Minimalist camping

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 22:32
ThreadID: 59839 Views:8213 Replies:10 FollowUps:18
I got talking to a fella in the bar the other night. He was telling me about his car, what he'd done to it, and the gear he takes away. It was no business of mine to ask him what the car weighed after all that, but it got me thinking.

In all fairness I mostly travel solo in the bush and don't need much at all. Having a family aboard I'd think would be a bit different. Fair enough. However, this fella was single and only had his shirla.

Seems to me that it must drive a fella brusque trying to find something, let alone set up camp with all that gear and gadgets to ruffle through.

Don't know what all that weight does to a car, but it'd be something of a pain in the bush I'd suspect.

Kim

Reply By: Geoff1967 - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 22:41

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 22:41
I'm similar, just me, a tiny Mitsubishi Colt and my dog :-)

Minimalist = tent, stretcher, sleeping bag, chair, water, light and maybe one or two other gadgets. I should add I'm only a weekend camper.

Food I keep very simple. All piping hot pre-cooked in thermos. I hate the rigmarole of cooking; gas, plates, cutlery, pans, the washing up etc. When I go camping and I see the amount of gear "couples" take it makes me shake my head lol

I do it comfortably yet simply.

But each to their own :-)
AnswerID: 315692

Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 22:59

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 22:59
Just looked at the title. I'm no longer Kim M any more. Forgot about that.

Damn Dog sits on my lap when I do my writing and research. She started to ark up a bit (it's a shirla thing) so that's the reason for the title change.

Kim

FollowupID: 581895

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 23:18

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 23:18
KIm, one of mine actually thinks she's talking! She grunts at me, and even says thank you (grunt grunt) when I fill up her water container ! She even looks puzzled when she "talks" to me and I can't understand what she wants.
It's a worry.
FollowupID: 581898

Follow Up By: HowdyDoody - Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 11:38

Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 11:38
Footloose, your 'grunter' doesn't happen to be a Jack Russel does she? We have one that does exactly the same, also has us planning our time around making sure she gets enough time with us - it's like having a kid! LOL.
FollowupID: 581936

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 12:17

Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 12:17
She's a staffie border collie cross...and you're right. They are just like having kids :)
FollowupID: 581944

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 13:05

Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 13:05
gotta love jack Russels,They have character.
FollowupID: 581949

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 22:49

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 22:49
G'day Kim. I rekkon it deopends on where you're going and for how long.
I used to be pretty minimalist myself...sleep in the back, can of baked beans etc.
Then it was a quick tent up and down with a fire at night. Motel every few days if the finances were Ok.
But more remote trips needed recovery gear, and what if we get stuck supplies ...food and water for a couple of weeks etc.
But now, sad to say, one of my biggest pieces of luggage is the medicine box. Dam stuff ends up everywhere on a trip. You're right, can never find anything.
Had a disagreement with SWMBO at the end of a long drive, once. I was tired and cranky "But I thought you packed that!"
So we just sat down and had a few quiet minutes and all was OK again.
The main thing is that whatever you do take, you're a happy camper I guess :))

AnswerID: 315693

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 22:54

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 22:54
Must admit that some people have this down to a fine art. I was amazed when some campers made us a coffee in about 4 minutes flat. I would have had to find the gas stove first.
And there's nothing quite like stopping for brekky on the road somewhere and having a cold drink (fridge) and a hot pie or sausage roll...marvellous stuff.
FollowupID: 581894

Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 23:24

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 23:24
Gidday Footy

Can't beat that timeframe. I keep a few thing in a small box in the back of the car.

Does'nt take more than a moment to get the billy out, light a small fire then go off, have a leek, play with the dog then come back for a brew.

Your right it depends where you go, but quite frankly I don't take much more gear. Might catch up with me one day but I don't worry too much about that stuff.

Kim
FollowupID: 581900

Follow Up By: mike w (WA) - Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 09:48

Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 09:48
Footloose,

I too in the past have been in the same position of having to dig around for all the 'basics' just to boil some water at the side of the road- what a mission. One day I had a good think about it and decided to pack my hiking cooking gear. Self contained in a 1L billy can itself, consisting of a portable gas stove, small disposable gas cylinder, spoon, tea, coffee, sugar. The only negatives is having to drag the travel mug out of the cab and rummage through the fridge for milk. Able to boil a litre of water in under 4 mins and portable so it can be taken anywhere that my heart desires
FollowupID: 581929

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 21:16

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 21:16
Got some words of wisdom,
1 take a thermos full of hot water, thermos lasts for 24 hours!
2 have your tea, coffee, hot choccy and sugar handy
3 also your mugs, with my little tiny 15l fridge with long-life milk.
4 2min coffee.

When Teen and I go anywhere we always stop for a hot drink or two and we have the thermos my little fridge for sandwiches, milk choccy bikkies and cold drinks. The fridge is usually setup right behind the two front seat for easy access or the passenger side of my ford laser sr2.

