Bury your "waste" people

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 21:05
ThreadID: 60087 Views:3677 Replies:14 FollowUps:12
All,
I'm sure most on this forum do the right thing, but having just completed a trip from Adelaide to Brisvegas and back, I am TOTALLY DISGUSTED with what I saw at each and every roadside rest area I stopped at.
CRAP, CRAP & more CRAP. It got to the stage where I had literally watch were I placed every step to avoid treading in someone else's mess. (Yes, I have "cleaned" up my post so not to offend people).
Not just near the road, but ON the road! Fair dinkum, and to think when we travelled Oz I was sharing toilet blocks with these ferals!

Is it that hard to move 20 feet off the road with shovel and then clean up after yourself????????????? Apparently in many cases it is.

I'll probably cop sh1t for my post, but how many of you want to stop for a break/cuppa to be greeted with the smell and sight of what someone else had for tea last night?????????

BURY IT!

Rant over.

Non - Pungently Yours, Matt

Reply By: Hairs (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 21:17

Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 21:17
Matt,

Only a couple of months ago some one posted that they pulled up at servo(I think it was) after a long trip and there was a turd in the car park. Whats the world coming to?
Some people are worse than animals.
AnswerID: 316838

Reply By: Member - William B (The Shire) - Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 21:18

Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 21:18
Hi Matt, I'm with you.
I cannot understand why people do it.
I think it is just ignorance, I would imagine the people that dont do the right thing are occasional travellers who havent given the idea of what they are doing a second thought.
Having said that I was amazed at the lack of rest stops and/or toilets on some of the long stretchs off country roads.
The sections from Thargomindah, Cunamulla and Bourke are some that come to mind readily as I have just travelled these roads.

Then again some people dont give a sh7t. (Pun intended, LOL)
William
Always planning the next trip. VKS-737 mobile 1619

AnswerID: 316839

Follow Up By: Member - Matt H (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 21:36

Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 21:36
True enough guys, but...................

Did our parents let us do this when we went on road trips as kids?

Be responsible for your own actions!

Man, I've been in Defence too long, hey?

(the story line: Oops, Sorry mate, didnt see you dropping a cable ON THE ROAD where I was about to stop. Anyhow, a sucking chest wound is natures way of telling you to slow down!)

Sort of TIC. :-]

I just wish I had caught one of the buggers in my headlights at nightime - they woudn't be crapping for a while afterward.

Smeers, Matt :-)
FollowupID: 583109

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 21:37

Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 21:37
Gday William, I thought the same thing last week when i drove through the places you mentioned.. Not too much out there in the way of comfort stops.. Michael
FollowupID: 583110

Follow Up By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 12:16

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 12:16
*I think it is just ignorance, I would imagine the people that dont do the right thing are occasional travellers who havent given the idea of what they are doing a second thought.*

Ignorance my ass (no pun or flame intended Will lol ) A road Train bearing down on there dirty filthy feral ass will giv them a second thought and if it didnt they'll end up with the pile they left 2 seconds before,just where they should be.....
I bet they know the distance till the next servo....

Go long distances or Camping how hard is it to prepare (one bloody shovel,small one at that)...Sick of going fishing by a nice river with dunny paper and turds everywhere...

FollowupID: 583225

Follow Up By: Ken S - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 12:49

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 12:49
Having said that I was amazed at the lack of rest stops and/or toilets on some of the long stretches off country roads.
The sections from Thargomindah, Cunnamulla and Bourke are some that come to mind readily as I have just travelled these roads.

Gday WilliamB
Thargomindah has great facilities , free hot artesian showers as well as toilets , not far out of town is Lake Bindegolly Rest Area then Leopard Wood Opal area , there is a area at the Mud Springs near Eulo where you can get right off the main road ( through gate ) Eulo itself has facilities as well as a great pub , and accommodation as well as a bomb shelter . Cunnamulla , Barringun , Enngonia and Bourke all have toilets as well as other facilities .
FollowupID: 583235

Follow Up By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 13:02

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 13:02
Silly me i was always under the assumption that the Outback was just that... No WATER and No Dunnies...To find one would be like a Bonanza...

Are we expecting to much to think otherwise ????

FollowupID: 583238

Reply By: Vivid Adventures - Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 21:57

Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 21:57
Okay Matt, I won't do it next time ;-)

But having just done Adelaide-Fraser Is-Rocky-Adelaide I know exactly what you mean... toilet paper floating around all over the roadside stops, beach, camp-sites, etc as well as what you commented on.
AnswerID: 316845

Reply By: Crackles - Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 22:10

Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 22:10
"I'm sure most on this forum do the right thing"
I wouldn't be so sure Matt, I don't see the cross section of readers on here would be much different to the rest of the general travelling public. I've seen plenty of well set up travellers wander off behind the bushs without a shovel so I'm under no illusion that it's only the casual uneducated traveller.
You are right. Bury it as a minimum as I can see popular areas will have a porta loo requirement the way we're going.
Cheers Craig.....
AnswerID: 316850

