Outback Travel....Where to now?
Submitted: Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 09:38
Willem
Yesterday I spent a few hours working out my proposed trip itinerary for 2009. There are still some
places I wish to explore in Western Australia and they are mainly in remote areas.
When I costed my trip however, using $2 per litre of diesel and worse case scenario $3 per litre of diesel, plus tucker and incidentals, I nearly fell off my chair. There is no way my 12,000km journey will be affordable unless there is a drastic reduction in the price of fuel which is, by all accounts, a pipe dream. If I am able to cut my trip in half as a ‘there and back’ along the same route, the cost is still quite beyond my reach.
Health issues saw me go from being self-employed to being a pensioner some years ago. Various factors throughout my life have dictated that there isn’t a great amount of money in the kitty and what capital is invested does not bring in very much annually. So I have to rely on my pension for living. I am not complaining about my lot, as I have no debts and have a house and all the toys I need to play with at my age and my health is in the acceptable category. :-)
So my dreams of remote WA or
Cape York, for that matter, may have to be thrown into the missed opportunity basket. I will now have to concentrate on
places much closer to home. I am lucky that I still have some means to travel but this will be curtailed severely in the future due to the cost factor.
‘Tis sad, but it is a fact of life for many of us pensioners.
Reply By: Member - bushfix - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 09:49
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 09:49
G'day mate,
yes I noticed in another post you mentioned "planning for 2009" and it brought a smile to me. But, yep, maybe we need to to "cast our nets" out on the other side of the boat.... I am trying for an Anne Beadell/Gunbarrel/Connie Sue loop in 2009 but it may not eventuate. There will be a trip to the Western Deserts either way as I will visit my Father so it may just be AB and the Trans Access, with more time spent in Cape Arid.
have a nice day, love to Judith and Jeddah.
Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 10:54
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 10:54
G'day
Young fella
Yes, I was look at the Trans Access to get across the continent this time. Need fuel for 1400km though.
Maybe we need some lateral thinking......LOL
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 15:25
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 15:25
Willem
You can get fuel at
Forrest they sell it to the public (the place is one big re-fueling rig) we didn't need it this time but it was $2.55/l
they have diesel, unleaded, avgas & jet fuel.. LOL
Reply By: Member - Lewis K (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 09:56
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 09:56
Willem,
Perhaps the trick is to slow down and spend more time on the road. Travel the same distance but at a slower pace and let the pension keep up with the travels. A few people that I know on the road are doing just that and tend to be enjoying the time much more as they are more relaxed as they go.
I was to be on the road now as
well but due to things beyond my control am still siting at home. My time will come though.
Best of luck mate. Take what you can and enjoy.
Follow Up By: Member - John G- Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 10:10
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 10:10
G'day Willem
Yeah, sometimes it's an effort to keep up the 'glass is half full' perspective when you sit down and do the sums for the long trips. I think the idea of travelling less far and doing it slower is a good one but there are still those far flung
places that would be great to visit.
I think you have hit the nail on the head. Many of us are having to review just how often and how far we travel. The latest issue of Campertrailer Australia (p14) talks very optmistically about the future of the "RV industry" - I think though that they may be guilty of believing their own spin and marketing.
Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 10:38
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 10:38
Lewis K and John G
Ahhh...we have done the
Grey Nomad thingy in the '90's
I have been to many
places including the 'Round the block' trek.
The planned trips into remote areas are specialised and even if waiting for the pension to build I can't be away from home for an extended period.. say 6 months as there are other factors involved.
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 14:56
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 14:56
I've thought the same - fewer trips, but go away longer. But in
the desert, if beer o'clock starts at 12MD instead of 3.30, we might blow out the drinks and entertainment budget!
Reply By: stevesub - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 10:02
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 10:02
We have friends in a similar $$ (or lack of) situation to you and also have meet some pensioners while travelling recently.
The ones we met while travelling would travel 200km and then wait for the next pension in 2 weeks time, then travel 200km. it would take a long time to do 12,000km and this is not practical where there is nowhere to stop for 1,000km. They would use
free camping where possible to minimise costs - but they were doing the dream on a pension only.
