National Gathering 2009 planning has begun :)

Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 18:43
ThreadID: 59796 Views:5679 Replies:10 FollowUps:43
I have just returned from the fun and games at Innamincka and have started the planning for next years :)

Check it out here

I would like to thank Willem for organising yet another great National Gathering this year and cant wait for his trip report.

The dates for next years National Gathering are 28 Sept till 2 Oct 2009.

Cheers Sir Kev

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 19:09

Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 19:09
Cheeeeezzzzz...you beat me to it by a whisker.....LOL

AnswerID: 315471

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 19:13

Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 19:13
I told you I would do it when I got home LOL

Good to see you made it home

FollowupID: 581614

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 19:23

Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 19:23
Good to see you home save to Willem.
Our name is down already Kev if you need any help we can assist.

Cheers Bruce
FollowupID: 581617

Follow Up By: Member - Nev (TAS) - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 20:23

Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 20:23
Good to hear everyone had a good time and got home safely. Unfortunately next year the Tassie second term break is from the 4-21 September so will not be able to make it. Hopefully one day we will.

FollowupID: 581637

Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 19:21

Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 19:21
Good on ya Kev,
Closer to home this time :)
But a bit early to know if I will be able to come but put me down for an item to be given away/auction for the charity.
I will do up a framed landscape picture.... maybe this one.

It looks ok framed
AnswerID: 315473

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 19:24

Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 19:24
Now why do those birds look so familiar?.......LOL

Cheers and how are ya?
FollowupID: 581618

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 19:26

Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 19:26
Looks good.

Judith raffled some of her paintings while at Innamincka as well.

I hope you can make it.

FollowupID: 581621

Follow Up By: Jo and Mark (Qld) - Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 16:11

Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 16:11
G'Day Peter!

Nice to see you can still dazzle us with your amazing photography!!!

FollowupID: 581960

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 19:31

Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 19:31
There goes the neighbourhood now.
It was so peaceful and tranquil here for the last week or two.
AnswerID: 315479

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 19:32

Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 19:32
Oh, i meant "welcome back"....

FollowupID: 581622

Reply By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 21:08

Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 21:08
Finally enough notice so I can book holidays for it!!!

we pick our holidays for next year in a couple of weeks, are these dates firm???

Cheers Stefan
AnswerID: 315506

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 08:17

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 08:17
These dates are firm................................. But do you want to attend after we win the 4th in a row?? ;)

FollowupID: 581730

Reply By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 00:03

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 00:03
G'day Kev

Furthermore to the MM i sent you mate, thought you might just want to follow this up

Taken from Post No 52218

AnswerID: 274961 Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 12:10
ExplorOz Team - Michelle replied:
Just might add that I'd like to see the 2009 gathering in WA - and have already started headway with the possibility of having it at a private property just outside Wiluna in June/July school holidays - this gives even more reason for the 2008 gathering to be somewhere more to the east side - eg. Innaminka, or Mt Dare is fine.
Click Image to Enlarge
Michelle Martin
ExplorOz Advertising Director
Member: My Profile

Cheers......Borgy
AnswerID: 315539

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 08:06

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 08:06
G'day Dave

We discussed the 2009 Gathering at length and came to the conclusion that a National Gathering in WA or the NT is just not practical due to the tyranny of distance. Now with fuel prices getting to a ridiculous level very few would be able to afford the cost, and time for that matter, to go to WA. Maybe the WA mob can have their own mini National Gathering....lol

We have also moved the date to September as July is a busy financial month for some and the weather is on the cooler side in most places south of DFarwin or Cairns

FollowupID: 581728

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 08:23

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 08:23
And I got in first LOL.

I agree with Willems comments. A gathering organised in WA can still be arranged but I won't be able to attend due to time and financial constraints.

