FuelWatch - News Story

Submitted: Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 11:17
ThreadID: 59852 Views:3494 Replies:4 FollowUps:16
11:13 17Jul08 AAP-FuelWatch spells death to independents, hearing told

BRISBANE, July 17 AAP - A national FuelWatch scheme could lead to the death ofindependent fuel retailers, a Senate inquiry has been told.

The Senate committee inquiring into the National Fuelwatch Bill is today hearingsubmissions from Queensland industry figures in Brisbane.

Under the proposed scheme, fuel retailers will be required to notify, by 2pm,their next day's retail price for fuel.
Retailers must retain the notified price for 24 hours from 6am the next day.

Service Station and Convenience Store Association of Queensland chairman TimKane told the inquiry such a scheme would enable major retailers to priceindependents out of the market.

"That is what worries myself as a service station dealer, as I will not be ableto compete in a marketplace because I am locked into a price for 24 hours," hetold the hearing.

"If one of my competitors posts a low price my consumers are probablydisadvantaged because I would not be able to post a price equivalent to that."

Mr Kane said independents currently check competitors' prices up to four times aday and can easily change their price throughout the day.

The hearing continues.

Reply By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 11:40

Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 11:40
Landy,

My understanding is that servo's can opt not to participate in Fuel Watch and thus not be bound by the regulations.

Is this right, or just me getting the Bull by the balls?

AnswerID: 315742

Follow Up By: The Landy - Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 12:06

Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 12:06
As far as I am aware it is all encompassing, and this is the issue for the Independents. They are committed to the posted price for 24 hours. No-one should be excluded if you are going to bring a scheme like this in.

However the Independents should be concerned as geographical representation by the major outlets will enable them to out-flank the ndependents across cities, under pricing in some areas, over-pricing in others and eventually this will lead to the demise of the Independents. No doubting the majors will look to remove the Independents through this type of pricing strategy.

I said previously I am not a fan of this as it will not deliver cheaper fuel, it will provide some transparency, but wil also remove the discounting cycle.

I'm not sure who will be better off other than the major retailers; Woolworth's is on record as saying that west Australia is its most profitable State for fuel sales because of FuelWatch.
FollowupID: 581943

Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 13:30

Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 13:30
Just my two bob's worth:
The Fuel watch system has been running here in WA for about the last 6 years. We hear of the independents grizzling, but mostly, they still seem to be in business. The big killer for independents is not Fuelwatch but the likes of Woolworths and Coles with their discount vouchers.
I draw the analogy with other retailers - when one is shopping for some appliance, etc, one can check the daily papers or junk mail and easily find your specials and buy accordingly. With fuel outlets, no one advertises in the paper or anywhere. Your only way of finding out cheap prices (and I mean a 20c difference across town, and that's between the biggies, not the independents) is word-of-mouth, or to either drive around or phone likely outlets. Fuelwatch allows one to find the cheap places without having to rely on word-of-mouth or driving around. And if I have to get something else across town then I will factor in a cheap fuel outlet in that area if I can to make the drive worthwhile.
The other great thing about Fuelwatch is that once they have advertised that price, they have to hold it till 6am the following day, so there's none of the disappearing bargain a few hours later. The law says that they cannot increase or decrease the price. Some independents cried foul on this but by enforcing this rule, it makes the outlet give careful thought to what price they will charge for the day instead of making price changes on the hop.
Another useful tool in Fuelwatch is the trend graph, which shows the price of fuel in Singapore, the place where our base fuel price is derived. There is a 3-day delay between their price and ours, and the graph gives a good indication of whether to buy now or wait a couple more days.
Interestingly, in the regional areas, the fuel price is much more stable, and this is useful when planning a trip. In some towns, the servos on the highway charge heaps more than a servo in a backstreet, who mainly gets the locals. I get a printout of the cheapest places en route and plan my fuel stops accordingly. I generally find that the advertised price is still the same several days later, so this works well.
Fuelwatch may not have dropped the average price of fuel (tho this is difficult to compare with the east, as there is only one refinery here in WA (BP) and they call the shots) but it does allow one to easily find the cheapest outlet.
Gerry
AnswerID: 315753

Reply By: Member - Paul Mac (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 13:32

Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 13:32
How about the independents just post their best competitive price under any proposed fuel watch scheme and see how competitive they are. I don't give a rats about the current price cycle fluctuations and the suggested 'discount' Tuesday, I just want the best competitive price on any particular day.

Something to think about............if I ran a business and retailed stock that I had purchased (lets call them widgets) for say $1.00 a widget and retailed them for $2.00 a widget. I had 100 widgets in stock and sold 50 widgets during the week. I restock my widgets every Monday however, on the Wednesday the price of widgets go up to $2.00 wholesale. What a dilemma. Do I immediately increase my widget retail price to compensate for the wholesale increase in price? I don't think so ! I would sell the remainder at the $2.00 retail price then increase the price once a fresh order came in.