Alternately, the option is to work while you travel. My wife and I both work but were offered jobs while we were on our 2 week trip in the outback.
There are also employment agencies that specialise in casual workers for outback stations (and I do not mean fruit picking). These jobs may be gardener, handyman,
cook, etc, etc. Have a search on the net and see what you can find.
Good Luck and good travels
Stevesub
Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 10:42
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 10:42
Stevesub
Thanks for you comments.
I am
well aware of all the things possible such as working in the Outback. These applications are not options for us.
Reply By: Pomgonewalkabout - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 10:07
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 10:07
Hi Willem,
I don't know your circumstances but weigh up what is important to you. if you have a house sell it and hit the road or look into a reverse mortgage? We have no kids and will be doing that as we have no one to leave anything to.
Petrol is still cheap compared to $4 for a can of beer that I was paying last night.
Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 10:44
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 10:44
Are you still in
Leigh Creek?
Have hit the road before. Selling the house is not an option nor is any kind of mortgage right now.
I will have to think up something else....lol
Follow Up By: Pomgonewalkabout - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 11:01
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 11:01
Hi Willem,
Left
Leigh Creek and now in
Mount Surprise for a year or so.
Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 11:32
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 11:32
Geez, a bit of a 'seachange' from
the desert to the tropics! No doubt you are enjoying the warmer climate.
Follow Up By: Pomgonewalkabout - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 13:08
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 13:08
Swapped my Ugg boots for a pair of thongs!
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 13:25
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 13:25
Why do people keep comparing beer to fuel? or
water to fuel?
You dont go thru 90+ltrs of beer a week, as a MUST have to get to work, live and survive - which 99% of us have no choice on...
You can go without beer quite easily.
You can go touring without beer too, cant do that with fuel.
like it or not, fuel is a necessity for everyone...
Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 10:21
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 10:21
Willem,
I have just finished doing the receipt's for the
Canning Stock Route for this year.
Fuel for this year was $2686.
That is from
Sydney to Ayers Rock, GCR to
Laverton and then
Wiluna,
Canning Stock Route, Billiluna, to
Alice Springs via Tanami Track.
30 days of travel.
That works out to be about $90 per day for fuel.
I have left the Troopie in Alice Spring and fly back to Alice tomorrow to pick it up and then do the Kimberly.
Fuel would have been the biggest expense and one that you can not do with out.
Camp fees can be reduced by
bush camping and food is an expense,
camping or at home.
You might have to look at the
Vic High Country in summer. I don't know how much you have done down there but it would be close to where you live (Compared to remote WA or
Cape York) and there is a lot to see with out doing the big kilometers.
Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 10:46
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 10:46
G'day Wayne
Yes my costing is $100 per day living frugally.
I hope to be doing some more of the High Country in the near future as we have only skirted the area.
Still, I would like to go to a place to the west of
Kunawarritji....LOL
Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 11:14
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 11:14
Willem,
Vic has just dropped of the itinerary for the trip that I will do after I finish the Kimberly.
Millstream, Chichester and Karijini National Parks with all their amazing gorges.
Rudall River N.P. Great Sandy and
Gibson Desert via the Talawana,
Gary Hwy and finish up in Ayers Rock.
I have not been on this trip before, but from what Vic has told me the scenery and gorges are not to be missed.
I think the new camera will get a work out on this trip.
Follow Up By: JohnF56 - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 15:53
Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 15:53
You might consider borrowing my camera, Wayne - I could rent it to you for $90 per - LOL
Reply By: rredbeak - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 10:45
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 10:45
firstly,convert your vehicle to dual fuel,at worst you'll pay is around $50 to fill a 72 liter
tank. thats our worst so far and that was at kings canyon,everywhere else is $30 to $40 dead full.
then as suggested earlier,drive more slowly,see the world and relax here n there, swap travel stories with other travellers stopping for the same reasons.
takes longer but youre much more relaxed,learnt more and saved heaps. everything we buy is long life stuff ,even powderred milk.and its all home brand...you can and will do your favourite
places just take a little longer.. happy
trails.. Rod
Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 10:52
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 10:52
Rod
Dual fuel is not an option in Remote Outback Australia
I am
well aware of all the suggestions you make and adhere to most of them already. Go
here and click on 4x4 to see where I have been over the years.