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 09:06

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 09:06
Craig, I'm inclined to agree with you (unusual, eh?) about this, meaning 'the cross section'. Also agree with the writer further down about being unable to use a shovel - a handy instrument, not just for digging out of bogs but for digging in bogs (LOL another pun intended). I come back from a trip into the Simpson usually utterly disgusted - same when travelling along the coast road or just from Birdsville into Brisbane. You really wonder.
FollowupID: 583177

Follow Up By: Ken S - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 12:10

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 12:10
Crackles , I'm with you , I'll bet its a big percentage based on my observations of camp sites before and after . As far as IQ's go how many times do you see all the non combustibles like , bottles , bottle tops , foil , tin cans and such get thrown into the camp fire and all the paper , cardboard , , clothes , cigarette butts. are left to blow around the bush ? I reckon the percentages of people leaving "Dirty Fires " would be well above 50% . As for porta loo's , people use them on the river at Turondale but when leaving some people dump the contents on the ground . There is one group who use the river near me who are a city based fossicking group and are there on a regular basis fossicking for gold and they are fantastic , work on the principle " take nothing but photo's leave nothing but footprints " one couple are there about every fortnight in the warm weather . Pleasure to have them there .
FollowupID: 583223

Reply By: Ken S - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 07:22

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 07:22
Matt , I own a block of dirt with river frontage at Turondale that is very popular with campers . Without doubt after a weekend in warmer weather , or especially a long weekend the river banks are festooned with paper ,crap and rubbish and it seems to be getting worse rather than better . The people that leave this disgusting messes would be to lazy to use a shovel to dig a hole and bury their excrement , if they burnt the paper it would be a step in the right direction but they would probably be so irresponsible they would set the bush alight . I can see that not to far into the future I will have to fence off the river access just to try and keep the area decent . Have travelled around Australia and as you say these filthy mongrels are every where in big numbers , such a shame .
AnswerID: 316856

Reply By: Member No 1- Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 07:34

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 07:34
"BURY IT"....DEEEEEEEP!
so fox's and dogs wont dig it up
AnswerID: 316859

Follow Up By: Seakarvan - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 08:36

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 08:36
Shovel Skills & IQ.

Only back to a van recently but had over 30 years 4X4 in mostly the remote stuff. This problem of people lacking Shovelling Skills and hence crap close to camps or next to water courses has definitely increased. But I found the more remote the country the better the people you run into and most do the right thing.

The Cape in the 70's and 80's was brilliant. Late 80's onward most camps near creek crossing stunk. Maybe these sad souls thought a croc was waiting up a tree or something therefore crapping less than 20 paces from camp spots.

I guess rubbing there noses in it may help but there remains a clear correlation between Lack of shovelling skills and IQ - and there number grows.

Whinge done

Seakarvan
FollowupID: 583165

Follow Up By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 13:23

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 13:23
Whinge done

I cannot see any whinging mate,Just common bloody sense !

FollowupID: 583241

Reply By: curious - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 09:23

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 09:23
Have to agree you with you, Matt. It's disgusting and seems to be more and more prevalent. Possibly many people don't have a shovel but that's no excuse for not going to a more remote spot at the parking bay. Doesn't take much to burn the toilet paper either but as someone else pointed out, they'd probably burn down the bush.

People also seem to regard the bush as a giant dumping ground; the volume of general rubbish on the roadside is often staggering. I also found that I met nicer people on more remote tracks. My rant is that I often met very selfish and inconsiderate people at roadside stops on bitumen roads. They often hogged the roadside shelters yet were totally self-contained with mobile homes and caravans with the lot. Can't help but be pi$$ed off when I have to cook in the rain and the caravaners have surrounded the shelters but retired inside to cook out of the rain and the wind. I'll stick to the dirt and more remote tracks in future.

AnswerID: 316886

Follow Up By: Desertrose - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 10:50

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 10:50
Peter, we have noticed exctly the same thing. Rest stops and campgrounds along tar roads seem to be way more polluted by litter and unburied business than when you travel on dirt.
I don't understand that mentality. Personally when I need to use a shovel I usually need a compass too so I can find my way back to camp :)

I had to laugh on our last camping trip where my 9 yr old son, taking the burial process very seriously, was even making crosses out of sticks to place on "the grave".
FollowupID: 583211

Reply By: Pomgonewalkabout - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 11:08

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 11:08
Having recently moved to a place very busy with Grey Nomads, caravaners, 4WD owners with camper trailers passing through you notice a few things.

There are three campsites in town yet people still camp at the side of the road. There is human excrement underneath the creek bridge, toilet paper is wedged under rocks.

There is a dump in town for caravans to empty their waste. As I write there is a bloke using the hose to wash his caravan and 4WD. He is the fourth this morning. The road is now deep in mud.

I can understand people getting a free nights camping out in the sticks but surely not in a town with caravan parks?
If you can't afford to travel then don't?

No one seems to care anymore. Some, not all don't even have the manners to return your G'day.
You start to think badly and wonder why the $%&@ they don't stay at home.

