Rear storage Stage 1 complete

Submitted: Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 17:09
ThreadID: 60105 Views:3408 Replies:11 FollowUps:28
The 9 jerrycans now have a place to live

The next compartment will hold detecting equipment, tools, and camping gear and the bed will go on top of that.

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 17:49

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 17:49
You must be confident of the jerries being OK on their sides.
AnswerID: 316959

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 18:36

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 18:36
Now why would a bloke of your experience say something like that?

Arrr....ofcourse, yer only a young fella. I know...long range tanks and all that.....never had to use jerries....LOL

I have all the confidence in the quality of my jerries

FollowupID: 583307

Follow Up By: Crackles - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 20:03

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 20:03
Same thought here Phil. Was always taught to store them on their base or back with the filler up. Packem tight & they should be right :-)
Cheers Craig..........
FollowupID: 583337

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 23:36

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 23:36
Gday Willem,
young fella??????? I'm bald and grey and a grandfather and my youngest child turned 23 today. So I'll take it as a complement :-)))
But I've been carrying jerry cans inside my vehicles for 31 years. I've never bought a long range tank. I currently have space set aside in my traytop's canopy for 14 jerries - all standing up and forward of the rear axle. My previous vehicle - 90series Prado had storage for up to 15 jerries for longer desert trips. I like jerries!

Steel jerries were never designed to lie on their side. They are immensely strong standing upright (could support a car) but are easily pushed in on their flat side.

Your jerries are more likely to leak because there will be more pressure inside when they are bumping around on their side in the bush. If they leak you'll lose up to half the diesel - try getting that smell out :-))

I think you'd be wasting your money fitting long range tanks to an older vehicle. If it were me, I'd have the jerries sitting upright behind the front seats in the footwells, so they can stand upright (or even tilted a bit), and I'd have them well secured to the seat mounts. And that weight is then nicely forward of the rear axle.

I know plenty of people who have achieved what you are trying to achieve, but they have all owned Troopies.

FollowupID: 583401

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 23:48

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 23:48
And I don't think safety is the problem.

I would suggest that your chances of finding 9 jerries that won't leak a drop is zero. You won't blow up, but as they day goes on you'll get anaesthetised by the lovely smell of diesel!
FollowupID: 583402

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 00:40

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 00:40
I know you are not far behind but anyone younger than me is a 'Young fella'. Its a term of endearment so consider yourself endeared....lol
FollowupID: 583405

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 00:49

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 00:49
And....I carry spare seals so that I can make sure I have no leaking or seeping jerries

Its all good mate :-)
FollowupID: 583409

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 18:02

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 18:02
To stop the leaks, I used to face up the steel surface that pushed against the seal with some wet and dry paper. The seals were usually OK.
FollowupID: 583490

Reply By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 18:02

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 18:02
Hi Willem, just a couple of things, get some thin carpet to line the box and to prevent damage to your jerries and to stop noise. also put in a couple of roof ventilators or you might end up being higher then a kite!!!!

Looks good

AnswerID: 316965

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 18:20

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 18:20
And when you fill them up at about 45kg plus weight of can

where are you going to put your lunch. LOL.

Seriously hope its diesel and not bomb material
FollowupID: 583299

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 18:25

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 18:25
Woops having a brain fade and worked them out as 20 litre a can in lbs instead of kilos.
Will crawl back in my kennel and shut up.
FollowupID: 583300

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 18:33

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 18:33
Hahahahahaha!!!....Hey fella's...the jerries have been travelling in my trailer since the end of 2005. Had a hook to remove them and one jerry had its grab handle give way a couple of weeks ago. Now the jerries got shook up a lot more in the trailer with little or no effect apart from some paint rubbing off.

Yeah and it is diesel that I carry. I check the seals every so often and replace them if they look suss. No doubt there will be some diesel odour but thats the compromise I have to live with.

FollowupID: 583305

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 18:41

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 18:41
I like to think of it as an investment in my life because if you hit something hard enough often enough things break!!!

Just looking out for you!! I'd do it for anyone!!!

Advice is always good but you don't have to take it!!!

Cheers safe travels

FollowupID: 583310

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 18:57

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 18:57

If I ever worried about the 'What if's', taking due care of most instances however, I would not leave the house. Life is a lot less complicated if you do not worry too much.

