Toyota 2.8D

Submitted: Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 22:37
ThreadID: 60004 Views:2441 Replies:4 FollowUps:4
In the specs for the 2.8D 1992 4runner it says a whopping 60kW at 4000RPM. I have never seen my tacho reach 4000RPM or anywhere near it, and as mush as I push it, max revs I seem to be able to reach is about 3300. Is there something out of adjustment thats preventing it from revving further or is the 4000RPM figures a bit of a pipe dream on Toyota's part? Not that I want to flog the ring out of it but if they state 4000RPM them it must go there at some stage, right? It revs quite quickly and freely to around 3000RPM but after that it literally feels like something is pulling the car backwards. Any diesel/fuel injection gurus have an answer? Exhaust restriction, fuel pump, (hand brake) ????? Have bought a set of extractors but not fitted them yet.

Reply By: Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 23:18

Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 23:18
Power 60kW @ 4000rpm
Torque 183Nm @ 2400rpm-2400rpm

I had the 2.8 and most myn ever got to was 3500/3600 flat knackers down hill, only did it once when I first got it but no hope in hell of getting it to get to 4 g's. Except that one time (as above) I generally never reved myn over 3000/3200 max. I found you were reving the crapper out of it and not gaining anything. the only time I held myn at around 3200 was when pulling up hills, you know those pain in the ar#e ones where second its reving to much and third you dye in the ar#e so would just sit in the gutter lane and sit there untill up over the hill then change to third or whatever. The only time I have ever seen a 2.8 get to 4 g's is when it has been turbo'd. If your getting 10L per 100 and not blowing excess smoke I wouldnt be worried. I found the extractors just gave it that tad more punch mainly up hills but wont increase top end speed. My mate had the 2.8 4 runner and I would out pull him up Lapstone Hill here in Western Sydney but only by 2 car lengths over the distance sounded heaps better but than the standard exhaust. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 316454

Reply By: Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 23:26

Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 23:26
Sorry meant to say that mine also would rev freely from 750 rpm (idle) to 3g's even to 3200 was pushing it that bit hard. Just keep the oil and filter changes up to it (max 5g's) (I did mine every 3 1/2 to 4g ) and you will find the old girl will last. The big end bearings were a common problem on the 2.8 IF YOU NEGLECTED OIL & FILTER. You hear a lot of people with 2.8's complain of them going bang 99% because they didnt do the above. The 2.8 always over fuel'd a bit from the factory settings on the pump but not a major issue and most will have been rebuilt by now anyway. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 316455

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 13:45

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 13:45
Hi Steve, My cocky mate always changed his oil at 3000ks, bit of a pain but they will keep going then. Biggest problem at higher atitudes(less air) they use to block the oil galleries up. Big problem at Oberon , Orange, Armidale and Cooma. On our family farm we had a 2a and the 2.8 lux, and the lux was a rolls compared to the old rover. Much better low down torque
FollowupID: 582798

Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 17:10

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 17:10
Hi Pete, yep spot on with that. I found mine when down at Thredbo the lux would run a tad warmer and would be choofing some extra smoke due to altitude. Less air but still pumping in the same amount of juice. Only time the temp ever moved in 300 thou.Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 582822

Reply By: guzzi - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 06:34

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 06:34
The 2.8 is not renowned for speed.
You dont mention how many Km it has done but at that age 300K would be a close bet?
When you fit the extractors replace the exhaust system with a 2.5 inch system and a free flow muffler and see what effect that has.
Other things to look at fuel filters, air filters , get the injectors serviced and the pump outputs adjusted to suit the new exhaust.
If that doesnt make a big difference get a blow by and compression check done and see if there is any major problems there.
The fuel pumps are good for around 250,000 km after that they may need looking at if they've never beeen touched.
AnswerID: 316477

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 11:20

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 11:20
I think you may be a good example of what Tojo gurus call
"memory effect". I have been told that if you run your revs to a set max, say 3000, after a while the pump will not open further
& 3000 is all you will get. The answer is to vary revs when new
by running up high under load briefly. My 2.8 non turbo revs
easily to 3750 in 3rd uphill but I rarely exceed 3500. Providing you
have adhered to good filter practices I doubt anything less than a pump service will get you any more revs. Extractors will improve
power & economy by up to 10% if you add a decent system to
them. They improve cold starting a lot...no shaking & rough idling
at sub zero temps. Friend added an aftermarket turbo to a 2.8
with 200k on it... blew every hose & seal & nothing but trouble.
Assuming you have a few k on yours I would opt for an injector
& pump service, not cheap but effective. Extractors if you wish.
cheers...oldbaz.
AnswerID: 316519

Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 17:17

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 17:17
Interesting facts there old Baz. As they say you learn some thing new everyday. Didn't know that by been gentle with them in the early days would be an issue later on in regards to how they rev. Use to hear people say with any vehicle drive it hard from day one and it wont be a slouch later on. Mine definitely wouldn't get to 3750. Had the pump done at 170k didn't seem to make any difference, Was only done due to a small weep in the front of it. Good old beast all the same, miss it some times. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 582824

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 20:52

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 20:52
Steve and Baz, I drove concrete aggis a few years back. We had two identical trucks both 6l na Hinos. One went like a scalded cat and the other a dog. Talking to the orininigal owner one day and commented how one went better then the other. Fast one was picked up new in Melbourne and driven up the Hume brand new flat out sitting on the red line. The other was nursed home by his Father sitting on constant 80. Got pulled up by the rta one day in sloow, got weighed and was a ton over weight. I found this hard to believe as we weighed everything to the kilo, turned out their was a ton of dried concrete in the bowl . lol. But even when we cleaned her out she was still slow, but less top heavy.
FollowupID: 582900