Now, shouldn't the same apply to the filling of tanks in the ground at service stations ? If the service station fills up their underground storage tanks once a week at a wholesale price of say $1.46 per litre then why can't they sell the damn fuel at say $1.52 for the entire week or until they refuel their storage tanks?

If the oil companies are changing the wholesale price for fuel already purchased by the service station on a daily basis then how can they get away with it ?

The current discussions concerning fuel prices is really giving me the irrates. No one seems to be prepared to do anything about it so lets change the topic.

Landy, can I ask you something please?

Do you work for an oil company?

Just wondering that's all.
AnswerID: 315754

Follow Up By: Member - Damien F (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 15:45

Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 15:45
That's a very good analogy which makes a lot of sense.
FollowupID: 581957

Follow Up By: The Landy - Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 17:07

Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 17:07

So often the fuel discussions and debates take on the ‘Earth is flat argument’. Enough people believe the story, sounds logical, so must be right! No, I don’t work for an oil company, but I have taken the time to understand the issues and endeavoured to sort fact from fiction….

You raise a valid point; however the answer to the reason why it happens is that fuel is a highly commoditised product, it is stored in many places, including service station retailers tanks and is sold subject to changes in wholesale pricing

The problem with the concept of service station retailers selling it for what they purchased it for until they refill their tanks is that when the price falls they would never sell fuel. Other retailers will have had the opportunity to refill their tanks at a lower cost and therefore their retail price would be lower. How would this system work? Let’s say you are now selling fuel instead of widgets and you just took a delivery of fuel at a high price. Overnight the wholesale price falls and your competitor 300 metres down the road has just filled his tanks at a cheaper wholesale price. If it follows that many fuel purchasers are like you and just want the cheapest price, how much fuel do you think you will sell versus your competitor who now has a cheaper price?

If widgets had the same level of demand as fuel and the manufacturing costs changed daily (like refining oil into fuel does) and there was no difference in competitor’s products, rest assured widgets would have the same price fluctuations as fuel.

However, FuelWatch will deliver what you are asking for, the knowledge of where the best price is on any given day. That doesn’t mean it will be better than the price you can buy it for under current arrangements. Current ‘savvy’ fuel buyers will be worse off in the long-run under FuelWatch.

I’m not sure anyone can do anything about the rising price of fuel in the short-term; the longer term will need to yield some answers as the price oil is unlikely to fall back to levels we have been accustomed to.

The point of the inquiry and submissions by the Independents is important if you don’t want total control of fuel retailing to fall to the multi-national interests. Look what has happened to grocery prices in this country, take the Independents out and you will loose price tension.

The CEO of Woolworh's is on record as saying that its fuel sales in West Australia are more profitable than in the other States because of FuelWatch. I believe the two central reasons for this is that they are less inclined to discount the price of fuel under FuelWatch because of the requirement to hold that price for 24 hours, and secondly, the Independent retailers cannot adjust their price on an intraday basis to bring about price tension when the major retailers set the price higher.
FollowupID: 581967

Follow Up By: Member - Paul Mac (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 18:26

Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 18:26
Thanks for your response Landy.

I'm not overly sure that the major retailers haven't already taken the fuel industry by the throat and play a major role in manipulating the retail prices on a day to day basis.

I agree that we will never see fuel prices back to where we would like them as I have said in previous posts its all about 'conditioning' the public to pay higher prices.

Coles and Woolworths are highly profitable businesses who don't often take huge risks therefore, they wouldn't have entered the fuel industry lightly, what now seems to be an eternity ago. I do remember all those years ago commentary about giving them too much power to drive prices higher but people were clambering at the time for the discount vouchers instead of taking notice of what was to become.

If fuel prices come back below $1.50 per litre I'll eat my hat.

I purchase my fuel from independents whenever I can.
FollowupID: 581986

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 19:40

Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 19:40
Using your widget description.
If I bought a widget for $1 and sold it for $2 the $1 margin is what I use to feed myself and pay my other running costs.

If the widget wholesale price goes to $2 and I don't reprice accordingly then I have lost my $1 margin to restocking cost and I have no money to eat with.

The repricing does mean that I have actually made more money but its now tied up in an increased stock value leaving me with a cash flow dilemma.

You must reprice immediately to ensure enough cash to replace the stock required and maintain the profit margin to eat with, if you don't then you will only be able to buy half the amount of stock you previously had as the cost value has now doubled and your losing money.

I won't start on the issue of the actual percentage markup and margin effect, other than to say with the fine margins in fuel its imperative that prices are moved instantly to try and preserve same.

FollowupID: 582014

Follow Up By: The Landy - Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 19:52

Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 19:52
Paul...tragically that is probably the case.