And I am so relaxed I fall asleep easily.....LOL
Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 11:34
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 11:34
Got any used machinery for sale (cheap) ?
I could be interested in a metal detector :-))
Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 11:37
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 11:37
No and No....lol
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 11:40
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 11:40
G'day Willie,
One good thing about the price of fuel v my current cracked chassis dilemma.........
The cost of the repairs will just about be covered by the fuel I'll be saving by not driving it!!!!! hahahaha
My plans for retirement in the next 12 months will be put on the back-burner for the time being; partly due to the price of fuel, but also the rather nasty turn of events on the stock market which has adversely impacted my super-fund!!!!! Double whammy!!!
Mate, I feel for you, but I guess at least you'll appreciate your travels even more if they are fewer and further between.
Cheers and enjoy the rain/cold.....
Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 12:13
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 12:13
Yeah its cold and blustery here in the stix. Definitely an EO day....lol
>at least you'll appreciate your travels even more if they are fewer and further between.<
You having a dig at my tripping around, eh???
Cheers and Hi to Annette and the
young uns
Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 13:17
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 13:17
G'day
young fella,
Might I respectfully suggest you get out into the garden.
It would take your mind off the terrible cost of fuel.
Yours sincerely
Michael J
Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 13:40
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 13:40
You talking to Bill or me?...old fella
Not a nice day in the garden today. Must be warm and fuzzy where you live....LOL
Yours sincerely too
Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 14:34
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 14:34
Was to you Willem, should've realised there were two
young fellas on the post I replied to..
However seeing as Roachie is unable to 'getupandabout' perhaps it's the garden for him too...
Only joking Bill ;)))
Michael
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 14:53
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 14:53
Me and the garden have an agreement.......
I won't go to it if it doesn't come to me!!!!! Annette is an excellent gardener, but like
Peterborough, it's too blurry cold here to do anything but stay indoors!!!
I'm spending my spare time in the shed preparing "things" for when I get the trol back. I'm determined to make the wiring a bit neater this time (I've got a mate who's an auto-sparky and he used to cringe every time he looked in my cargo box before; wires everywhere).
Follow Up By: TD100 - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 20:25
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 20:25
Same here,fuel saved from not tripping but the repair bill is yet to be determined,appears it has broken the flywheel off the crank,just hope that its not a broken crank cos that spells big bucks.as for travelling,yes fuel is getting dearer and we are trying to do a good trip every year (this year is buggered now!!!) before it gets to the point that i cant afford to do this type of travelling.when comes my time for retirement at the rate things are going i will have to stay
home.but chin up and keep doing it for as long as we all can.as the saying goes there is more than one way to skin a cat hahaha poor cat! Paul
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 13:21
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 13:21
>>> There is no way my 12,000km journey will be affordable unless there is a drastic reduction in the price of fuel which is, by all accounts, a pipe dream...
But everytime I say this you say suck it up and get on with it ;)
I'd hate to live in a *town that relies on tourism* to survive.. Your dead if you do.
Still got that Turfor if you still want it :)
Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 13:42
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 13:42
Yerrrr....when?
Tirfor...yes but no but yes but. Will be down your way in November so will see then. Dunno if I can handle a Tirfor any more....lol
Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 14:30
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 14:30
"Dunno if I can handle a Tirfor any more....lol "
You can practice on
mine if you wish, just to
check out your
mobility:)))
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 21:04
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 21:04
Fair call on the turfor.. why you think it aint been used in 4yrs, let alone taken out of the shed LOL!
Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 13:54
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 13:54
Hi Willem
I understand the problems, re Pensions and earning extra Dollars ect,
and having to declare, but have you considered approaching
Magazine Publishers of various types, or even
Camping Equipment
Manufacturers or Dealers, ect, the list is long as your imagination,
and possibly Writing and Photographing your Adventures, from what
you have provided on the
Forum and the way you put Pen to Paper
it would make interesting reading, some publishers use Ghost Writers
ect and take the credit them selves, getting back to the
Remuneration side of things, this can be over come by using there
fuel cards ect and other non cash deals, that don't show up on your
bank account.
