Rubbish on our great treks!!!!

Submitted: Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 00:05
ThreadID: 59894 Views:3361 Replies:7 FollowUps:10
Hi everyone,

I have posted my report on the CSR the other night but I forgot to mention something which actually made me very sad. This was the amount of rubbish being around at all the well sites. I took a special bag to collect "excess rubbish" along the way which was above our own needs. This 20 LT container was filled between Wiluna and Well 4!! (this included soiled nappies). A lot of people must have thought they had done the right thing by burying their food scapes etc but unfortunately when we where their, a lot of this waste was excavate by widelife. Please take you rubbish away as it is rather depressing when you are 100's km away from civilisation and you have a small dump in the camp area. I promise this is my last rave.

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 00:10

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 00:10
Those who leave soiled nappies should be forced to eat the bloody things.

AnswerID: 315963

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 08:45

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 08:45
Yeah, I agree Al.

Pity disposable nappies were't banned completely.
That would force people to recycle cloth nappies, which are better for the babies and the environment.

Bill.

FollowupID: 582271

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 09:49

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 09:49
Hahahahaah....Love it!
Trouble is, it would be a full time job up here jamming them down their throats.

FollowupID: 582283

Follow Up By: Twintrail(W.A.) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 00:40

Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 00:40
doesnt the government (ie the tax payer) have to pay for this problem .
FollowupID: 582378

Reply By: samsgoneagain - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 00:32

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 00:32
those who are in the dreamtime leave white mans rubbish.........
AnswerID: 315964

Follow Up By: Cape York Connections - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 06:27

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 06:27
So true

FollowupID: 582239

Follow Up By: Cape York Connections - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 06:28

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 06:28
One of the worst offenders

FollowupID: 582241

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 09:15

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 09:15
Having travelled the outback extensively I would have liked to agree with you entirely but recently I was at a campsite where supposedly intelligent, educated people left similar items in a smouldering fire. Their attitude may be " Its not in my backyard so why should I care"

So many people when travelling fail to burm their toilet paper when out bush. They think that burying it solves the problem. It doesn't as dingoes dig the waste up and the paper then floats around the desert for a long time. Roadside stops along the bitumen are even worse these days.

We stopped at Montecollina Bore on the Strzelecki last week for lunch. I spied a fella coming out of the dunes carrying a shovel and toilet paper. Not 50 metres from where he went to answer natures call, was a perfectly good, non smelling Enviro flush toilet in working condition. I am positive that he didn't burn his paper. He was driving the latest LC ute towing a KK. To afford that one must have an incling of common sense...... so one wonders at the mentality of some people.

FollowupID: 582275

Reply By: Member - Chris R (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 09:03

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 09:03
I cleaned up dunny paper from one camp area just off the CSR very near Wiluna - every concealed area had its little paper mess. Seems shovels were hard to come by or no one ran a fire that year and no one had the sense of duty to take it away with them.

Know of one isolated general store that no longer stocks disposalable nappies due to the constant litter problem.

AnswerID: 315986

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 09:28

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 09:28
Good Rave, Dave.

Burying your rubbish went out with the dark ages, but I probably have an old book at home that tells you to do it.

We burn all our rubbish and don't take glass.
A good hot mulga fire burns aluminium cans to nothing, cleans off the steel cans and burns all the rubbish people left there before us. Just develop the ritual to go through the coals in the morning and that stuff goes inside a canvas bag on the roofrack.

I'm amazed that people take young children and babies out into remote areas.
AnswerID: 315990

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 09:53

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 09:53
"I'm amazed that people take young children and babies out into remote areas."....
Why would you not take your kids out bush???
Besides.........some people live there.

FollowupID: 582284

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 10:15

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 10:15
Gday Hairy,

I speak as someone who raised 4 kids and took them camping at very young age. Its all about "at what age" and "how far off the beaten track".

The way I see it:
#1 Theres no benefit to the child of seeing the middle of the canning at say under 4-5 years of age. Different story closer to civilisation.
#2 When small Infants and Babies get sick, they go downhill very quick - a lot quicker than older children and adults. Even with RFDS help, theres many places that I go (Madigan Line, Canning, GVD etc) that you cannot get near medical help for several days. You'd be mad to take a small child out there.
#3 I've seen and heard people do stupid things when their child is sick. They drive like crazy. One guy had a 6 month old child with gastro at Innamincka in a hot October - no medical help available in Innamincka (they call for doctors or nurses in the pub). He drive like crazy down the Strezlecki to get to Leigh Creek Hospital. Another Tragedy near Oodnadatta a few years back where a LandRover rolled, killing its occupants when the father was rushing to get help for his sick child.

I'm all for teaching children about the bush and teach them camping skills and getting them out of their cities and away from their playstations. I can't wait to do the same with grandchildren. But they will need to be at least 5 years old before I'll take them through the middle of a desert.

FollowupID: 582287

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 10:34

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 10:34
Gday Phil,
Everyone to their own.
I reckon parents know their kids better than anyone else and each person can make their own mind up weather their kids are up to it.
Accidents and illness can happen anywhere anytime, and if your kids are used to that sort of thing I dont think its a real problem.

As for the nappies, in most cases, (around here anyway) they are left by the people who live in the area, not tourists travelling with kids.

FollowupID: 582289

Reply By: Ozboc - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 11:38

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 11:38
Congrads on taking the initiative to do the right thing - we also do the same and lead by example to the kids -- when we have spare space in our rubbish bag ( thanks Klaus ) we get the kids to do an emu hunt and collect all the crap in the area we have been camping( from other careless campers)

I was up in barrington tops the other week , and found lots of rubbish around the camp sites - but what also bleep me off was some of the Pristine water areas such as "Ladies Well" had beer cans scattered around it -- we collected it and left the place spotless - just as we would have like to have found it .....

Only takes a few minutes people -- make it habit to take more out than you go with, after all - it is our backyard .......

Boc
AnswerID: 316010

Reply By: DIO - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 13:02

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 13:02
Probably only a matter of time before a lot of these places will be closed off and entry will be under the guidance and control of accredited tour leaders after payment of substantial bonds to ensure total compliance with community expectations for such areas.
AnswerID: 316020

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 17:04

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 17:04

you said "it is rather depressing when you are 100's km away from civilisation and you have a small dump in the camp area"

Mate, whether its a small dump or a large dump most people would advise going off behind a dune or some bushes and, out of consideration for fellow campers, not doing it in the camp area;-)

On a serious note, I totally agree with you about the obscenity of garbage left by some people.
AnswerID: 316037

Follow Up By: Dave & Shelley (NT) - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 22:54

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 22:54
Hi bob,

Yeap, I woud like to leave a "dump" in their tents/swags as a reminder!!!

FollowupID: 582362