Trailer ban on the simpson
Submitted: Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 22:02
Mad Cowz (VIC)
Ok, make of this what you will but in a conversation friday morning with the senior parks
ranger responsible for the area from Pt
Augusta to NT border it will be inserted into
the desert parks book next year that trailers will not be allowed into the
simpson desert. It seems that the actions of a few over the years have stuffed it for the rest of us who tow trailers.
There will also be a seasonal closure from September to about march or april.
He cited an example of a group who did the french line a few months ago with trailers but must have done something awfully wrong managed to chop up the track for weeks.
That said, a stand alone fourby driven poorly will do more damage than one driven properly even with a trailer.....
Once again, the actions of a few richard craniums stuffing it for the rest of us....
Thoughts?
Mad Cowz
Reply By: Member - bushfix - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 22:33
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 22:33
G'day,
they don't have much to work with, easier to ban trailers than fourbys. the next step (after trailers) would possibly be to ban those who are not an affiliated member of the ANFWDC....let's hope it does not come to that.
let's also hope outback does not ((for those not living (near) there already)) become reachable only by the "
well heeled explorer."
bob hope.
Follow Up By: Member - janet P (VIC) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 19:44
Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 19:44
Is it the assumption that there are no yobbos as members of the ANFWDC? We are not members of any 4x4 club because we have seen some of these clubs in action. Can we still tow trailers from
Oodnadatta to
Dalhousie Springs ?
janet
Follow Up By: Mad Cowz (VIC) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 19:48
Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 19:48
Janet,
I imagine that road would be fine as it is a gravel road, it was the dunes they were conderned about...
Reply By: Visitor - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 23:34
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 23:34
Is this serious?????
The
Simpson Desert area is like 400kms x 300kms large and we are worried about an 8 foot track getting damaged and the odd plant getting run over????
So freekin what.........
Move it over 20feet,,, make new tracks......
Things will repair and revegetate....
Cape York Overland Telegraph Track never ever gets closed or repaired (apart from Telstra last year), and
Cape York isnt suffering..
Nor will The Simpson....
4 windy days go by and you can barely make out the track anyway... SHEESH..
Follow Up By: Visitor - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 23:39
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 23:39
And just to add to what i said,,,,, i CARE about our outback,,, and i tread lightly,.,,,,
but seriously,,, how wrecked can the simpson get? It is moving sand.....
Follow Up By: Mad Cowz (VIC) - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 08:20
Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 08:20
He sounded serious, I only bothered posting because of who it was that I spoke to.
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 10:37
Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 10:37
Mad Cowz, looks like the relationship issues have gone or have some kangaroos got loose in the back paddock to irritate the cowz?
Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 13:49
Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 13:49
Ummmm Mad Cowz....that Rig Pic of your states that it is Big Red but it looks awfully like
Little Red to me.....LOL
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 19:06
Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 19:06
Come on Bro, he was being led by a donut muncher. Surely he would know one from another?
Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 19:23
Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 19:23
Hey Bro
Poor bugger me, that Donut Muncher is a worry.
I do not recall such a distinct graded track leading east from Big Red. There are also no large trees in the vicinity to the left of the downhill slope facing east off BR...just a few spindly trees. I also do not recall any flora at the top of Big Red where everybody drives.
Everything points to
Little Red. I shall quiz the
young fella later in the week when he drops in for a cuppa or a sleep-over depending on his rush to get back to his beloved cowz.
Follow Up By: Mad Cowz (VIC) - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 12:59
Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 12:59
I was a little dissappointed when i got up, was a little anticlimactic getting there, it was a piece of cake
little red was harder
nick
Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 05:45
Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 05:45
You have to wonder if there's another reason like people abandoning stuck or damaged trailers that are worth less than a recovery bill.
Or is it another way of restricting numbers?
Now i see they've changed their name ,here in NSW at least, to Environment and Climate Change from NPWS they may see their roles as changing and becoming more topical and important, just what we need :((( Eco-nazis with a new mission...
