Tanami Track 2 , Bushtracker nil .

Submitted: Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 15:02
ThreadID: 59884 Views:6567 Replies:15 FollowUps:15
After leaving our prospecting camp in Halls Creek on Tuesday, I decided to take the short cut home to Sydney via the Tanami . After all , I had been up it two years ago and it was a breeze .

Big mistake . The track is in a very poor state with many bull dust holes and hundreds of kilometres of bone jarring corrugations . I should have gone the Gary Junction Road as I did last year , although I guess it may have turned to crap as well by now .

Anyway , near the Granites Mine , I checked the tyres and wheel bearings on the van . One was very hot . Bummer . I rang Richard at Traction 4 ARB in Sydney and he suggested it might only be the brakes as we had only just replaced the bearings . I took off the wheel , the bearings and looked at the brakes - a big pile of junk pieces . Pulled everything out and put it all back together again . I guess three braked wheels is better than one although I am going to disconnect the brakes on the other wheel on the axle
before I head out of Alice Springs .

Alice Springs ,that's where I am waiting for a new set of springs for the Bushtracker . I guess I am lucky that they didn't crap themselves on the Tanami - as soon as I drove out of a servo in Alice the van crashed down on one side . The complete set of springs had broken at the middle bolt .

So , here I am at the Heritage CP, twiddling my thumbs waiting for the springs to arrive from Melb. on Monday or Tuesday.

Bushtrackers might be stronger than the average van , but they still have their limits .

Cheers all ,

Willie .

Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 15:11

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 15:11
Bummer. But while you are there, can you let me know what how you like th CP ? :-))

AnswerID: 315904

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 15:17

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 15:17
There is three CPs here on the south side of Heavytree Gap . The Heritage is the least crowded and takes dogs , so there is bloody millions of mutts here - but all well controlled on leads .

I have not checked out the dunnies etc as my van is in hospitaland I am ensconced in a cabin .

I will trot off and check them out for you .

I stayed one night at the "G'day Mate CP just nearby . Good facilities , but incredibly crowded .

Willie .
FollowupID: 582129

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 15:30

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 15:30
Checked out Heritage toilet block - modern and clean .
FollowupID: 582133

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 15:36

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 15:36
Thanks Willie, I have been past but not poked my nose in there yet. Might do in Sept.

FollowupID: 582136

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 15:26

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 15:26
Aaahhhhhh .... so the van is loaded down with all that yellow stuff you found over there.

AnswerID: 315907

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 15:36

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 15:36
Bro ,

It was definitely not the weight of the gold that caused the spring collapse . I only got 14 small nuggets . One guy got a 43 gm , one lady got a 10 and 16 gm , and another guy got a 22 gm sunbaker . None of mine were over 1.5 gm . The boss is going to be unhappy , as I was meant to get her a pendant .

I am off to Tiborburra in August , so maybe I will have more luck there ( and more practise , as I certainly have a long way to go ).

Willie .
FollowupID: 582135

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 15:52

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 15:52
Bro,

Bugger !!!! Looks like some retail therapy for the Boss :)))

FollowupID: 582139

Reply By: The Landy - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 15:33

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 15:33
Hey Willie

Good to hear from you. I walked past your house the other day with Milo and wondered how you are going.

Any luck prospecting and how has the weahther been......bad luck about the Van, but at least your out n about!!

Baz
AnswerID: 315908

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 15:41

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 15:41
Hi Baz ,

I need a lot more practice at that detecting . I was definitely one of the poorer performers of our group , with 14 nuggets - all under 1.5 gm .

I will be back next Sunday I think . With this further delay , divorce is not out of the question , so I will be driving long hours in a big hurry .

Will contact you when I get home .

Willie .
FollowupID: 582137

Reply By: PeterInSa - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 15:57

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 15:57
Willie,
I have a 21' Tandem with Rocker Suspension. Happened to check undernath the van after travelling over 80k of rough dirt road noticed one of the U bolts was bent underneath the plate. Had another U bolt posted up from Kalgoolie by Caravan and Camping, but during the discussion the manager mentioned that the U bolts stretch and the nuts under the U bolt plate should be tightened up every so often.

