "away from it all" in the bush?
An alcohol ban with a few more ranger/police patrols could definitely help turn around this feral culture of the bush being for loud partying. Let them go to pubs.
Follow Up By: Gronk - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 14:26
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 14:26
Not much use having a grog ban.....the only people to obey it would be the ones not causing trouble..
And if you don't need ( or want) alcohol when
camping then you don't need it anytime ??
I personally like it and I would refuse to let the 1% spoil my fun !!
I think the parents of this 1% need a good look at themselves......how do you bring up a kid and not teach them some sort of respect for anybody else ??
Reply By: Desertrose - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 12:52
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 12:52
I wonder if it would be worth putting a complaint into the powers that be – rangers etc, about your experience Geoff?
I'm sure that they are aware of the littering problem caused by these kinds of people, but maybe if more people were to enlighten them about the sorts of things that really go on....
Well, all you can do is bring awareness to something like this and maybe (wishful thinking perhaps) somebody might have the balls to do something about it!
After all, it's not giving the Watagans a very good reputation!
It makes me SO mad that the minority always spoils it for the majority and they always seem to get away with it!
Perhaps what could be done in these situations is to take the license plate numbers to give to the rangers also?
Maybe even a letter to the local papers to address the situation if nobody seems to care about the complaint.
When we lived over there, not far from the Watagans it was one of our favourite picnic/weekend drives, spots and even when we camped there (2/3 years ago) we NEVER had any problems at all.
I'm disappointed to hear that it's now being spoiled by idiots with no regard for the environment or other people.
Reply By: The Landy - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 15:23
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 15:23
A catch 22 getting involved with those causing the trouble; usually ends up meaning more trouble for yourself. By the time it is a problem, especially where alcohol is involved it is usually too late to do anything at the time.
I think the best thing to do is to note the number plates, take a couple of photos if there is litter or damage and give the detail to the authorities and let them take it from there.
Mind you it is a pity to hear this about
Dunns Swamp as I have had good experiences there in the past.
Follow Up By: Ken S - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 07:20
Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 07:20
Dont be concerned about going to Dunn's
Swamp . Chris the
ranger there has taken to
camping there himself over the periods that are likely to attract the ferals and keeps them under control or moves them along . He loves the place so much he actually got married at Dunn's , he doesn't want to see it go to the pack .
I liked how some locals dealt with a group of ferals a few months back . These blokes were causing trouble around
Tottenham and the locals pursued the offenders but lost them , put a light plane in the sky and found them . After two days of running they were finally apprehended near
Condobolin .
Reply By: Mike Harding - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 16:03
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 16:03
The reality is it's, pretty much, impossible to do anything about these people.
They're usually mob handed and we're usually, alone, with a family or another couple - who's going to take on a group of 10 of 20 who have all the bravado and stupidity of a pack?
If I bring a firearm into view I'm immediately guilty of a crime which could put me away for five years. If I discharge said firearm into the ground or other safe direction I'm looking at ten years.
If I take a pick axe handle I'll probably do three or four of them some damage and the rest will turn me into a paraplegic.
Whatever I do they have 10 times the number of witnesses I do and no matter what I do it's going to end up as a major stuff up which will affect the rest of my life.
As much as I hate to say it, in these circumstances, 99 times out of 100, the best thing to do is quietly pack up
camp and move on - but keep a few rounds handy... just in case.
Reply By: Holden4th - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 19:18
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 19:18
As you pack up at about 6:00 am and these drunken idiots are sleeping off their excesses the use of a tyre valve removal tool to at least three of the tyres in each offending vehicle gives a very strong message
well after you have moved on. BTW, don't forget to throw away the valves! Revenge is a dish best eaten cold.
Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 19:20
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 19:20
What was there reply when you asked them to quiet down?
Follow Up By: Geoff1967 - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 20:12
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 20:12
I didnt mate. Wasnt worth the angst and I was alone with my dog. I was more concerned about the younger families around me.
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 20:22
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 20:22
What would you expect it to be Hairy?
Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 20:39
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 20:39
Gday Mike,
Dont really know the situation.
But the reason I ask is the group I go bush with, look prety rough, can at times be loud and grog usually flows fairly
well. We also nominate a can pile and throw them that direction until we go and then clean up (usually takeing
home more rubbish than we came with).
And if someone POLITELY asked us to pipe down , it wouldnt be a problem.
Just recently a lot of people have been complaining about other campers, and I havent heard from anyone who has asked them to be a little quiter? People might be suprised?
Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 22:53
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 22:53
Talbotville on the long weekend.
Same scenario plus unregistered trailbikes and 4 wheelers of the cheap chinese variety.
They spent most of their time doing donuts and generally annoying other campers, chucking gas cannisters in the fire at night just metres from where kids in our group were camping.
The
Camp Hosts from VAFWDC's association with DSE/Parks Vic were completely uninterested. I spoke to the
ranger from Heyfield the following week who had actually spoken to the group and warned them on the Saturday morning.
I emailed him with the rego's of their vehicles and sent him a disc with the video file of their activities on the bikes.
He'll be pursuing fines.
Video it - you can always pretend to be on the phone these days. Get their details and complain.
I hope they spend their fuel budget for the next 10 long weekends on fines and stay stuck in Frankston where they came from.
Reply By: Happy Camper Trailers - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 17:15
Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 17:15
Sorry to hear about your problem - we were camping at Charlie Moreland (Qld) early this year and we had a bunch of ratbags camping near by. Heard loud bangs all night which turned out to be adults yes adults firing a
home made mortar with potatoes as -I always find if you talk to the
ranger something is usually done and things soon quieten down the next night
Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 17:59
Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 17:59
That reminds me of a similar experience in the Deua River Park near Moruya many years ago.
One guy had a generator running til 2.00 am to power street lighting, a stereo with shocking music (Slim Dusty), and before dark some sort of power tool with which he carved logs.
I am sure my request to consider others just kept him going an extra hour.
Unfortunately, the anti-Darwinian Baby Bonus encourages these cretins to reproduce, and means that our kids will have to put up with their grand children.