AQlso too we have a picnic bag with plates and cutlery that has a insulated section for fruit and whatever else we want enroute!!!

Three things to pack that take up probaly 2 1/2 feet by 15" high!
FollowupID: 582186

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 08:12

Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 08:12
Kim

Try as I might there seems to be no way in reducing the stuff to cart around. The wagon is quite light, housing only tools, water, medical kit, phones,radio, fridge and some spares. Dog rules the roost in the back barking at trees and passing vehicles.

The trailer however, is something, as we seem to need a Porta Potti, Toilet/Shower tent, Screen Tent, Two room sleeping tent, gasbottles, gas stove, bag for pillows, two roll-up self inflating mattresses, two roll-up tables, two bags of clothes, cooking gear, BBQ plate, Shovel, Rake, Hi Lift Jack, Tent Poles, Camp mats, 7 plastic boxes for tucker, Modified esky for vegetables, 40 ltrs water. When going away without entourage I am able to reduce some of the stuff.

THEN for major bush treks there are 12 jerrycans of diesel to be filled as well. The trailer is seriously over GVM but has managed to stay in one piece so far.

The days of going bush in a minimalistic fashion seem to be over....LOL

AnswerID: 315714

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 11:45

Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 11:45
Rake?

I'm sure there's a good reason, but buggered if I can fathom it.

FollowupID: 581937

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 12:03

Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 12:03
Yerr Jim....we now have a U-beaut two room tent for the extended stays. Judith and the dog reside there while I still sleep in the truck away from all the snoring :-)

The plastic garden rake is to clear the ground for the tent and also to clean up the campsite as one starts trampling the soil with repeated walks around the tent and trailer.

Very sophisticated campers we are....LOL

FollowupID: 581942

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 21:55

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 21:55
Yes we carry a grass rake as well, use it to rake up around camp before we set up.

To try and make sure there are no Baits around to kill the dog, it has a spacial short handle (after I broke it) LOL

FollowupID: 582193

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 08:47

Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 08:47
Kim,

A few years ago I had a couple who crossed the Simpson Desert with me.

They were young, loved extended bush walking trips and drove a Defender. Both had well paid jobs.
When they crossed the desert they took they hiking gear.
Fair enough. Good quality sleeping bag and thin camp mat. For a stove they had one of those metho burning stoves that pack away to nothing. Food was what they would carry with them on a big bush walk. Nothing fresh or in a can just food out of a sealed packet. They had no chairs, no table or a fridge.

The vehicle was very light and they got real good fuel economy and the vehicle crossed the Simpson with ease but they did not enjoy the trip that much because of their minimal approach.
On a bush walk they would have been the envy of other bush walkers but on a trip where the vehicle carries all the gear they were not happy campers.
They both agreed that when they do another trip in the vehicle they will have at least a fridge and something to sit on.

AnswerID: 315718

Reply By: austastar - Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 11:52

Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 11:52
We did 3 months and 22,000 km on a motor bike, 2 up and could be independent for 3-4 days. Carried 5L water for each day.
Tom Piper tin curry was the only tinned meat we could handle, veges kept for a day or two. Butter was wrapped up in clothing to keep it cool.
Hiking tent and fly, with the luxury of lilos, quality sleeping bags etc.
Been to Birdsville, Laura, Broom, Gibb River Road.
The suspension had sagged a bit by the time we got home to Hobart though.
AnswerID: 315743

Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 18:07

Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 18:07
As Miss Piggy once said; "if in doubt, pack it!"
My first foray into camping was in a Mini, driving from Perth to Melb/Syd and return, back in the 60's when the Nullarbor was a goat track. Managed to cram all our gear in that.
Then in the 70's travelled a lot of the mountains in Vic with all my camping gear packed in the back of a Fiat 124 Sport (true, but must admit, didn't do the Zeka Spur track!). Still managed.
But another trip in the 80's to the east, this time with fridge, etc had the arse-end of the old Red Rocket (XE Falcon sedan) dragging on the ground. So somehow, we were travelling with more gear.
A 4wd was obviously necessary, and the late 80's saw a new Maverick loaded to the gills with roof rack and air springs to assist.
Somehow, one fills the available space to its limits, and this rule determines how much one packs on a camping trip.
But I'm one who likes to settle in one spot and be comfortable, not prove that I can get by on a can of Tom Piper and a pack of dry biscuits, so by necessity, it's cold drinks at sunset, hot showers, comfy bed, decent tent and good food.
Comfy Gerry
AnswerID: 315791

Reply By: Crackles - Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 23:28

Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 23:28
If Len Beadell could fit enough gear in the back of a series one Landy to cross Australia then it stands to reason most modern travellers could drop off a bit of excess as well & not be too inconvienienced ;-)
The way magazines & Forums push all these modifications & must have gear it's become the norm that you'd be a fool to leave without it when in fact much of it can be done without. Cutting down on weight can be achieved in many ways like using alloy products, down sleeping bags or spun steel camp ovens instead of Cast Iron. Over the last few years as my camping gear gets upgraded I always look for lighter gear or question the need to even take it any more. As many outback ExOz travellers have found out this season it's the bolt on assesories that are failing along with those carrying too much weight.
Cheers Craig..........
AnswerID: 315845

