What are roads like around Innamincka

Submitted: Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 23:05
ThreadID: 60010 Views:3993 Replies:9 FollowUps:6
I am planning a trip to Broken Hill - Camerons Corner - Innamincka - back along Strez Track to Arkaroola- Flinders Ranges in Sept/Oct

I have a SWB NS Pajero Diesel but still have the original H/T tyres on (30,000km) - 265/65 R17 and will be towing a camper (700kg unloaded)

As many of you have just been up there I reckon you will be able to help me.

I am just wandering whether the roads up there will be a bit severe for these tyres.

I will be taking a tyre repair kit (plugs)

Considering getting some beadbreakers and an extra tyre (no rim) - I will have to buy these.

Reply By: Visitor - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 23:56

Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 23:56
24psi cold and you should be fine.................
"SLOW DOWN" for all the dips...
80% of dirt road flats are caused by speeding through dips and allowing your suspension to bottom out and extra pressure down onto sharp rocks..
YES 24 PSI.....
AnswerID: 316459

Reply By: mechpete - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 00:06

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 00:06
myself and friends have just come back from birdsville an innaminka in the last 2 wks and they are good ,just watch the road in general and keep ya speed down
Pete
AnswerID: 316462

Reply By: richard - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 00:13

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 00:13
Many thanks

What is a good speed.

I normally don't drive fast on dirt and would probably not get above 80km on good stretches.

I am happy to enjoy the scenery.

I will have to make sure my wife does not drive as she goes flat out.:)

AnswerID: 316465

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 07:24

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 07:24
Although the roads in these area are good to corrugated in places, you are pushing your luck running HT tyres. LT would be a better option.

Still, saying that, with lotsa luck you should get by without a problem. As stated 24psi to 26psi cold on tyres and keep your speed around 80kmh and you will enjoy the surrounds and desert scenery. If indoubt drive to the conditions. Between Mt Hopeless and Arkaroola there are a number of sharp dips, so slow down when traversing these.

FollowupID: 582733

Reply By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 08:40

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 08:40
we have cooper st's on the pootrol - they are not the Light Truck ones and we got a flat...bro in law got 2 flats on standard nissan navara tyres and the father in law had H/T coopers on the pajero with no flats... ONLY had these tyres becuase there were no other off road tyre for the 18'' rims... as with the trailer as he wanted to match rim size / tyres etc....

I wouldnt be using those tyres....Id be getting something a little more suited to off road durability....but then you start the debate of cooper vs bf goodies.......

save the tyres for when you get back....we have always had 2 full sets of tyres / rims (expensive set up but worth it) for off road and on road.......(use to have cooper stt's and maxxis road tyres for the landcruiser)
AnswerID: 316496

Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 09:24

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 09:24
Kiwi have to Agree, and Richard we have two sets, think of it this way.... if you destroy 2 tyres out there you may become stuck and pay a fortune for recovery, the tyres they will replace them with will be cheap and you will pay a fortune for them and you have just destroyed two good tyres.

If you don't want two sets, go to a tyre place and see about trading yours in on a set of light truck A/T's.

We traded in our Cooper passenger version ATR's at 35,000k and went to the light truck version in a bigger size for $700 fitted for 5.

Regards Richard
FollowupID: 582764

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 11:46

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 11:46
Plus you would think I know me own frikn tyres....they are atr's...the trailer has the st's.....it was an at that packed it in....

shaking my head here....yet another blonde moment!!LOL!!
FollowupID: 582792

Follow Up By: richard - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 21:59

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 21:59
HI,
I am in Canberra so is more difficult to do the tyre swap
I tried to get a replacement for my bridgestones when I got the car (so less the 10km).

They wanted $1000 for 4 tyres

Most people would not even take them. None of the people flogging Coopers were interested.

Even the Bridgestone place didn't want them.

My tyre size is 265/65/R17.

To go LT I have to go a bit above size to 265/70 - but still legal.

Although as car still under warranty I may have problems, but am trying!

At best I can go a good A/T - thinking of Coopers or BFG (if available in that size)

FollowupID: 582924

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 10:14

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 10:14
"shaking my head here....yet another blonde moment!!LOL!!" last time I saw you I didn't know you as you were brunette to black. LOL You better decide which or are you going into disguise mode again?