FollowupID: 581731

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 08:26

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 08:26
We could call them "The East Australian National Gathering" and "The West Australian National Gathering" hey

Cheers Bruce.
FollowupID: 581733

Follow Up By: Top End Explorer Tours - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 08:54

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 08:54
Don't forget the people above the 23th parallel, our tourist season is May to November, So attending a gathering in that period is impossible, not only that we have to fork out for fuel to attend the gatherings in the southern part of OZ.

I thought this site was Explore Oz not Explore SE OZ, I am sure that some of us would like to attend, but it doesn't seem possible.

The last 2 gatherings have been convenient to the SE OZ community and it looks like the next one.

So if I was to organize a National gathering in Kakadu in April or May.

Hands up who would attend.

Just my thoughts Steve.

FollowupID: 581735

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 09:30

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 09:30

There are lots of things we all would like to do but which are outside our reach.

Unfortunately with an ExplorOz National Gathering we cannot please everybody

1447 members of this site live in the central and eastern states and 35 live in the NT

By all means have a gathering in Kakadu in April if it hasn't been a BIG WET....lol

Anyway the whole thing is just an informal camp. If you can make it there then it's good. If you can't, it doesn't matter

FollowupID: 581739

Follow Up By: Top End Explorer Tours - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 11:53

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 11:53
G/Day Willem.

A wise man once said " don't come to me with a problem come to me with a solution".

So here goes There is nothing in the EO rules that states you can only have one National gathering per year, So If Kev and Darkie have his in September, I can organize one in May /June and Dave and Michelle can organize one in June/ July.

You might be able to attend 1,2 or all 3 of them.

How about we give all the members a chance at attending as apposed to a select few.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 581753

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 11:59

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 11:59
G'day Kev & Willem

I hope you two didnt take me the wrong way.I was only pointing it out so as to make you aware incase someone thought you were stepping on toes....lol.. The gathering in WA would be no good for me anyway as i have already organised a trip to the Cape next year, hopefully i will be able to plan my trip to coincide with the gathering in september that you are planning, just means maybe i have to spend another month away or organise my trip for a month later...Nah the month extra sounds better..lol..anyway i'll get to one of these gatherings eventually.
If i can help out in anyway with organising Kev , just let me know.

Cheers.....Borgy
FollowupID: 581754

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 12:14

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 12:14

You are trying to make something out of nothing. In other words you are chit stirring. Must be a slow day in the tropics.

The solution is in hand and you can tell your wise man he is wrong

The National Gathering thingy is just a fun thing which was started by Baz and myself in 2005. There wasn't one in 2006 but follow ups were in 2007 and last week. It was organised to co-inside with school holidays so that travelling families who communicate here on the Forum, could drop in on their way past to anywhere, and socialise

The next National Gathering is at St George, Queensland in September 2009 and those who wish to attend for a G'day and take part in the activities are welcome.

Mate, you can organise a gathering of whatever and wherever you like. I really couldn't care less. And don't pull this 'select few' crap with me.

FollowupID: 581755

Follow Up By: Top End Explorer Tours - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 12:25

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 12:25
Hey Willem

No bleep stirring intended, I'm not making anything from anything and not trying to pull any crap from any one.

I won't mention it again, please accept my apologies.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 581756

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 12:30

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 12:30
Borgy,

Another month sounds heaps better than delaying the trip by a month LOL

I have a few places in mind for the GPS activity (it was suggested by Willem after his comments before the gathering at Innamincka) mainly at locations of interest.

I am sure there will be stuff to be sorted before and during the gathering.

FollowupID: 581757

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 12:41

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 12:41
No worries, Steve

FollowupID: 581758

Follow Up By: OZGEORGE - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 19:47

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 19:47
Now me thinks that this stinks of the "all pigs are equal but some are more equal than others" mentality.
Surely a poll of some sort would have been the way to decide where a next years event was to be held? Even through consultation with the administration of this site would have been a better way to decide rather than a those of us on this one will decide the next one approach.
Did you even consider that the people in the west are even worse off for this one than the last???
FollowupID: 581824

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 19:53

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 19:53
ozgeorge,

It is good to see that you don't support this site by being a member as such gatherings are for members (as stated by Michelle)
Until then your comments will be ignored.