By the way if you get up in the morning, open up your curtains and see a white Defender camped on your lawn, it's milk, no sugar thanks LOL

cheers Eric

AnswerID: 316902

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 11:36

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 11:36

Not only do you see the Rubbish when you travel, like every body has
said, just have a look around some of the Shopping Centre Car Parks
and you notice Soiled Babies Nappies thrown under the Cars or just
lying around, people are that bloody lazy, or you see Food and Drink
Containers thrown out of Vehicles or Picnic Areas with over flowing
Rubbish Bins with Crap lying on the ground, it would be to much
trouble to take it home and dump it,
Its sad to think that some of our fellow Humans are worse than
Animals.

Daza
AnswerID: 316907

Follow Up By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 13:32

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 13:32
Hiya Daza

Not to mention stubbies,emptying of ashtrays etc etc..They need to bump up the fines to say 1500 bucks plus 4 demerit points...
Should they throw 2 whips of the Rotan Cane in there as well..lmao

FollowupID: 583245

Reply By: Pomgonewalkabout - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 14:48

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 14:48
What we need is a few Singapore chewing Gum Police!
AnswerID: 316933

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 15:56

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 15:56
Just spent 2 weeks in the Grt Vic Desert and it was a pleasure to camp in virgin territory. Soon as we hit so called civilisation ie Grt Central Rd and surrounding roads eg David Carnegie we started to see the evidence of bush streamers etc. Why the hell people can't bury and burn their paper is beyond me. If the ground is so hard burn and cover your crap with a heavy layer of rocks.

Mm often wondered what the significance of some of the cairns I've seen over the years.

AnswerID: 316940

Reply By: Louie the fly (SA) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 20:31

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 20:31
Matt, the reasons are easy to understand. Laziness, stupidy, ignorance, lack of consideration for others, wah wah wah. The list goes on but the reality is ITS NOT THAT HARD TO DO THE RIGHT THING. & I hate it when people say its a sign of the times. Crap (pun intended), we have let it get that way. If my family did that sort of thing I'd belt the sh*t out of them (2 puns in 1 post, wow).

AnswerID: 317006

Reply By: wendys - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 20:38

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 20:38
Problem is definitely getting worse. Not just confined to rest stops - remember camping at the Dulhunty crossing on OTL track few years back - crap and toilet paper strewn everywhere. People are getting lazier it seems. One issue that really annoys me, as a bushwalker, is the tissue "dabs" found along tracks everwhere. If my fellow females absolutely must use a "blotter", and carry tissues for this purpose, surely they could also carry a baggie and take the tissue with them!! You would think that women who go to places like the Bungles and Mitchell Plateau would be more environmentally and aesthetically sensitive, but no!
AnswerID: 317009

Follow Up By: Member - Matt H (SA) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 21:30

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 21:30
Wendys,
see my overall response below. What you bought up, irks me further. I remember several cases of this when we were travelling, and my wife was speechless at the time.

One word describes these people - BOGANS.

And understanding a thing or one about the human body, I'll bet it was "younger" travellers. I wont say more, apart from different countries north of the equator have slightly different views on whats acceptable and whats not.

Cheers, matt
FollowupID: 583370

Reply By: Member - Matt H (SA) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 21:21

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 21:21
All,
It appears that I'm not alone!

Crackles, you maybe right about some EO readers being no different, but I'm trying to be optimistic :-).

In my line of employment, I see many things that would make most of this forum blush - especially when we are deployed or out bush. I'm sure a few of the ex-defence types on this forum would agree. Even when out bush, we are constantly reminded of HYGEINE - obviously a concept lost on many!

That said, I cant see ANY excuse for what I have recently seen at roadside stops in the past week. My question to the guilty out there is: DO YOU DO THE SAME THING AT HOME? (Yes, I'm yelling!). If the answer is no, then why do it when you are travelling?

Granted, Oz is a big place, but having travelled around it, I have yet to see toilets more than 2 - 3 hours apart - except in very remote areas. If you cannot time your "number 2's" to align with these stops, then maybe you need to see your doctor!

AND WHILE I'M AT IT - Curious reminded me of 2 others things that annoy me:

1. Nomads who hog both roadside stops AND camp kitchens in caravan parks, DESPITE having full kitchens in their own vans!!!
Hint: leave these facilities to travellers who need them - use your own facilities. Harsh? Probably. Justified? - A resounding Yes.

2. Nomads who wander into the toilet blocks in the morning to empty their empty bleep buckets (to hell with offending readers about now) into sinks and toilets. Have you people ever thought about using the sullage points designed for your ilk??

In closing, I apologise to all the Nomads out there who do the right thing - and my wife and I met some great characters (who we still email all these years later) when we did the loop in 2002.
For the record, we were 20 & 30 something at the time when we did the trip - before someone says that the "kettle is calling the pot black"

I also apologise for getting so annoyed about this, but the country doesn't belong to a select few - the rest of us wouldn't mind enjoying it too.

Spleen Vented!

Matt
AnswerID: 317022