Daza
Follow Up By: Krakka - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 17:40
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 17:40
Think Willem has been there and done that too. Seems Willem just wants to relax and get away without having to work or guide. Sounds good.
Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 18:45
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 18:45
Ahhh Krakka...you took the words out of my mouth
Daza
Thanks for your imput. Whereas there is no age limit for work I want to steer clear of the media and that is why I publish all my adventures for free on my website.
I wrote for 4x4 Aust Magazine as a freelance writer from 1986 to 1995. Then Ron Moon got me involved in the Discover Australia by 4WD Books(if you have one you will see my name in the credits).
But by the mid nineties the whole demographic had changed as far as contributing articles to mags, and I gave it away in disgust.
On top of that SWMBO worked for Newscorp Ltd(Murdoch)for 20 years and when we got out of the media, we got out.
I shall concentrate my money raising endeavours with the metal detector when the weather fines up again....lol
Follow Up By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 19:03
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 19:03
Hi Willem,
Serious question, I was watching an old Jack Absolom video last night and he was in your neighbourhood showing someone crushing their ore at the old battery.
Is there any areas around there where you can prospect?
I didn't realise the country was gold bearing where you are.
I only ask because I am 2 years off retiring and intend to return
home and supplement my pension with a bit of prospecting.
Did a bit around
Coolgardie in March last time we were back
home.
Dennis
Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 19:19
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 19:19
G'day Dennis
South Australia isn't endowed with heaps of goldfields but some mining was carried out during the past 100 years. The ore crush here in
Peterborough hasn't worked for some years now. I bought my detectot just before winter and now the weather is too inclement to go out. Prospecting is very much a hit and miss affair and on top of that I am still learning the ropes. One dreams of a fantastic find but the chances are.................
Nevertheless there was a 53 ounce find not so long ago in Victoria!
Follow Up By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 19:44
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 19:44
G'day Willem,
Thanks for that, was an old video, Jack was driving around in a 60 series with an old twin axle Evernew, he went from
Broken Hill to
Coffin Bay.
Know what you mean about the hit and miss, took us 3 days to find our first piece. Been doing it for about the last 20 years in WA.
Heard there is good prospecting up around
Marble Bar and that area you were referring to in other thread.
Might be worth waving your detector about up there, you never know your luck.
Having read a lot of your stories, I have often wondered why you don't write a book on all of your experiences, you certainly have the talent to achieve this.
Lastly, have you ever thought about hiring yourself out as a Consultant to any Tour operators?
Dennis
Reply By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 14:21
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 14:21
This might be the way to go, maybe down the Cooper :-))
Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 18:46
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 18:46
Looks cool!!!!....lol
Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 19:07
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 19:07
Yeah,Tough Question with no easy answer Willem :-(
There are a few others of us pondering over the same problem.
Hope these constrainsts don't keep the hobbles on for too long mate...I'm sure you'll find a way to continue to scratch your itch for remote exploration.
Fred.
Reply By: Crackles - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 14:56
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 14:56
An experienced bushy like yourself Willem should have little trouble offsiding as a tour guide or tail end Charlie, then claim all your vehicle expenses back. As already suggested one could take a few photo's & write an article for a magazine, they are always looking for trips to remote areas.
Plenty of empty seats heading to
the desert too so rent yourself out as a navigator :-)
Can always return to your back yard for trips. The Flinders & Victoria's deserts have plenty to keep one interested.
Cheers Craig..........
Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 18:51
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 18:51
Thanks Craig, but I have also been there and done that in the tourism industry. I have come up with an idea recently along similar lines however, and I am mulling over it though the tourist industry is a bit hit and miss and there are now so many constraints placed on operators.
In a nutshell my working life is over and at this point in time my energy levels do not lend themselves to getting back into the workforce.
Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 15:20
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 15:20
Willem,
I have been sitting down trying to work out if it is financial viable to travel to
the Pyrenees. Going on the fuel usage etc for the
Innamincka trip I would be looking at around $1800 just for fuel at the most. It makes for and expensive week away, I may have aquired a passenger for the trip now on a similar arrangement to
John T if not my BIL may come down if I get the time off work.