And as far as ventilation goes..I like to drive old style with the window open and my elbow hanging out. Its a lifestyle thing....lol

FollowupID: 583317

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 20:06

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 20:06
Hey Willem, you insane old bugger. I like your style. I'm just as mad but have to tame it down. Yeah i do worry about things like that because" what goes wrong, does happen to me"!!!!

But thanks for the reallity check!!

FollowupID: 583338

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 20:16

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 20:16
To all our inexperienced out there, "DO NOT TRY THIS AT HOME"
Murphy will only be on you side for so long before he bites you on the a...rse.
Fair Dinkum?? ROTFLMAO X 10.

Fred.
FollowupID: 583343

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 20:18

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 20:18
Chris...talking about worrying about things.....................

Have had this periodic rattle in the drive train when engine is idling. Put foot on clutch and it goes away. Been rattling like that for more than a year. So before I go bush in May I get some mechanically minded friends to listen to the noise as I am a bit concerned, but nor worried. A number of different opinions. Ahhh, what the hell, will go on trip anyway. Trip was round 5000km of which 400km was offtrack with trailer in tow. No worries. Get home repack and go to Victoria. Then come back home for three weeks and go to Innamincka and back....still same rattle. Its in the gearbox. Mate says don't worry, the buggered bearing cant go anywhere.......LOL

I will repair it when it breaks................

Don't worry...be happy..................
FollowupID: 583345

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 20:32

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 20:32
Better to err on the side of caution then to go "what the heck" and don't come back.

My old girl (see my profile) got me down to sydney and back then down to the central coast and it was a buggered uni joint and that was at 100 to 130 kph. so yeah lifes short why make it shorter! I just like to eliminate said murphy and his silly law!!

so buger murphy and his silly craap.

So i won't kick fred lying on the floor, silly bugger!!

well that's my 2 cents worth, adjusted for infaltion and GST

lol

chris
FollowupID: 583350

Reply By: Member - G N (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 18:30

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 18:30
Hi Willem
I am big for the no tow idea, however i am not at all confident in the lid sealing of any 20 lt container, jerry or plastic.????
Or have i just had a few bad experiences?
I know it would be expensive, but not hugely, perhaps 2 or 3 low profile aluminium tanks with threaded sealing caps?

Also back to your split rim choice
I agree with the ease of tyre change but when i ran them i had many flat tyre and a couple of blow outs that were almost dangerous. Since running tubeless i have had far fewer flats and no blow outs
What are your thoughts on the rapid deflation of splits / tubed tyres?

Regards GN
AnswerID: 316972

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 18:51

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 18:51
GN

Like with everything else....you have to make sure that the steel jerrycan cap seals are working according to their design.

Having driven most of the soft option treks around this country I have now been concentrating on accessing remote localities and have been driving cross country on occasions.

Most times over 40 odd years I have run splits on crossply and radial tyres but had my fair share of on road punctures. Then I went to tubeless and it was OK for a while on the easy optioned roads but there are no tubeless tyres which can cut the mustard doing off track driving. So its a compromise one has to make. I reverted back to splits and crossply tyres and have had no major problems for the past two years and close on 40,000km. The drawback is lower kilometre range on the crossply tyres.

Yes, you will have rapid deflation on a tubed tyre if punctured at high speed. Yes, a tubeless tyre with a slow leak does not lose air rapidly. Both types of tyres will most likely be destroyed at speed they suffer a major cut and instant deflation.

Unfortunately there is no commercial tyre as yet which will cover all aspects of events...:-)

FollowupID: 583314

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 19:07

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 19:07
G'day William
My last set of "drawers" were burnt at Dalhousie. Apparently I didn't make em strong enough to survive the track 30 years ago. Yours look good...sure beats my tieing them across the back seat.
(with petrol in em at that stage...travelling bomb but there was no EO to learn from in those days).
My tubeless have had a better history on the tracks and tar then my splitz had. Perhaps one needs that trailer to drag a set of splitz to the jumpintg off point , and then change all 4?
But there again that would defeat the idea of everything inside the vehicle for economy etc.
I still can't see how you're going to sleep in that thing, and still be able to answer the call of nature during the night. Oh well, no doubt where there's a will there's a way...its got to be easier than a roof topper after a few sherberts :)))
FollowupID: 583318

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 19:31

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 19:31
Footy

William?.....you trying to wind me up or something :-)

Have to get some more MDF tomorrow. Should have the whole thing set up by Saturday. Have figured that there will still be enough comfortable sleeping space.