You are right about Coles & Woolworth's, look at the businesses they have targeted as a way of getting a larger share of your wallet. Groceries, liquor retailing and fuel. We are vesting far too much power in these two companies and the cost to all is increased prices.

Cheers.......
FollowupID: 582018

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 21:06

Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 21:06
John,

I'm shocked. How on earth weren't you able to malign Swann and Rudd?

With a bit of effort you could have implicated Hawke, Keating, Whitlam, and with a bit of serious effort Chifley and Curtin as well.

Lift your game son. You'll lose your Party Membership soon unless you can do better.

FollowupID: 582026

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 22:22

Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 22:22
Jimmy old boy :-) my comments were just a short look at the issues involved in maintaining a retail margin and trying to stay profitable.

As for fuel watch well the populist man in Canberra seems to believe something contrary to the well publicized facts of the fuel watch issue.

Bottom line it will have negative effect on the discount cycle but like Kyoto etc he thinks people will think he's actually doing something positive until they realise it will come with a large negative effect and cost them where it hurts most.

In the end big deal some seem to think the few cents per litre even multiplied over the usage per year will make or break life.
I am constantly amazed by people who will que for ages to save 4 cents a litre, in my case my time is worth more than the 2 or 3 dollars per tank being saved.

Is that political enough for ya??? :-)

FollowupID: 582042

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 16:14

Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 16:14
There is one thing that I notice here in WA is that there are a lot of bowsers that are quickly "out or order" especially when there is a low, price particularly with the "big boys", now call me cynical but I wonder how many bowsers break down in other States???????? Example: We were in Albany and diesel was 10c cheaper at a Woolworths Servo around the corner from where we were staying so naturally (with docket in hand) we went there to fill up before heading home, got there and guess what!!! three diesel pumps all out of order, only servo with the cheap diesel in Albany, only servo with out of order pumps. Me......... No I'm not cynical!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Most of the Independents over here are hanging on and I guess after 6 years they would have folded if they were going too.

My 10c worth.

D

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 315769

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 16:44

Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 16:44
Yeh, a few weeks ago, I went to a Woolies servo in Perth for their cheap diesel. "Out of Order" Hmmm. Dropped back in two days later still same price, still out of order - hmmm... - but it was a weekend. But I've seen tankers deliver on weekends. When the diesel went up 3c at that servo on the Monday, they then had diesel to buy. Mind you, this is probably the first time I've encountered this in 6 yrs.
But we've seen the same news items about the same trick in the east, with the cheap fuel pumps "out of order", one servo stated that the bowser was out of sight of the operator at this desk. Why only out of sight on a cheap Tuesday? most likely coz they don't want to sell at a loss. This argument has nothing to do with Fuelwatch.
On the lighter side, I bought my full 150L diesel today with my Woolies 20c/L disc voucher - a $30 saving. I'm happy.
Gerry
FollowupID: 581963

Follow Up By: Member - Graeme W (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 16:53

Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 16:53
Similar complaints are being made in the Sydney media, about bowsers being out of service on "cheap tuesday". Of course nobody can ever prove it's a rort.

Living outside Sydney though, means you pay the same high price everyday of the week!

Lake Eyre 2011

FollowupID: 581965

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 17:22

Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 17:22
Hi joc45,

"This argument has nothing to do with Fuelwatch." yeah I know but it has a lot to do with low prices. It is interesting to see that it is happening over East as well, ........me with my head in the sand LOL.

D

FollowupID: 581973

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 23:47

Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 23:47
I dunno theres always plenty of out odf service tags on the BP cnr of kalamunda and Hawtin road but it never has cheap fuel, matter of fact i suspect it is consistantly perths dearest servo
FollowupID: 582052

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 23:54

Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 23:54
yep at 1.92.0cpl that easily makes it perths most expensive diesal (equal with a few others)
FollowupID: 582054

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 00:52

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 00:52
Hi Davoe,
"matter of fact i suspect it is consistantly perths dearest servo"

You're not wrong there, I don't think we have ever bought fuel at that servo. We use Peak, cnr Canning & Lesmurdie Rds.

D

FollowupID: 582060

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 01:54

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 01:54
I buy mower fuel there
otherwise its the bioD at Gull kalamunda or midland.
If heading out of town its the gull clackline way
FollowupID: 582061

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 08:48

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 08:48
Hey, Davoe, are you trying to keep one step ahead of the tax man or something?!!
It used to be Davoe Widgiemooltha, Nullagine, now Yalgoo, and now I see you're near Kalamunda. Where next? LOL!
Re BP, rarely see BP on special, diesel, anyway. But usually the outer suburbs are better-priced than the inner ones for some reason. Thought you might have had a good outlet around there in Kalamunda.
Gerry (still in Doubleview)
FollowupID: 582087