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 19:08
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 19:08
Kev
Yeah we only have a comparatively short distance to go to get there and we will be in the region for other activities at the time.
You could ofcourse, fly down to the Big Smoke and be hosted by one of the many Friendly Victorian Members.....lol Down on Friday night and back on Sunday night. All you will need is your swag!!!
Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 19:10
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 19:10
mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm,
Which mexican would have me LOL
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Member - Geoff C (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 18:10
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 18:10
I know what you mean. We didn't keep records but estimate $6000 for fuel on our recent trip. Didn't help that we had a head wind from
Geraldton WA to
Toowoomba Qld. Will have to think seriously before any more long trips.
Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 19:21
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 19:21
Yes we will all have to tighten our belts for a while.
Reply By: Saharaman (aka Geepeem) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 19:05
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 19:05
HI Willem,
There are only 2 sides to the equation – income and expenditure. Given that you desire to travel certain routes and no doubt you
bush camp etc to minimise costs there is probably not a lot that you can do to reduce costs. So focus on income. I acknowledge from your post that you are on a pension – but is there anyway to earn a little extra income during the year to use on your
treks?
I know of a number of pensioner couples that make extra money at the local Sunday markets (selling crafts,
home made jams, plants, garden produce etc etc). If you live in an area where there are no markets see if you can supply a stall holder at a market in the nearest town that has one. I know of a pensioner that has make quite a lot of money propagating plants and selling them at a market (and remember its all cash sales so it won’t effect your pension).
Another option is that you have a vast outback travel experiences (from reading your posts) over large number of years so maybe sending of some travel stories for publication in a magazine or newspaper may be an option. I think there would be overseas mags that would love to hear your outback experiences. And at least you use the internet which many pensioners don’t
I do not know your personal circumstances but I guess what I am suggesting is see if there is some way of earning extra income. It’s a pity if you can’t travel the trips you desire to do – we only have one life and we all need to make the most of the resources we have. Be positive and focus on earning extra income and enjoy your travels.
Good luck – hope you can do the trips you want to do,
Glen
Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 19:34
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 19:34
Hi Glen
Most of what you said I have covered in other follow-ups.
Funny thing is we are actually running a market here at
home as volunteers amongst the other volunteer jobs we do.
Markets.....wife and I have done over 300 markets across 5 states in our past, manufacturing craft items. We were on the road for 5 years.
In this thread I was merely lamenting the fact of the high cost of travel these days. We have been to a few
places and roads and tracks done in Australia are shown on my travel map below. This
pic was taken in 2006 and there have been a few more tracks added since then.
Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 21:37
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 21:37
Hi Willem,
I see a conspicuous lack of black texta marks north of about
Cooktown! Never been turned on by the Cape?
Muddy
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 08:57
Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 08:57
If you re read willems post muddy you will see that
cape york was one of trips he was hoping to do.
Nette
Reply By: Best Off Road - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 20:00
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 20:00
Of course a bloke could always write a book, get it published and that would finance his travels.
Yeah, I know, nag nag nag.
Follow Up By: pepper2 - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 21:22
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 21:22
willem,did you see the post last week re the couple with a troopy and a campertrailer on their second lap of australia fuelled exclusively with recycled cooking oil ??? i know you cant get it in really remote areas,but could you use this when you travel near towns during the year and the money you save be put toward your offroad trips...just a thought....after reading this i asked at a local restaurant and they said they already give their oil away to someone locally that uses the oil in a 4wd for fuel,they are happy to give it away as is costs them to dispose of it....
Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 09:46
Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 09:46
Jim ....ummmmmm
pepper2...No I haven't seen that post. I have howvere gone down the road of producing bio-fuel or vegie oil run systems but unless you live in or near the cities it is a serious waste of time in the long run.
There was a bloke, Kurt Johannsen, from
Alice Springs, who built a wood fired egine for his car. He drove to
Brisbane and back for nothing chucking in bits of wood along the way.