Richard, you can try selling them on Trader on EO or on other sites. I found the Nissan originals didn't last long anyway and I found the Toyota ones aren't smart outback for stony conditions. Have Maxxis Bighorns on at the moment and they seem nice and grippy. I like to think with the deeper tread I can keep the tyre carcus further away from piercing small sharp stones. I may be fooling byself when the Coopers we had on the Nissan were pierced by something sharp around the shoulder in the first 2500 kms
FollowupID: 583596

Reply By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 09:14

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 09:14
We have just done to same trip but in reverse.

Broken Hill to Cameron's Corner is half good dirt and bitumen and you can site comfortable between 50 to 100kp'h, watch out for trucks carrying pipes to Moomba and if you see them coming get 50m of the road and corrugations in some spots.

Cameron's Corner to Innamincka via Old Strez is a good road and you can do 60 to 80kp/h comfortably but watch out coming of the sand dunes as some a steep.

The New Strez is rutted in places and can be a bit rough but again you can travel at 70 to 100kp'h and watch out for trucks.

The Strez track turn off to Arkaroola is still a good road and you can travel at 50 to 70kp'h, when you get closure to Arkaroola 50 to 60kp'h is comfortable.

The roads can be very slippery in spots an I would apply caution due to the tyres you are running.

As always drive to you and you vehicles capabilities and the road condition.

Watch out for creek crossings and some are very rough.

Your tyres only concern is when you get around Innamincka as it is very rocky so slow down and take it easy.

The speeds I have given are for sections only.

Go slower and stick to the left over sand dunes.

Slow down over corrugations...but no need for walking pace.

Speak to the tyre company about lowering pressures as H/T don't have the same strength in the side walls as A/T and M/T tyres and by running to lower pressure to much heat may be generated.

Watch the weather and get a weather report from Broken Hill police when you are about to leave as some roads can be closed very quickly.

I would re fuel at Tiboburra and and as soon as you get into Innamincka, it may pay to carry a jerry or two and 20 lts of water.

Make sure you have a UHF radio and good maps and enjoy your trip.

Regards Richard

AnswerID: 316503

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 12:16

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 12:16
HT tyres are OK for those roads as long as you have heaps of tread.
Worn HT tyres is a recipe for punctures thru the tread which don't always plug easily - sometimes the whole rock goes thru the tread :-)
AnswerID: 316522

Follow Up By: Ken S - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 13:56

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 13:56
I wouldn't,t hesitate about using your HT's . I spent a lot of time at Nockatunga Station in 2006 and ran HT's all the time on and off road . Did spike one tyre off road but a plug fixed that . Station vehicles run 40psi in their tyres . Mate punctured several BF Goodridge around Milparinka and had them repaired in Tibooburra , tyre repair fella there advised my mate to run tyres at 40 psi as well .
FollowupID: 582800

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 19:28

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 19:28
The roads around Innamincka vary from rock/gravel based on parts of the Strzelecki,and the tracks around Innamincka.

The road from Cameron Corner to the Strzelecki Track is in good condition at present and is mainly a dirt based track which is "kinder" than the rock based ones.
Also the Old Strzelecki track is much more interesting than the now one and is also dirt based with very little corrugated sections.

Track conditions will change as the weather conditions dictates.

If weather conditions permit my recommendation would be from Cameron Corner heading west until Merty Mery then turn right up the Old Strzelecki to Innamincka.
Coming back down, you could retrace your route along the Old Strezelecki then back on to the new Strzelecki until you get to the Gammon Ranges turnoff. This road is also easy travelling.

Alternatively, you may wish to use the New Strekelecki past Moomba just to be different.

If you keep the speed down and lower your tyre pressures a bit, the H/T tyres should be OK.

Bill.

AnswerID: 316608

Reply By: richard - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 22:19

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 22:19
While considering routes has any one travelled the Bore Track

re tyres.

I think I will have to stay with the H/Ts (not my preference and could change - the car is leased and I am trying to find out if they will allow me to upgrade the tyres after 30,000 - if so I will)

I will get some beadbreakers and repair kit (other than the plug kit I have)

I will look around for a spare tyre - I don't wan't to buy a new H/T. I tried today but hard to find.

Many thanks for the very good advice above.

AnswerID: 316669

Reply By: richard - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 01:03

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 01:03
Hi - I am thinking of going Bridgestone D694 A/T (not LTs) which I can get in standard size, so would then have 5 good spares cases. I would only take one though :)

It does sound if driving sensibly I would get by with H/Ts - I am considering the upgrade more for the sake that I will be towing a camper and want something a bit stronger than H/Ts.

If going LTs I have the hassles of going above a 15mm increase in diameter, I have found out I can do this but have to go an get my speedo re calibrated to appease the Leasing/Insurance company.

AnswerID: 317272