Follow Up By: Vince NSW - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 12:51
Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 12:51
NSW Nat Parks have not had a name change. They are now part of the Department of Environment & Climate Change along with the EPA Catchment Authority & a few other small authority's.
Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 14:46
Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 14:46
One of teir trees fell across my back fence recently and damaged it. When i looked them up in whitepages.com.au under NPWS it said they were now Dept. Environment and Climate Change so i thought that meant they had changed their name.
Reply By: psproule - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 07:12
Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 07:12
I just got back from the Simpson and I would have to agree with the trailer ban. I also wish there was a way to enforce suitable tyre pressures.
The state of the French Line has to be seen to be believed! It has deteriorated so much in the two years since I last went that it made it quite an unpleasant experience for our west to east party. The QAA line is much the same. Big trenches cut, large steps up every face and bypasses cut around almost every dune. At least the WAA was in good order. I personally watched a GU with Chev V8 Diesel loaded with 4 burly blokes, a lot of gear and towing an Ultimate camper rip the sand hills to pieces. It became bogged regularly and left enormous trenches where it's driver simply fed in more right boot in an attempt to move the monstrous thing along. Then we watched a guy try and drive an unladen 120 series up Big Red. After 5 attempts he gave up citing over the UHF that he was too lazy to be bothered dropping tyre pressures. And then there was the group of "Diff Lock Heros" in GQ's GU's & 80's who were attempting the steep track at Big Red. It seemed that maybe to have to drop pressures is to "wimp out" amongst this mob. So they left a real nice mess of that one as
well, although it didn't look like any actually made it over. Would love to find them and tell them that my "Soft" DID Pajero made it up on my first attempt.
This was all in a year where the sand was
well packed from recent rains - so much so that on 15psi I was actually able to idle up Big Red at 10kph. Go figure!
Pat.
Follow Up By: Stibbs - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 09:17
Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 09:17
We crossed the simpson in 05 with a trakshak and in company with a 120 Prado. We ran 18psi and basically idled over everything. However the Prado ran 26psi and I had to snatch him over a couple of dunes. This is just indicative that you can't expect to crosssoft sand with high pressures - I understand that a lot of people don't want to risk punctures by dropping pressures too far but it's just so much easier with correct pressures.
A fully laden 4x4 will be put more load through it's tyres and chop up a track than a less loaded 4x4 with a medium loaded trailer.
Maybe the solution is that all trailers must be registered - then they could trace those who leave them behind - and charge them for retrieval.
Follow Up By: nutwood - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 10:05
Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 10:05
That's a bizarre story Stibbs. I'm amazed anyone would do that trip with 26psi, especially in company with someone who knew the importance of soft tyres.
Can I congratulate you on your patience. I wouldn't have helped until the pressures were lowered. The puncture bit is a furphy. A soft tyre is HARDER to puncture. Anyone who's ever tried the experiment of deliberately puncturing a tyre know that!
The only reason to run tyres hard is to prevent overheating and keep them on the rim. My vehicle weighs 2.55 ton empty and I've often gone below 10psi for extended periods of time. Some sense is needed to be aware that you're running on the edge but I've never suffered a flat under those conditions.
Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 11:54
Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 11:54
That's funny - I was in
Coral Bay recently, and as we arrived at a beach for some fishing (had to take a track down a small dune to get there), some folks were just leaving. Pair of 80 series cruisers - 4 adults in the first one, seriously the guy took about 10 or 12 attempts to get up the track, ended up bogging 2/3 of the way up and had to lower pressures and dig a bit to get out. I stood around chatting to the driver of the second vehicle who mentioned something along the lines of can't be bothered to drop pressures as they didn't have a compressor and didn't want to drive on the couple of km of bitumen at low pressures to get back into town. So the second vehicle with 3 people took about 5 attempts as
well, but they did get over eventually. Absolutely chewed the track up - soft sand and they left criss-crossed ruts over the track the entire length of it.