Call of nature has been handled by a V8 Juice bottle for some years now. I really should patent that!!!!!....LOL

I carted petrol in the same manner in the FJ 55 and in the G60 for years. Never ever had an issue. Most people worry too much.

FollowupID: 583321

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 20:11

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 20:11
Sorry WILLEM :)))...
Not trying to stir anyone up, just too many things happening around here.
FollowupID: 583341

Reply By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 19:18

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 19:18
HAHAHAHA! GQ diesel tanker!, Your more nuts than me!!!.

AnswerID: 316981

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 19:34

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 19:34
Thanks Axle. I appreciate your thoughts....hahahahaha

We were talking caravans one time and I said that I had disconnected the cable brakes as the cables were rubbing on the wider tyres. Had been driving like that for a few years towing the 27 footer....carefully. Fella I was talking to nearly fainted....hahahaha

I reiterate....people worry too much

FollowupID: 583323

Reply By: Outnabout David (SA) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 22:20

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 22:20
Seen a lot of Jerries carried that way with Petrol and diesel in them and provided the seals are good and the Jerries are of good quality I don't see a problem. I think we have all become a bit soft over the years and worry about what may happen. I am not suggesting to flout with safety but really if you take a risk assessment which you have done the providing every thing is Ok it shouldn't matter which way the cans are standing.
Go forth ol' man on your trip and even if you blow yourself up you will die enjoying yourself.
AnswerID: 317044

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 00:42

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 00:42
Hello David

Where ya been hiding?

Blow up a diesel. Hmmm.........suppose it can happen

FollowupID: 583406

Reply By: Ted (Cairns) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 22:31

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 22:31
Hi Willem

In the early 90's I still had a jerrycan "liberated" by my granddad marked "Wehrmacht 1942" sealing perfectly with its original (?) seal. Yours look shiny and new in comparison.

Happy travels
Ted
AnswerID: 317050

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 00:39

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 00:39
And now you wish you still had it. Would fetch a mint on Ebay...lol

I have some 2004 German jerries.

FollowupID: 583404

Reply By: AdrianLR (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 22:51

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 22:51
Hi Willem,

Have you thought about putting the second compartment vertically and only covering half the width so that you end up with a "single" bed at the height of the top of the Jerries? If the compartment is on the right it doesn't obstruct rear vision (only really an issue on road of course). Also the lower bed makes it easier to get in and out and if you suddenly sit up in the middle of the night you don't end up knocking yourself out.

Good to see you (albeit it briefly) at Innamincka and hope to catch up at the Pyrenees.

Adrian
AnswerID: 317056

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 00:47

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 00:47
Hi Adrian

Rear vision isn't an issue as I normally use the mirrors and ten to one have the trailer hooked on. I need to keep things flat so that I have space for SWMBO if the need arises like and overnight camp when travelling. That area will also have loose bags and bedding on occasions stored there

I am intending to be at the Pyrenees. Se you there.

FollowupID: 583408

Reply By: Member -Signman - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 08:28

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 08:28
Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha !!!!!!

AnswerID: 317080

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 12:31

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 12:31
Jerries under the bed!!! I remember people talking about that when i was young!!! LOL!!
AnswerID: 317137

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 18:18

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 18:18
Didn't think you were old enough to remember ceramic vessels under the bed....lol
FollowupID: 583495

Reply By: Best Off Road - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 12:45

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 12:45
Willie,

If you need some carpet, let me know. I've got a 100 metre roll of automotive boot carpet that I no longer use lying around the factory.

I'll bring some the Pyrenees gathering if it's of use to you.

AnswerID: 317144

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 18:14

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 18:14
Thanks very much Jim, I shall bear that in mind and let you know.

FollowupID: 583493

Reply By: Moose - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 13:43

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 13:43
G'day Willem
The contents in the storage area (when all containers are full) will soon be worth more than the vehicle :-)
Cheers from the Moose
AnswerID: 317152

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 18:16

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 18:16
Good one Moose

If I ever have a major mechanical breakdown in whoop whoop I can just walk away from it(carrying the fridge, that is)...lol

FollowupID: 583494

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 16:09

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 16:09
You may consider carrying the fuel too Bro ;-)))))
FollowupID: 583640