FollowupID: 581825

Follow Up By: OZGEORGE - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 19:55

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 19:55
Kev. I have been a member on exploroz for 5 years. So ignore your own comments.
FollowupID: 581826

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 20:05

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 20:05
Well make comments as a member and not your visitor log in.

or

Get of your backside and organise one yourself.

FollowupID: 581829

Follow Up By: OZGEORGE - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 20:15

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 20:15
Sir kev. If you think this site relies on memberships to survive you are indeed an unintelligent sort. Now just because i choose to post without my membership details with a mines bigger than yours rig picture does not mean my comments are worth any less. I've seen so many people come and go on this site (yourself not a long time member). People like yourself who take the high and mighty i'm a member and your not approach are probably the reason more people don't join.
Now back to the topic. What gave you people the right to make a call on where the national gathering will be for next year? You had 30 odd vehicles out of a site with how many hundred members and how many thousand visitors??
All i was asking for was democracy. I have been on several EO gatherings both National and Individual States.
FollowupID: 581834

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 20:21

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 20:21
Sir Kev

I think that we are starting to bog down in the politics of political correctness.

Prior to 2008 there was a debate on here as to where to next? So I chose Innamincka, posted a gathering and there were no dessenters.

This year all the dormant worms are coming out of the woodwork crying FOUL! because it doesn't suit them.

Little do they realise that it is a fun thing to do and someone has to make a decision and you have made that decision and away we go.

The administration of this site has had nothing to do with the ramifications of setting up a National Gathering apart from generous sponsorship of these events. This is entirely a Forum related phenomena

Methinks I will have to put OZGEORGE on my Idiot List. Apart from that, I have never heard of him.....LOL

FollowupID: 581836

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 20:25

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 20:25
If you re read Borgy's reply you will see that Michelle and David are planning a Gathering in WA so attend that. As yet they have not released fixed dates etc, why not contact them and organise it with them.

You also seem to fixated about the gathering name. If it was named differently would you care??
If David and Michelle want the gathering name changed then so be it but the dates and location will not change as posted.

You also have no idea as to how long I have been accessing this site and being a member is only part of the journey.

See you in St George in September next year

FollowupID: 581837

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 20:28

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 20:28
So who the Hell are you OZGEORGE? Or are you shy to state who you really are?

The right to call a National Gathering is up to an individual Member of ExplorOz Forum. And thats it in a nutshell.

If you don't like it then please PISS-OFF

FollowupID: 581839

Follow Up By: OZGEORGE - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 20:28

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 20:28
Willem you have made my day. You have been on my idiot list for years and i would have been worried if you didn't have me on yours.
FollowupID: 581840

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 20:34

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 20:34
Get a life george
FollowupID: 581842

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 21:03

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 21:03
George and Dio should get together for a gathering,they are a good pair.
FollowupID: 581852

Reply By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 15:11

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 15:11
Kev,

Just for your info-
THE Bi-annual National 4WD Gathering will be held over the June long weekend 2010.
The venue is Pomona Qld.

AnswerID: 315606

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 15:35

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 15:35
This is the ExplorOz National Gathering for 2009 what does it have to do with the Bi-annual National 4WD Gathering??

FollowupID: 581788

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 15:46

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 15:46
Just thought I'd give you a 'heads up' for your information...
But if you ain't interested- that's cool !!

FollowupID: 581791

Follow Up By: Member - Dick (Int) - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 14:01

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 14:01
Signman

Thanks for posting the info on the Bi-annual National 4WD Gathering in 2010. I am sure a lot of Forum members will appreciate it, even if a few others have no interest in knowing.

Dick

FollowupID: 582315

Reply By: ruafrood - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 17:02

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 17:02
Sir Kev

Slight correction to your 2009 National meet announcement.