I was at 18psi - just drove up and out in one go. Spent less time reinflating than the guys did trying to get up the
hill "to save time".
Follow Up By: Pud & Barb - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 15:05
Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 15:05
Hi psprule, we own a patrol with a 6.5 chev and own an ultimate camper and are just back from the simpson. If it was us you saw I believe you need your eyes checked. My husband, 11 year old and 13 year old daughters and myself were in it not 4 burly blokes. I agree the track was not as good when we travelled it 3 years ago when we also towed a camper, let me tell you that the track was deteriorated before we got to it. We are not in the habit of stuffing up tracks.Perhaps there was another 6.5 and ultimate out there at the same time but I doubt it,and I don't recall anyone watching us, perhaps you are just presuming it was us. Also we were travelling east to west, didnt notice anyone stopping to watch us tread carefully, with the low down grunt of our 6.5 we didn't need to use the right boot. Get it right.
Cheers, Barb
Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 19:44
Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 19:44
Way to go Barb!!! hahahahaha
Just the thought of going out there with the chevy and Ulti was enough to break Roachies spirit!! LOL
I have to say that in the times I have travelled with the trailer over sand, if your tyre pressures are low, including the trailer, then it is always left in better condition than without, the trailer seems to level out a good smooth bed for the next guy.
This story seems to be an excuse to lessen there work load, when instead they should be on the ground checking tyre pressures.
I liked the idea that a fine be imposed if your pressures are randomly checked and you are over 16 psi.
Everyone should be forced to travel in heavy sand in a gutless 60 series diesel and they would soon learn to drop tyre pressures, or stay where they get bogged.
Cheers pesty
Follow Up By: Pud & Barb - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 23:51
Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 23:51
Agree totally Pesty about tyre presures, still amazes me that such a simple thing seems to be too hard for some yobbo's, and then you get the ones that do let some out and forget the trailer!!!!!
It wasn't quite right going out there without the Roaches but it was best to find the crack before heading out, would've been a bugga for it to be found half way. And then again it would have been better to find it on a local trip before the big one with us. Relly missed them, poor pud kept saying they should be here.
Cheers Barb
Reply By: DIO - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 09:02
Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 09:02
This is not too hard to figure out. Owing to the irresponsible actions of a few, authorities have now obtained 'evidence' capable of supporting their decisions. Same thing will happen elsewhere if people continue to dump their rubbish all over the place, go off-road in areas incapable of sustaining such activities. enter and use tracks that are signposted as CLOSED, ripping them up and costing Councils and ratepayers a small firtune to repair them. Given time, the only permitted areas of travel in much of this country will be limited to sealed/bitumen roads. To all those that have contributed to any of the above, thanks very much, you should be proud of yourselves.
Reply By: Willem - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 09:33
Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 09:33
Mad Cowz(an apt name...lol)
It is not that a few have stuffed it for everyone. That is a total misconception.
Every year almost without fail the tracks get covered by new sand and the first vehciles across
the desert after summer bed the tracks down. But National Parks want to take the easy way out. Banning trailers will not solve the problem.
The fact it that there is too much unregulated usage of the popular tracks in the
Simpson Desert. The recreational industry has boomed over the past 10 years with Camper Trailer and Caravan Sales hitting new highs. After a while of travelling normal bush roads and tracks travellers want to attempt to drive the Simpson. Many travellers have no comprehension of desert travel and tyre pressures for sand driving and because there is very little 'supervision' in
the desert, Gung-ho idiots and novices alike do environmental damage to the tracks on a temporary basis as there is no one to 'police' the traffic
SA Dept of Env and
Heritage and Queensland National Parks have not kept up with the pace of tourism with far too few rangers on the ground.
My view is that there should be proper entrance gates at all accesses of the
park where informative National Parks staff could explain to travellers what their responsibilities are as far as desert travel goes and to get them to drop their tyre pressures before entering the
park. They can also check the suitability of some vehicles. Most people have some respect for authority and will take in to consideration the rules of desert travel set down in a pamhlet or such.
