Attachment sequence for battery charger
Submitted: Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 10:25
oz doc
This may be an obvious one but it eludes me. I have a quad phase battery charger. The written instructions specify that the charger must be turned ON before attaching the leads to the battery. When I do this it charges
well. The brief instructions printed on the body of the charger itself specify that the charger must be OFF before hooking up the leads. If I attach it in this sequence then it seems to get stuck on the bulk charge phase. I don't quite know why it should make a difference. The charger is new. Thoughts anyone?
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 11:40
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 11:40
Must be the specific charger's logic.
Using the CTEK charger as a comparison, the instructions specifically state that the power cord itself should be disconnected from the power outlet, before connecting the leads.
Now, this may be a little over the top as we can assume that the power outlet has an operative switch, but I would guess the manufacturer is covering themselves from potential litigation should things go pear shaped.
Haven't tried connecting the leads after power has been applied to the charger, but if done correctly, I wouldn't have thought it should make much difference.
These "smart" chargers a perhaps a little too smart sometimes.
Bill.
Reply By: Member - Alastair D (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 12:42
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 12:42
Normally most electronic devices are better to be connected before being turned on. With battery chargers there is a small chance of causing sparks and hence igniting the hydrogen given off from a non-sealed battery if the charger is turned on when connecting, not to mention the obvious chance of shorting something when fiddling with the clips in the engine bay. For this reason all instructions I have ever seen say to connect before turning on.
I would be very dubious about any instructions to turn a charger on before connecting and would ignore it from a safety point of view. If it does not work when using it safely - return it and get one that works properly.
alastair
Reply By: chisel - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 14:06
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 14:06
My ctek says attach leads to battery first, then plug in charger then turn on. I guess this reduces/eliminates spikes on contact with the terminals.
Follow Up By: Gazal Champion - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 16:52
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 16:52
Hi Chisel,
The CTEK do not give off a spark upon connection which is advrtised as a selling feature on their dvd promo disk.
You can even reverse connect them and they will display a red light showing a question mark which is to alert the operator to re check the connection.
I have just connected my ute batteries up with the charger on and there is nothing not even a circuit, apparently, until the charger senses a current from the battery and then is starts its sequence.
Well at least that is what I have just observed with my limited intelligence.
Hope this is of some assistance.
Gazal
| At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.Lifetime Member My Profile Send Message |
Follow Up By: oz doc - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 17:09
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 17:09
Hi Gazal- I think you're onto to it there. My charger has a set of warning lights to let you know reversed polarity or failed connection etc. Once you hook it up it spends a few minutes flashing the "energizing" light- probably reading the input from the battery and asessing things before switching to "bulk charging". This may explain why it prefers to be turned on before attaching to the battery. Now its starting to make sense.Thanks, doc.
Reply By: Member -Dodger - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 15:57
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 15:57
In parts of America the power points where you plug the charger in are alive and have no switch that is why this instruction exists.
Here in OZ our power outlets 240v are all switched so provided the switch is off it is quite safe to connect the charger then turn the 240v on.
As for your charger you do not state the brand but it seems odd that it sticks in the bulk mode.
Follow Up By: oz doc - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 16:54
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 16:54
HI Dodger, its called a "Smart Logix". I notice that if I turn the mains power off to it but leave it connected to the battery - it remains lit up. If turned on at the mains first, and then connected to the battery, it charges fine. Has two settings - one for smaller batteries and one for larger batteries. Certainly a lot more high tech than the old Arlec trickle charger I was using. Confusing to have two conflicting printed instructions for it though. Doc.
Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 19:45
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 19:45
Interestingly when I google "Smart logix" I cant find any battery chargers of that name??????
Follow Up By: oz doc - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 20:53
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 20:53
Hi Graham- I'm sure I've looked them up on the internet shortly after I bought it. The other names on the box are Smartec, and Propower. Bought it from Kmart.Cheers
Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 21:13
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 21:13
I suggest if you bought it at Kmart take it back and tell them its crook, get your money back and go around to a battery
shop and buy a good one like a Ctek or one of Dereks Smart chargers that actually work correctly.
As you have two threads on the same subject it may be cheaper than stuffing batteries.
Follow Up By: oz doc - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 21:31
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 21:31
Hi Graham - no battery shops up here mate. As I said - it does actually work
well when turned on then connected to the battery. It didn't seem to regulate when connected the other way. However I think Gazal has the answer - the machine needs to be turned on first so that it can read the battery situation before entering into the charging mode. You refer to my previous post regarding a bubbling battery. This battery is working fine and is actually performing better now that it has been charged 'properly' by the new charger. I don't think my old charger was doing it justice. On a recent trip I used a very expensive smart charger owned by my father and this had the same effect - mild bubbling when on the bulk charge mode.Cheers Oz doc.