Follow Up By: narned - Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 23:42

Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 23:42
Never leave with out the table ,Regards Ned
FollowupID: 582050

Follow Up By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 00:19

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 00:19
Hi Craig,
Most times Len had a support truck nearby, for those times he didn't, his little Landy was loaded to the gills with many extras even had fuel drums tied on the roof and bonnet at times.
I know that I would rather get home with supplies left over rather than running out on the trip, same goes with tools and spares.
Personal choice though just as long as we all get there and back safely.
Dennis
FollowupID: 582058

Follow Up By: Crackles - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 08:34

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 08:34
I suppose where I am coming from with leaving gear behind Dennis is not cutting down on necessary spares & tools but for example taking items like an instantaneous gas hot water system. Most people don't have one at home yet many feel the need to add the additional weight & carry one through the desert. I for one are guilty of overloading on many occasions & after observing many of the old experienced travellers it's interesting to see how they have minimalized their gear yet don't seem to go without.
Cheers Craig...........
FollowupID: 582085

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 21:43

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 21:43
Hi Teen and I take all this stuff in a Frod Laser SR2

Two room six man tent!
70litre esky
two 25 l water drums, 30' *24' silver poly tarp
36 poles 2 spreader bars, plus pegs, ropes and springs, 4lb lump hammer
two sleeping bags and queen size airbed and pump, plus removalist blanket for under airbed insulation
coleman powerhouse stove and 1 bottle of fuel
cast iron frying pan, kettle and 2l billy
Isulated bag with a setting for 4
solar panel
jumpstart pack
folding table that seats four
folding table for cooking on
coleman retro cfl lamp
24*20 poly tartp for floor
8 * 30' green mesh floor mat
6m jumper leads rated at 50 amps for power from car battery if jump pack fails.
4 solar garden lights for camp security
porta potti
ensuite tent
portable shower and tub
20 litre collapsible water container for shower water
wash up bucket.
2 comfy camp chairs
2 insulated mugs plus extra blankets if needed
clothes for four to five days
toiletries.
Hand sanitiser and baby wipes
7 tea towels
4 towels.
8 floor mats
8*6 poly tarps * 2
two large tubs for food and extra lights and batteries, aeroguard, first aid kit, dishwashing liquid, hammock.
We buy our food locally to where we are camping most times, if going with another couple we share our stuff out for loading suitability.
i am an expert at packing the laser!!!!
FollowupID: 582189

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 21:44

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 21:44
oops forgot the binoculars and thermos and marshmellows.
2 cfl fluro lights and 300watt inverter for additions
FollowupID: 582190

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 16:36

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 16:36
My first outback trip was when I was 21. Three uni students in a 1969 Corolla wagon, and we travelled Broken Hill, Cameron Corner, Innamincka, Cordillo, Birdsville, Marree, Flinders Ranges, William Ck, Coober Pedy, Alice, Cairns, over 6 weeks in Dec/Jan.

Had 2 jerries petrol, 50L water, water bag on front, 3man tent, gas stove, Box of tinned food, Box of spares and toolbox, second spare tyre, tubes. Corolla had extra leaf in the rear springs, sump guard, mesh windscreen protector, tropical roof, bullbar.

Ate lots of pasta, meat where we could buy it, tinned ham and corned beef. Lots of sunshine milk, weetbix, Deb mash potato and surprise peas. Drank beer in the pubs, but didn't carry any.

Total cost of the trip was $450 each.
Heres the evidence:

AnswerID: 315916

Reply By: OzTroopy - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 18:13

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 18:13
I found that storage space in my vehicle became a problem when I believed the advertising about needing a fridge.

Very nice it was - to fit a couple of days worth of fresh food in to a container that took up the space of over a weeks worth of tinned / dry food and had me worried about a flat battery.

I've gone back to powdered milk, a quality cooler and a wet sack.
If I want RSL meals - I stop in at a RSL during the journey.
AnswerID: 315924

Follow Up By: narned - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 21:11

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 21:11
After a number of years in the army carrying every thing on my back i learnt to do with out and do with out i did , if you couldnt carry it you didn't take it ,that was a while a go , but to day i still have the same attitude , the only thing is i am not carrying it, so if it fits, and it!! can carry it, as it dose, i take ,to me its the whole of going bush ,start to finish,and i am all way ready to help others that can't fit it in or carry it ,Regards Ned
FollowupID: 582185

Reply By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 21:49

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 21:49
oh one more tip forget about buying ice. stick freezer bags of water in freezer a week or so before your trip, try to make them nice and squarish and they will last three times longer the the normal broken ice you buy. did that on our last trip to myall lakes, stewart and llyods campsite and got home and it was still there two days later in the garden.
AnswerID: 315946