I came across a party of senior citz on the French Line in 2005 bogged to their eyeballs on a dune and trying to physically dig themselves out. I asked what tyre pressures they were running and they said 30psi. I said drop them to 10, reverse out and then pump them up to 16 and drive away. These people were not towing trailers! A similar incident happened on the CSR in the same year. On both occasions I was told where to go in colourful language.
This is the mentality you have to deal with many desert travellers.
I have done most of
the desert tracks with and without a trailer and yes, on occasions, it has been difficult to get over a particular dune, but nothing is insurmountable and a bit of ingenuity is needed from time to time. I am glad however that I have done all these tracks before the mad rush and will most likely not go there again
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 10:47
Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 10:47
You are right Willem. Do you remember the
Birdsville National Gathering when we were at the top of Big Red and the group west were having a trouble snatching their group over the second last sand
hill prior to Big Red. One of the guys retorted that haing crossed the Simpson at 40psi, he wasn't going to drop the pressures at that stage. One of the group got into town with 40psi front and 50psi rear - bl**dy city pressures! Wrecks dunes like nothing else.
Reply By: Max - Sydney - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 11:32
Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 11:32
Maybe National Parks should adopt the same approach as the station you cross to get to
Steep Point in WA. Several big notices saying something like "If we measure your tyres pressures at more than 20 psi we will charge you an extra $30"
People's attitudes are amazing.
Max
Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 15:01
Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 15:01
Just a thought, maybe it's the various Parks
Services (SA & Qld) way of changing the future management practices of the area to try and reduce the overall traffic pressures that appear to be increasingly applied to the Simpson these days??
I.E. No trailers, closed periods and maybe limited numbers of vehicle permits issued to cross will be the future norm??
Reply By: Pomgonewalkabout - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 15:23
Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 15:23
$105 for a permit to cross the Simpson. How many of these are sold each year? Surely this would cover a few repairs and wages to police the area?
I thought drifting sand fixed things up each year.
I have an Adventure Off road trailer but if crossing the Simpson I would take a Swag. Just think how much it would cost to retrieve it?
I have never crossed the Simpson it is something we would like to do, but to be honest if it is like driving up Pitt Street with idiot hoons then count me out.
cheers Eric
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 19:14
Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 19:14
$105 is an A N N U A L SA Desert Parks Pass covering lots of areas not just the Simpson. The annual renewal is $60 after the first one for another three years.
Reply By: Member -Signman - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 16:24
Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 16:24
Yea mate- this has been on the cards for a while now. I did post the fact a few months back- and got most of the 'informed' replies that you got here..
I'll be out there in just 3 weeks (but who's counting) so it'll be interesting to see what's going on. I did the trip in 00- when those damn C/Ts weren't as popular as they are now...
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 20:09
Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 20:09
Well I'm buggered if I know how they are going to police this.
Are they going to set up a Desert Border control point?
How are they going to staff if?
More stupid bureaucracy at work.
Bill.
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 21:56
Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 21:56
Easy!!! catch the first couple of people doing the wrong thing fine them a $hit load or summons a few to court with the associated fine plus costs and the word will soon get around.
Policing is the easy bit with something as big as a trailer.
Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 19:07
Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 19:07
But
John,
You have to have the "police"
The SA Government is not sufficiently funding the department concerned, to employ sufficient staff.
Bill.
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 19:13
Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 19:13
Mate you know as
well as I do that any State Government will always move resources when there is an easy buck in it :-)
Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 22:27
Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 22:27
OK OK It was me. I buggered the Simpson with my trailer in 2003.
I would like to say sorry to everyone who has been inconvenienced in anyway, however small, since that thoughtless selfish act on my part.
Follow Up By: Vivid Adventures - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 12:37
Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 12:37
LOL - and my trailer has been across three times too!