Sandstorm in Alice

Submitted: Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 12:25
ThreadID: 59908 Views:2805 Replies:9 FollowUps:5
Here I am , sittin around pickin my nose and we get hit by a bloody sandstorm . Huge windgusts , trees comming down and sometimes you can't open your eyes for the dust .

I hope this does not keep going while I am waiting here for the next four days for my parts .

I've gotta look on the bright side though - Saurday's Sydney Morning Herald arrives in 90 minutes .

Cheers ,

Willie

Reply By: DIO - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 12:47

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 12:47
....'I hope this does not keep going ' bet a lot of other readers hope the same. makes for pretty boring reading.
AnswerID: 316014

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 12:56

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 12:56
Well f@#F off then iDIOt!!!!! Ya brainless git!
FollowupID: 582307

Follow Up By: Member - Bob S (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 19:40

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 19:40
Dio,

You must lead a very shallow life if all you can do is offer crtiicism rather than solid advice and symathy for a fellow traveller whio is in trouible..
One wonders why you bother to frequent this forum (most of us wish you didn't).

Willie, Keep smiling and make the most of your few days in paradise.

FollowupID: 582343

Follow Up By: Member - Matt H (SA) - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 21:50

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 21:50
Its amazing isn't it?
(Apologies for the fact I haven't posted for a while - been picking up my near new Goldstream camper - but that's a story for tomorrow night).
The individuals that sling this sort of piffle aren't members!

Get a life, and leave the rest of us to lead ours without your inane dribble.

Matt
FollowupID: 582354

Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 12:48

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 12:48
Geeeez Willie,
Ya can't take a trick can ya mate.... :(

BUT Hey at least you're not in bleep ney like some of us poor slobs..LOL
AnswerID: 316015

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 12:55

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 12:55
Gday Willie,
How long are you in Alice for? Are you going to be around Tuesday? If you are and ya still bored come around for a beer.
Also yell out if you need a hand with your repairs. Im flat out till Tuesday but if you need help or somewhere to do your repairs Ive got a shed.
Sandstorm?...Na mate....thats when you cant see the rangers until you run into them......not real nice though is it?

AnswerID: 316018

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 12:10

Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 12:10
Hi Hairy ,

The dust has stpped and the sun is shining - all is well in Alice .

My springs arrive Monday or Tuesday arvo and then they will be fitted the next day . I am a bit of a mechanical clutz , so I am getting it done for me up in Smith St . Then I am off for home to avoid a costly divorce !

Thanks for the offer of help though .

Willie .
FollowupID: 582438

Reply By: Nick R (VIC) - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 16:55

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 16:55
i am sitting underground in coober pedy and the dust outside is thick, glad we are not camping tonight!!!
Nick
Carpe Cerevisi

AnswerID: 316035

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 17:14

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 17:14
G'day Willie,

i've been off for a few days so must have missed some news

what's going on? hope it is nothing too expensive.

kind regards,

Jeremy.
AnswerID: 316038

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 17:28

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 17:28
just found the post you put up earlier...

bugger, you'll be right mate, I hope it is a smooth ride home from there for you both.
FollowupID: 582332

Reply By: Member - Paul C (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 22:23

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 22:23
Willie
Read your post the other day. Shame about yoiur troubles but look on the bright side.
You're in a minority who are lucky enough to be out there exploring this GREAT Country of ours on more than an x week holiday basis.
Generally speaking, I'd rather be in a sand storm in the Alice than day to day life in Sydney. There's millions of people here who can (and will probably) never recount that as a lifetime experience.

Wore a pair of safety glasses a couple of years ago on Stockton Beach with roars of laughter from mates who told me how silly I looked. "There's no sand in my eyes" I said. Stopped 'em dead in their tracks.

Which section/s of the SMH do you read?

All the best.

AnswerID: 316076

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 22:37

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 22:37
Bro,

Stop it !!! Ya bloody head will cave in :))) Hairy will look after ya.

AnswerID: 316077

Reply By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 09:36

Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 09:36
Willie, the north wind blew into Birdsville yesterday morning and was unpleasant, as usual - then at 3:40am today the dust arrived with the SW. Still can't see the sun or the street outside. Should blow east and head to the coast later today - shame about the fishing though.
AnswerID: 316113

Reply By: Rock Ape - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 12:50

Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 12:50
Yep, 80k south west of Mckinlay, strong souwester and dust have arrived here at midday.
AnswerID: 316152