Member - Maureen W (NSW)
Hi can anyone give me recent info on the corrugations on the tanami
eg. for what distance and how severe.
thanks
Reply By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 17:34
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 17:34
Miss W ,
I came down it two weeks ago with a Bushtracker van .
The corrugations started bad about km south of
Halls Creek and continued for most of the time with some nice bull dust filled holes as
well . The only real break was around
the Granites , where the Company has done some work .
On the van , I busted one set of springs and the brakes on one wheel . I dropped the van pressures to 25 psi .
The Toyo came through undamaged .
I was up it two years ago and it was a doddle - not so at the moment .
Cheers ,
Willie .
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 17:37
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 17:37
read " 80 km south of
Halls Creek "
Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 17:45
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 17:45
And in the middle of bloody nowhere...there is 7 kilometres of bitumen....all by its lonesome, serviceing nothing......lol.....go figure
Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 18:49
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 18:49
Willem/Willie having been there recently, is there anything left of Mt Doreen Station
Homestead?
my home in the fifties.
Fred.
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 18:59
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 18:59
Fred ,
I have no info on Mt Doreen but I just googled it and it led me to an interesting article with pictures on EO
Willie .
Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 19:11
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 19:11
Sorry Maureen, did not intend to hijack your thread.
Thanks Willie, I have seen some info and included some of my own, some time ago somewhere on this site, may have been "places", but just interested to hear from recent visitors there. I want to revisit some day. The station relocated to
Vaughan Springs some time after my parents, who worked on the property, left there in about 1958.
Always get's my attention when someone mentions the Tanami.
Cheers from Fred.
Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 19:17
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 19:17
Fred
The Braitlings, as you may know, have worked that country since the 1940's, I think.
AFAIK Mt Doreen isn't in use at the moment. Matthew Braitling and his family run
Vaughan Springs Station which encompasses Mt Doreen Stn. I have been in contact with them over the past 12 months as I needed permission to cross their property for access to aboriginal lands. In the end this did not happen. I met Matthews father(or grandfather), Bill and Mrs Braitling, once, when I was working in the Primary Industries Dept in the NT, way back in the late 70's. That is about all I can relate on the matter
:-)
Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 19:27
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 19:27
Willem, I read with interst of your recent expedition to
Lake Mackay, and some archived information you found. I will MM you with some info re that expedition of Dr. Thompson way back then, because my father, who is now 83, and living in
Mildura, was there with them. Bill had a son Wally, so I am guessing Mathew is Wally's son.
I'll put it together tomorrow mate.
Fred.
Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 11:13
Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 11:13
Gday Fred,
Sounds like youd know all about those Phsycotic Long Horn mongrals they call cattle then? I had one come over the top of a 6 foot race at me once...he didnt stop at that either...
Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 19:25
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 19:25
Maureen,
Motherhen Bushtracker is, I believe, going down the Tanami from HC to Alice right now.
She should pop out into internet coverage in a few days.
No doubt she'll post a report.
Reply By: Member - Geoff C (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 19:57
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 19:57
I endorse Willie's reply. We came down about 3 weeks ago, broke a spring on the GU Patrol ute but no damage to the caravan. About 800km of corrugations and dust. The
Halls Creek council told me the graders would be going down it early August but only the WA end, couldn't tell me about the NT end. I wouldn't consider doing it again until it had been gradered.
Reply By: Member - Maureen W (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 21:07
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 21:07
Thanks everyone, hubby and i might just go up and down the 7k of bitumen and say that we have done it. lol.
maureen
Follow Up By: Member - Geoff C (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 08:06
Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 08:06
Unfortunately the bitumen is a long way up, if I remember correctly it's
well over 200km of dirt from the
Alice Springs end.
Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 11:05
Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 11:05
As Im sure you are aware, the Tanami road is a long road and conditions at one end can be completely different to the other.
I really think the question you should be asking is "is the Tanami open or closed" or "where are the worst spots at the moment".
Even if there is a grader working (which there usually is) doesnt mean your not going to bust springs 50km down the road. (hey Willie?)
The Tanami is very rarely in one condition all the way through..in fact never that I have seen.
If you plan properly and expect a corugated dusty road you wont be disapointed.
Have fun
Reply By: Member - Mary W NW VIC - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 22:28
Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 22:28
Did the Tanami rd 2 weeks or so ago.As willie says the corrugations are pretty bad.I was towing anold1980,s van and we had a 80,s Jayco camper as
well.In order to still have both our travelling homes for the next3mths still in one peice we had to travel SLOWLY -took 6 days at an average moving speed of 32kph.Quite an experience.But it can be done if you;re prepared to take your time.
Mary