Reply By: Robin Miller - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 21:27
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 21:27
Hi Willem
After fighting thru 4 downed trees on our way to our front door saturday , when for the first time in years I forgot the chain saw,
it seems to me it might be worth considering a different approach,
So here is a challenge, there are over 6 hundred known tracks within a few of hours of
Melbourne.
You can get , more lost and stuck in either snow, sand, big mudholes or
rock ledges than anywhere else I know and you can even have a fire almost all year round unlike other states.
Start exploring them all in a big loop, ticking them off one by one, you'll use a lot less fuel.
If still alive then you can start on the ones we don't tell people about !
I need to live till at least 100.
Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 09:51
Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 09:51
Thanks for the heads up, Robin. I will be concentrating on the High Country soon.
Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 00:38
Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 00:38
Willem last week at Tjukayirla diesal was $2.50/l and Opal $2.10. Needless to say I didn't say fill her up.
Having just got back from the GVD there are countless breakaways and ranges, hills and knolls that have never seen a white man that still need exploring.
The spinafex was over bonnet high and silver in the sunlight, the marbel gums glistened and the red sands never looked prettier.
Leave and staff comitments next year I'll be back. Was looking at doing the Simpson but the GVD is to big not to further explore.
][/url]
Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 09:53
Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 09:53
Yes the GVD is a special place and there is an area around Plumridge Lakes that I still want to explore sometime in the future.
Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 07:52
Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 07:52
Hi Willem,
What are you like at reciting 'bush poetry' or 'Tall (true) Stories From Beyond
The Black Stump' or 'A Gathering On The Cooper ? You could always go half way on your trek and
park up at a CP and spout poetry for a few months in return for free
parking till the next chq arrives :-)
How about this for starters -
An audience of
grey nomads sitting around a
camp fire waiting with baited breath for the esteemed and
well published outback traveller from the Flinders....
There was an old man named Roachie....
or
Let me tell you a story about my mate Bonz.....
Then you hold your hat out for donations :-))
Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 09:54
Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 09:54
Arrrrrrrrrrrrrr...yer a funny man, Kiwi Kia
Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 15:18
Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 15:18
Gday Willem!!
One thing in your favor is your proximity to the outback... You have to feel sorry for us Eastern seaboarders!!! We have a 2 day drive to get even off the beaten track!!! Michael.
Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 18:12
Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 18:12
Yes Michael, I feel sorry for you
Reply By: Desertrose - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 16:32
Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 16:32
I'd like to echo the thoughts of a "book", though your responses to that Willem don't seem all that....enthusiastic? :)
You obviously have a passion for travel, and a talent for writing about your experiences, which seem many and varied.
I don't know how difficult - competitive? it is to get a book published , but hey.....if fuel prices DO keep going up ridiculously then perhaps the only thing those of us with itchy feet will be able to do is to sit and read about it, while we ponder ways of making more money so we CAN do it!
While it is wonderful to sit and read some of your stories (just read "the scar" - great! - though the lion story has always been my favourite! :)) that you have up there for "free", I can't help feeling that your contribution in a book form, of such unique Australian experiences would surely be something others would be prepared to pay for.
Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 18:11
Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 18:11
Thanks for the compliments Desertrose
No, I am not enthusiastic about a book but never say never...maybe sometime in the future
We built our website to cover our genealogy research. Then I started writing some recent travel articles and also re-wrote all of those published in 4x4 Australia over the years. The My Stories bit has been struggling along and I try to get enthusiatic to write more but it is not always possible for a variety of excuses :-)
My subject of interest is History of the last 2000 years(European and Australian) as
well as Archaeology of the Dreamtime and ancient occupation of this continent. My remote trips take me to those
places.
I am going have make some adjustments to my finances and the way I travel in the future and travel to distant sites may be only every three years or so.
Follow Up By: Desertrose - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 18:54
Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 18:54
Sounds fascinating - the ancient occupation.
I'd like to learn more of the aboriginal history of Australia (even more recent than "ancient") - I'd like my kids to understand more since they don't really go into it in schools to any great extent.
I wish you the best of luck with continuing your remote travel - but hope you enjoy those trips closer to
home just as much!
"a variety of excuses"....
I'm guilty of that affliction too. :)
Winter seems like the perfect time to settle in a chair next to the fire with pen and paper and... memories. ;)