I think you will find that the NSW School holidays are a week later than Vic, SA, & Qld ie they start on the 2nd of Oct hence the Eastern States do not overlap in 2009.

Check this website, Topic then Holiday Dates, or http://www.australia.gov.au/School_Term_Dates

May not be a real concern for you but it is for the Yahoo Campertrailer Group as we usually have our National Meet (this year is our 4th) during that last week of the September School holidays and the majority of our members are families from NSW.

Ron Dickson
AnswerID: 315616

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 17:13

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 17:13
Ron,

This site is the one I used http://www.australia.gov.au/School_Term_Dates which is the one you gave. It shows that NSW holidays are from the 26 Sept until the 13 Oct 2009.

I am not concerned about other sites/organisations gatherings as no-one can plan for everyones commitments. I have posted this gathering early so those who wish to attend have over 12 months to plan for it.

FollowupID: 581804

Follow Up By: ruafrood - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 17:41

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 17:41
Whatever, it was just a heads up.

Agreed one cannot be concerned about other organisation/clubs/etc.

One must do their own thing and ypou cannot cater for everyone.

Something must be wrong with my 'puter as 2009 for NSW still shows Friday 2nd Oct to Monday 19th Oct on http://www.australia.gov.au/School_Term_Dates and this site.

Time to trade in my 'puter, LOL.

Ronb Dickson.
FollowupID: 581810

Follow Up By: Member - Chris & Debbie (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 18:51

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 18:51
Hmmm my computer must be broken too Ron as mine agrees with yours, LOL, Friday 2nd Oct to Monday 19th Oct.

FollowupID: 582340

Reply By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 06:27

Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 06:27
Good choice of spot fellas.

St George is a very comfortable two day trip from Melbourne. Would have been about a 12 hour sprint in the good old days, but.....

And here's the really good news, the Servo at St George sells LPG.

AnswerID: 315705

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 07:46

Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 07:46
Jim,

So does the servo at Moree, and for those who wish to overnight a short distance from St George they can check the Lightening Ridge.

Hope you can make it.

FollowupID: 581912

Follow Up By: Krakka - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 17:48

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 17:48
So are you going Jimbo? Haven't caught up since the Robe get together.
Cheers Krakka
FollowupID: 582150

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 18:06

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 18:06
Krakka,

He is registered to attend so all going well he should get there :)

We are up to 18 in total so far

FollowupID: 582153

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 08:15

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 08:15
Krakka,

Were you going under a different name at Robe? I can't recall you off the top of my head. Please refresh me.

FollowupID: 582259

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 08:20

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 08:20
How thick am I?

I looked up your profile Pete and now recall you very well. Wasn't that a ripper day along the beach with Willem leading the way?

I wondered why you seemed to disappear off the face of the map. How are you going after the transplant. I trust all is well and you are now not living a life of ongoing thirst. Can you manage a beer or two these days?

FollowupID: 582262

Follow Up By: Krakka - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 10:16

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 10:16
Sorry Jim, should have let you know. Everything is going great. Can definately manage a beer or six these days.

Cheers Pete and Lez
FollowupID: 582288

Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 11:22

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 11:22
I think I saw a sailing club in St George as I passed through a few years back. Struck me as a bit funny at the time, being inland and all that.
AnswerID: 316004

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 11:29

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 11:29
Wayne,

On the back road to Dirranbandi from St George there is also a Surf Life saving club that uses the exposed sand banks near where the road crosses the river.

The sailing club mainly uses the Beardmore dam area as the town weir is general to narrow due to lack of water.

Fishing is able to be done in both the weir, dam and irrigation sections all of which are very close to Youth camp site

FollowupID: 582293

Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 12:53

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 12:53
Sir K,
You know what, i think that may be what i remember because it seemed just so out of place it gave me a chuckle. I must have seen a sign or something on the main road through. I was coming down from Roma heading to Narrabri
AnswerID: 316016