This I did and found the the U Bolts on the passenger side of the van needed a full turn to tighten, the bottom two springs on the front spring were also out of alingment. I then checked the bolt holding the springs together this was loose and had trouble toghtening, then undid the U bolts to straighten up the leafs and the bottom leaf came apart. Had to order a leaf in from Adelaide.

I now know, if I am going over rough roads to check the tightness of the U bolt nuts and the Spring Nuts, along with the wheel nuts.

Peter.
AnswerID: 315914

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 17:15

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 17:15
Thanks a lot Peter - good advice . I have ordered a pair , so I will carry a spare in future .

Willie .
FollowupID: 582144

Reply By: Motherhen - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 18:59

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 18:59
OUCH

We are planning to tackle the Tanami shortly. I have friends with a Phoenix who broke springs in their van a couple of years ago on the Tanamii, but no serious damage for them. The man drives very carefully too.

I know of a number of people who have come to grief on the Tanami over the years.

I was hoping it wouldn't be too bad, after Willem & co's report after their venture.

In Kununurra waiting for solar panels (being relaced by Kyocera under warranty)

AnswerID: 315926

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 12:08

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 12:08
Hi Mrs Hen ,

My advice is - DO NOT GO DOWN THE TANAMI WITH THE VAN .

It is a shocker . I say that having travelled the Gunbarrel , and the Eagle Hws , the CSR twice , the Gary Junction Rd and the Tanami two years ago . At present , it is much worse than any of them .

At present , it is a van destroyer . It is only a shortcut and there is nothing to see on it .

Cheers ,

Willie .

FollowupID: 582300

Reply By: Member - Keith C (NSW) - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 19:03

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 19:03
Gday Willie,sorry to hear of your grief,the Heritage is a top spot.We stayed there in April. We had a fair bit of strife with the local lads, they live nearby and come into the parks at night and take whatever is not locked up,chased them off one night with my axe-handle,they were stealing grog out of the annexes. One fella lost a H/R tow hitch from under his van,so keep your eyes open.
regards,Keith C
AnswerID: 315927

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 12:11

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 12:11
Thanks Keith , I will remove my tow hitch !

Willie
FollowupID: 582301

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 20:02

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 20:02
Willie

Sorry to hear about your mishap. Yes, 6 weeks ago I commented that the Tanami Road was pretty ordinary but it seems that it has deteriorated quite a bit since then.

This year seems to be the year of broken 4bies. Roachie busted his truck in half(sort of) near Birdsville and TD100 blew a gearbox a few k's out of Birdsville. There have been other mishaps along the Anne Beadell and in the Simpson where new and older vehicles have given notice.

AnswerID: 315932

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 12:20

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 12:20
Yeh , I will cry on your shoulder when I drop in next week .

Willie .
FollowupID: 582304

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 20:29

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 20:29
G'day Willie and sorry to read of your dramas...

Gee it seems like that a lot of us EO blokes and sheilas are having problems of late....

I hope yours are able to be fixed quickly and that you can continue without further problems.

AnswerID: 315935

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 12:18

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 12:18
Hi Roachie ,

I also had my performance chip / computer falil in Newman . I had to disconnect it and re-connect the standard one .

I have never had so many problems on a trip before . I hear your bus had problems too . Bummer .

Willie .
FollowupID: 582303

Reply By: Member - Joe F (WA) - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 11:23

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 11:23
Image Could Not Be FoundG'day Willie
Sorry to read about the Bush tracker not staying together.!!
I guess there are things that even 100mile an hour tape can't help.
Glad to hear all is going well, considering the dramas with the van.
How was the Nullagine/Marble Bar trip?

Regards : Joe

www.pilbaraironcountrytours.com
AnswerID: 316005

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 12:36

Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 12:36
Hi Joe ,

How are you doing ? Sold the camper ? Got any more rocks for Maria ?

It's Sunday morning here in Alice , and the dust storm died yesterday arvo . My parts arrive Monday or Tuesday , so I will be homeward bound Wed or Thurs.

That 100 mile an hour tape is still holding the vent well . Great stuff !

I went out to Mosquito Ck when I got to Nullagine . The Skull Springs Rd was a bit rough after the rain . There was literally hundreds of people detecting out there . It was like Pitt St . I only got one nugget in two days , but that is because of my lack of skill - there is still plenty of gold there although many of the regulars were complaining that it was getting a lot harder to find there .

I got 11 small nuggets at Halls Creek , but others in the party picked up some big ones - 43 , 22 , 18 , 14 , 12 , 10 gm . I need more practise !

Thanks for all your help during my Newman visit , I really appreciated it .

Cheers ,

Willie .

FollowupID: 582442

Reply By: Member - Fourplayfull - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 11:27

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 11:27
What bad luck Willie , everything must break sooner or later .

Suz & I are sitting in Cooktown having a m/shake & cream lam .
Had a great run up the Maytown , OTL to the Cape and then down the CREB to Cairns .
Plenty of old mines around palmerville etc.
Have kept the Ullti upright even in the fast flowing creeks.

Hope to see you in the desert one day .

Cheers John Suz
AnswerID: 316006

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 12:15

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 12:15
Hi you two , long time no hear . Still floating around on the Murray ?

You are in a great area . Check out the stunning aboriginal art at Laura - ask the locals .

Cheers ,

Willie .
FollowupID: 582302

Reply By: Member - Mary W NW VIC - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 17:45

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 17:45
Bad luckWillie,
We didn't pass you on the tanami did we?Landrover green defender towing lifted 1980 10ft van and jackeroo towing 80/s jayco camper.We made it in one piece just lots of dust to clean out at Halls Creek.Took us 6 days travelling with a day off at rabbit flat and a moving average speed of 32kph for the whole trip.Sure got to check out the countryside and saw lots of birdlife-just got to be careful not to succumb to count the number of cans/km syndrome.Don't think I would like to repeat the experience for a while but glad we came through in good nick
Cheers ,
Mary
"Some people walk in the rain,others just get wet."

AnswerID: 316041

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 12:39

Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 12:39
Hi Mary ,
I do remember passing you Ithink . You were going at a very uncomfortable slow speed - maybe I should have done the same !
Have a great trip ,
Willie .
FollowupID: 582443

Reply By: time waster - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 20:05

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 20:05
We also found the Tanami very rough in 06 towing a Jayco Eagle outback which took it with ease I would of thought 100k van was built for that not a 18k Jayco.

I guess it all depends on speed and if the van you have is pre loved and has been miss treated.

We lowered pressers and took three days as it was in the 40's and with a three month old.
AnswerID: 316062

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 12:43

Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 12:43
tws,

I did it in '06 as well . It was like a hwy compared then compared to it's state now. That's why I decided to go down it with the van .

My van was never 100g , it is a 2001 model and I bought it second hand .

Willie
FollowupID: 582447

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 20:45

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 20:45
G'day Willie, sorry to read and hear of the problems you have had. I guess we all press our luck in various ways and at least if you lose control of a wheel you still have three to work with. Kim would have to limp and drag!

I have bent some steel on the draw bar which I hope we can straghten tomorrow with an engineering contact of a friend and fellow Karavan owner.
AnswerID: 316071

Reply By: Member - Geoff C (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 17:25

Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 17:25
We did it about 2 weeks before you, towed a Jayco Outback Destiny tandem axle through there.
We did no damage to the caravan but broke one leaf on the rear springs on my GU ute. The other leaf broke in Winton. I'm with you, it's bloody terrible, nothing to see and even if there was I didn't have time to look. For a nice, if a bit rough but nothing like the Tanami, I'd recommend the Great Central Road. We thoroughly enjoyed that and the view is straight out out of a Namatjira painting. Out of the Strezlecki, Oodnadatta and Tanami I'd only do the GCR again.
AnswerID: 316183

Reply By: time waster - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 20:02

Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 20:02
As the other Jayco owner said I think your suspension may have had a hard life with the prev owners.

We found the corro's into Wolf creek smother than the Tanami and our unbreakable new hilux both front shocks collapsed from the corrogations.

I think it's the luck of the draw with roads like that and also the trackers are quite hefty unloaded.

Not saying you paid the big G's for it but surely that is why you bought it in the first place as they are built for off road and the others are buit for dirt roads.

Hope all is well now.

Keep on travelling
AnswerID: 316213